DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed 9/10/24 and 4/30/25 are acknowledged, the references therein relating to the general background of applicant’s invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: current language of “determining appropriateness … based on the ratio to a printing machine” is awkward language and does not appear to be applicant’s intended invention as disclosed in paragraph 167 of the specification publication. Examiner suggests aligning the language with paragraph 167. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: last limitation appears to be missing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 10 recites “a screen ratio calculation means … a print processing determination means”. Inspection of the specification reveals that a CPU (figure 3) corresponds to the calculation and determination means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the plurality of printing methods" in the 3rd line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1) Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. patent application publication 2013/0027717 by Hashimoto.
2) Regarding claim 1, Hashimoto teaches A printing method determination method determining a printing method for printing a screen including visual content, comprising: obtaining a ratio of an area of a content component to a page region (paragraph 52; area ratios for the plurality of frames of a page can be obtained); and determining the printing method based on the ratio (figure 3, item S123; particular frame can be automatically set according to the ratio thereby determining what is printed [i.e. any print setting, content or otherwise, being considered a “method” of printing]), wherein the screen is regulated by page data, a range of a page in the screen is regulated by the page region, and the page data includes the content component arranged in the page region and regulating the content (figure 4; frame map detailing the content components [i.e. the different frames] of page data in the range of one page, as shown, can be displayed and interacted with).
3) Regarding claim 2, Hashimoto teaches the printing method determination method according to claim 1, wherein the page data includes: page content; and form content (examiner notes that the claim has not made a distinction between page and form content nor is the distinction obvious from the diction as page data is inherently from a page and has a form), the page content and the form content individually include the content component, the content component included in the page content is arranged in the page region (figure 4; paragraph 52; page frame with an image is arranged in a page as shown), and the content component included in the form content is arranged in the page region by a predetermined image conversion (figure 3, item S108; content with text can be converted to a particular size and arranged in a page layout as shown in figure 4).
4) Regarding claim 3, Hashimoto teaches the printing method determination method according to claim 2, wherein all of the content components are any of an image component expressing an image in the screen, a gradation component expressing a shading in the screen, and a screen tint component expressing a screen tint in the screen (paragraph 52; content components can be at least an image).
5) Regarding claim 5, Hashimoto teaches the printing method determination method according to claim 1, wherein a parameter for the printing is set based on the ratio to determine the printing method (paragraph 52; frame output for printing [i.e. a parameter] is set based on ratio).
6) Regarding claim 8, Hashimoto teaches the printing method determination method according to claim 1, wherein one of the plurality of printing methods different from each other is selected based on the ratio to determine the printing method (paragraph 52; figures 2-4; frame with largest ratio is selected for the printing method).
7) Claim 10 is taught in the same manner as described in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8) Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2013/0027717 by Hashimoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2004/0109054 by Martin et al.
Hashimoto teaches the printing method determination method according to claim 5, wherein the printing method is computer-to-print (figure 1; PC can print from printer 100).
Hashimoto does not specifically teach the parameter controls drying in the computer-to-print.
Martin teaches the parameter controls drying in the computer-to-print (paragraphs 28 and 29; ink coverage ratio parameters controls a drying process).
Hashimoto and Martin are combinable because they are both from the printing field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Hashimoto with Martin to add a parameter controlling a drying process based on other print settings. The motivation for doing so would have been to maintain the air’s ability for removing moisture (paragraph 28). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Hashimoto and Martin to obtain the invention of claim 6.
9) Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2013/0027717 by Hashimoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2023/0236781 by Hosomizo.
Hashimoto does not specifically teach the printing method determination method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining appropriateness of the printing method determined based on the ratio to a printing machine executing the printing.
Hosomizo teaches the printing method determination method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining appropriateness of the printing method determined based on the ratio to a printing machine executing the printing (abstract and paragraph 35; printer settings are determined proper based on selected output device).
Hashimoto and Hosomizo are combinable because they are both from the printing field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Hashimoto with Hosomizo to add printer capability determination. The motivation for doing so would have been notify a user of incompatible settings (abstract). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Hashimoto and Hosomizo to obtain the invention of claim 7.
10) Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2013/0027717 by Hashimoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. patent 11,470,205 by Matsuo.
Hashimoto does not specifically teach the printing method determination method according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of printing methods include computer-to-print and plate printing.
Matsuo teaches the printing method determination method according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of printing methods include computer-to-print and plate printing (figure 1, items 2 and 3; column 13, lines 21-26; printing method can be digital printing or offset printing [i.e. plate printing]).
Hashimoto and Matsuo are combinable because they are both from the printing field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Hashimoto with Matsuo to add a plate printing method. The motivation for doing so would have been for printing a large amount (column 3, line 15). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Hashimoto and Matsuo to obtain the invention of claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BENJAMIN O. DULANEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2676
/BENJAMIN O DULANEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683