DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the ‘133 patent Applicant argues that the Office Action states that claim 1 of the ‘133 patent discloses all the limitations of instant claim 1 and that claim 1 of ‘133 invokes 112(f) such that the structures are identical to the structure claimed in instant claim 1. Applicant then goes on to state that the Office Action does not provide any analysis identifying which specific limitations of claim 1 of the ‘133 patent correspond to the above-quoted limitations of instant claim 1, or explaining why the differences in claim language do not result in patentably distinct claim. It is unclear how Applicant can suggest that the office action does not explain why the differences in claim language do not result in patentably distinct claims while simultaneously stating that the office action explicitly states that it was because 112(f) was invoked. The reason why the differences in claim language do not result in patentable distinct claims is because the ‘133 patent invokes 112(f).
As stated in MPEP 2181 “the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim limitation that invokes 35. U.S.C. 112(f) is the structure, material or act described in the specification as performing the entire claimed function and equivalents to the disclosed structure, material or act.” The claimed “determination unit” in claim 1 of the ‘133 patent very clearly refers to the claimed “microcomputer” in claim 1 of the instant application. All language is identical with the phrase “determination unit” replaced with “microcomputer”.
In addition, the claimed “transmission unit” in claim 1 of the ‘133 patent refers to the transmission unit which transmits information in relation to the sharing ratio determined to the camera accessory described in the specification of the ‘133 patent (the body-side communication unit 240). The body side communication unit 240 includes the CLK signal line terminal, DATAB signal line terminal, DATAL signal line terminal, and HDATA signal line terminal (see fig. 1). The CLK, DATAB, DATAL signal line terminals are part of the first communication section 240a performing two-way data transmission and reception with the camera accessory and the HDATA signal line terminals are clearly separated from a first communication unit (HDATA signal line terminals are located on a separate second communication unit 420b). The HDATA signal line is clearly shown to be one-way transmission. Therefore, claim 1 of ‘133 anticipates instant claim 1.
With respect to the ‘318 patent, Applicant argues that claim 1 of the instant application recites that “the HDATA signal line terminal is separated from the first communication” and states that this is different from claim 1 of the ‘318 patent reciting “the HDATA signal line terminal is not used for the first communication”. It is unclear how the ‘318 limitation does not anticipate the limitation in the instant claim 1 limitation. The ‘318 limitation is more specific in every way than the instant claim 1 limitation. Specifically, the HDATA signal line terminal not being used for the first communication is one of several ways it can be deemed to be “separate” from the first communication. Therefore, this limitation is taught by claim 1 of the ‘318 patent.
Applicant goes on to argue that the limitation “data showing the sharing ratio is transmitted by the first communication” in instant claim 1 is somehow different from “data showing the ratio of blurring correction of the camera accessory and/or data showing the ratio of the blurring correction of the camera body among the sharing ratio are/is transmitted by the first communication”. It is unclear what Applicant is suggesting is different between these two limitations. It should be pointed out that the term “and/or” means that the claimed data transmitted in claim 1 of ‘318 may include both the ratio of blurring of the camera accessory and the ratio of blurring correction of the camera body. As stated earlier in the claim, “a sharing ratio…is a ratio of blurring correction of the camera accessory and a ratio of a blurring correction of the camera body”.
Therefore, the double patenting rejections of claim 1 are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,553,133.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of ‘133 discloses all the limitations of instant claim 1. Specifically, claim 1 of ‘133 invokes 112(f). Therefore, the structures of the determination unit and the transmission unit are interpreted as disclosed in the specification which is identical to the structure claimed in instant claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 of ‘133 discloses all the limitations of instant claim 1.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,805,318.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of ‘318 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 of ‘318 discloses all the limitations of instant claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koyano (US 2017/0019600 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Koyano discloses
A camera body to which a camera accessory is detachably mounted, the camera body comprising:
a processor (14; figs. 2-3) configured to determine a sharing ratio indicating respective ratios of blurring correction to be performed by the camera body (1; fig. 2) and the camera accessory (2; fig. 2); and
a communication interface (3; fig. 2) configured to transmit information relating to the sharing ratio to the camera accessory ([0101]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAUL M. BERARDESCA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/PAUL M BERARDESCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 7/10/2026