DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 18829821 filed 9/10/24.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “updating UE route selection policy (URSP) rule information based on the radio capability information about the UE”? the claim languages are not very clear what is a purpose of updating the URSP rule? For whatever reason? Why is it based on the radio capability? To transmit data? What is the claimed invention? Please clarify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15, 17-18 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gundavelli, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2024/0007395 A1.
As to claim 1, Gundavelli teaches a method by a policy control function (PCF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a registration request including radio capability information about the UE through an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (Gundavelli, figure 4A & 5; page 2, paragraph 18 & 25-26; page 4, paragraph 43; i.e., [0018] network connectivity to user devices over multiple radio access technologies; receiving network capability information indicating that the user device is capable of a multi-link operation over a Wi-Fi network, the Wi-Fi network being one of the multiple radio access technologies; determining a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) for the user device, wherein the URSP is a singular route selection policy for the user device to send and receive data over the multiple radio access technologies and defines, in part, a per application traffic routing rule for routing a portion of traffic for an application used on the user device, over one of multiple links available on the Wi-Fi network; [0026] receive network capability information indicating that the user device is capable of a multi-link operation over a Wi-Fi network, the Wi-Fi network being one of the multiple radio access technologies; determine a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) for the user device, wherein the URSP is a singular route selection policy for the user device to send and receive data over the multiple radio access technologies);
updating UE route selection policy (URSP) rule information based on the radio capability information about the UE (Gundavelli, figure 4A & 5; page 5, paragraph 55 & 58-59; page 6, paragraph 66; i.e., [0055] the URSP policy can be dynamically updated for each UE.; [0059] network controller 308 can deliver the URSP policy to 5G core network 304, which then forwards the URSP policy to UE 302 at step 410. 5G core network 304 can deliver the URSP policy to UE 302 over 3GPP NAS signaling (e.g., UE configuration update). Also, 5G core network 304 can deliver the URSP policy to UE 302; [0066]
network controller 308 can update URSP policies and deliver the updated URSP policies to UE 302); and
transmitting, to the UE, the updated URSP rule information through the AMF entity (Gundavelli, figure 4A & 5; page 5, paragraph 59; i.e., [0059] network controller 308 can deliver the URSP policy to 5G core network 304, which then forwards the URSP policy to UE 302 at step 410. 5G core network 304 can deliver the URSP policy to UE 302 over 3GPP NAS signaling (e.g., UE configuration update). Also, 5G core network 304 can deliver the URSP policy to UE 302).
As to claim 2, Gundavelli teaches the method as recited in claim 1,
wherein the radio capability information about the UE includes information about supporting steering and switching across multiple access packet data unit (PDU) sessions of the UE (Gundavelli, figure 4A & 5; page 2, paragraph 27; i.e., [0027]
3GPP-based UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) is used for application path selection. More specifically, a URSP includes information that maps certain user data traffic (i.e., applications) to 5G Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session connectivity parameters), and
wherein the URSP rule information includes access type preference information indicating the multiple access PDU sessions of the UE (Gundavelli, figure 4A & 5; page 2, paragraph 27; i.e., [0027] 3GPP-based UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) is used for application path selection. More specifically, a URSP includes information that maps certain user data traffic (i.e., applications) to 5G Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session connectivity parameters).
As to claim 4, Gundavelli teaches the method as recited in claim 2, wherein the access type preference information includes at least one of information about at least one access type, and information about at least one radio access technology (RAT) type (Gundavelli, figure 4A & 5; page 2, paragraph 18; i.e., [0018] network connectivity to user devices over multiple radio access technologies; receiving network capability information indicating that the user device is capable of a multi-link operation over a Wi-Fi network, the Wi-Fi network being one of the multiple radio access technologies; determining a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) for the user device, wherein the URSP is a singular route selection policy for the user device to send and receive data over the multiple radio access technologies and defines, in part, a per application traffic routing rule for routing a portion of traffic for an application used on the user device, over one of multiple links available on the Wi-Fi network).
As to claim 5, Gundavelli teaches the method as recited in claim 4,
wherein the information about the at least one access type includes information about a communication type related to third generation partnership project (3GPP) Gundavelli, figure 4A & 5; page 2, paragraph 27; i.e., [0027] 3GPP-based UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) is used for application path selection. More specifically, a URSP includes information that maps certain user data traffic (i.e., applications) to 5G Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session connectivity parameters), and
wherein the information about the at least one RAT type includes information indicating that a plurality of RAT types related to the 3GPP are simultaneously used Gundavelli, figure 4A & 5; page 2, paragraph 27; i.e., [0027] 3GPP-based UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) is used for application path selection. More specifically, a URSP includes information that maps certain user data traffic (i.e., applications) to 5G Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session connectivity parameters).
As to claim 7, Gundavelli teaches a method by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a policy control function (PCF) entity, a registration request including radio capability information about the UE through an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (Gundavelli, figure 4A & 5; page 4, paragraph 44; page 5, paragraph 59; i.e., [0044] NFs comprising an AMF/MME as discussed above, the plurality of NFs of the core network 230 can additionally include one or more of the following: User Plane Functions (UPFs); Policy Control Functions (PCFs); [0059] network controller 308 can deliver the URSP policy to 5G core network 304, which then forwards the URSP policy to UE 302 at step 410. 5G core network 304 can deliver the URSP policy to UE 302 over 3GPP NAS signaling (e.g., UE configuration update). Also, 5G core network 304 can deliver the URSP policy to UE 302); and
receiving, from the PCF entity, updated UE route selection policy (URSP) rule information through the AMF entity (Gundavelli, figure 4A & 5; page 5, paragraph 55 & 58-59; page 6, paragraph 66; i.e., [0055] the URSP policy can be dynamically updated for each UE.; [0059] network controller 308 can deliver the URSP policy to 5G core network 304, which then forwards the URSP policy to UE 302 at step 410. 5G core network 304 can deliver the URSP policy to UE 302 over 3GPP NAS signaling (e.g., UE configuration update). Also, 5G core network 304 can deliver the URSP policy to UE 302; [0066]
network controller 308 can update URSP policies and deliver the updated URSP policies to UE 302),
wherein the radio capability information about the UE is used for the updated URSP rule information (Gundavelli, figure 4A & 5; page 2, paragraph 18 & 25-26; page 4, paragraph 43; i.e., [0018] network connectivity to user devices over multiple radio access technologies; receiving network capability information indicating that the user device is capable of a multi-link operation over a Wi-Fi network, the Wi-Fi network being one of the multiple radio access technologies; determining a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) for the user device, wherein the URSP is a singular route selection policy for the user device to send and receive data over the multiple radio access technologies and defines, in part, a per application traffic routing rule for routing a portion of traffic for an application used on the user device, over one of multiple links available on the Wi-Fi network; [0026] receive network capability information indicating that the user device is capable of a multi-link operation over a Wi-Fi network, the Wi-Fi network being one of the multiple radio access technologies; determine a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) for the user device, wherein the URSP is a singular route selection policy for the user device to send and receive data over the multiple radio access technologies).
Claim(s) 11 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 11 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 17 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 7. Therefore, claim(s) 17 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 7.
Claim(s) 8, 12, 18 & 10, 14, 20 is/are directed to a method and system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 2 & 4. Therefore, claim(s) 8, 12, 18 & 10, 14, 20 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 2 & 4.
Claim(s) 15 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 5. Therefore, claim(s) 15 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 9, 13 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundavelli, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2024/0007395 A1 in view of Panchal, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2022/0264540 A1.
As to claim 3, Gundavelli teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Gundavelli failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the radio capability information about the UE includes at least one of information about at least one subscriber identity module (SIM) usable by the UE, information about at least one modem usable by the UE, and information about at least one mobile network operator usable by the UE, and wherein at least one of the information about the at least one SIM, the information about the at least one modem, and the information about the at least one mobile network operator usable include information about dual use.
However, Panchal teaches the limitation wherein the radio capability information about the UE includes at least one of information about at least one subscriber identity module (SIM) usable by the UE, information about at least one modem usable by the UE, and information about at least one mobile network operator usable by the UE (Panchal, page 3, paragraph 27; page 8, paragraph 75; i.e., [0027] Core network 150 may include core devices 155, such as an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 220, a UPF 235, a Session Management Function (SMF) 240, an Application Function (AF) 250, a Unified Data Management (UDM) 252, a Policy Control Function (PCF) 254, a Network Repository Function (NRF); [0075] SIM card, URSP framework), and wherein at least one of the information about the at least one SIM, the information about the at least one modem, and the information about the at least one mobile network operator usable include information about dual use (Panchal, page 3, paragraph 27; page 8, paragraph 75; i.e., [0027] Core network 150 may include core devices 155, such as an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 220, a UPF 235, a Session Management Function (SMF) 240, an Application Function (AF) 250, a Unified Data Management (UDM) 252, a Policy Control Function (PCF) 254, a Network Repository Function (NRF); [0075] SIM card, URSP framework).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Gundavelli to substitute traffic steering rules from Panchal for steering of roaming from Gundavelli to optimize performance of the applications (Panchal, page 1, paragraph 1).
Claim(s) 9, 13, 19 is/are directed to a method and system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 3. Therefore, claim(s) 9, 13, 19 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 3.
Claim(s) 6 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundavelli, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2024/0007395 A1 in view of Dao, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2019/0394279 A1.
As to claim 6, Gundavelli teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein receiving, from a unified data management (UDM) entity, UE subscriber information,
wherein the URSP rule information is updated based on the radio capability information about the UE and the UE subscriber information (Gundavelli, figure 4A & 5; page 5, paragraph 59; i.e., [0058] UE 302 attaches to 5G network and shares its capability information with 5G core network 304. At step 406, network controller 308 can determine a URSP for UE 302. [0059] network controller 308 can deliver the URSP policy to 5G core network 304, which then forwards the URSP policy to UE 302 at step 410. 5G core network 304 can deliver the URSP policy to UE 302 over 3GPP NAS signaling (e.g., UE configuration update). Also, 5G core network 304 can deliver the URSP policy to UE 302).
But Gundavelli failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the UE subscriber information includes at least one of other public land mobile network (PLMN) subscription information about the UE and information about a UE subscription grade related to the ATSSS mode.
However, Dao teaches the limitation wherein the UE subscriber information includes at least one of other public land mobile network (PLMN) subscription information about the UE and information about a UE subscription grade related to the ATSSS mode (Dao, page 12, paragraph 175; page 18, paragraph 256; i.e., [175] PLMN; [0256] ATSSS rules).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Gundavelli to substitute QoS related rules from Dao for traffic rule from Gundavelli to optimize operation of a UE 52 in wireless communication networks, including without limitation, in a background data transfer policy (Dao, page 2, paragraph 25).
Claim(s) 16 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 6. Therefore, claim(s) 16 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 6.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Ly, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20230319533 A1 discloses AMF, steering, switching, URSP policy.
Gupta, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20230269136 A1 discloses AMF, updated URSP.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416