Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, second office action in response to the communication filed 09/15/2026. Claims 1-7 and 10-19 have been amended. Claims 8-9 and 20 are cancelled. Claims 25-27 have been added. Claims 1-7, 10-19 and 21-27 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 09/15/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the objection to the specification.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the objections to the claims.
Applicant’s cancellation of claim 8 overcomes the 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection of claim 8.
Applicant’s arguments provided for the 35 U.S.C. §102 and §103 rejections of claims 1-24 have been considered but moot because the new ground of rejection the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7, 10-19 and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Below, supporting analysis follows the Subject Matter Eligibility Test described in MPEP § 2106.
101 Analysis: Step 1
Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test entails considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Independent claims 1 and 24 are directed towards an apparatus and a method, respectively. Therefore, each of the independent claims 1 and 24, and the corresponding dependent claims 2-7, 10-19, 21-23 and 25-27 are directed to a statutory category of invention under Step 1.
101 Analysis: Step 2A, Prong 1
If the claim recites a statutory category of invention, the claim requires further analysis in Step 2A. Step 2A of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test is a two-prong inquiry. In Prong 1, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception.
Regarding Prong 1, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below):
Apparatus for detecting jamming in a wireless network, the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory storing instructions that, upon being executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
gather channel utilization data associated with communications in the wireless network;
generate a channel utilization metric based on the performance channel utilization data and
determine whether jamming exists based on the channel utilization metric.
Independent claim 24 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below):
A processor-implemented method, the method comprising the processor:
gathering channel utilization data associated with communications in the wireless network;
generating a channel utilization metric based on the performance channel utilization data; and
determining whether jamming exists based on the channel utilization metric.
These limitations, as drafted, are a system that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a mathematical calculation or a mental concept. That is, nothing in the claim elements preclude the steps from practically being performed as a mental process. For example, “…generating a channel utilization metric based on the performance channel utilization data; and determining whether jamming exists based on the channel utilization metric” may be interpreted as a mathematical or mental determination made according to observable data, such as determining if a measured variable is above a certain threshold. The mere recitation of generic computing components does not take the claim out of the mental process grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
101 Analysis: Step 2A, Prong 2
If the claim recites a judicial exception in Step 2A, Prong 1, the claim requires further analysis in Step 2A, Prong 2. In Step 2A, Prong 2, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
Regarding Prong 2, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted in MPEP § 2106.04(d), it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra-solution activity, or generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application”.
In claim 1, the additional elements beyond the above-noted idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional elements” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
Apparatus for detecting jamming in a wireless network, the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory storing instructions that, upon being executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
gather channel utilization data associated with communications in the wireless network;
generate a channel utilization metric based on the performance channel utilization data and
determine whether jamming exists based on the channel utilization metric.
In claim 24, the additional elements beyond the above-noted idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional elements” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A processor-implemented method, the method comprising the processor:
gathering channel utilization data associated with communications in the wireless network;
generating a channel utilization metric based on the performance channel utilization data; and
determining whether jamming exists based on the channel utilization metric.
For the following reasons, the examiner submits that the above identified additional elements do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional elements of claim 1, “at least one processor,” and “at least one memory” are merely generic components which allow the abstract idea to be applied (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)). The examiner submits that these elements are mere computers or other machinery used as a tool to perform the existing process.
Regarding the further additional elements of claims 1 and 24, “gathering channel utilization data associated with communications in the wireless network” amounts to extra-solution activity. An apparatus or method “for detecting jamming in a wireless network” amounts to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception and cannot integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis: Step 2B
If the additional elements do not integrate the exception into a practical application in step 2A Prong 2, then the claim is directed to the recited judicial exception, and requires further analysis under Step 2B to determine whether it provides an inventive concept (i.e., whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself).
As discussed above, the additional elements of “at least one processor,” and “at least one memory” amount to mere instructions to apply the exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit).
As discussed above, an apparatus or method “for detecting jamming in a wireless network” amounts to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception, which does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
As discussed above, “gathering channel utilization data associated with communications in the wireless network” amounts to extra-solution activity. MPEP § 2106.05(g), and the cases cited therein, including Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) indicate that when the limitation amounts to necessary data gathering and outputting, (i.e., all uses of the recited judicial exception require such data gathering or data output), the limitation amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity.
Thus, even when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea.
The various metrics/limitations of claims 2-7 recite a mathematical calculation (i.e., generating a variable and a score, performing an additive, multiplicative or logarithmic calculation, comparing a score to a threshold) For the reasons described above with respect to claims 1, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
The various metrics/limitations of claims 10-19 and 25 recite selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated, which merely amounts to extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). For the reasons described above with respect to claims 1, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
The various metrics/limitations of claims 21-23 identify the area for which the abstract idea is applied, which merely indicates a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception. For the reasons described above with respect to claim 1, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
The various metrics/limitations of claims 26-27 merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations (i.e., further characterization of determining whether jamming exists). For the reasons described above with respect to claims 1, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 12 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Punal et al. (O. Puñal, I. Aktaş, C. -J. Schnelke, G. Abidin, K. Wehrle and J. Gross, "Machine learning-based jamming detection for IEEE 802.11: Design and experimental evaluation," Proceeding of IEEE International Symposium on a World of Wireless, Mobile and Multimedia Networks 2014, Sydney, NSW, Australia, 2014, pp. 1-10, cited in the IDS dated 11/19/2025; hereinafter Punal).
Regarding claim 1, Punal discloses:
Apparatus for detecting jamming in a wireless network (see at least Abs; “In this paper we present a jamming detection approach for 802.11 networks. It uses metrics that are accessible through standard device drivers and performs detection via machine learning.”), the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory storing instructions that, upon being executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus (see at least Section I; “In this paper, we present a machine learning-based jamming detection approach for 802.11…” Performing machine learning necessarily requires using a processor and a memory storing instructions.) at least to:
gather channel utilization data associated with communications in the wireless network (see at least Section II.B; “We experimented with multiple metrics to detect jamming activity…we focused on metrics that are accessible via a common driver of commodity 802.11 network interface cards…The CBR measures the time (normalized to the observation time) that the wireless channel has been sensed busy.”);
generate a channel utilization metric based on the performance channel utilization data (see at least Section II.C; “A common strategy in related work is to manually choose thresholds for selected metrics [24] based on their behavior in a specific scenario…The combination of multiple metrics will drastically increase the complexity and make manual threshold setting impractical. For tackling this complex problem, we use machine learning algorithms, as they are known to be well-suited for multi-dimensional (binary) classification problems such as the decision about the presence and absence of jamming based on multiple metrics.”) and
determine whether jamming exists based on the channel utilization metric (see at least Abs; “We experimentally show that our approach achieves remarkably high detection rates in indoor and mobile outdoor scenarios even under challenging link conditions.”).
Regarding claim 10, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Punal further teaches:
wherein the channel utilization metric is further based on at least one of a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) metric, a packet error rate (PER) metric (see at least Section II.B; “We identify inactive time (IT) and packet delivery ratio (PDR) as suitable metrics.” PDR is the mathematical complement of PER and shows successful packets), a throughput metric, a latency metric, a jitter metric, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) metric, a retransmission rate metric, a bit error rate (BER) metric, or a connection stability metric.
Regarding claim 12, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Punal further teaches:
wherein the channel utilization metric is further based on a packet error rate (PER) metric (see at least Section II.B; “We identify inactive time (IT) and packet delivery ratio (PDR) as suitable metrics.” PDR is the mathematical complement of PER and shows successful packets).
Regarding claim 23, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Punal further teaches:
wherein the wireless network is a Wi-Fi network (see at least Abs; “In this paper we present a jamming detection approach for 802.11 networks.”).
Regarding claim 24, Punal discloses:
A processor-implemented method (see at least Section I; “In this paper, we present a machine learning-based jamming detection approach for 802.11…” Performing machine learning necessarily requires using a processor.) for detecting jamming in a wireless network (see at least Abs; “In this paper we present a jamming detection approach for 802.11 networks. It uses metrics that are accessible through standard device drivers and performs detection via machine learning.”), the method comprising the processor:
gathering channel utilization data associated with communications in the wireless network (see at least Section II.B; “We experimented with multiple metrics to detect jamming activity…we focused on metrics that are accessible via a common driver of commodity 802.11 network interface cards…The CBR measures the time (normalized to the observation time) that the wireless channel has been sensed busy.”);
generating a channel utilization metric based on the performance channel utilization data (see at least Section II.C; “A common strategy in related work is to manually choose thresholds for selected metrics [24] based on their behavior in a specific scenario…The combination of multiple metrics will drastically increase the complexity and make manual threshold setting impractical. For tackling this complex problem, we use machine learning algorithms, as they are known to be well-suited for multi-dimensional (binary) classification problems such as the decision about the presence and absence of jamming based on multiple metrics.”); and
determining whether jamming exists based on the channel utilization metric (see at least Abs; “We experimentally show that our approach achieves remarkably high detection rates in indoor and mobile outdoor scenarios even under challenging link conditions.”).
Regarding claim 25, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Punal further teaches:
wherein the channel utilization data represents a percentage of time a Wi-Fi channel is busy, either transmitting data or experiencing interference (see at least Section II.B; “The CBR measures the time (normalized to the observation time) that the wireless channel has been sensed busy.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Punal.
Regarding claim 2, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Punal further teaches:
wherein the apparatus determines whether the jamming exists by:
generating a jammer-detection variable based on the channel utilization metric and/or changes in the channel utilization metric over time (see at least Section III.B; “Predicting: During operation, the input variables are continuously monitored and new instances (i.e., new values of metrics) are pushed down each decision tree reaching a specific leaf node. Depending on the distribution of the output variable at the leaf node, the tree will either vote for the presence of a jammer (i.e., output a one) or against it (i.e., output a zero). Finally, the votes of all trees are aggregated into a single output variable representing the prediction probability of jamming.”);
generating a jammer-detection score based on the jammer-detection variable (see at least Section III.B; “Finally, the votes of all trees are aggregated into a single output variable representing the prediction probability of jamming.”); and
determining whether the jamming exists based on the jammer-detection score (see at least Section III.B; “In its default configuration, jamming activity is assumed if the predicted probability is larger than 0.5.”).
Punal does not explicitly teach generating a jammer detection variable and then generating a separate jammer detection score based on the variable. However, under broadest reasonable interpretation, both the jammer detection variable and jammer detection score are functionally identical numerical metrics that quantify the presence of signal jamming. In the system of Punal, the ‘single output variable’ serves as both the jamming detection variable and as a jamming detection score, as it represents the numerical probability of detected jamming. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that splitting a single output variable into an intermediate variable and an output score represents a routine programming variation that yields no new or unexpected results, rendering the sequential generation of a variable and a score obvious over a single unified output.
Regarding claim 3, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Punal further teaches:
wherein the jammer-detection variable is generated by performing an additive calculation based on the channel utilization metric and the changes in the metric over time (see at least Section III.B; “Finally, the votes of all trees are aggregated into a single output variable representing the prediction probability of jamming.” Aggregating votes requires the use of addition.).
Regarding claim 4, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Punal further teaches:
wherein the jammer-detection variable is generated by performing a multiplicative calculation based on the channel utilization metric and the changes in the channel utilization metric over time (see at least Section III.B; “Depending on the distribution of the output variable at the leaf node, the tree will either vote for the presence of a jammer (i.e., output a one) or against it (i.e., output a zero). Finally, the votes of all trees are aggregated into a single output variable representing the prediction probability of jamming. In its default configuration, jamming activity is assumed if the predicted probability is larger than 0.5.” Aggregating votes of 0 or 1 to produce an output between 0 and 1 requires normalization, an operation that relies on multiplication.).
Regarding claim 5, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Punal further teaches:
wherein the detection variable is generated by performing a logarithmic calculation based on the channel utilization metric and the changes in the metric over time (see at least Section II.B; “Signal Metrics: Signal is the power measured upon arrival of a packet, but only passed to higher layers in case of successful reception…In our experiments, instead of collecting a single signal metric (i.e., the average power), we have observed that the differentiation between minimum and maximum signal over all links is most valuable.” Fig. 3 shows that signal power is measured in dBm, a logarithmic scale.).
Regarding claim 6, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Punal further teaches:
wherein the jammer-detection score is generated by:
comparing the jammer-detection variable to a corresponding threshold to determine whether the jammer-detection variable is indicative of jamming (see at least Section III.B; “In its default configuration, jamming activity is assumed if the predicted probability is larger than 0.5.”).
Regarding claim 7, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Punal further teaches [Note: what Punal fails to disclose is strike-through]
wherein the jammer-detection score is generated by:
comparing the jammer-detection variable to a corresponding threshold to determine whether the jammer-detection variable is indicative of jamming (see at least Section III.B; “Depending on the distribution of the output variable at the leaf node, the tree will either vote for the presence of a jammer (i.e., output a one) or against it (i.e., output a zero). Finally, the votes of all trees are aggregated into a single output variable representing the prediction probability of jamming. In its default configuration, jamming activity is assumed if the predicted probability is larger than 0.5.”); and
As established in the rejection of claim 2 above, Punal’s output variable functional serves as both the ‘jammer detection variable’ and ‘jammer detection score’. As argued regarding claim 2, generating an output score from an intermediate variable would be obvious to one of ordinary skill. In generating such an output score, the value would be increased set in accordance with the intermediate variable and its relative value compared to the threshold.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Punal in view of Dhaliwal (US-20240045075-A1; hereinafter Dhaliwal).
Regarding claim 11, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Punal does not explicitly teach, but Dhaliwal teaches:
wherein the channel utilization metric is further based on a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) metric (see at least [0026] – [0027]; “The identification may be completed using feature extraction, comprising: extracting multiple features for each synchronized data; passing each of these features, for each timestamp, through an unsupervised anomaly detection algorithm called an isolation forest; and outputting a Boolean classification for each timestamp of either true or false, wherein true indicates a potential jamming event and false indicates normal service. [0027] The multiple features may include two or more of the following: signal-to-noise ratio for every present satellite; phase for every present satellite; number of visible satellites; mean signal-to-noise ratio of all visible satellites; windowed mean for five, ten and twenty second windows; windowed median for five, ten and twenty second windows; windowed mode for five, ten and twenty second windows; average power from GNSS jamming detector. peak power from GNSS jamming detector; windowed mean power for thirty second window; and differential of windowed mean power for thirty second window.”).
Punal evaluates multiple metrics for a wireless network to determine the presence of a jammer. Dhaliwal evaluates multiple metrics for a GNSS receiver to determine the presence of a jammer, and teaches that anomalies in the SNR of the received signal can be indicative of jamming. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use evaluation of anomalies in the SNR of received signals, taught by Dhaliwal, as additional measurement to inform the overall jamming probability calculation in the method of Punal.
Claims 13 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Punal in view of Leytus (US-8488478-B1; hereinafter Leytus).
Regarding claim 13, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Punal does not explicitly teach, but Leytus teaches:
wherein the channel utilization metric is further based on a throughput metric (see at least col. 4, lines 26-35; “The present device and method transmits an energy packet of a given number of bytes and computes the time required for the transmission, which depends on RF interference in the channel, or the availability of a channel being measured. Software in the computer to which the device communicates tallies all of the transceiver's transmissions and compares this to a calibrated, pre-determined maximum value that is determined empirically in the absence of RF interference. This results in a `% Maximal Throughput` or `% Channel Availability` value for each channel.”).
Punal computes a jamming probability based on channel utilization and other measurements indicative of jamming. Leytus estimates percent maximal throughput as an indication of RF interference in the channel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the throughput estimate of Leytus as an additional measurement to inform the overall jamming probability calculation.
Regarding claim 26, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Punal further teaches:
wherein determining whether jamming exists based on the channel utilization data comprises linking the channel utilization data to other data (see at least Section III.B; “Predicting: During operation, the input variables are continuously monitored and new instances (i.e., new values of metrics) are pushed down each decision tree reaching a specific leaf node. Depending on the distribution of the output variable at the leaf node, the tree will either vote for the presence of a jammer (i.e., output a one) or against it (i.e., output a zero). Finally, the votes of all trees are aggregated into a single output variable representing the prediction probability of jamming.” Section II.B gives the list of included metrics.).
However, Punal does not explicitly teach including throughput data as one of the forms of data considered when determining whether jamming exists.
Punal discloses machine learning-based WLAN jamming detection, and Leytus is directed to estimating RF interference in Wi-Fi.
Leytus teaches:
wherein determining whether interference exists based on the channel utilization data comprises linking the channel utilization data to throughput data (see at least col. 4, lines 26-35; “The present device and method transmits an energy packet of a given number of bytes and computes the time required for the transmission, which depends on RF interference in the channel, or the availability of a channel being measured. Software in the computer to which the device communicates tallies all of the transceiver's transmissions and compares this to a calibrated, pre-determined maximum value that is determined empirically in the absence of RF interference. This results in a `% Maximal Throughput` or `% Channel Availability` value for each channel.”)
Punal computes a jamming probability based on channel utilization and other measurements indicative of jamming. Leytus estimates percent maximal throughput as an indication of RF interference in the channel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the throughput estimate of Leytus as additional measurement to inform the overall jamming probability calculation in the method of Punal. Addition of another known metric that gives an indication of jamming would represent a routine design choice among predictable alternatives, while still satisfying the broad definition of a channel utilization metric.
Regarding claim 27, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 1. However, Punal does not explicitly teach:
wherein determining whether jamming exists based on the channel utilization data comprises determining that throughput falls while channel utilization spikes.
Punal discloses machine learning-based WLAN jamming detection, and Leytus is directed to estimating RF interference in Wi-Fi.
Leytus teaches:
determining that throughput falls while channel utilization spikes (see at least col. 4, lines 53-58; “The method performs a measurement of how long it takes to transmit a packet of known size and computes a throughput value in terms of bytes-per-second. The inverse relationship between this throughput value and the level of interfering RF energy allows one to derive a channel's performance.”).
Punal computes a jamming probability based on channel utilization and other measurements indicative of jamming. Leytus estimates throughput as an indication of RF interference in the channel, teaching that the throughput is inversely proportional to the interference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the throughput estimate of Leytus as another measurement to inform the overall jamming probability calculation. Leytus furthermore teaches that the inverse relationship between throughput and signal inference is well-known in the art. Determining that this known relationship is satisfied when evaluating jamming would furthermore be obvious, particularly as Leytus teaches directly measuring throughput and Punal teaches measuring channel utilization through the CBR. Addition of an further known metric that gives an indication of jamming would represent a routine design choice among predictable alternatives, while still satisfying the broad definition of a channel utilization metric.
Claims 14-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Punal in view of Agerstam et al. (US-20230328547-A1, hereinafter Agerstam).
Regarding claim 14, Punal, as shown above, teaches claim 1.
Agerstam further teaches,
wherein the plurality of metrics comprise a latency metric (see paragraph [0031], “…Examples of the types of metrics that may be collected include …(iv) traffic performance errors and statistics (e.g., jitter, latency, packet drops…” of Agerstam).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Agerstam into the invention of Punal. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose techniques related to wireless/communication networks. Punal discloses in section II.B “…We experimented with multiple metrics to detect jamming activity.…”. Therefore, Punal mentions signal metrics but fails to explicitly disclose the latency metric. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the metrics as disclosed by Punal by incorporating the latency metric as taught by Agerstam. The combination of Punal in view of Agerstam would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to use different kind of metrics to gauge the performance of different wireless technologies. (see paragraph [0037] of Agerstam).
Regarding claim 15, Punal, as shown above, teaches claim 1.
Agerstam further teaches,
wherein the plurality of metrics comprise a jitter metric (see paragraph [0031], “…Examples of the types of metrics that may be collected include …(iv) traffic performance errors and statistics (e.g., jitter, latency, packet drops…” of Agerstam).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Agerstam into the invention of Punal. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose techniques related to wireless/communication networks. Punal discloses in section II.B “…We experimented with multiple metrics to detect jamming activity.…”. Therefore, Punal mentions signal metrics but fails to explicitly disclose the jitter metric. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the metrics as disclosed by Punal by incorporating the latency metric as taught by Agerstam. The combination of Punal in view of Agerstam would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to use different kind of metrics to gauge the performance of different wireless technologies. (see paragraph [0037] of Agerstam).
Regarding claim 16, Punal, as shown above, teaches claim 1.
Agerstam further teaches,
wherein the plurality of metrics comprise a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) metric (see paragraph [0046], “…the tuning recommendations for Wi-Fi and cellular technology (e.g., 4G/5G) may recommend selecting a different modulation and coding scheme (MCS) index to indirectly change the modulation scheme, coding scheme, and/or related parameters…”, and further see paragraph [0069], “…the processing pipeline 300 receives various types of input or performance data 302 from different sources, such as quality of service (QoS) metrics for wireless networks deployed in the infrastructure …modulation and coding scheme (MCS) indices for various wireless technologies …” of Agerstam).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Agerstam into the invention of Punal. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose techniques related to wireless/communication networks. Punal discloses in section II.B “…We experimented with multiple metrics to detect jamming activity.…”. Therefore, Punal mentions signal metrics but fails to explicitly disclose the MCS metric. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the metrics as disclosed by Punal by incorporating the latency metric as taught by Agerstam. The combination of Punal in view of Agerstam would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to use different kind of metrics to gauge the performance of different wireless technologies. (see paragraph [0037] of Agerstam).
Regarding claim 19, Punal, as shown above, teaches claim 1.
Agerstam further teaches,
wherein the plurality of metrics comprise a connection stability metric (see paragraph [0031], “…Examples of the types of metrics that may be collected include …(iv) traffic performance errors and statistics (e.g., jitter, latency, packet drops, packet loss, transmit (TX)/receive (RX) statistics, retransmission statistics …” of Agerstam). Examiner’s Note: Connection stability metrics is determined by multiple factors, including packet loss, jitter and latency.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Agerstam into the invention of Punal. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose techniques related to wireless/communication networks. Punal discloses in section II.B “…We experimented with multiple metrics to detect jamming activity.…”. Therefore, Punal mentions signal metrics but fails to explicitly disclose the connection stability metric. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the metrics as disclosed by Punal by incorporating the latency metric as taught by Agerstam. The combination of Punal in view of Agerstam would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to use different kind of metrics to gauge the performance of different wireless technologies. (see paragraph [0037] of Agerstam).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Punal, in view of Baid et al. (US 2015/0257024 A1, hereinafter Baid).
Regarding claim 17, Punal, as shown above, teaches claim 1.
Baid further teaches,
wherein the plurality of metrics comprise a retransmission rate metric (see paragraph [00108], “…Performance metrics may include measured interference level, retransmission rate, average delay, and/or the like…” of Baid).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Baid into the invention of Punal. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose techniques related to wireless/communication networks. . Punal discloses in section II.B “…We experimented with multiple metrics to detect jamming activity.…”. Therefore, Punal mentions signal metrics but fails to explicitly disclose the retransmission rate metric. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the metrics as disclosed by Punal by incorporating the retransmission rate metric as taught by Baid. The combination of Punal in view of Baid would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to use different kind of metrics to gauge the performance of different wireless technologies. (see paragraphs [0093], [0108]-[0109] of Baid).
Claims 18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Punal in view of Cookman (US-20230063434-A1; hereinafter Cookman).
Regarding claim 18, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 1. However, Punal does not explicitly teach wherein the channel utilization metric is further based on a bit error rate (BER) metric. In analogous art, Cookman teaches:
wherein the plurality of metrics comprise a bit error rate (BER) metric (see paragraph [0090], “…e.g., as indicated by one or more performance metrics at least meeting one or more performance metric thresholds, or a combination of metrics meeting combination criteria. For example, calibration may be limited to times when a bit error rate (BER) is below a threshold error rate, or an SNR (signal-to-noise ratio) is above an SNR threshold…”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Cookman into the invention of Punal. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose techniques related to wireless/communication networks. . Punal discloses in section II.B “…We experimented with multiple metrics to detect jamming activity.…”. Therefore, Punal mentions signal metrics but fails to explicitly disclose the BER rate metric. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the metrics as disclosed by Punal by incorporating the BER rate metric as taught by Cookman. The combination of Punal in view of Cookman would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to use different kind of metrics to gauge the performance of different wireless technologies (see section II.B of Punal).
Regarding claim 21, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 1. However, Punal does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is an access point of the wireless network. Rather, the apparatus of Punal is a PC equipped with a WLAN card (see section II.A). In analogous art, Cookman teaches:
wherein the apparatus is an access point of the wireless network (see at least [0022]; “A base station may operate according to one of several RATs in communication with UEs depending on the network in which it is deployed. Examples of a base station include an Access Point (AP), a Network Node, a NodeB, an evolved NodeB (eNB), or a general Node B (gNodeB, gNB).”).
Punal teaches detecting jamming from wireless network metrics in a proof-of-concept experimental setup involving several PCs. Cookman teaches a wireless network comprising user equipment, base stations, and servers, all of which comprise computer processors (see Figs. 3-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform jamming calculations at any of the UE, the base station, or the server of the wireless network, because all contain the computer processors required for the method, and information is exchanged between the nodes. Selection of which computer in the network performs the computations represents a design choice among known alternatives.
Regarding claim 22, Punal discloses the apparatus of claim 1. However, Punal does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is a backend of the wireless network. Rather, the apparatus of Punal is a PC equipped with a WLAN card (see section II.A). In analogous art, Cookman teaches:
wherein the apparatus is a backend of the wireless network (see at least Fig. 1, server 150. See also [0066]; “Referring also to FIG. 4, a server 400, of which the LMF 120 is an example, comprises a computing platform including a processor 410, memory 411 including software (SW) 412, and a transceiver 415.”).
Punal teaches detecting jamming from wireless network metrics in a proof-of-concept experimental setup involving several PCs. Cookman teaches a wireless network comprising user equipment, base stations, and servers, all of which comprise computer processors (see Figs. 3-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform jamming calculations at any of the UE, the base station, or the server of the wireless network, because all contain the computer processors required for the method, and information is exchanged between the nodes. Selection of which computer in the network performs the computations represents a design choice among known alternatives.
Conclusion
/ASHLEY BROWN RAYNAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648