DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed July 17, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-14 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims and Specification have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on April 17, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues primarily that Oikawa et al. (US 10471713 B2) “does not disclose the recess 55 or hollow portion is provided at a side surface of a support member at a position facing the capacitor in a direction orthogonal to a surface of the flexible wiring board where the capacitor is mounted so that a concave portion is not in contact with a sealant. Therefore, even if Oikawa et al. can be considered to have a concave portion, such cannot be said to have a relation of facing in a direction orthogonal to the capacitor-mounted surface of the flexible wiring board and a relation of being not in contact with a sealant” (see pp. 12). And therefore, in combination with other limitations of claims 1 and/or 13, Oikawa et al. fails to disclose the features of the present invention.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument. Oikawa et al. demonstrates, as now recited in claims 1 and 13, wherein a concave portion is provided at a position in a side surface of a support member facing a capacitor in a direction orthogonal to a surface of the flexible wiring board where the capacitor is mounted such that the concave portion is not in contact a sealant (e.g. annotated portion of Fig. 9 below). As the other features remain the same as previously indicated in the Non-Final Office Action, a rejection of each of claims 1 and 13 will be maintained in view of Oikawa.
The applicant also argues that Suzuki et al. (US 7149090 B2) “does not disclose does not disclose or suggest a specific relation in which a concave portion and a capacitor face relative to a capacitor-mounted surface and a relation in which the concave portion and a sealant are not in contact with each other” and would fail to remedy deficiencies of Oikawa et al. (see pp. 13).
Suzuki et al. does at least disclose a relation in which a concave portion and an electronic component face relative to an electronic-component mounted surface (annotated portion of Fig. 6 below). Regardless, because Oikawa et al. discloses the remaining limitations, Suzuki is only required to account for limitations Oikawa et al. fails to disclose. Under 35 U.S.C. 103, in a case wherein Oikawa et al. may not explicitly demonstrate a specific combination of a concave portion with a slanted capacitor-mount portion facing the concave portion, Suzuki et al. may be used to demonstrate that specific combination without being required to disclose all other limitations already disclosed by Oikawa et al.
Therefore, the rejections of the claims in view of Oikawa et al. and Suzuki et al. will be maintained with added subject matter to account for the amendments.
The examiner will adjust the annotated figures previously provided in attempt to improve distinction of annotations on the figures and better reflect the subject matter. The examiner will also reiterate the rejection basis noted above in each of the rejections for at least claims 1 and 13, including the new annotated figure of Oikawa et al. demonstrating the sealant not in contact with the concave portion and orthogonality.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner notes that “slanted relative to a support surface”, when given a broadest reasonable interpretation, could be interpreted as “slanted 90° with respect to a support surface”. Therefore, if desired, Oikawa et al. could have been and could presently be used to reject at least claims 1 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102 rather than 35 U.S.C. 103. However, the examiner has given “slanted relative to a support surface” the meaning of an angle other than 90° (i.e. between 0° and 90°) in light of the application’s specification and will maintain the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa et al. (US 10471713 B2, from IDS), hereinafter referred to as Oikawa, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 7149090 B2, related to JP 2003086913 A from IDS), hereinafter referred to as Suzuki.
The examiner notes that the specification of the present invention discloses Oikawa as flawed, however the specification of the claimed invention only notes fault and improvement to the first and/or second embodiments wherein the capacitor is disposed at the top, side by side with the element substrate. The speciation of the present invention does not disclose consideration to the third to fifth embodiments or a combination thereof. The claims of the present invention read on Oikawa as follows.
Regarding claim 1, Oikawa teaches a liquid ejection head (liquid ejection head 3; col. 3, ll. 3-4; Fig. 3A) comprising:
an element substrate (printing element substrate 10; col. 6, ll. 12; Fig. 3B) that ejects liquid from an ejection port (ejection port arrays ; col. 6, ll. 11; liquid ink is ejected from ejection ports; col. 4, ll. 64-66) through an action of an element (heat generating element for generating energy and ejects liquid; col. 2, ll. 29-30);
a support member that supports the element substrate (flow path member 210 is formed of first flow path member 50 and second flow path member 60; col. 5, ll. 57-58; Fig. 3B; col. 7, ll. 51-55; Fig. 9, 10);
a flexible wiring board electrically connected to the element substrate (flexible wiring substrates 40 are electrically connected to printing element substrate 10 via terminal 16; col. 6, ll. 14-16; Fig. 4A, 4B); and
a capacitor mounted at the flexible wiring board (“capacitor 120 is implemented on each of the two flexible wiring substrates 40”; col. 7, ll. 47-48; Fig. 9, 10); and
a sealant that seals the capacitor (“capacitor 120 is sealed with a sealing agent”; col. 7, ll. 50; sealing agent 121; Fig. 9), wherein
a side surface of the support member has a concave portion, the side surface intersecting with a support surface (“recess 55 for housing a capacitor of the first flow path member 50 b is formed on a side surface”; col. 9, ll. 33-35; Fig. 9; “recess 62 for housing a capacitor is formed on a side surface of each end of the second flow path member 60a”; col. 9, ll. 55-58; Fig. 10), and
the concave portion is provided at a position in the side surface facing a capacitor in a direction orthogonal to a surface of the flexible wiring board where the capacitor is disposed such that the concave portion is not in contact with the sealant (example using portion of Fig. 9 annotated below).
Oikawa further teaches another embodiment of the liquid ejection head wherein a mount portion of the flexible wiring board where the capacitor is mounted is provided in such a manner as to be slanted relative to a support surface of the support member where the element substrate is supported (portion of Fig. 11 annotated below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify one embodiment of the liquid ejection head [wherein there is a concave portion] with another [wherein the mount portion slanted] as Oikawa suggests for the purpose of optimizing the position of the capacitor and reducing bending load on the flexible wiring board (col. 10, ll. 15-18, 50-55).
The modification, that is combining the features of a concave portion and a slanted mount portion, is further supported by Suzuki. Suzuki teaches a liquid ejection head (printhead unit 17; col. 3, ll. 14; Fig. 2) wherein the flexible wiring board is disposed slanted and a mounting portion for an electronic component (IC chip 23 is mounted on flexible printed circuit board 25; col. 5, ll. 40-42) is disposed in the vicinity of a concave portion (portion of Fig. 6 annotated below). Further, the concave portion is provided at a position in the side surface facing the electronic component in a direction orthogonal to the mount portion (portion of Fig. 6 annotated below). Oikawa does note that instead of a capacitor, other electronic components may be used (col. 10, ll. 56-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose an electronic component on a mount portion slanted relative to a support surface wherein a concave portion is provided at a position in a side surface facing the electronic component in a direction orthogonal to the mount portion for the purpose of disposing a flexible wiring board, and therefore the electronic component on it, in an area protected from entry of ink and contaminants, as taught by Suzuki (col. 4, ll. 47-49).
Regarding claim 3, Oikawa further teaches wherein the support member has a flow channel for supplying the liquid to the element substrate (supply flow path 211 inside second flow path member 60 and supply flow path 213a inside first flow path member 50; col. 7, ll. 27-33; Fig. 5B, 5C).
Regarding claim 4, Oikawa does not teach wherein the support member includes a slanted portion located between the support surface and the side surface and slanted relative to the support surface.
Suzuki teaches a liquid ejection head wherein the support member includes a slanted portion located between the support surface and the side surface and slanted relative to the support surface (portion of Fig. 6 annotated below).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki further teaches wherein the slanted portion is slanted relative to the support surface by 20 degrees or greater and less than 60 degrees (55 degrees; portion of Fig. 6 annotated below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid ejection head as taught by Oikawa to include a slanted portion wherein the slanted portion is slanted relative to the support surface by 20 degrees or greater and smaller than 60 degrees as taught by Suzuki. This would have been done for the purpose of providing an inclined surface wherein the flexible wiring board may be supported to prevent wire damage as taught by Suzuki (col. 9, ll. 4-15).
Regarding claim 6, Oikawa does not explicitly teach wherein the flexible wiring board is bonded to the element substrate at a first bond portion, bonded to the support member at a second bond portion, and bonded to an electric board at a third bond portion, the electric board being for controlling an ejection operation of the element substrate, and the capacitor is provided between the second bond portion and the third bond portion. Oikawa does note that instead of a capacitor, other electronic components may be used (col. 10, ll. 56-61).
Suzuki teaches liquid ejection head (printhead unit 17; col. 3, ll. 14; Fig. 2) wherein
the flexible wiring board is bonded to the element substrate at a first bond portion and bonded to an electric board at a third bond portion (“printheads 19, 20 are connected with the circuit board 21 via the flexible printed circuit boards 24, 25”; col. 3, ll. 38-39; portion of Fig. 6 annotated below), the electric board being for controlling an ejection operation of the element substrate (signals are sent to IC chips 22, 23 from circuit board 21 that is connected to circuit board 80 attached to a printer control circuit board; col. 3, ll. 55-63; IC chips output ejection signals; col. 5, ll. 12-17),
the flexible wiring board is bonded to the support member at a second bond portion, and the capacitor is provided between the second bond portion and the third bond portion (portion of Fig. 6 annotated below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid ejection head as taught by Oikawa to include three bond portions at which the flexible board is connected to the element substrate, support member, and electric board wherein an electronic component is disposed between the second and third bond portions as taught by Suzuki. This would have been done for the purpose of providing connections to send ejection signals to the ejection ports (col. 3, ll. 55-63; col. 5, ll. 12-17) and to provide seals to prevent entry of ink and contaminants from getting to the flexible wiring boards (col. 4, ll. 45-49).
Regarding claim 7, Oikawa further teaches wherein the side surface includes a thick portion and a thin portion at positions different from the concave portion, the thick portion having an increased thickness toward the flow channel, the thin portion having a reduced thickness toward the flow channel (portion of Fig. 9 annotated below).
Regarding claim 8, Oikawa further teaches wherein the concave portion is provided between the thick portion and the thin portion (portion of Fig. 9 annotated above),
and the thick portion and the thin portion are disposed alternately (a plurality of printing element substrate 10, flexible wiring substrates 40, and first flow path member 50 imply a plurality of thin and thick portions wherein they may be disposed alternately; an example of a single set in Fig. 6; claim 12).
Regarding claim 9, Oikawa further teaches further comprising a cover member surrounding the element substrate (130 in Fig. 3b).
Regarding claim 10, Oikawa further teaches wherein the support member comprises a first support member and a second support member (flow path member 210 is formed of first flow path member 50 and second flow path member 60; col. 5, ll. 57-58; Fig. 3B; col. 7, ll. 51-55; Fig. 9),
the element substrate is joined to the first support member (printing element substrate 10 is directly joined to the first flow path member 50; col. 7, ll. 25-27);
the second support member is joined to the first support member (first flow path member 50 is joined to second flow path member 60; col. 7, ll. 51-55; Fig. 9), and
the second support member includes the concave portion (recess 62; Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 11, Oikawa further teaches wherein a plurality of the first support members are arrayed and joined to the second support member (plurality of first flow path members 50; col. 6, ll. 67 to col. 7, ll. 1; claim 12).
Regarding claim 12, Oikawa further teaches the element is a heating resistance element (heat generating element for generating energy and ejects liquid; col. 2, ll. 29-30).
Regarding claim 13, Oikawa teaches a liquid ejection head (liquid ejection head 3; col. 3, ll. 3-4; Fig. 3A) comprising:
an element substrate (printing element substrate 10; col. 6, ll. 12; Fig. 3B) that ejects liquid from an ejection port (ejection port arrays ; col. 6, ll. 11; liquid ink is ejected from ejection ports; col. 4, ll. 64-66) through an action of an element (heat generating element for generating energy and ejects liquid; col. 2, ll. 29-30);
a support member that supports the element substrate (flow path member 210 is formed of first flow path member 50 and second flow path member 60; col. 5, ll. 57-58; Fig. 3B; col. 7, ll. 51-55; Fig. 9) and has a flow channel for supplying the liquid to the element substrate (supply flow path 211 inside second flow path member 60 and supply flow path 213a inside first flow path member 50; col. 7, ll. 27-33; Fig. 5B, 5C);
a flexible wiring board electrically connected to the element substrate (flexible wiring substrates 40 are electrically connected to printing element substrate 10 via terminal 16; col. 6, ll. 14-16; Fig. 4A, 4B); and
an electronic component mounted at the flexible wiring board (“capacitor 120 is implemented on each of the two flexible wiring substrates 40”; col. 7, ll. 47-48; Fig. 9; any electronic component may be used alternatively; col. 10, ll. 56-61); and
a sealant that seals the capacitor (“capacitor 120 is sealed with a sealing agent”; col. 7, ll. 50; sealing agent 121; Fig. 9), wherein
a side surface of the support member has a concave portion, the side surface intersecting with a support surface (“recess 55 for housing a capacitor of the first flow path member 50 b is formed on a side surface”; col. 9, ll. 33-35; Fig. 9; “recess 62 for housing a capacitor is formed on a side surface of each end of the second flow path member 60a”; col. 9, ll. 55-58; Fig. 10), and
the concave portion is provided at a position in the side surface facing a capacitor in a direction orthogonal to a surface of the flexible wiring board where the capacitor is disposed such that the concave portion is not in contact with the sealant (example using portion of Fig. 9 annotated below).
Oikawa further teaches another embodiment of the liquid ejection head wherein a mount portion of the flexible wiring board where the electronic component is mounted is provided in such a manner as to be slanted relative to a support surface of the support member where the element substrate is supported (portion of Fig. 11 annotated below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify one embodiment of the liquid ejection head [wherein there is a concave portion] with another [wherein the mount portion slanted] as Oikawa suggests for the purpose of optimizing the position of the capacitor and reducing bending load on the flexible wiring board (col. 10, ll. 15-18, 50-55).
The modification, that is combining the features of a concave portion and a slanted mount portion, is further supported by Suzuki. Suzuki teaches a liquid ejection head (printhead unit 17; col. 3, ll. 14; Fig. 2) wherein the flexible wiring board is disposed slanted and a mounting portion for an electronic component (IC chip 23 is mounted on flexible printed circuit board 25; col. 5, ll. 40-42) is disposed in the vicinity of a concave portion (portion of Fig. 6 annotated below). Further, the concave portion is provided at a position in the side surface facing the electronic component in a direction orthogonal to the mount portion (portion of Fig. 6 annotated below). Oikawa does note that instead of a capacitor, other electronic components may be used (col. 10, ll. 56-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose an electronic component on a mount portion slanted relative to a support surface wherein a concave portion is provided at a position in a side surface facing the electronic component in a direction orthogonal to the mount portion for the purpose of disposing a flexible wiring board, and therefore the electronic component on it, in an area protected from entry of ink and contaminants, as taught by Suzuki (col. 4, ll. 47-49).
Regarding claim 14, Oikawa further teaches wherein the electronic component is the capacitor that stabilizes driving voltage applied to the element (“capacitor 120 is provided to prevent a malfunction of a drive element”; col. 7, ll. 48-49).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
21 August 2026
/KYRA MELOR VAN KREUNINGEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853