DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “checking, after receiving an activation request, in a control step” (line 4) and “checking, in the control step” (fourth to last line). It is unclear how many control steps there are. In other words, the claim recites a singular step, but the step appears to execute more than once which is inherently contradictory.
Claim 1 recites, “an activation of the use cycle” and “the activation of the machine” (second to last line). This creates an inconsistency in antecedence basis between limitations.
Claim 17 recites, “An operating controller (3, 10) configured to perform the method according to claim 1.” Claim 1 recites steps performed by “an operating controller,” “a portable data processor,” and “a control server” so it is unclear how the “operating controller” can perform the method alone because it contradicts the recitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 10, 12-16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Belveal et al (US Pub. No. 2017/0085390), hereafter, “Belveal.”
As to claim 9, Belveal discloses an operating controller (3, 10) for a machine (2, 9) comprising a machine controller (12) by which a plurality of use cycles of a machine program can be performed (Fig. 3 and [0068], “FIG. 3 depicts an example system for providing a laundry service in accordance with implementations such as those of the present disclosure. As shown in the example of FIG. 3, a laundry machine 112 may include a microcontroller 302, one or more network interfaces 304, one or more control modules 306, and a status indicator 116. The microcontroller 302 may be electronically and communicatively coupled to the network interface(s) 304, the control module(s) 306, and the status indicator 116 such that information may communicated between the microcontroller 302 and the other components. In some implementations, the microcontroller 302 may include one or more integrated circuits (ICs) such as a system-on-a-chip (SoC) or a system in package (SiP) (e.g., multiple chips). The microcontroller 302 may be incorporated into the laundry machine 112 to enable the laundry machine 112 to operate within the automated laundry service described herein.”), wherein the operating controller (3, 10) comprises:
a data transmitter (19) for wireless transmission of data to a portable data processor (4); a data transmitter (20) for wirelessly receiving data with a control server (5) (Fig. 3, labels 304b, 104, and [0069]);
a processor (21) for processing data which are transmitted from the control server (5) to the operating controller (3, 10) (Fig. 3, labels 204, 302);
an interface (15) for connection to the machine controller (12) of the machine (Fig. 3, labels 302, 306, 112, and [0068]-[0070], see also [0085]); and
an enablement switch which is connected to the processor (21) and by which the machine program that can be performed by the machine controller (12) can be enabled or activated via the interface (15) (Fig. 3 and [0082], particularly, “The control signal(s) 314 may instruct the microcontroller 302 to alter an operational state of the laundry machine 112 from its previous state (e.g., free or reserved) to a current state (e.g., in use). The control signal(s) 314 may instruct the microcontroller to set the state of the machine 112 to any appropriate state, including but not limited to free, reserved, or in use. Altering the operational state may include sending an instruction to cause the status indicator 116 to indicate a status of in use. Altering the operational state may also include sending an instruction to the control module(s) 306 to cause the door of the laundry machine 112 to unlock, or to cause the control module(s) 306 to mechanically or electrically enable the laundry machine 112 to perform operations to process laundry. In some implementations, altering the operational state of the machine 112 may include enabling or disabling a control panel and/or one or more controls of the machine 112. The microcontroller 302 may send other instruction(s) to the control module(s) 306 to enable the use of the laundry machine 112.”).
As to claim 10, Belveal discloses the operating controller (3, 10) comprises an identification memory (24) having a unique operating controller address stored there ([0075], particularly, “The beacon signal 308 may include an identifier that identifies the particular laundry machine 112 from which the beacon signal 308 is emitted. In some cases, the identifier may uniquely identify the laundry machine 112 among the plurality of laundry machines 112 managed by the management server device(s) 204 within the laundry service.”).
As to claim 12, Belveal discloses the operating controller (3, 10) comprises a control server contact memory (22) having control server contact data stored there ([0090]).
As to claim 13, Belveal discloses the processor (21) is configured for decrypting encrypted data which are transmitted from the control server (5) to the operating controller (3, 10) ([0126] and [0177]).
As to claim 15, Belveal discloses the operating controller (3, 10) comprises a display (17) ([0058]).
As to claim 16, Belveal discloses the operating controller (3, 10) comprise at least one actuatable operating element (18), by which an activation request can be generated ([0082]).
As to claim 18, Belveal discloses a system, comprising: a machine comprising the operating controller (3, 10) according to claim 9; a portable data processor (4); and a control server (5) which can be wirelessly connected, for data transmission, both to the operating controller (3, 10) and to the portable data processor (4) (Fig. 3 and [0075]-[0076]).
As to claim 19, Belveal discloses the operating controller (3, 10) and the portable data processor (4) are configured such that data can be transmitted form the operating controller (3, 10) to the portable data processor (4) (Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and [0075]-[0076]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 11, 14, 17, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belveal in view of Berman et al (US Pu. No. 2016/0232499), hereafter, “Berman.”
As to claim 1, Belveal discloses a method for controlling operation of a machine (2, 9) using a machine controller (12), by which a plurality of use cycles of a machine program can be performed (Fig. 3 and [0068]), comprising:
checking, after receiving an activation request, in a control step before activation of a use cycle, by an operating controller (3, 10) whether an enablement requirement for performing the machine program is fulfilled ([0082], particularly, “The control signal(s) 314 may instruct the microcontroller 302 to alter an operational state of the laundry machine 112 from its previous state (e.g., free or reserved) to a current state (e.g., in use). The control signal(s) 314 may instruct the microcontroller to set the state of the machine 112 to any appropriate state, including but not limited to free, reserved, or in use. Altering the operational state may include sending an instruction to cause the status indicator 116 to indicate a status of in use. Altering the operational state may also include sending an instruction to the control module(s) 306 to cause the door of the laundry machine 112 to unlock, or to cause the control module(s) 306 to mechanically or electrically enable the laundry machine 112 to perform operations to process laundry.”);
enabling, in an enablement step, an activation of the use cycle requested by the activation request, such that the machine (2, 9) can perform the machine program, if the enablement requirement is fulfilled and not enabling, in the enablement step, the requested activation if the enablement requirement is not fulfilled ([0082], particularly, “In some implementations, the control signal(s) 314 may cause the microcontroller 302 to enable use of the laundry machine 112 during a predetermined period of time. For example, in cases where the laundry machine 112 is a washer, the laundry machine 112 may be enabled for use during a wash cycle of the laundry machine 112. In cases where the laundry machine 112 is a dryer, the laundry machine 112 may be enabled for use during one or more increments of time (e.g., 15 minute increments) associated with the dryer.” And further, [0116]-[0117], particularly, “If not, the management module(s) 206 may send, or cause to be sent, an error message 922. In response to receiving the error message 922, the customer application 310 may indicate (924) that the laundry machine 112 is current reserved for other customer(s), and request that the user 102 select a free laundry machine 112.”);
acquiring, in an identification step (6), a unique operating controller address by a portable data processor (4) (Fig. 3, label 104 and [0075], particularly, “In some implementations, the beacon signal 308 may be emitted within a particular frequency range such that a wireless network interface of the mobile device 104 is able to detect and receive the beacon signal 308… The beacon signal 308 may include an identifier that identifies the particular laundry machine 112 from which the beacon signal 308 is emitted. In some cases, the identifier may uniquely identify the laundry machine 112 among the plurality of laundry machines 112 managed by the management server device(s) 204 within the laundry service.”);
establishing, in a loading request step (7), a data-transmitting connection of the portable data processor (4) to a control server (5), and transmitting a loading request containing the operating controller address to the control server (5) (Fig. 3 and [0077]-[0078], particularly, “On determining that the mobile device 104 is within a threshold distance of the laundry machine 112, the customer application 310 may infer that the user 102 is selecting the laundry machine 112 for use. The customer application 310 may cause a machine request 312 to be communicated to the management server device(s) 204. In some implementations, the machine request 312 may be communicated to the management server device(s) 204 over a WAN such as the internet.”);
checking, in a loading checking step, by the control server (5) the loading request and generating an item of use cycle enablement information (Fig. 3 and [0078]-[0079], particularly, “The approval of the machine request 312 may be further based on whether the user 102 has been authenticated as an authorized user of the laundry service. In some implementations, the approval of the machine request 312 may also be contingent on the successful processing of a payment from the user 102 to the laundry service.”);
establishing, in a loading confirmation step (8), a data-transmitting connection between the control server (5) and the operating controller (3, 10) identified via the operating controller address, and transmitting the item of use cycle enablement information from the control server (5) to the operating controller (3, 10) ([0081], particularly, “If the machine request 312 is approved, the management module(s) 206 may update the status information 208 to indicate, for the laundry machine 112, a current status of in use. The management module(s) 206 may generate one or more control signals 314 that are communicated to the laundry machine 112. In some implementations, the laundry machine 112 may have a network address such as an internet protocol (IP) address. The management module(s) 206 may determine the particular network address that is associated with the laundry machine identifier, and cause the control signal(s) 314 to be sent to the network address of the laundry machine 112.”); and
However, Belveal does not explicitly disclose checking, in the control step, by a processor (21) of the operating controller as to whether the use cycle enablement information fulfils the enablement requirement of the activation of the machine (2, 9) requested by the activation request.
But, Berman discloses checking, in a control step, by a processor (21) of an operating controller as to whether a use cycle enablement information fulfils an enablement requirement of an activation of the machine (2, 9) requested by an activation request ([0044]-[0045], particularly, “The token handler device 250 may receive the token 251 from the customer's mobile device via a BLUETOOTH™ or other near-field communication protocol. A token processing module 270 compares data value(s) of the token to data value(s) stored at the token handler device 250…The control electronics 290 may include a computer board on the laundry machine 140 which in turn actuates the laundry machine, such as an interface or display 291 on the laundry machine (e.g., to start/stop or select a wash cycle on the laundry machine), a timer (e.g., to set or add a time of operation of the laundry machine), a motor (e.g., to drive the clothes tumbler). Other components and/or functions can also be controlled by actuating via the token handler device 250, such as but not limited to different cycles (e.g., heavy duty, rinse, spin, etc.).”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Belveal and Berman in order to provide a known means to reliably control the operation of a machine and prevent unauthorized access.
As to claim 2, the teachings of Belveal and Berman as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose the operating controller (3, 10) comprises an identification memory (24) having a unique operating controller address stored there, and wherein, in the identification step (6), the operating controller address is automatically transmitted to the portable data processor (4), as soon as a distance between the portable data processor (4) and the operating controller (3, 10) is smaller than a predeterminable minimum distance (Belveal, [0061]-[0062]).
As to claim 3, the teachings of Belveal and Berman as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose the operating controller (3) comprises a control server contact memory (22) having control server contact data stored there, and wherein, in the identification step (6), the control server contact data are transmitted automatically to the portable data processor (4) (Belveal, [0090]).
As to claim 4, the teachings of Belveal and Berman as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose in the loading confirmation step (8), the data-transmitting connection between the control server (5) and the operating controller (3, 10) is performed in an encrypted manner (Belveal, [0081]).
As to claim 5, the teachings of Belveal and Berman as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose the operating controller (3, 10) comprises a use cycle number information memory (23) for storing use cycle number information, wherein, in the loading confirmation step (8), proceeding from the use cycle enablement information transmitted to the operating controller (3, 10), the item of use cycle number information is stored or adjusted in the use cycle number information memory (23), and wherein, in the enablement step, after completed enablement of an activation of a use cycle requested by the activation request, an item of use cycle number information is reduced by a use cycle number that corresponds to a completed activation (Berman, [0116]-[0117], particularly, “The tables 400a-b in FIG. 4 and tables 500a-b in FIG. 5 illustrate a code sample (the first 20 entries of 65,536 entries are shown). The first column represents an index (1 through the number of entries), and the second column represents the corresponding code for the index entry. The codes shown in FIG. 4 may be stored at the token provider (e.g., token provider 110 shown in FIG. 1B) and used to generate the token. These same codes (shown in FIG. 5) may also be written to the token handler at the laundry machine by “injecting” the codes in hardware stored in or associated with the token handler at the laundry machine. Each token handler includes its own set of unique codes in an indexed array, stored in memory internal to the token handler at the laundry machine.”).
As to claim 8, the teachings of Belveal and Berman as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose the activation request is transmitted from the portable data processor (4) to the control server (5), and from the control server (5) to the operating controller (3, 10) (Belveal, [0081]).
As to claim 11, Belveal discloses the parent claim but does not disclose the identification memory (24) comprises a storage region that cannot be written with data during a usage period. However, Berman discloses identification memory comprises a storage region that cannot be written with data during a usage period ([0053], particularly, “The Token Handler Service has three characteristics and one Client Characteristic Configuration. The ID is read only and is the ID that is on the label of the meter. The command characteristic can be written and a return code can be read.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Belveal and Berman in order to provide a known means to reliably control the operation of a machine and prevent unauthorized access.
As to claim 14, Belveal discloses the parent claim but does not disclose the operating controller (3, 10) comprises a use cycle enablement information memory (23) for storing use cycle enablement information. However, Berman discloses an operating controller (3, 10) comprises a use cycle enablement information memory (23) for storing use cycle enablement information ([0116]-[0117], particularly, “The tables 400a-b in FIG. 4 and tables 500a-b in FIG. 5 illustrate a code sample (the first 20 entries of 65,536 entries are shown). The first column represents an index (1 through the number of entries), and the second column represents the corresponding code for the index entry. The codes shown in FIG. 4 may be stored at the token provider (e.g., token provider 110 shown in FIG. 1B) and used to generate the token. These same codes (shown in FIG. 5) may also be written to the token handler at the laundry machine by “injecting” the codes in hardware stored in or associated with the token handler at the laundry machine. Each token handler includes its own set of unique codes in an indexed array, stored in memory internal to the token handler at the laundry machine.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Belveal and Berman in order to provide a known means to reliably control the operation of a machine and prevent unauthorized access.
As to claims 17 and 20, they are rejected by a similar rationale to that set forth in claim 1’s rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims provided the 35 USC 112 rejections are also alleviated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Pub. No. 2021/0332520 - The method involves completing laundry procedure. Determination is made to check whether a remote-control function is in an on state after the laundry procedure is completed. A door is controlled to remain locked if the remote-control function is in the on state for proceeding a standby process for a time period. The door is controlled to unlock for proceeding to a standby process for a time period if the remote-control function is not in the on state, where t1 is not less than t2.
/THOMAS J DAILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458