Claim Interpretation
The following limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses means or a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the means or generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
“a refrigerant detection device” includes the generic/nonce term “device” coupled with the function of “refrigerant detection”. A return to the specification provides [0040] “30: refrigerant detection device; 31: body; 32: first installation plate; 33: second installation plate; 321: first sub installation plate; 322: second sub installation plate; 323: first installation hole; 331: third sub installation plate; 332: fourth sub installation plate; 333: second installation hole;.” Therefor the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Epperson et al (US 12,117,191).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Epperson discloses an indoor unit of an HVAC apparatus comprising:
a shell (202) including a plurality of shell plates that enclose to form an accommodation chamber having an installation area, the plurality of shell plates including a shell bottom plate and a shell side plate;
a heat exchange assembly (206), arranged in the accommodation chamber; and
a refrigerant detection device (210), arranged in the installation area and configured to detect refrigerant that leaks from the heat exchange assembly;
wherein a first distance between the refrigerant detection device and the shell bottom plate is smaller than or equal to 1/3 of a height of the shell, and a second distance between the refrigerant detection device and a shell side plate is smaller than or equal to 1/3 of a width of the shell (shown in figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Epperson discloses the first distance or the second distance is smaller than or equal to 110mm (13:36-14:52).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Epperson discloses a water receiving tray (208), at least partially arranged at the shell bottom plate or the shell side plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epperson et al (US 12,117,191) in view of Tsuji et al (US 12,072,129).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Epperson discloses the refrigerant detection device includes: a body (210) but lacks installation plates as claimed. Tsuji discloses a refrigerant leakage detector having a first installation plate and a second installation plate that protrude out of the body, are connected to each other, and intersect with each other (see annotated figure below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Epperson with the installation plate as taught by Tsuji in order to protect the sensor from the surrounding environment.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Epperson and Tsuji further discloses the body includes a side plate member and a bottom plate member that are connected to each other and intersect with each other; the first installation plate protrudes out of the side plate member and is coplanar with the side plate member; and the second installation plate protrudes out of the bottom plate member and is coplanar with the bottom plate member (features identified in annotated figure above).
Claim(s) 6-10 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epperson et al (US 12,117,191), in view of Tsuji et al (US 12,072,129), and in view of Eskew et al (US 11,428,435).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Epperson discloses the heat exchange assembly (208) includes a heat exchanger. Epperson lacks that the refrigerant detection device is fixedly connected to the heat exchanger through the first installation plate or the second installation plate. Eskew discloses are refrigerant detection device is fixedly connected to the heat exchanger through an installation plate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have mounted the sensor to the heat exchanger as taught by Eskew in order to detect leaked refrigerant, in particular refrigerant tends to leak from brazed joints of the system, like are found at heat exchanger turns. Increasing proximity leaks may be detected more effectively.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Epperson, as modified, discloses the heat exchanger includes a first side plate and a second side plate that intersect with each other and are connected to each other; and the refrigerant detection device is fixedly connected to the first side plate or the second side plate (Eskew shows the device connected to side plate 122 which intersects with side plates 112 and 114).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Epperson, as modified, discloses a connection bracket connected to the heat exchanger; wherein the first installation plate or the second installation plate is fixedly connected to the connection bracket (130 of Eskew is a bracket mounted to the heat exchanger, Tsuji provides an installation plate).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Epperson, as modified, discloses the connection bracket includes a first connection plate and a second connection plate that are connected to each other and intersect with each other; the first connection plate is fixedly connected to the first installation plate or the second installation plate; and the second connection plate is fixedly connected to the heat exchanger (130 of Eskew provides a plurality of plates that intersect and connect to the heat exchanger).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Epperson, as modified, discloses a first positioning side plate is provided on a side of the first connection plate that is away from the second connection plate, and the first positioning side plate and the first connection plate are connected to each other and intersect with each other; and/or a second positioning side plate is provided on a side of the second connection plate that is away from the first connection plate, and the second positioning side plate and the second connection plate are connected to each other and intersect with each other (104 of Eskew provides a plurality of plates that intersect and connect to the heat exchanger).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Birnkrant (US 12,379,308) leak sensor mounting
Brown et al (US 2026/0085853) leak sensor mounting
Petele et al (US 2023/0117306) leak sensor bracket
Kojima (US 12,130,044) leak sensor location
Obara et al (US 10,634,404) leak sensor lean sensor bracket
Petele et al (US 12,196,432) leak sensor mounting bracket
De (US 11,674,727) leak sensor for reoriented unit
West et al (US 12,276,575) leak sensor bracket
Alphonso (US 12,078,380) leak sensor bracket
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799