Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,127,227 in view of Takeda.
For claims 1-3; Takeda discloses: receiving, from a network device, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on at least one of the plurality of subbands for downlink transmission based on the subband pattern (claim 1: receiving, from a network device, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on at least one of a plurality of subbands for downlink transmission based on a subband pattern, the subband pattern comprising the plurality of subbands is configured for the terminal device).
U.S. Patent No. 12,127,227 does not expressly disclose, but Takeda from similar fields of endeavor teaches: determining a subband pattern, wherein the subband pattern comprises a plurality of subbands configured for the terminal device (paragraph 88, 92: Information that specifies whether each CBG is mapped in the order of the time direction and the frequency direction (“time-first, frequency-second”) as described above, or each CBG is mapped in the order of the frequency direction and the time direction (“frequency-first, time-second”) as described above may be reported (configured) to the user terminal by higher layer signaling. Information to indicate whether interleaving is performed in the frequency direction and/or in the time direction may be also reported to (configured in) the user terminal via higher layer signaling… mapping in the frequency direction and in the time direction, in order (“frequency-first, time-second”). For example, in FIG. 7B, CBs #0 to #2, #3 to #5, #6 to #8 and #9 to #11, which form CBGs #0, #1, #2 and 3, respectively, are mapped to different frequency resources (for example, a predetermined number of subcarriers and/or PRBs) of the same symbol). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Takeda in the subcarrier mapping as described by U.S. Patent No. 12,127,227. The motivation is to improve retransmission efficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda et al. (US 2020/0154309) (“Takeda”).
For claims 1-3; Takeda discloses: determining a subband pattern, wherein the subband pattern comprises a plurality of subbands configured for the terminal device (paragraph 88, 92: Information that specifies whether each CBG is mapped in the order of the time direction and the frequency direction (“time-first, frequency-second”) as described above, or each CBG is mapped in the order of the frequency direction and the time direction (“frequency-first, time-second”) as described above may be reported (configured) to the user terminal by higher layer signaling. Information to indicate whether interleaving is performed in the frequency direction and/or in the time direction may be also reported to (configured in) the user terminal via higher layer signaling… mapping in the frequency direction and in the time direction, in order (“frequency-first, time-second”). For example, in FIG. 7B, CBs #0 to #2, #3 to #5, #6 to #8 and #9 to #11, which form CBGs #0, #1, #2 and 3, respectively, are mapped to different frequency resources (for example, a predetermined number of subcarriers and/or PRBs) of the same symbol); and receiving, from a network device, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on at least one of the plurality of subbands for downlink transmission based on the subband pattern (paragraph 109-110: the radio base station transmits DCI, which includes scheduling information pertaining to the TB, and transmits this TB via the PDSCH).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu et al. (US 2020/0120693); Wu discloses a detection unit, configured to determine, from the first time-frequency resource, a second time- frequency resource that can be used, where the second time-frequency resource occupies K of the at least two subbands in frequency domain.
/JOHN D BLANTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466