DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7 are now pending in the application. Claim 1 has been amended and claims 8-20 previously non-elected without traverse are have been canceled by the Applicant.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 201.04, 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on provisional application US 63542889.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al. (hereafter Harris, of record) US 20200233250 A1 in view of Bouchard (of record, see IDS dated 09/20/2024) US 20220107541 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Harris teaches (see Figs. 1-9) an electro-optic device (electro-optic display apparatus, with plurality of display tiles 100,202 integrated into a large display apparatus 200, abstract, paragraphs [02, 05-07, 41-44, 46-53, 56-67], e.g. Figs. 1-4, 5-9), comprising:
(a) a plurality of electro-optic units in a side-by-side tiled arrangement (200 with display tiles 202 (100), paragraphs [paragraphs [02, 05-07, 41-44, 46-53), e.g. Figs. 1-4), each of said electro-optic units (display tile 202, 100) comprising:
a first light-transmissive substrate having opposite inner and outer surfaces (i.e. outer light transmissive substrate supporting front electrode 104, e.g. PET, paragraphs [41-44], Figs. 1-2),
a first light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer (104) on the inner surface of the first light-transmissive substrate in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias at the first light-transmissive substrate (i.e. as electrode 104 of each 100 on inner surface of front substrate and electrically connected to conduits providing operational signal/voltage, paragraphs [41-44, 46-53], Figs. 1-2);
a second light-transmissive substrate having opposite inner and outer surfaces ( backplane 102 with substrate, e.g. 600, or substrate, another substrate of layer 400 also with vias, e.g. PET, paragraphs [42-43, 46-57, 53, 56-66, 62], Figs. 1-6), said second light-transmissive substrate having a plurality of electrically-conductive vias extending between the inner and outer surfaces of the second light-transmissive substrate (i.e. as conductive vias e.g. 621-627, and in 400, paragraphs [42-43, 46-53, 56-66], Figs. 5-7);
a second light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer on the inner surface of the second light-transmissive substrate in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the second light-transmissive substrate (i.e. as pixel conductor layer 500 on 600 and in contact with vias 621-627, paragraphs [46-53, 56-66], Figs. 5-7]); and
an electro-optic medium layer between and in contact with the first and second light-transmissive electrically-conductive layers (as electro-optic display layer 106 in contact with 104, 108, paragraphs [41-44, 46-53], Figs. 1-2);
(b) a third light-transmissive substrate superposed on the outer surfaces of the first light-transmissive substrates of each of the plurality of electro-optic units, the third light-transmissive substrate extending across the plurality of electro-optic units (i.e. as support structure 204 of large display 200 would have front substrate or protective, front, transparent layer extending over and ceiling the tile display Fig. 1-2, paragraphs [44-48]);
(d) a fourth light-transmissive substrate superposed on the outer surfaces of the second light-transmissive substrates of each of the plurality of electro-optic units, the fourth light- transmissive substrate extending across plurality of electro-optic units (i.e. as dielectric substrate e.g. PET extending over, supporting interconnect layer 300 of tiles 202 of display 200, paragraphs [42-44, 46-53]); and
(e) a fourth light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer between the fourth light-transmissive substrate and the plurality of electro-optic units, the fourth light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer extending across the plurality of electro-optic unit (i.e. as interconnect layer 300, 700, where interconnects are electrodes connected to and extending over display tiles, paragraphs [41-44, 46-53, 56-66], Figs. 2-4, 6-8), said fourth light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer being in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the second light-transmissive substrates of each of the plurality of electro-optic units and electrically connected to the second light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer of each of the plurality of electro-optic units (300 in el. contact with vias of 400 and 600 vias 621-627 and pixel conductor layer 500 on 600, paragraphs [41-44, 46-53, 56-66], Figs. 2-4, 6-8).
However, Harris is silent that the first light-transmissive substrate having a plurality of electrically-conductive vias extending between the inner and outer surfaces; and
(c) a third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer between the third light-transmissive substrate (e.g. outer protective layer of 200, 204) and the plurality of electro-optic units (tile displays 202,100 of 200), the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer extending across the plurality of electro-optic units (tile displays 202,100 of 200), and that the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer being in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the first light-transmissive substrates of each of the plurality of electro-optic units and electrically connected to the first light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer of each of the plurality of electro-optic units.
However, Bouchard teaches in the same field of invention of front plane laminates with surface electrical connections (see Figs. 1-7, title, abstract, i.e. laminates for electro-optic displays, paragraphs [28-33,47-55,62-66]), and further teaches that the first light-transmissive substrate having a plurality of electrically-conductive vias extending between the inner and outer surfaces (i.e. as top/first light transmissive substrate 102 includes openings/vias 102b with electrically conductive material 115 between inner 112 and outer surface 114, contacting the first light transmissive electrically-conductive layer 104, and having contact sports 116 on 114 surface, see paragraphs [47-55,62-66], Figs. 2-6, providing simpler electrical connections for electro-optic displays, especially for large format devices that may need to be assembled in the field, and the redundancy of having tens to hundreds of electrical contacts minimizes the chance that a device will be rendered inoperable due to a broken electrical connection, paragraphs [43-44]); and
(c) a third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer (layer of electrical connections applied locally and over the entire outer surface, e.g. 304/306) between the third light-transmissive substrate (e.g. outer protective layer of 200, 204) and the plurality of electro-optic units, the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer extending across the plurality of electro-optic units (as layer of electrical connections .g. 304/306 applied locally and over the entire outer surface of tile displays 202,100 of 200, paragraphs [43,47-55,62-66], Figs. 2-6), and that the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer being in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the first light-transmissive substrates of each of the plurality of electro-optic units and electrically connected to the first light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer of each of the plurality of electro-optic units (i.e. as layer of electrical connections applied locally and over the entire outer surface, e.g. 304/306, where 304 links a subset of the contact spots to conductor 306 and top-plane connection, and through vias e.g. 116 electrically connected to light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer 104, where additional protective layer, like clear coat of acrylic or silicon, e.g. as claimed “third light-transmissive substrate” is added to isolate the connecting points and prevent an unwanted shorts after assembly, as for large format displays assembled from electro-optic displays/units forms outer protective layer, see paragraphs [43,47-55,62-66], Figs. 2-6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the display tiles 100,202 integrated into large display apparatus (200) of Harris to include plurality of electrically-conductive vias extending between the inner and outer surfaces of the first substrate, and third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer between the third light-transmissive substrate (e.g. outer protective layer) and the plurality of electro-optic units (tile displays) in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the first light-transmissive substrates and through vias to first light-transmissive electrically conductive layer of each of the plurality of electro-optic units according to teachings of Bouchard in order to provide simpler electrical connections for electro-optic displays, especially for large format devices that may need to be assembled in the field, and provide the redundancy of having tens to hundreds of electrical contacts minimizes the chance that a device will be rendered inoperable due to a broken electrical connection, and with outer protective layer isolate the connecting points and prevent an unwanted shorts after assembly, (see e.g. paragraphs [43-44]).
Note that as a result of the combination the combination also teaches and renders obvious that the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer is between the third light-transmissive substrate (e.g. outer protective layer for 200) and the plurality of electro-optic units (tile displays 202,100 of 200), and that the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer being in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the first light-transmissive substrates, and by vias to first light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer (104) of each of the plurality of electro-optic units (i.e. as layer of electrical connections applied locally and over the entire outer surface, e.g. 304/306, where 304 links a subset of the contact spots to conductor 306 and top-plane connection, and additional protective layer, are applied to array or all display tiles 100,202 of large display 200 of Harris see paragraphs [41-44, 46-53, 56-66], Figs. 2-4, 6-8), given that Bouchard teaches that connections and protective layer are for large format devices that need to be assembled and integrated, see paragraphs [43,47-55,62-66], Figs. 2-6).
Regarding claim 2, Harris teaches (see Figs. 1-9) that the electro-optic medium layer in each of the electro-optic units comprises an encapsulated electrophoretic medium (as each 100,202 has electro-optic display layer 106 with 110 microcapsules with electrophoretic medium, particles 112, 114 suspended in liquid , paragraphs [41-44, 46-53], Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Harris teaches (see Figs. 1-9) that the electro-optic device is a switchable light modulator (i.e. as 100 electro-optic switches between different states, paragraphs [18-21,41-44], Figs. 1-2) and wherein the electro-optic medium in each of the electro-optic units comprises charged pigment particles dispersed in a non-polar solvent (i.e. as 114, 112 in non-polar liquid solvent forming electrophoretic optical display modulator device, paragraphs [41-44, 46-53], Figs. 1-2), and the electro-optic medium switches between a first light-absorbing state and a second light-transmissive state by moving between a distributed particle state and an assembled particle state (i.e. as 114, 112 move due to application of electric filed in non-polar liquid to function as electrophoretic optical display modulator device, paragraphs [38,41-44, 46-53], Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Harris teaches (see Figs. 1-9) that the first, second, third, or fourth light-transmissive substrates comprise polymers including acrylate, methacrylate, vinylbenzene, vinylether, urethanes, or multifunctional epoxides (i.e. as e.g. polyethylene terephthalate paragraphs [41,46,56, 62], also Bouchard paragraphs [49,53,66]), and/or wherein the first, second, third, or fourth light-transmissive electrically-conductive layers , (a) a material selected from the group consisting of aluminum tin oxide, indium-tin-oxide, poly(3,4‐ethylenedioxythiophene), and combinations thereof, (b) an organic material, (c) a composite material, or (d) a sparse grid (e.g. as ITO, paragraphs [46, 49,54], also Bouchard paragraphs [43,48-49,54,58]).
Regarding claim 5, Harris teaches (see Figs. 1-9) that the electrically-conductive vias in the first and second light-transmissive substrates form contact spots on the outer surfaces thereof, wherein the contact spots have an average diameter of at least 0.1 micrometers to at most 100 micrometers (i.e. as vias have average diameter of at least 0.1 micrometers to at most 100 micrometers, see Bouchard, paragraphs [31, 54-55]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the average diameter of vias of Harris into the range taught by Burchard in order to provide that the substrate and the openings/holes are light transmissive with relatively small diameter, (see Bouchard, paragraphs [31, 54-55, 58]).
Regarding claim 6, Harris teaches (see Figs. 1-9) that the electrically-conductive vias occupy less than 10% of surface area of the outer surfaces of the first and second light-transmissive substrates (i.e. given the vias 621-627, Fig. 6. and vias 115,116 on surfaces of second and first light transmissive substrates, Figs. 2, 5-6 of Bouchard, paragraphs [31, 56]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al. (hereafter Harris, of record) US 20200233250 A1 in view of Bouchard (of record, see IDS dated 09/20/2024) US 20220107541 A1 and further in view of Paolini, JR et al. (hereafter Paolini, of record) US 20160259225 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Harris teaches (see Figs. 1-9) including the electro-optic device according to Claim 1, but does not specify a window with the electro-optic device. However, Paolini teaches in the same field of invention and further teaches a window including the electro-optical device (i.e. as Electrophoretic and similar bistable electro-optic display media including variable transmission windows , see Figs. 1-5, paragraphs [37-43]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the electro-optic device of Harris as a window according to teachings of Paolini in order to provide variable transmission window(s) (see Paolini paragraphs [37-38]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the Remarks dated 08/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues on pages 7-9 of the Remarks that the cited prior art of Harris alone or in combination with cited prior art of Bouchard does not disclose or render obvious limitations in amended claim 1, namely “a third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer between the third light-transmissive substrate and the plurality of electro-optic units” and “a fourth light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer between the fourth light-transmissive substrate and the plurality of electro-optic units”, because Harris and Bouchard do not disclose such claimed fourth light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer, and third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer, because Harris teaches conductive interconnect layer not the amended common fourth light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer, and Bouchard only teaches contact-spot arrangement for a plane laminate, and also does not disclose common light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to the above issue (1), as noted in the rejection, the cited prior art of Harris teaches most and in combination with the cited prior art of Bouchard teaches and renders obvious all limitations of amended claim 1, as Harris teaches (see Figs. 1-9) an electro-optic device (electro-optic display apparatus, with plurality of display tiles 100,202 integrated into a large display apparatus 200, abstract, paragraphs [02, 05-07, 41-44, 46-53, 56-67], e.g. Figs. 1-4, 5-9), comprising:
(a) a plurality of electro-optic units in a side-by-side tiled arrangement (200 with display tiles 202 (100), paragraphs [paragraphs [02, 05-07, 41-44, 46-53), e.g. Figs. 1-4), each of said electro-optic units (display tile 202, 100) comprising:
a first light-transmissive substrate having opposite inner and outer surfaces (i.e. outer light transmissive substrate supporting front electrode 104, e.g. PET, paragraphs [41-44], Figs. 1-2),
a first light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer (104) on the inner surface of the first light-transmissive substrate in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias at the first light-transmissive substrate (i.e. as electrode 104 of each 100 on inner surface of front substrate and electrically connected to conduits providing operational signal/voltage, paragraphs [41-44, 46-53], Figs. 1-2);
a second light-transmissive substrate having opposite inner and outer surfaces ( backplane 102 with substrate, e.g. 600, or substrate, another substrate of layer 400 also with vias, e.g. PET, paragraphs [42-43, 46-57, 53, 56-66, 62], Figs. 1-6), said second light-transmissive substrate having a plurality of electrically-conductive vias extending between the inner and outer surfaces of the second light-transmissive substrate (i.e. as conductive vias e.g. 621-627, and in 400, paragraphs [42-43, 46-53, 56-66], Figs. 5-7);
a second light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer on the inner surface of the second light-transmissive substrate in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the second light-transmissive substrate (i.e. as pixel conductor layer 500 on 600 and in contact with vias 621-627, paragraphs [46-53, 56-66], Figs. 5-7]); and
an electro-optic medium layer between and in contact with the first and second light-transmissive electrically-conductive layers (as electro-optic display layer 106 in contact with 104, 108, paragraphs [41-44, 46-53], Figs. 1-2);
(b) a third light-transmissive substrate superposed on the outer surfaces of the first light-transmissive substrates of each of the plurality of electro-optic units, the third light-transmissive substrate extending across the plurality of electro-optic units (i.e. as support structure 204 of large display 200 would have front substrate or protective, front, transparent layer extending over and ceiling the tile display Fig. 1-2, paragraphs [44-48]);
(d) a fourth light-transmissive substrate superposed on the outer surfaces of the second light-transmissive substrates of each of the plurality of electro-optic units, the fourth light- transmissive substrate extending across plurality of electro-optic units (i.e. as dielectric substrate e.g. PET extending over, supporting interconnect layer 300 of tiles 202 of display 200, paragraphs [42-44, 46-53]); and
(e) a fourth light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer between the fourth light-transmissive substrate and the plurality of electro-optic units, the fourth light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer extending across the plurality of electro-optic unit (i.e. as interconnect layer 300, 700, where interconnects are electrodes connected to and extending over display tiles, paragraphs [41-44, 46-53, 56-66], Figs. 2-4, 6-8), said fourth light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer being in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the second light-transmissive substrates of each of the plurality of electro-optic units and electrically connected to the second light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer of each of the plurality of electro-optic units (300 in el. contact with vias of 400 and 600 vias 621-627 and pixel conductor layer 500 on 600, paragraphs [41-44, 46-53, 56-66], Figs. 2-4, 6-8).
However, Harris is silent that the first light-transmissive substrate having a plurality of electrically-conductive vias extending between the inner and outer surfaces; and
(c) a third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer between the third light-transmissive substrate (e.g. outer protective layer of 200, 204) and the plurality of electro-optic units (tile displays 202,100 of 200), the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer extending across the plurality of electro-optic units (tile displays 202,100 of 200), and that the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer being in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the first light-transmissive substrates of each of the plurality of electro-optic units and electrically connected to the first light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer of each of the plurality of electro-optic units.
However, Bouchard teaches in the same field of invention of front plane laminates with surface electrical connections (see Figs. 1-7, title, abstract, i.e. laminates for electro-optic displays, paragraphs [28-33,47-55,62-66]), and further teaches that the first light-transmissive substrate having a plurality of electrically-conductive vias extending between the inner and outer surfaces (i.e. as top/first light transmissive substrate 102 includes openings/vias 102b with electrically conductive material 115 between inner 112 and outer surface 114, contacting the first light transmissive electrically-conductive layer 104, and having contact sports 116 on 114 surface, see paragraphs [47-55,62-66], Figs. 2-6, providing simpler electrical connections for electro-optic displays, especially for large format devices that may need to be assembled in the field, and the redundancy of having tens to hundreds of electrical contacts minimizes the chance that a device will be rendered inoperable due to a broken electrical connection, paragraphs [43-44]); and
(c) a third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer (layer of electrical connections applied locally and over the entire outer surface, e.g. 304/306) between the third light-transmissive substrate (e.g. outer protective layer of 200, 204) and the plurality of electro-optic units, the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer extending across the plurality of electro-optic units (as layer of electrical connections .g. 304/306 applied locally and over the entire outer surface of tile displays 202,100 of 200, paragraphs [43,47-55,62-66], Figs. 2-6), and that the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer being in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the first light-transmissive substrates of each of the plurality of electro-optic units and electrically connected to the first light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer of each of the plurality of electro-optic units (i.e. as layer of electrical connections applied locally and over the entire outer surface, e.g. 304/306, where 304 links a subset of the contact spots to conductor 306 and top-plane connection, and through vias e.g. 116 electrically connected to light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer 104, where additional protective layer, like clear coat of acrylic or silicon, e.g. as claimed “third light-transmissive substrate” is added to isolate the connecting points and prevent an unwanted shorts after assembly, as for large format displays assembled from electro-optic displays/units forms outer protective layer, see paragraphs [43,47-55,62-66], Figs. 2-6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the display tiles 100,202 integrated into large display apparatus (200) of Harris to include plurality of electrically-conductive vias extending between the inner and outer surfaces of the first substrate, and third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer between the third light-transmissive substrate (e.g. outer protective layer) and the plurality of electro-optic units (tile displays) in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the first light-transmissive substrates and through vias to first light-transmissive electrically conductive layer of each of the plurality of electro-optic units according to teachings of Bouchard in order to provide simpler electrical connections for electro-optic displays, especially for large format devices that may need to be assembled in the field, and provide the redundancy of having tens to hundreds of electrical contacts minimizes the chance that a device will be rendered inoperable due to a broken electrical connection, and with outer protective layer isolate the connecting points and prevent an unwanted shorts after assembly, (see e.g. paragraphs [43-44]).
Note that as a result of the combination the combination also teaches and renders obvious that the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer is between the third light-transmissive substrate (e.g. outer protective layer for 200) and the plurality of electro-optic units (tile displays 202,100 of 200), and that the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer being in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the first light-transmissive substrates, and by vias to first light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer (104) of each of the plurality of electro-optic units (i.e. as layer of electrical connections applied locally and over the entire outer surface, e.g. 304/306, where 304 links a subset of the contact spots to conductor 306 and top-plane connection, and additional protective layer, are applied to array or all display tiles 100,202 of large display 200 of Harris see paragraphs [41-44, 46-53, 56-66], Figs. 2-4, 6-8), given that Bouchard teaches that connections and protective layer are for large format devices that need to be assembled and integrated, see paragraphs [43,47-55,62-66], Figs. 2-6).
Specifically, Harris teaches the fourth light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer between the fourth light-transmissive substrate and the plurality of electro-optic units, the fourth light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer extending across the plurality of electro-optic unit (i.e. as interconnect layer 300, 700, where interconnects are electrodes connected to and extending over display tiles, paragraphs [41-44, 46-53, 56-66], Figs. 2-4, 6-8), said fourth light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer being in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the second light-transmissive substrates of each of the plurality of electro-optic units and electrically connected to the second light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer of each of the plurality of electro-optic units (300 in el. contact with vias of 400 and 600 vias 621-627 and pixel conductor layer 500 on 600, paragraphs [41-44, 46-53, 56-66], Figs. 2-4, 6-8). Note that the fourth light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer, is not uniquely a layer formed of single laminated light-transmissive electrically-conductive material forming a common electrode that is simultaneously connected to all the underlying conductive vias and underlying transmissive conductive layer(s).
Similarly, though Harris does not disclose the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer between the third light-transmissive substrate (e.g. outer protective layer of 200, 204) and the plurality of electro-optic units, Bouchard is used for teaching such structure. Bouchard teaches that the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer (layer of electrical connections applied locally and over the entire outer surface, e.g. 304/306) between the third light-transmissive substrate (e.g. outer protective layer of 200, 204) and the plurality of electro-optic units, the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer extending across the plurality of electro-optic units (as layer of electrical connections .g. 304/306 applied locally and over the entire outer surface of tile displays 202,100 of 200, paragraphs [43,47-55,62-66], Figs. 2-6), and that the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer being in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the first light-transmissive substrates of each of the plurality of electro-optic units and electrically connected to the first light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer of each of the plurality of electro-optic units (i.e. as layer of electrical connections applied locally and over the entire outer surface, e.g. 304/306, where 304 links a subset of the contact spots to conductor 306 and top-plane connection, and through vias e.g. 116 electrically connected to light-transmissive electrically-conductive layer 104, where additional protective layer, like clear coat of acrylic or silicon, e.g. as claimed “third light-transmissive substrate” is added to isolate the connecting points and prevent an unwanted shorts after assembly, as for large format displays assembled from electro-optic displays/units forms outer protective layer, see paragraphs [43,47-55,62-66], Figs. 2-6). Here too is noted that the third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer is not necessarily a layer formed of single laminated light-transmissive electrically-conductive material forming a common electrode that is simultaneously connected to all the underlying conductive vias and underlying transmissive conductive layer(s). As noted, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the display tiles 100,202 integrated into large display apparatus (200) of Harris to include plurality of electrically-conductive vias extending between the inner and outer surfaces of the first substrate, and third light-transmissive electrically-conductive electrode layer between the third light-transmissive substrate (e.g. outer protective layer) and the plurality of electro-optic units (tile displays) in electrical contact with the electrically-conductive vias of the first light-transmissive substrates and through vias to first light-transmissive electrically conductive layer of each of the plurality of electro-optic units according to teachings of Bouchard in order to provide simpler electrical connections for electro-optic displays, especially for large format devices that may need to be assembled in the field, and provide the redundancy of having tens to hundreds of electrical contacts minimizes the chance that a device will be rendered inoperable due to a broken electrical connection, and with outer protective layer isolate the connecting points and prevent an unwanted shorts after assembly, (see e.g. paragraphs [43-44]).
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that fourth and third light-transmissive and electrically-conductive electrode layer are single laminated sheets of transmissive, conductive material and forming common third and fourth transmissive electrodes) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Specifically, the limitations for third (and fourth) light-transmissive and electrically-conductive layer(s) are treated as layer that can have one or more electrode parts and electrode connections as electrode leads forming such light-transmissive and electrically-conductive layer(s). The claims do not require that the light-transmissive and electrically-conductive layers necessarily are only limited to light-transmissive and electrically-conductive electrode layer are single laminated sheets of transmissive, conductive material and that form common third and fourth transmissive electrodes. Moreover, there is no descriptions in the original specification that the light-transmissive and electrically-conductive electrode layer(s) are single common transmissive electrodes, simultaneously connecting all the electro-optic units, or some common grounding or electromagnetic shielding transmissive layers. Additionally, the singular elements recited by the claims are not required by Applicant’s claim language to be exclusive. The preamble word “comprising” is open-ended and thus does not require the exclusivity of the recited elements, but allows the reference or combination of references to contain other elements as well. Additionally, “[t]he word ‘comprising’ transitioning from the preamble to the body signals that the entire claim is presumptively open-ended.” In Gillette Co. v. Energizer Holdings Inc., 405 F.3d 1367, 74 USPQ2d 1586 (Fed. Cir. 2005). See also Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“like the term comprising,’ the terms containing’ and mixture’ are open-ended.”), Invitrogen Corp. v. Biocrest Mfg., L.P., 327 F.3d 1364, 1368, 66 USPQ2d 1631, 1634 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (“The transition comprising’ in a method claim indicates that the claim is open-ended and allows for additional steps.”); Genentech, Inc. v. Chiron Corp., 112 F.3d 495, 501, 42 USPQ2d 1608, 1613 (Fed. Cir. 1997). (MPEP §2111.02.).
Lastly, although the cited reference(s) is/are different from the invention disclosed by Applicant, the language of Applicant's claims is sufficiently broad to reasonably read on the cited reference(s). Applicant arguments are not found persuasive.
No additional substantial arguments were presented after page 9 of the Remarks dated 08/21/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIN PICHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872