DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claims 1-18 are rejected below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vadillo (U.S. Pat. 9,914,548).
As to claims 1, 17 and 18, Vadillo teaches a power management system comprising: a plurality of power monitor and control circuits connected to power outputs configured to supply power to user electronic devices (UEDs), each of the power monitor and control circuits configured to measure actual power supplied through one of the power outputs to one of the connected UEDs and to responsively generate a measured power indication (col. 2 lines 37-64); and a power manager circuit configured to perform operations to, for each of the UEDs, negotiate with the UED an agreement for a subscription power level that the UED is authorized to be supplied by the power management system (col. 7 lines 14-43), wherein the power manager circuit is configured to allow an oversubscription state by operations agreeing to subscription power levels for the UEDs that when combined into a total subscription power level exceeds a maximum power supply capability of the power management system, wherein the power monitor and control circuit is configured to control power level supplied to the connected UED based on the subscription power level for the UED and/or based on a command from the power manager circuit (col. 7 line 65- col. 8 line 17) (Table 1 also shows this), for each of the UEDs, determine a present actual power usage of the UED based on the measured power indication from the power monitor and control circuit measuring actual power supplied through the power output connected to the UED (abstract), determine a present total actual power usage of the UEDs based on a combination of the measured power indications from the power monitor and control circuits (abstract), and responsive to determining the present total actual power usage of the UEDs exceeds the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus a first threshold offset, renegotiate an agreement with at least one of the UEDs for a lower subscription power level that the at least one of the UEDs is authorized to be supplied so that the total actual power usage of the UEDs will cease exceeding the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset (col. 7 lines 44-64). Examiner notes that the “offset” is not defined in any way and could be interpreted as 0. Also, it is noted that the present claims’ maximum minus and offset could be patentably equivalent to the maximum used in Vadillo since it seems to be constant in the claims.
As to claim 2, Vadillo teaches wherein the power manager circuit is further configured to operate to perform the negotiations with the UEDs based on a fair share policy providing allocation of subscription power levels for the UEDs based on at least one of: comparison of durations that the UEDs have been supplied power under present subscription power levels; comparison of the present subscription power levels; and comparison of power levels originally requested by the UEDs (col. 7 line 65- col. 8 line 17).
As to claim 3, Vadillo teaches wherein the power manager circuit is further configured to operate to negotiate with the UED an agreement for an oversubscription power level that the UED is authorized to be supplied by the power management system and which will create the oversubscription state, by operations to: send a source capability message to the UED indicating what voltage values and current values are supported by the power management system (maximum voltage); receive a request from the UED indicating a voltage and/or current that is requested to be supplied to the UED; determine an available subscription power level based on comparison of: 1) the maximum power supply capability of the power management system plus an allowed oversubscription power level; and 2) a total of the subscription power levels for the other UEDs that have already been agreed to be supplied by the power management system; when the request from the UED does not exceed the available subscription power level, send an accept message to the UED and supply power based on the voltage and/or current indicated by the request; and when the request from the UED exceeds the available subscription power level, send a reject message to the UED and negotiate a lower subscription power level than indicated by the request received from the UED (col. 18 lines 20-53).
As to claim 4, Vadillo teaches wherein: the source capability message sent by the power manager circuit comprises a power data object (PDO) (col. 18 lines 8-19); and the request received from the UED comprises a request data object (RDO) (claim 6).
As to claim 5, Vadillo teaches wherein the power manager circuit is further configured to perform operations to: after completing renegotiation of the agreement with the at least of the UEDs for the lower subscription power level, respond to determining that a new present total actual power usage of the UEDs no longer exceeds the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset by performing operations to further renegotiate agreement with the at least one of the UEDs for a higher subscription power level that the at least one of the UEDs is authorized to be supplied so that a total actual power usage of the UEDs will increase without exceeding the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset (fig. 6 specifically see step 612 looping feature).
As to claim 6, Vadillo teaches wherein the operations to negotiate, to renegotiate, and to further renegotiate are performed by the power manager circuit using USB PD protocol communications with the UEDs (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vadillo (U.S. Pat. 9,914,548) in view of Shuto (U.S. PG Pub. 2025/0392149).
As to claim 7, Vadillo teaches wherein the operation by the power manager circuit to respond to the determination that the present total actual power usage of the UEDs exceeds the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset, by renegotiation agreement with the at least one of the UEDs for a lower subscription power level that the at least one of the UEDs is authorized to be supplied so that the total actual power usage of the UEDs will cease exceeding the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset (fig. 6).
Vadillo teaches most of the claimed invention, but fails to teach all of the limitations of claims 7-9, however, this is an obvious variation and is taught by Shuto as follows:
As to claim 7, Shuto teaches comprises operations to: estimate present state-of-charge of the UEDs; compare the present state-of-charge of the UEDs; select one of the UEDs having a highest present state-of-charge relative to the other UEDs; and perform renegotiation with the selected one of the UEDs to provide agreement for a lower subscription power level to be supplied by the power management system[0038-0039]. Shuto teaches that the power control unit changes (similar to the renegotiation process) the charging based on the present SOC and charges the lowest prior to the highest.
As to claim 8, Vadillo teaches wherein the operation by the power manager circuit to respond to the determination that the present total actual power usage of the UEDs exceeds the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset, by renegotiation agreement with the at least one of the UEDs for a lower subscription power level that the at least one of the UEDs is authorized to be supplied so that the total actual power usage of the UEDs will cease exceeding the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset (fig. 6).
As to claim 8, Shuto teaches comprises operations to: estimate present state-of-charge of the UEDs; prioritize performing renegotiation of agreements with the UEDs having the highest present state-of-charge to provide lower subscription power level to be supplied by the power management system[0038-0039]. Shuto teaches that the power control unit changes (similar to the renegotiation process) the charging based on the present SOC and charges the lowest prior to the highest.
As to claim 9, Shuto teaches wherein the operation by the power manager circuit to prioritize performing renegotiation of agreements with the UEDs having the highest present state-of-charge to provide lower subscription power level to be supplied by the power management system, further comprises operations to: generate a list of the UEDs ordered based on their relative present state-of-charge and with UEDs having higher present state-of-charge ordered higher in the list than other UEDs having lower present state-of-charge; prioritize performing renegotiation of agreements, to provide lower subscription power level to be supplied by the power management system, with a plurality of the UEDs that are selected among the list of UEDs based on their relative higher position in the list [0038-0039].
As to claim 16, Shuto teaches wherein: the power manager circuit is configured to cycle between the UEDs to perform renegotiations of agreements that temporarily provides to the UED during a first duration a subscription power level that is requested by the UED and to then provide to the UED a lower subscription power level during a second duration, wherein the first duration and the second duration are determined based on at least one of: present state-of-charge level of the UED; how quickly the UED can be charged to a threshold state-of-charge level; and how long the UED can remain operational based on the present state-of-charge level and/or based on charging the UED to a future state-of-charge level[0038-0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Shuto into the system and method of Vadillo. The motivation to combine is that Shuto teaches the power control unit 22 can set whether the condition for the priority order is set in descending order of the remaining amount (SOC) or ascending order of the remaining amount (SOC) in accordance with the demand power value P_Load acquired from the load 30 when the power control system 100 starts operating. In a case where the demand power value P_Load of the load 30 is equal to or larger than a specified value and it is necessary to attain the demand power value P_Load by using all of the plurality of batteries 10, the power control unit 22 sets the condition for the priority order in descending order of the remaining amount (SOC), and assigns the lack amount P_lack of the first battery group on a priority basis to the battery having the largest remaining amount in the second battery group. In this case, high-output operation of the plurality of batteries 10 is achievable[0039].
Claim(s) 10-12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vadillo (U.S. Pat. 9,914,548) in view of Chen (U.S. PG Pub. 2025/0083552).
Vadillo teaches most of the claimed invention, but fails to teach all of the limitations of claims 10-12, however, this is an obvious variation and is taught by Shuto as follows:
As to claim 10, Chen teaches wherein: the power manager circuit is configured to determine how quickly a UED can be charged to at least one threshold state-of-charge level when performing the operation to negotiate with the UED an agreement for a subscription power level that the UED is authorized to be supplied by the power management system, wherein the power manager circuit determines what subscription power level will be authorized for the UED to use based on how quickly the UED can be charged to at least one threshold state-of-charge level[0056].
As to claim 11, Chen teaches wherein: the power manager circuit is configured to determine how quickly individual ones of the UEDs can be charged to at least one threshold state-of-charge level when performing the operation to respond to the determination that the present total actual power usage of the UEDs exceeds the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset, by renegotiating agreement with the at least one of the UEDs for a lower subscription power level that the at least one of the UEDs is authorized to be supplied so that the total actual power usage of the UEDs will cease exceeding the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset, wherein the at least one of the UEDs is prioritized for performing the renegotiation based on how quickly relative to the other UEDs the at least one of the UEDs can be charged to the at least one threshold state-of-charge level[0056].
As to claim 12, Vadillo teaches wherein: the power manager circuit is configured to determine how quickly individual ones of the UEDs can be charged to at least one threshold state-of-charge level when performing the operation to respond to the determination that the present total actual power usage of the UEDs exceeds the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset, by renegotiating agreement with the at least one of the UEDs for a lower subscription power level that the at least one of the UEDs is authorized to be supplied so that the total actual power usage of the UEDs will cease exceeding the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset (fig. 6).
As to claim 12, Chen teaches the power manager circuit determines what lower subscription power level will be authorized for the at least one of the UEDs based on how quickly relative to the other UEDs the at least one of the UEDs can be charged to the at least one threshold state-of-charge level [0056].
As to claim 16, Chen teaches wherein: the power manager circuit is configured to cycle between the UEDs to perform renegotiations of agreements that temporarily provides to the UED during a first duration a subscription power level that is requested by the UED and to then provide to the UED a lower subscription power level during a second duration, wherein the first duration and the second duration are determined based on at least one of: present state-of-charge level of the UED; how quickly the UED can be charged to a threshold state-of-charge level; and how long the UED can remain operational based on the present state-of-charge level and/or based on charging the UED to a future state-of-charge level[0056].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Chen into the system and method of Vadillo. The motivation to combine is that Chen teaches using the charging strategy the lifespan of the battery can be extended and the user experience can be improved [0056].
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vadillo (U.S. Pat. 9,914,548) in view of Nicholson (U.S. PG Pub. 2017/0366028).
Vadillo teaches most of the claimed invention, but fails to teach all of the limitations of claims 10-12, however, this is an obvious variation and is taught by Shuto as follows:
As to 13, Nicholson teaches wherein: the power manager circuit is configured to consider how long a UED can remain operational based on the UED’s present state-of-charge level and/or based on charging the UED to a future state-of-charge level when performing the operation to negotiate with the UED an agreement for a subscription power level that the UED is authorized to be supplied by the power management system, wherein the power manager circuit determines what lower subscription power level will be authorized for the UED to use based on how long the UED can remain operational based on the UED’s present state-of-charge level and/or based on charging the UED to a future state-of-charge level[0006, 0008, 0059-0060, 0077].
As to 14, Nicholson teaches wherein: the power manager circuit is configured to determine how long individual ones of the UEDs can remain operational based on their respective present state-of-charge level and/or based on charging them to respective future state-of-charge level, when performing the operation to respond to the determination that the present total actual power usage of the UEDs exceeds the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset, by renegotiating agreement with the at least one of the UEDs for a lower subscription power level that the at least one of the UEDs is authorized to be supplied so that the total actual power usage of the UEDs will cease exceeding the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset, wherein the at least one of the UEDs is prioritized for performing the renegotiation based on how long relative to the other UEDs the at least one of the UEDs can remain operational [0006, 0008, 0059-0060, 0077].
As to claim 15, Nicholson teaches wherein: the power manager circuit is configured to determine how long individual ones of the UEDs can remain operational based on their respective present state-of-charge level and/or based on charging them to respective future state-of-charge level, when performing the operation to respond to the determination that the present total actual power usage of the UEDs exceeds the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset, by renegotiating agreement with the at least one of the UEDs for a lower subscription power level that the at least one of the UEDs is authorized to be supplied so that the total actual power usage of the UEDs will cease exceeding the maximum power supply capability of the power management system minus the first threshold offset, wherein the power manager circuit determines what lower subscription power level will be authorized for the UED to use based on how long relative to the other UEDs the at least one of the UEDs can remain operational [0006, 0008, 0059-0060, 0077].
As to claim 16, Nicholson teaches wherein: the power manager circuit is configured to cycle between the UEDs to perform renegotiations of agreements that temporarily provides to the UED during a first duration a subscription power level that is requested by the UED and to then provide to the UED a lower subscription power level during a second duration, wherein the first duration and the second duration are determined based on at least one of: present state-of-charge level of the UED; how quickly the UED can be charged to a threshold state-of-charge level; and how long the UED can remain operational based on the present state-of-charge level and/or based on charging the UED to a future state-of-charge level [0006, 0008, 0059-0060, 0077].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Nicholson into the system and method of Vadillo. The motivation to combine is that Nicholson teaches An efficiency of a power supply of an information handling device may be used by the power determination module 504 so that the power determination module 504 optimizes use of the power supply based on an efficiency curve. A battery cycle count of an information handling device may indicate a number of times that a battery has been charged and/or discharged. The power determination module 504 may use the battery cycle count to determine whether a battery should provide and/or receive power [0063].
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior artreference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It iswell settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for allthat it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in theart. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant'sclaim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed wereinstead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a singleprior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, todemonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specificlimitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038,1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319,1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. BiocraftLabs., Inc., 874 F.2d804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747,750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Other Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nilsen (U.S. Pat. 8,897,924) teaches an offset of an offset of maximum power in an aircraft.
Sanghvi (U.S. PG Pub. 20250007315) teaches considering the SOC when determining dynamic charging.
Verma (U.S. PG Pub. 20220153163) teaches charging device to a specific point (e.g. 90% of SOC) then charging a different device.
Murai (U.S. PG Pub. 2022/0153163) teaches prioritizing charging based on remaining charge time.
Conclusion
/NATHAN L LAUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119