DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “verification elements” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 11-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites limitations directed to the cross-section of the protruding portion, but there are multiple possible cross-sections. This creates confusion as to which cross-section is being discussed and is therefore indefinite.
Claim 11 recites “the insert comprising a pair of verification elements” which are supported in the specification, but are not show in the drawings. The Examiner cannot determine what these structures are. The elements 204a and 204b are not set forth in the drawings in any meaningful sense that can be understood by those of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, the “engagement” cannot be adequately evaluated since it is not understood.
Claims 12-16 are rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being (a)(2) by anticipated by Amman, U.S. Patent 11,261,898.
Regarding Claim 1, Amman teaches:
A clip body (1) having a first end, a second end (see below) and a pair of side walls (see
below) extending from the first end to the second end and defining an internal cavity (Fig. 6) of the clip body, each side wall being provided with a window (3);
a pair of retaining portions (4) extending from the side walls at the second end of the clip body, each of the retaining portions comprising:
a protruding portion (see below) that protrudes through the window in the respective side wall and is deflectable into the internal cavity of the clip body when the fastening clip is mounted through the hole of the component, and
an end portion (16) provided within the internal cavity of the clip body; and
a head portion (6) provided at the first end of the clip body and protruding from the side walls.
Regarding Claim 2, Amman teaches:
The protruding portions comprises a first section (see below) joined to the side wall at a first bend (see below) and protruding through the window at an angle relative to the side wall, an intermediate bend (see below), and a second section (see below) extending from the intermediate bend through the window into the internal cavity and defining the end portion (see below).
Regarding Claim 3, insofar as the claim is understood, Amman teaches:
The protruding portion comprises a constant cross-sectional shape in the direction from the first bend to the intermediate bend (see cross section in Fig. 4 which remains constant in the direction claimed).
Regarding Claim 4, Amman teaches:
The second section is substantially perpendicular to the side wall (see drawing selection above).
Regarding Claim 5, Amman teaches:
The end portion (see above) is connected to the second section by a second bend (7).
Regarding Claim 6, Amman teaches:
The end portion extends substantially parallel to the side wall (see drawing selection above).
Regarding Claim 7, Amman teaches:
the retaining portion comprises a slot at the first bend (see drawing selection above in the rejection of Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Amman teaches:
The pair of side walls do not comprise any slots or apertures extending from the window towards the first end of the clip body (see fig. 5 and note that the side walls may teach slots or apertures, but these do not extend form the window and therefore the prior art meets the limitation as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amman ‘898.
Regarding Claim 9, Amman teaches:
Wherein the end portion of each of the retaining portions extends within the internal cavity of the clip body towards the first end of the clip body and has a height.
Amman does not teach:
Wherein at least 40% of the height of the end portion extends beyond the window and overlaps the side wall of the clip body
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Amman with the claimed dimension because the prior art appears to teach dimensions very close to those claimed and it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Furthermore, Applicant has not provided any criticality stemming form the use of the claimed dimension.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amman ‘898 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mutz, U.S. Patent 11,835,075.
Regarding Claim 10, Amman does not teach:
The pair of side walls comprises a protuberance protruding into the internal cavity, and wherein the protuberance maintains a separation between the end portion of the retaining portion and the side wall for insertion of a removal tool between the end portion and the side wall to deflect the retaining portion inwards for removal of the fastening clip from the component.
Mutz teaches:
A pair of side walls comprises a protuberance (see below) protruding into the internal cavity, and wherein the protuberance maintains a separation between the end portion of the retaining portion and the side wall (the protuberance connects the end portion to the sidewalls and therefore maintains the separation the end portions experience at equilibrium).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Amman with the features of Mutz because that would stiffen the sidewalls which would make them more resistance to accidental deformation during installation.
**Examiner’s Note: Examiner notes that the above claim contains the claim language “for insertion of…from the component“, and a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim because the prior art need only be capable of meeting the claimed limitations. See MPEP 2114 [R-1].
Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amman ‘898 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okada, U.S. Patent 8,636,454.
Regarding Claim 11, insofar as the claim is understood, Amman teaches:
An insert (11) configured to be inserted through an opening in the head portion of the fastening clip and into the internal cavity (see figs. 8-10), the insert comprising a pair of verification elements (12); wherein the pair of retaining portions are adapted to deflect inwardly into the internal cavity of the clip body as the clip body is pushed through the hole of the component (see 4, see Abstract).
Amman does not explicitly teach the claimed functional limitations:
Adapted to move each of the verification elements into engagement with the other of the verification elements.
Okada clearly teaches:
Retaining portions are adapted to move each of the verification elements into engagement with the other of the verification elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Amman with the features taught by Okada because releasing the engagement of the verification elements would provide feedback (tactile and perhaps audible) to the user that the fastener is properly installed.
Regarding Claim 12, in the instant combination, Okada teaches:
at least one of the verification elements comprises a engaging element (43) configured to engage with the other of the verification elements when the verification elements are brought into contact by deflection of the retaining portions during mounting of the fastening clip through the hole of the component.
**Examiner's Note: Examiner notes that the above claim contains the claim language “configured to engage…of the component”, which does not constitute a recitation of positively claimed structural elements, but a recitation of function which the claimed device must be capable. The prior art of Amman-Okada, is interpreted as capable of these functions. See MPEP 2111.04 [R-3], see Ex Parte Marsham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 13, in the instant combination, Okada teaches:
wherein each of the verification elements comprises an engaging element (see 43, Figs. 2A-B), and wherein each engaging element is configured to engage with the engaging element of the other of the verification elements.
Regarding Claim 14, in the instant combination, Okada teaches:
wherein each engaging element is configured to frictionally engage with the engaging element of the other of the verification elements (see elements 43, Figs. 2A-B).
**Examiner’s Note: Examiner notes that although the “friction” of the engagement is not explicitly set forth it is inherent that friction would be an element in the interaction of the engaging elements.
Regarding Claim 15, in the instant combination, Okada teaches:
wherein each engaging element is configured to lock with the engaging element of the other of the verification elements (see elements 43, figs. 2A-B).
**Examiner's Note: Examiner notes that the above claim contains the claim language “configured to lock…the verification elements”, which does not constitute a recitation of positively claimed structural elements, but a recitation of function which the claimed device must be capable. The prior art of Amman-Okada, is interpreted as capable of these functions. See MPEP 2111.04 [R-3], see Ex Parte Marsham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 16, in the instant combination, Amman teaches:
wherein the pair of verification elements are retained within the internal cavity of the clip body by the side walls (see Fig. 1, elements 12).
Conclusion
/M.J.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677