DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 09/19/2024, 11/11/2024, 12/09/2024, 04/03/2025, 08/20/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 8355951.
Claim 1 of instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12143389. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 10 of instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12143389. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 19 of instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12143389. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10-14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akerman; Kevin et al. US 20140236678 (hereinafter Akerman) in view of Pereira; Shane Anil et al. US 10887333 (hereinafter Pereira).
As per claim 1, Akerman teaches: A system, comprising:
a processing circuit configured to:
extract an identifier from first third party activity data, wherein the identifier is
extracted based at least in part on routing information of a traffic packet of the first third party activity data (“the profile selector (129) determines the identity (identifier) of the user (101) based on matching information associated with the identity of the user (101) and information provided in the user data (125), such as via matching IP addresses” Akerman: para.141);
determine an item of an entity profile based at least in part on the identifier (street address, account information of the user (items of an entity profile) is determined. Akerman: para.141);
monitor third party activity on a plurality of data channels associated with the computing entity, comprising collecting second third party activity data (Akerman: para. 278 and 279),
wherein collecting the second third party activity data comprise querying or accessing the plurality of data channels (Akerman: para. 278 and 279).
Akerman does not teach; however, Pereira discloses: based on the item, determine a computing entity external to the system associated with the first third party activity data and the identifier (“processes 600, 700 and 800 are generally described as identifying potentially malicious IP addresses from log information using in-memory IP address tree, this is merely an example, and any suitable identifying information related to activity associated with the user's account can be used to identify potentially malicious activity associated with the user's compute resources (e.g., URLs, domain names, file hashes, file signatures, process activity, etc.) from any suitable data structure (e.g., a hash table, a database, a file system, a document, a prefix tree, etc.).” Pereira:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Akerman with the teachings of Pereira to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to identify an unauthorized access to an account.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Akerman teaches: the routing information comprises at least one of a source information or a destination information of the traffic packet (“the profile selector (129) determines the identity of the user (101) based on matching information associated with the identity of the user (101) and information provided in the user data (125), such as via matching IP addresses” Akerman: para.141).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Akerman teaches:
the routing information comprises at least one of application-layer level routing information, Transport Layer Security (TLS) routing information, Security Shell Layer (SSL) routing information, Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) routing information, transport or Internet-link level routing information, or data link-layer routing information (Akerman; para. 354).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Akerman teaches:
at least one of a header, a footer, or metadata of the traffic packet comprises the routing information (Akerman: para. 93).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Akerman teaches:
the identifier comprises at least one of a domain identifier, subdomain identifier, email address, file name, or Internet Protocol (IP) address (Akerman: para.141).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Akerman does not teach; however, Pereira disclose: the processing circuit is further configured to identify an unknown computing entity external to the system associated with the first third party activity data, the identifier comprises at least one of a cookie, a unique code, a public/private key, a user name, an active directory handle, a social media handle, an email address, or a financial account identifier (col. 25, lines 53-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Akerman and Pereira with the teaching of Brandmaier to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to utilize a unique identifier associated with the authorized user.
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated herein. Akerman does not teach; however, Pereira disclose: the processing circuit is further configured to:
generate a notification comprising the identifier (Pereira: col. 12, lines 38-41); and
transmit the notification to an administrator associated with the entity profile (Pereira: col. 12, lines 41-67) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Akerman and Pereira with the teaching of Brandmaier to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to provide to relate the provide information related to a specific account.
As per claim 10, this claim defines a method that corresponds to system of claim 1 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 1.
As per claim 11, this claim defines a method that corresponds to system of claim 2 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 2.
As per claim 12, this claim defines a method that corresponds to system of claim 3 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 3. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 3.
As per claim 13, this claim defines a method that corresponds to system of claim 4 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 4. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 4.
As per claim 14, this claim defines a method that corresponds to system of claim 5 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 5. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 5.
As per claim 16, this claim defines a method that corresponds to system of claim 7 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 7. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 7.
As per claim 17, this claim defines a method that corresponds to system of claim 8 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 8. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 8.
As per claim 19, this claim defines a computer-readable media storing instructions corresponding to method claim 10 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 10. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 10.
As per claim 20, this claim defines a computer-readable media storing instructions corresponding to method claim 11 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 11. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 11.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akerman in view of Pereira and further in view of Brandmaier; Jennifer A. et al. US 10839460 (hereinafter Brandmaier).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Akerman and Pereira does not teach; however, Brandmaier discloses: the processing circuit is communicatively coupled to a database comprising a system of records retrievably storing a plurality of data points associated with a plurality of third party entities, and wherein at least one in the plurality of data points represents a policy associated with the monitored third party activity, the processing circuit being further configured to correlate the monitored third party activity to the policy (Col. 19, lines 16-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Akerman and Pereira with the teaching of Brandmaier to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to implement a policy in conducting activities.
As per claim 15, this claim defines a method that corresponds to system of claim 6 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 6. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 6.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akerman in view of Pereira and further in view of Thomas; Doyle E. US 20220164897 (hereinafter Thomas).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Akerman and Pereira does not teach; however, Thomas discloses: generate a user interface comprising a graphical representation of the entity profile (“the Profile Module 214 is responsible for the entire graphical representation that is used to communicate and display the information regarding the user's profile to the user. That is, in some embodiments, a graphics generator within the Profile Module 214 creates the image that is presented to the Display Module 216 to be shown on the display 220.” Thomas: para. 39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Akerman and Pereira with the teaching of Thomas to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to simplify complex ideas reveal patterns.
As per claim 18, this claim defines a method that corresponds to system of claim 9 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 9. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 9.
Conclusion
/GHODRAT JAMSHIDI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493