DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an application filed on 09/10/2024.
Claims 1-9 are pending for examination.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Bang et al. (US 2012/0228965 A1 and Bang hereinafter).
As to Claim 1 and 8, Bang in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-20 disclose a method for operating an electric motor of rotor-stator-rotor configuration and a first gap with a first thickness d1 between a first rotor and a stator and a second gap with a second thickness d2 between the stator and a second rotor (see Fig. 8A-8C, Stator 1, Stator 2, Rotor, air gap 1, air gap 2 and also [0111] – [0113]), wherein the first rotor and the second rotor are electrically excitable separately from each other (current i flowing in the winding of a stator 1; current flowing in the winding of a stator 2 - see also [0114]), the method comprising:
detecting a first open-circuit voltage of the first rotor (see Fig.8A-C and [0119]);
detecting a second open-circuit voltage of the second rotor (see Fig.8A-C and [0119]);
classifying the first open-circuit voltage and the second open-circuit voltage (…When the new bearingless-drive structure is in a stable state, the lengths of an air gap 1 and an air gap 2 may be equal to each other. When the lengths of the air gap 1 and the air gap 2 are different from each other, i.e., unstable state, a difference between the air gap lengths at both sides can be seen by a difference between no-load induced voltages applied to stators 1 and 2 at both sides…see also [0114]); and
adjusting the electrical excitation of at least one from amongst the first rotor and the second rotor based on at least one of the classified open-circuit voltages (…When the length of the air gap 1 is greater than the length of the air gap 2, if an attraction force between the stator and the rotor at the air gap 1 increases and an attraction force at the air gap 2 is reduced, the rotor may move to a point where the lengths of both air gaps are equal to each other. To this end, the magnitude of a current i flowing in the winding of a stator 1 may be increased, and the magnitude of a current flowing in the winding of a stator 2 may be reduced… see also [0114]).
As to Claim 2, Bang disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein classification includes a difference between the open-circuit voltages (see [0119]).
As to Claim 3, Bang disclose the method as claimed in either of claims 1, wherein classification includes predefinable limit values (see [0114]).
As to Claim 4, Bang disclose the method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the predefinable limit values relate to an asymmetry of the first thickness d1 and the second thickness d2 (see Fig.8A-C and [0111] – [0114]).
As to Claim 5, Bang disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first rotor and the second rotor are excited asymmetrically (see Fig.8A-C and [0111] – [0119]).
As to Claim 6, Bang disclose the method as claimed in any of claims 1, wherein the method is carried out at predefinable operating points during operation of an electric motor (see [0120] – [0121]).
As to Claim 7, Bang disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electric motor comprises an axial flux machine (see [0111]).
As to Claim 9, Bang disclose the electric drive system as claimed in claim 8, wherein the electric motor comprises an axial flux machine (see [0111]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (US 2005/0144774 A1: An electrical machine having a machine output rating. The electrical machine including a shaft rotatable about an electrical machine axis, a rotor coupled to the shaft and rotating with the shaft, and a stator including a stator core. The rotor is configurable to include a first rotor portion having a relation to a first output rating and a second rotor portion having a relation to a second output rating. The stator core is configurable to be disposed adjacent to the first rotor portion relative to the machine axis when the machine output rating corresponds to the first output rating and adjacent to the second rotor portion when the machine output rating corresponds to the second output rating- see [Abstract]).
/GABRIEL AGARED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837