Claim(s) 21-24 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 3428976) in view of Garelick (US 5385323). With respect to claims 21, Robinson disclose the basic claimed structure including a cockpit seating area 12 including at least one seat 13 and a control console (including steering wheel; Figures 1-3) for operating the boat, a deck 11 and a seating assembly located on the deck with a first seat 18 and a second seat 19 both located on the deck. Not disclosed by Robinson is the second seat being movable from a lowered position to a raised position. Garelick teaches a seat with a seat bottom being movable between a lowered position and a raised position. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Robinson with the second seat having a seat bottom that can be raised and lowered as taught by Garelick with a high likelihood of success to allow the second seat bottom to move with respect to the first seat bottom. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. With respect to claims 22-24, 26-28, note Robinson, Figure 1 and the combination above. Note also a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have years of experience in the art and would have been familiar with various types of seats and seating arrangements and would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 3428976) in view of Garelick (US 5385323), as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Snurr (US 3737136). With respect to claims 25, Robinson combination does not disclose the second seat not having a backrest. Snurr teaches a seat without a backrest (Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Robinson with the second seat not having a backrest as taught by Snurr with a high likelihood of success for reduced weight. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Note also a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have years of experience in the art and would have been familiar with various types of seats and seating arrangements and would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 3428976) in view of Garelick (US 5385323), as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Farb et al (US 7513211). With respect to claims 30, Robinson combination does not disclose the first seat being elongate in the fore and aft direction. Farb et al teach a boat seat that is elongate in the fore and aft direction (Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Robinson with the first seat being elongate in the fore and aft direction as taught by Farb et al with a high likelihood of success for ease of lounging and sunning. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Note also a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have years of experience in the art and would have been familiar with various types of seats and seating arrangements and would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claim(s) 31-32 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Farb et al (US 7513211). With respect to claim 31, Farb et al disclose a boat with a deck, a sun pad located on the deck and including a main member with a first seating surface and one or more movable members each having an upper surface and being movable between a first position and a second position with the upper surface being inclined upward relative to the main member (note Figures 1-6). With respect to claims 32, 35 note Farb et al, Figures 1-6.
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farb et al (US 7513211) in view of Robinson (US 3428976). With respect to claims 41, Farb et al do not dislose a cockpit with seat. Robinson teaches a cockpit with seat (Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Farb et al with the cockpit and seat as taught by Robinsoin with a high likelihood of success for ease boat control. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Note also a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have years of experience in the art and would have been familiar with various types of seats and seating arrangements and would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claims 29, 33-34 and 36-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 31 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11697476. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are encompassed by the patented claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wood et al (US 7661382) show a boat console with seat.
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615