DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al. (US 2023/0219698 A1), hereinafter Campbell, in view of Otani et al. (US 2021/0381197 A1), hereinafter Otani.
With respect to claims 1, 10, and 16, Campbell discloses a remote operator deicing/anti-icing station located in a remote location from a deicing/anti-icing rig, comprising: (see at least [0114] “the system allows individuals to view de-icing facilities from a remote or off-site location. In conjunction with the system of the disclosure, the DDF can be viewed and controlled from the remote or off-site location.”)
wherein the remote rig control components include: a remote operator user interface, located outside of a rig being at least partially controlled by the remote operator deicing/anti-icing station, (see at least [0118] “an overlay of aircraft incursion zones on the operator display; safety systems that notify operators, such as those controlling a de-icing vehicle remotely”)
the rig including a truck and a deicing/anti-icing control cabin(see at least Fig. 20 (truck with cabin), [0098] “information from de-icing truck operations such as spray times for de-icing fluid and anti-icing fluid.”)
a computing device having a memory; and a processor configured to execute executable instructions stored in the memory (see at least [0083] “the method may be executed via instructions stored on a computer-readable medium such as by a processor or the CPU 102.”)
to: present views from one or more cameras mounted in or on the rig to one or more displays located at the remote operator deicing/anti-icing station such that the presented views include multiple views (see at least [0115] “As schematically shown in FIG. 12 , information or data from the cameras may be stitched together to create a panoramic view… providing an operator or user of the system with a multi-perspective view [of] their operation on a bay-by-bay basis.”)
Campbell discloses a monitoring system for deicing an aircraft using multiple images displayed to an operator in a remote location for control, but does not explicitly disclose the images being from the perspective of an operator of the rig and the components to remotely control it.
However, Otani teaches a number of remote rig control components for actuation by a remote operator, (see at least Fig. 2, [0039-0042] “pair of remote operation levers 32 and 32 turns forward, backward, left, or right, when an operation is applied to the lever… pair of travelling pedals 33 and 33…”)
and the presented views include multiple views from a perspective of an operator of the rig as if the remote operator was seated therein. (see at least Fig. 2, [0072] “During the normal work, the image generating section 53 causes the monitor 21 to display a work image V1 acquired by the main camera 11, as shown in FIG. 6.”)
As both pertain to remotely controlling vehicles designed to with a precision implement attached with a boom, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the remote deicing operation of Campbell to include the first person remote control perspective disclosed in Otani, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the efficiency of work involving the fine operation without having to be present to visually check the position of the implement, see Otani [0002-0003].
With respect to claim 2, Campbell discloses a monitoring system for deicing an aircraft using multiple images displayed to an operator in a remote location for control, but does not explicitly disclose the presented views include the cabin of the rig and cab of the truck.
However, Otani teaches the presented views are from a perspective of both an operator seated in the control cabin of the rig and an operator seated in a cab of the truck of the rig. (see at least Fig. 10, [0077] “Specifically, the image generating section 53 is configured to cause the monitor 21 to display at least one of the work image V1… and at least one of a plurality of the different images acquired by the different viewpoint cameras 12 to 15.”)
As both pertain to remotely controlling vehicles designed to with a precision implement attached with a boom, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the remote deicing operation of Campbell to include the first person remote control perspective disclosed in Otani, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the efficiency of work involving the fine operation without having to be present to visually check the position of the implement, see Otani [0002-0003].
With respect to claim 4, Campbell discloses a monitoring system for deicing an aircraft using multiple images displayed to an operator in a remote location for control, but does not explicitly disclose presented views are all available on one display.
However, Otani teaches the multiple views are presented on one display. (see at least [0035] “The monitor 21 can simultaneously display, in a plurality of divided screen areas, a plurality of images acquired by the plurality of cameras 11 to 15.”)
As both pertain to remotely controlling vehicles designed to with a precision implement attached with a boom, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the remote deicing operation of Campbell to include the first person remote control perspective disclosed in Otani, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the efficiency of work involving the fine operation without having to be present to visually check the position of the implement, see Otani [0002-0003].
With respect to claim 5, Campbell discloses at least one of the displays presents operational information about the rig while another display presents the views from the one or more cameras (see at least Fig. 9C, [0106] “Multiple operations can be run from one central point location. FIG. 9 c provides a photograph of a de-icing coordinator viewing a display showing a pad-de-icing operation with FIG. 9 d being a schematic screen shot the de-icing coordinator may be looking at.”)
Campbell discloses a monitoring system for deicing an aircraft using multiple images displayed to an operator in a remote location for control, but does not explicitly disclose view of the de-icing operation being from the camera on the rig.
However, Otani teaches the views from the one or more cameras mounted in or on the rig. (see at least Fig. 10, [0077] “Specifically, the image generating section 53 is configured to cause the monitor 21 to display at least one of the work image V1… and at least one of a plurality of the different images acquired by the different viewpoint cameras 12 to 15.”)
As both pertain to remotely controlling vehicles designed to with a precision implement attached with a boom, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the remote deicing operation of Campbell to include the first person remote control perspective disclosed in Otani, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the efficiency of work involving the fine operation without having to be present to visually check the position of the implement, see Otani [0002-0003].
With respect to claim 6, Campbell discloses content included on at least one display is a duplicate of or contains components of a corresponding display located in the control cabin. (see at least [0118] “The system may also include… a view of de-icing vehicle informatics such as alarms and fluid levels… that notify operators, such as those controlling a de-icing vehicle remotely” [0103] “This may be via an input to the de-icing operator module from the de-icing vehicle or the de-icing operator which is then transmitted to the coordinator module”)
With respect to claims 7 and 12, Campbell discloses the processor further includes executable instructions to receive inputs from the number of remote rig control components and communicate the inputs to the rig via a communication device. (see at least [0106] “The de-icing coordinator, via the co-ordinator module may remotely manage and command and control all de-icing/anti-icing operations”)
With respect to claim 9, Campbell discloses a monitoring system for deicing an aircraft using multiple images displayed to an operator in a remote location for control, but does not explicitly disclose the using controls with an identical layout to standard controls of the machine.
However, Otani teaches a layout of the remote rig control components is identical to a layout of the deicing/anti-icing control cabin of the rig. (see at least Fig. 2 showing a standard control setup used for a work vehicle.)
As both pertain to remotely controlling vehicles designed to with a precision implement attached with a boom, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the remote deicing operation of Campbell to include the control layout consistent with a standard control setup disclosed in Otani, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a normal posture that the operator takes when carrying out normal work to allow the remote work to by an operator already trained in the fine operations of the vehicle, see Otani [0002-0003].
With respect to claims 11 and 19, Campbell discloses a monitoring system for deicing an aircraft using multiple images displayed to an operator in a remote location for control, but does not explicitly disclose view of the de-icing operation being from the camera on the rig.
However, Otani teaches the remote rig control components include physical and virtual controls such that the remote operator may actuate any of the remote rig control components to initiate a corresponding action at the rig. (see at least [0053] “The communication device 61 is configured to receive signals output from the plurality of cameras 11 to 15, the attachment posture detection device 43, and the like and transmit the signals to the communication device 62 (transmission and reception device) disposed in the remote place.”)
As both pertain to remotely controlling vehicles designed to with a precision implement attached with a boom, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the remote deicing operation of Campbell to include the first person remote control perspective disclosed in Otani, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the efficiency of work involving the fine operation without having to be present to visually check the position of the implement, see Otani [0002-0003].
With respect to claims 14 and 20, Campbell discloses a monitoring system for deicing an aircraft using multiple images displayed to an operator in a remote location for control, but does not explicitly disclose view of the de-icing operation being from the camera on the rig.
However, Otani teaches the multiple views are presented on one display such that a screen of the display is split to present the multiple views simultaneously. (see at least Fig. 10, [0077] “Specifically, the image generating section 53 is configured to cause the monitor 21 to display at least one of the work image V1… and at least one of a plurality of the different images acquired by the different viewpoint cameras 12 to 15.”)
As both pertain to remotely controlling vehicles designed to with a precision implement attached with a boom, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the remote deicing operation of Campbell to include the first person remote control perspective disclosed in Otani, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the efficiency of work involving the fine operation without having to be present to visually check the position of the implement, see Otani [0002-0003].
With respect to claim 17, Campbell discloses the method includes displaying sensor data received from one or more sensors on the deicing/anti-icing rig. (see at least [0128] “Using sensors installed in the de-icing vehicles, this module tracks the surfaces being treated, the fluid amounts and types being applied and the time duration.” [0118] “a view of de-icing vehicle informatics such as alarms and fluid levels”)
Claims 3, 8, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Otani, as applied to claims 1, 10, and 16 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN 205320209 U), hereinafter Zhang.
With respect to claim 3, Campbell discloses a monitoring system for deicing an aircraft using multiple images displayed to an operator in a remote location for control, but does not explicitly disclose a presented views include sides and rear of the cabin.
However, Zhang teaches the presented views include a view directly in front of the cabin, a view to right side of the cabin, a view to a left side of the cabin, or a view behind the cabin such that the presented views are displayed simultaneously. (see at least [0016] “The system employs front, rear, left, and right cameras positioned on the front, rear, left, and right side panels. This allows the display screen to show not only a panoramic view but also a single view from any direction simultaneously.”)
As both pertain to remotely controlling traditionally dual operation aerial lift vehicles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the panoramic stitched image output of Campbell to include the multidirectional image data disclosed in Zhang, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the operator the ability to clearly monitor the scene in real time from all angles and accurately read the position and distance of obstacles, see Zhang [0016].
With respect to claims 8, 13, and 18, Campbell discloses a monitoring system for deicing an aircraft using multiple images displayed to an operator in a remote location for control, but does not explicitly disclose the operator being able to select a single view of the provided views.
However, Zhang teaches the remote operator user interface allows a user to switch between the multiple presented views on the one or more displays. (see at least [0016] “This allows the display screen to show not only a panoramic view but also a single view from any direction simultaneously.”)
As both pertain to remotely controlling traditionally dual operation aerial lift vehicles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the panoramic stitched image output of Campbell to include the multidirectional image data disclosed in Zhang, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the operator the ability to clearly monitor the scene in real time from all angles and accurately read the position and distance of obstacles, see Zhang [0016].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Christian et al. (US 5,180,122 A) discloses cameras to allow ice detection over a large area instead of a single point. The detecting apparatus provides an improved deicing apparatus.
Sasaki et al. (US 2022/0412049 A1) discloses a work assisting server for remotely operating a work machine and a method for selecting an imaging device for imaging a work machine to assist a work.
Campbell (US 2021/0380280 A1) discloses a processor for receiving instructions associated with the contamination removal treatment from an external party and for controlling the mobile platform and contamination apparatus to deliver the contamination removal treatment.
/S.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669