DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09 December 2024 was filed after the mailing date of the patent application on 10 September 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, received on 10 September 2024, are acceptable for examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Said claim recites “one or more tokens associated with one or more UE IDs”. Here, the recitation, “one or more UE IDs” is not supported by antecedent basis. In order to improve claim clarity, Examiner respectfully suggests amending to “the one or more UE IDs”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Said claim recites “the second poke message comprising the notification and UE ID”. Here, the recitation, “the UE ID” is not supported by antecedent basis. In order to improve claim clarity, Examiner respectfully suggests amending to “the UE ID”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 11, said claim recites “transmit a poke message to a cellular gateway function and a via a secure tunnel communication” which renders the claim unclear because Examiner is uncertain how to interpret “and a via a secure tunnel communication”. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret as transmitting to a cellular gateway function and the UE via a secure tunnel communication”. Examiner respectfully suggests Applicant amend the limitation to reflect Applicant’s intent provided the amendment is supported by Applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fryking et al. (US 20210037461 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Fryking”).
Regarding Claim 1, Fryking discloses a cellular gateway function, comprising:
a memory (¶131-136 & Fig. 6, Fryking discloses a server comprising storing circuitry. ¶122, Fryking discloses that the server may be a gateway); and
one or more processors configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory, cause the cellular gateway function (¶131-136 & Fig. 6 & ¶35, Fryking discloses the server further comprising controlling circuitry, when executing program instructions stored on the storing circuitry, or computer readable medium, cause the server to perform steps) to:
receive a token and user equipment (UE) identifier (ID) (¶122 & Fig. 4 (432), Fryking discloses receiving a wake-up identifier (WUI) where the WUI comprises a wake-up device identity and a wake-up server identity. Examiner correlates the WUI to "a token". Examiner correlates the wake-up device identity to a "user equipment (UE) identifier ID"), wherein the token is configured to represent an instance of communication associated with a UE of a cellular network and an origin server that is external to the cellular network (¶122 & ¶125 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses that the WUI is configured to represent a mapping between the wake-up device ID and the wake-up server ID such that communication associated with the wake-up device and an actor that is external to an internal network. Examiner correlates the internal network to "a cellular network". Examiner correlates the actor 460 with "an origin server"); and
create a record that associates the token with the UE ID to enable communications between the UE and the origin server (¶123-124 & Fig. 4 (422), Fryking discloses generating a message comprising the WUI where the WUI associates the WUI with the wake-up device ID to enable communication between the UE, or wake-up device, and the actor 460).
Regarding Claim 2, Fryking discloses the cellular gateway function of claim 1.
Fryking further discloses wherein the record further comprises index values (¶122 & Fig. 4 (432), Fryking discloses that the WUI comprises a wake-up server identity), one or more UE IDs (¶122 & Fig. 4 (432), Fryking discloses that the WUI comprises a wake-up device identity), one or more tokens associated with one or more UE IDs (¶122 & Fig. 4 (432), Fryking discloses that the WUI comprises an identifier associated with both the wake-up device identity and the wake-up server identity), and one or more port statuses associated with each respective UE ID (¶102, Fryking discloses that the wake-up message includes a pre-defined port for transmission to a device).
Regarding Claim 3, Fryking discloses the cellular gateway function of claim 1.
Fryking further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further executable to cause the cellular gateway function to:
receive a first poke message from a token server (¶125-127 & Fig. 4 (465 & 436), Fryking discloses receiving a wakeup-up request from the actor 460 of the external network 450), the first poke message comprising the token and a notification (¶125-127 & Fig. 4 (465 & 436), Fryking discloses that the wakeup-up request includes the WUI and also acts as a request to wake-up from the actor 460 of the external network 450), wherein the notification indicates notification data for the UE at the origin server (¶125-127 & Fig. 4 (465 & 436), Fryking discloses that the wakeup-up request indicates information that indicated that the actor 460 desires to wake-up the UE/wake-up device), and wherein the token server is one of one or more server devices (¶118, Fryking discloses that the actor, or second communication device, may be any type of device).
Regarding Claim 4, Fryking discloses the cellular gateway function of claim 3.
Fryking further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further executable to cause the cellular gateway function to:
identify the UE ID associated with the token via the token mapping; (¶126-127 & Fig. 4 (435 & 436), Fryking discloses determining an operator specific device identity, such as a UE ID, based upon an association with the WUI via a stored association or mapping) and
transmit a second poke message to a cellular network (¶128 & Fig. 4 (427), Fryking discloses transmitting the wake-up message to a user equipment (UE) via an evolved node B (eNB)), the second poke message comprising the notification and UE ID (¶128 & Fig. 4 (427) & ¶106-104 & Fig. 1 (180) & Fig. 2 (280) & ¶113, Fryking discloses that the wake-up message comprises information indicating a wake-up action (418) and a WUI including the UE ID).
Regarding Claim 5, Fryking discloses the cellular gateway function of claim 4.
Fryking further discloses wherein the first poke message is a first lightweight wakeup message and the second poke message is a second lightweight wakeup message (¶121-127 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses that the wake-up request message and the wake-up message are wake-up messages).
Regarding Claim 14, Fryking discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory (¶137-140 & Fig. 7 & ¶35, Fryking discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising a computer readable medium); and
one or more processors configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory, cause the UE (¶137-140 & Fig. 7 & ¶35, Fryking discloses the UE further comprising controlling circuitry, or controller, when executing program instructions stored on the storing circuitry, or computer readable medium, cause the server to perform steps) to:
receive, from a token server, a token (¶122 & Fig. 4 (422), Fryking discloses receiving, from a wake-up server (WUS) via a gateway (GW), a wake-up identifier (WUI) at the UE where the WUI comprises a wake-up device identity and a wake-up server identity. Examiner correlates the WUI to "a token". Examiner correlates the wake-up device identity to a "user equipment (UE) identifier ID") associated with an origin server that is external to a cellular network (¶122 & ¶125 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses that the WUI is associated to an actor that is external to an internal network. Examiner correlates the internal network to "a cellular network". Examiner correlates the actor 460 with "an origin server"), wherein the token is configured to represent an instance of communication associated with a user equipment (UE) of the cellular network and the origin server (¶122 & ¶125 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses that the WUI is configured to represent a mapping between the wake-up device ID and the wake-up server ID such that communication associated with the wake-up device and an actor that is external to an internal network. Examiner correlates the internal network to "a cellular network". Examiner correlates the actor 460 with "an origin server");
transmit the token to the origin server (¶121 & Fig. 4 (413), Fryking discloses distributing, by the UE, the WUI by transmitting the WUI to the actor 460 in the external network 450); and
transmit, to a cellular gateway function, the token and a UE identifier (ID) associated with the UE (¶121 & Fig. 4 (413), Fryking discloses distributing, by the UE, the WUI by transmitting the WUI to the gateway (GW) where the WUI is associated to the UE because the WUI comprises a wake-up client identifier or UE ID).
Regarding Claim 16, Fryking discloses the UE of claim 14.
Fryking further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive, from a base station and while in a power saving mode, a lightweight wakeup message (¶127-128 & Fig. 4 (427) & ¶150, Fryking discloses receiving, from the eNB and while the UE is in a sleep mode, a wake-up request) comprising the UE ID and a notification routed from the origin server (¶125-127 & Fig. 4 (465 & 436), Fryking discloses that the wake-up request includes the WUI and also acts as a request to wake-up from the actor 460 of the external network 450).
Regarding Claim 17, Fryking discloses the UE of claim 16.
Fryking further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
determine to continue in the power saving mode based on the lightweight wakeup message (¶127-128 & Fig. 4 (427) & ¶150, Fryking discloses determining, by the UE, to remain in a sleep mode or to perform a wake-up action based upon a wake-up request from the actor of the external network); and
transmit a first message of a random access control channel (RACH) procedure (¶129 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses performing a random access procedure between the UE and the eNB in response to the wake-up request), wherein the first message acknowledges receipt of the lightweight wakeup message (¶129 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses transmitting a wake-up accept message in response to performing a random access procedure between the UE and the eNB in response to the wake-up request).
Regarding Claim 18, Fryking discloses the UE of claim 16.
Fryking further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
enter an active mode in response to the lightweight wakeup message (¶128 & Fig. 4 (418), Fryking discloses entering a wake-up state to perform a wake-up action in response to a wake-up message); and
establish a connection with the base station (¶129 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses performing a random access procedure between the UE and the eNB in response to the wake-up request).
Regarding Claim 19, Fryking discloses the UE of claim 18.
Fryking further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
transmit, based on the lightweight wakeup message, a data message to the origin server (¶108-109 & Fig. 4 (418) & Fig. 2 (290), Fryking discloses entering a wake-up state to perform a wake-up action where the wake-up action may involve establishing an outbound IP connection from the first communication device to the operator network to enable the inbound IP traffic, contacting a server for instructions, call "home", or connecting to an account associated with the application. Here, those actions would require transmission of a data message outside the internal network); and
receive, in response to the data message, notification data from the origin server (¶108-109 & Fig. 4 (418) & Fig. 2 (290), Fryking discloses receiving inbound IP traffic in response to establishing an outbound IP connection from the first communication device to the operator network).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fryking in view of Kneckt et al. (US 20140321350 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Kneckt”).
Regarding Claim 6, Fryking discloses the cellular gateway function of claim 1.
Fryking further discloses wherein the token is associated with an origin (¶123-125, Fryking discloses that the WUI is associated to an actor, which can be any type of device, because the actor is able to wake-up the UE using the WUI) and comprises cellular carrier identifying data (¶121, Fryking discloses that the WUI indicates an operator specific device identity), cellular network connection data (¶128-129, Fryking discloses that the WUI indicates information causing a random access procedure between the eNB and the UE), and secured UE identification data (¶126, Fryking discloses that the WUI indicates a wake-up client, or UE, identifier).
However, Fryking does not disclose that the token comprises delay thresholds.
Kneckt, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches that the token comprises delay thresholds (¶93 & ¶98, Kneckt discloses data comprising a maximum delay threshold for transmitted traffic).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fryking by requiring that the token comprises delay thresholds as taught by Kneckt because transmissions to conserve power are optimized (Kneckt, ¶1).
Claims 7-11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fryking in view of Kim et al. (US 20220247718 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 7, Fryking discloses one or more server devices, comprising:
a memory (¶131-136 & Fig. 6, Fryking discloses a server comprising storing circuitry); and
one or more processors configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory, cause the one or more server devices (¶131-136 & Fig. 6 & ¶35, Fryking discloses the server further comprising controlling circuitry, when executing program instructions stored on the storing circuitry, or computer readable medium, cause the server to perform steps) to:
create a token (¶121 & Fig. 4 (431), Fryking discloses creating a wake-up identifier (ID)), wherein the token is configured to represent an instance of communication associated with a user equipment (UE) of a cellular network and an origin server that is external to the cellular network (¶122 & ¶125 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses that the WUI is configured to represent a mapping between the wake-up device ID and the wake-up server ID such that communication associated with the wake-up device and an actor that is external to an internal network. Examiner correlates the internal network to "a cellular network". Examiner correlates the actor 460 with "an origin server"); and
transmit the token to the UE (¶122 & Fig. 4 (422), Fryking discloses transmitting the WUI to the UE).
However, Fryking does not disclose transmission to the UE via a secure tunnel connection.
Kim, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches transmission to the UE via a secure tunnel connection (¶60, Kim discloses using an authorized tunnel between a gateway 203 and a terminal 201 for communication).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fryking by requiring that transmission to the UE is via a secure tunnel connection as taught by Kim because access control is improved by preventing, in advance, a target application within the terminal from bypassing control of an access control application and transmitting a data packet to a destination network through an authorized tunnel (Kim, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 8, Fryking in view of Kim discloses the one or more server devices of claim 7.
Fryking further discloses wherein the one or more server devices comprise at least one of:
a token server (¶117 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses a wake-up server (WUS)), a cellular gateway function (¶117 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses a gateway (GW)), the origin server (¶117 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses an actor 460 where the actor can be any type of device including a server), or a combination thereof (¶117 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses a combination of the wake-up server (WUS), the gateway (GW), and the actor).
Regarding Claim 9, Fryking in view of Kim discloses the one or more server devices of claim 7.
Fryking further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further executable to cause the one or more server devices to:
receive a token request from the UE (¶119-120 & Fig. 4 (411), Fryking discloses receiving a wake-up registration request from the UE), wherein the token request identifies the origin server (¶122 & ¶125 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses that the WUI is configured to represent a mapping between the wake-up device ID and the wake-up server ID such that communication associated with the wake-up device and an actor that is external to an internal network. Examiner correlates the actor 460 with "an origin server"); and
transmit the token based on the token request (¶122 & Fig. 4 (422), Fryking discloses transmitting the WUI based upon the wake-up registration request), wherein the token is transmitted to the UE (¶122 & Fig. 4 (422), Fryking discloses that the WUI is transmitted to the UE).
Kim, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, further teaches:
receiving [data] from the UE via a secure tunnel connection (¶60, Kim discloses using an authorized tunnel between a gateway 203 and a terminal 201 for communication), and where [data] is transmitted to the UE via the secure connection (¶60, Kim discloses using an authorized tunnel between a gateway 203 and a terminal 201 for communication).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fryking in view of Kim by receiving [data] from the UE via a secure tunnel connection where [data] is transmitted to the UE via the secure connection as taught by Kim because access control is improved by preventing, in advance, a target application within the terminal from bypassing control of an access control application and transmitting a data packet to a destination network through an authorized tunnel (Kim, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 10, Fryking in view of Kim discloses the one or more server devices of claim 7.
Fryking further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further executable to cause the one or more server devices to:
receive a message from the origin server (¶125-127 & Fig. 4 (465 & 436), Fryking discloses receiving a wakeup-up request from the actor 460 of the external network 450), the message comprising the token and a notification for the UE at the origin server (¶125-127 & Fig. 4 (465 & 436), Fryking discloses that the wakeup-up request includes the WUI and also acts as a request to wake-up from the actor 460 of the external network 450).
Regarding Claim 11, Fryking in view of Kim discloses the one or more server devices of claim 10.
Fryking further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further executable to cause the one or more server devices to:
transmit a poke message to a cellular gateway function based on receiving the token from the origin server (¶125-127 & Fig. 4 (465->436), Fryking discloses transmitting a wakeup-up request to the gateway (GW) 420 based on a reception of the wake-up request from the actor 460 of the external network 450), the poke message comprising the notification and the token (¶125-127 & Fig. 4 (465 & 436), Fryking discloses that the wakeup-up request includes the WUI and also acts as a request to wake-up from the actor 460 of the external network 450).
Kim, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, further teaches and [to the UE] via a secure tunnel communication (¶60, Kim discloses using an authorized tunnel between a gateway 203 and a terminal 201 for communication).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fryking in view of Kim by transmitting [data] [to the UE] via a secure tunnel communication as taught by Kim because access control is improved by preventing, in advance, a target application within the terminal from bypassing control of an access control application and transmitting a data packet to a destination network through an authorized tunnel (Kim, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 13, Fryking in view of Kim discloses the one or more server devices of claim 7.
Fryking further discloses wherein the origin server comprises a token server (¶117 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses an actor 460 where the actor can be any type of device), the one or more server devices (¶117 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses an actor 460 where the actor can be any type of device), or a combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 15, Fryking discloses the UE of claim 14.
Fryking further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
transmit a token request to the token server (¶119-120 & Fig. 4 (411), Fryking discloses transmitting a wake-up registration request to the WUS from the UE), wherein the token request identifies the origin server (¶122 & ¶125 & Fig. 4, Fryking discloses that the WUI is configured to represent a mapping between the wake-up device ID and the wake-up server ID such that communication associated with the wake-up device and an actor that is external to an internal network. Examiner correlates the actor 460 with "an origin server"); and
receive the token based on the token request (¶122 & Fig. 4 (422), Fryking discloses receiving the WUI based upon the wake-up registration request), wherein the token is transmitted to the UE (¶122 & Fig. 4 (422), Fryking discloses that the WUI is transmitted to the UE).
However, Fryking does not disclose transmitting [data} from the UE via a secure tunnel and transmitting [data] to the UE via a secure tunnel connection.
Kim, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches transmitting [data} from the UE via a secure tunnel (¶60, Kim discloses using an authorized tunnel between a gateway 203 and a terminal 201 for communication) and transmitting [data] to the UE via a secure tunnel connection (¶60, Kim discloses using an authorized tunnel between a gateway 203 and a terminal 201 for communication).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fryking by transmitting [data} from the UE via a secure tunnel and transmitting [data] to the UE via a secure tunnel connection as taught by Kim because access control is improved by preventing, in advance, a target application within the terminal from bypassing control of an access control application and transmitting a data packet to a destination network through an authorized tunnel (Kim, Abstract).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fryking in view of Kim in further view of Kneckt.
Regarding Claim 12, Fryking in view of Kim discloses the one or more server devices of claim 7.
Fryking further discloses wherein the token comprises cellular carrier identifying data (¶121, Fryking discloses that the WUI indicates an operator specific device identity), cellular network connection data (¶128-129, Fryking discloses that the WUI indicates information causing a random access procedure between the eNB and the UE), and secured UE identification data (¶126, Fryking discloses that the WUI indicates a wake-up client, or UE, identifier).
However, Fryking in view of Kim does not disclose wherein the token comprises delay thresholds.
Kneckt, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the token comprises delay thresholds (¶93 & ¶98, Kneckt discloses data comprising a maximum delay threshold for transmitted traffic).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fryking in view of Kim by requiring that the token comprises delay thresholds as taught by Kneckt because transmissions to conserve power are optimized (Kneckt, ¶1).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fryking in view of Sun et al. (US 20230007723 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Sun”).
Regarding Claim 20, Fryking discloses the UE of claim 19.
However, Fryking does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: release the connection established with the base station based on receiving the notification data.
Sun, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
release the connection established with the base station based on receiving the notification data (¶121, Sun discloses releasing a RRC connection established with the access network device based on receiving an RRC Connection Release message).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fryking by releasing the connection established with the base station based on receiving the notification data as taught by Kim because access control is improved by preventing, in advance, a target application within the terminal from bypassing control of an access control application and transmitting a data packet to a destination network through an authorized tunnel (Kim, Abstract).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Olrog (US 20250365573 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Olrog”) is cited to show an anticipatory prior art reference, in the opinion of the Examiner, that discloses generation and transmission of a token request, creating of a token, and provisioning the token after creation (Olrog, ¶61-73 & Fig. 3A) and further discloses sending/receiving tokens in order to enable communication with an application server in a different network (Olrog, ¶55-59 & Fig. 2).
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474