DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20, which are currently pending, are fully considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 30, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of mental processes and/or math without significantly more.
As to claim 1, the claim recites the mental processes of receiving, by execution of one or more processors, a data value; inferring, from the data value, one or more constraints; determining, from the one or more constraints, one of a plurality of data types to assign to the data value; and assigning the one of the plurality of data types to the data value (A person can mentally receive a data value, infer a constraint, and assign or categorize data into a type).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 2, the claim recites the mental processes whereby the one or more constraints are further inferred based on metadata associated with the data value (A person can mentally receive a data value and infer a constraint based on metadata, or data about data).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 3, the claim recites the mental processes of identifying one or more patterns in the data value (A person can mentally identify patterns in data).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 4, the claim recites the mental processes wherein the one of the plurality of data types is further determined based on the one or more patterns (A person can mentally determine a data type by observing a pattern).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 5, the claim recites the mental of receiving one or more validly classified values, each of the one or more validly classified values being associated with an assigned data type; updating, based on metadata associated with the one of more validly classified values, the plurality of data types (A person can mentally receive a classified value, and subsequently update a data type).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 6, the claim recites the mental processes of receiving one or more customized constraints; and updating, based on the one or more customized constraints, the plurality of data types (A person can mentally receive a constraint and use that to update a data type).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 7, the claim recites the mental processes receiving a selection of a data source and attributes to analyze within the data source; extracting a plurality of data values from the data source; processing the plurality of data values according to the attributes (A person can mentally receive a data and process them according to attributes).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data specifically in the claim, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 8, the claim recites the mental processes wherein the data value is one of a structured, semi-structured, or unstructured data value (A person can mentally acknowledge that the data value is one of a structured, semi-structured, or unstructured data value).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 9, the claim recites the mental processes of receiving, by execution of one or more processors, a data value; inferring, from the data value, one or more constraints; determining, from the one or more constraints, one of a plurality of data types to assign to the data value; and assigning the one of the plurality of data types to the data value (A person can mentally receive a data value, infer a constraint, and assign or categorize data into a type).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 10, the claim recites the mental processes whereby the one or more constraints are further inferred based on metadata associated with the data value (A person can mentally receive a data value and infer a constraint based on metadata, or data about data).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 11, the claim recites the mental processes of identifying one or more patterns in the data value (A person can mentally identify patterns in data).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 12, the claim recites the mental processes wherein the one of the plurality of data types is further determined based on the one or more patterns (A person can mentally determine a data type by observing a pattern).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 13, the claim recites the mental of receiving one or more validly classified values, each of the one or more validly classified values being associated with an assigned data type; updating, based on metadata associated with the one of more validly classified values, the plurality of data types (A person can mentally receive a classified value, and subsequently update a data type).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 14, the claim recites the mental processes of receiving one or more customized constraints; and updating, based on the one or more customized constraints, the plurality of data types (A person can mentally receive a constraint and use that to update a data type).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 15, the claim recites the mental processes receiving a selection of a data source and attributes to analyze within the data source; extracting a plurality of data values from the data source; processing the plurality of data values according to the attributes (A person can mentally receive a data and process them according to attributes).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data specifically in the claim, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 16, the claim recites the mental processes wherein the data value is one of a structured, semi-structured, or unstructured data value (A person can mentally acknowledge that the data value is one of a structured, semi-structured, or unstructured data value).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 17, the claim recites the mental processes of receiving, by execution of one or more processors, a data value; inferring, from the data value, one or more constraints; determining, from the one or more constraints, one of a plurality of data types to assign to the data value; and assigning the one of the plurality of data types to the data value (A person can mentally receive a data value, infer a constraint, and assign or categorize data into a type).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 18, the claim recites the mental processes whereby the one or more constraints are further inferred based on metadata associated with the data value (A person can mentally receive a data value and infer a constraint based on metadata, or data about data).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 19, the claim recites the mental processes of identifying one or more patterns in the data value (A person can mentally identify patterns in data).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
As to claim 20, the claim recites the mental processes wherein the one of the plurality of data types is further determined based on the one or more patterns (A person can mentally determine a data type by observing a pattern).
A judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no steps beyond the abstract idea to possibly integrate it into a practical application. Nothing is done to actually process the data, let alone any meaningful way that could amount to any practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, the recitation of “one or more processors” merely attempts to generically implement the abstract idea on a computer, and is not indicative of significantly more. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Christopher Nguyen et al. (U.S. Patent 10,546,001)
With respect to claims 1, 9, and 17, Nguyen teaches:
receiving, by execution of one or more processors, a data value (see column 1, line 60 – column 2, line 7, where the system receives data, and associated attributes);
inferring, from the data value, one or more constraints (see column 18, lines 45 – 55, where constraints are inferred);
determining, from the one or more constraints, one of a plurality of data types to assign to the data value (see column 4, line 60 – column 5, line 17, where data may be of different types also see column 10, lines 23 – 34, and column 10, line 66 – column 11, line 11, where a type is assigned to data); and
assigning the one of the plurality of data types to the data value (see column 20, lines 23 – 34, where a type is assigned to data).
With respect to claims 2, 10, and 18, Nguyen teaches:
wherein the one or more constraints are further inferred based on metadata associated with the data value (see column 18, lines 45 – 55, where constraints are inferred using metadata like keywords).
With respect to claims 3, 11, and 19, Nguyen teaches:
identifying one or more patterns in the data value (see column 11, lines 12 – 22, where patterns are identified).
With respect to claims 4, 12, and 20, Nguyen teaches:
wherein the one of the plurality of data types is further determined based on the one or more patterns (see column 11, lines 12 – 22, where patterns are identified using the type).
With respect to claims 5 and 13, Nguyen teaches:
receiving one or more validly classified values, each of the one or more validly classified values being associated with an assigned data type (see column 10, line 66 – column 11, line 11, where data values may be classified in categories);
updating, based on metadata associated with the one of more validly classified values, the plurality of data types (see column 10, line 66 – column 11, line 11, where data values may be classified in categories, taking into account the type).
With respect to claims 6 and 14, Nguyen teaches:
receiving one or more customized constraints (see column 15, lines 8 – 14, where custom constraints are received and types updated); and
updating, based on the one or more customized constraints, the plurality of data types (see column 15, lines 8 – 14, where custom constraints are received and types updated).
With respect to claims 7 and 15, Nguyen teaches:
receiving a selection of a data source and attributes to analyze within the data source (see column 1, line 60 – column 2, line 24, where the system receives data from a data set (source), and associated attributes to analyze);
extracting a plurality of data values from the data source (see column 1, line 60 – column 2, line 24, where the system extracts data);
processing the plurality of data values according to the attributes (see column 1, line 60 – column 2, line 24, where the system processes data using attributes).
With respect to claims 8 and 16, Nguyen teaches:
wherein the data value is one of a structured, semi-structured, or unstructured data value (see column 3, lines 48 – 57, where data may be structured or unstructured).
Conclusion/Contact Information
/ALEXANDRIA Y BROMELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2167 January 9, 2026