DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 14 and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0055294, “Lee”) in view of Ryu et al. (US 2024/0196313, “Ryu”) and Nguyen et al. (US 2023/0284097, “Nguyen”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Lee unless otherwise mentioned.
Lee comprises the following features:
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code ([0261 and Fig. 27] “The UE 120 includes a processor 122, a memory 124 and an RF unit 126. The processor 122 may be configured to implement the procedures and/or methods proposed by the present invention. The memory 124 is connected to the processor 122 and stores information related to operations of the processor 122.”) to cause the UE to:
receive first configuration information for a contention-based uplink resource pool ([0189] “a specific cell may transmit information regarding the CP zone to the UE.”, [0181] “The contention-based PUSCH zone (hereinafter referred to as a CP zone) and the contention PUSCH resource block (hereinafter referred to as CPRB)”, and [0199] “Information regarding the CP zone contained in SIB and MIB may include UL resource information in which the CP zone is configured. For example, UL resource information may include information regarding the number (N) of CPRBs”);
receive second configuration information for uplink packet delay status reporting; transmit a delay status report that indicates a delay status associated with a data packet in accordance with the second configuration information (These will be discussed in view of Ryu.); and
transmit an uplink message comprising the data packet via a contention-based uplink resource of the contention-based uplink resource pool ([0181] “the contention-based PUSCH zone is configured may transmit data using the corresponding zone without scheduling of the eNB, when UL data requesting low latency is transmitted.”) based at least in part on a probability to access the contention-based uplink resource satisfying a probability threshold (This will be discussed in view of Nguyen.).
It is noted that while disclosing contention based UL resources, Lee does not specifically teach about a DSR and probabilities to access resources. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Ryu and Nguyen, respectively, as follows;
receive second configuration information for uplink packet delay status reporting ([Ryu, 0068] “In order to generate a low-latency (LL) specific DSR from non-AP STAs that have buffered low-latency frames, the BSRP trigger frame may include a subfield indicating a poll of delay status report.”);
transmit a delay status report that indicates a delay status associated with a data packet in accordance with the second configuration information ([Ryu, 0069] “In order to generate a low-latency (LL) specific DSR from non-AP STAs that have buffered low-latency frames, the BSRP trigger frame may include a subfield indicating a poll of delay status report.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to apply Ryu’s delay-status-reporting technique into Lee’s contention-based uplink resource procedure so that the network receives packet-delay information when determining how to support delay-sensitive uplink traffic. The application would have predictably enabled Lee’s UE to report delay urgency for buffered data before or in connection with contention-based uplink access. This combination would improve timely delivery of delay-critical data while retaining Lee’s reduced-signaling, contention-based UL operation.
based at least in part on a probability to access the contention-based uplink resource satisfying a probability threshold ([Nguyen, 0059] “the UE may perform the transmission in the current slot using at least part of the sufficient resources that were identified to perform the transmission. As shown, the UE may perform the transmission based at least in part on a first probability (P).”, and [Nguyen, 0062] “the respective probabilities may be based at least in part on (e.g., a function of) a wait time (e.g., a permissible wait time before the transmission is transmitted), a priority level of the transmission (e.g., whether the transmission is an ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC) or a best-effort communication, whether the transmission is associated with a threshold probability level, and/or the like), a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) (e.g., when the remaining PDB is shorter than a threshold, the probability of transmitting in the current slot may be higher than when the PDB is not shorter than the threshold using the techniques described herein)”, and [Nguyen, 0055] “The probability-based determination may be based at least in part on a wait time associated with the communication, a priority level associated with the communication, a remaining packet delay budget of the communication, and/or the like.”)
wherein the probability to access the contention-based uplink resource is based at least in part on the delay status (See aforesaid [Nguyen, 0055 and 0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to apply Nguyen’s remaining-delay-budget-dependent probability mechanism to Lee’s selection and use of candidate CPRBs. The predictable result would prioritize access to Lee’s contention-based UL resources for delay-critical traffic while deferring less urgent transmissions, thereby reducing collision/congestion effects and helping urgent traffic meet its delay budget.
Regarding claim 14, it is a method claim corresponding to the UE claim 1, and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, it is a CRM claim corresponding to the UE claim 1, and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to the dependent claims:
Regarding claims 6 and 19, the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 14, respectively, wherein, to transmit the delay status report, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the delay status report ([Ryu, 0071] “a non-AP STA that receives the BSRP trigger frame generates a response frame including one or more QoS Null frame(s) including the requested delay status information using the allocated RA-RU(s) or non-RA-RU(s).”) based at least in part on a remaining delay budget associated with the data packet ([Ryu, 0079] “If the set of delay bound subfields additionally includes a HOL Delay bound subfield (e.g. 5 or 6-bits), then the HOL Delay bound subfield can announce a delay bound of the TID indicated by TID subfield (i.e. a remaining time until the delay bound, or the TSF time of delay bound).”) being below a threshold ([Ryu, 0061] “a HOL (head of line) packet enqueue time exceeds or does not exceed a certain threshold time (e.g. set a FEEDBACK_STATUS value to 0 indicating “exceeds” and to 1 indicating “does not exceed”, or vice-versa).”), wherein the second configuration information comprises the threshold ([Ryu, 0065] “The delay threshold is identified in the most recently received NDP Feedback Report Parameter Set element sent by the AP with which the STA is associated.”).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 15-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0055294, “Lee”) in view of Ryu et al. (US 2024/0196313, “Ryu”) and Nguyen et al. (US 2023/0284097, “Nguyen”) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0132274, “Lee274”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Lee unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, it is noted that while disclosing contention based UL resources, Lee does not specifically teach about a DSR and probabilities to access resources. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Ryu and Nguyen, respectively, as follows;
the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 14, respectively, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of a configuration associated with calculation of the probability ([Lee274, 0068] “in step S210, UE2 may receive backoff parameter (e.g. CB-PUSCH/CB-SR prohibit timer) or probability information from the eNB, e.g. via a UE dedicated RRC message, system information, random access response, MAC CE, or L1 signaling.”), wherein the configuration comprises an uplink delay-status based function (aforesaid [Nguyen, 0055]), and wherein the probability is based at least in part on the configuration ([Lee274, 0068] “upon receiving the probability information, UE2 may draw a random number and determine whether or not to delay CB-PUSCH/CB-SR transmission by comparing the random number with the barring factor included in the probability information.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to apply Lee274’s the probability information transmitted to include Nguyen’s remaining PDB/RDB based function or function parameters. The predictable result would be a UE whose contention based UL access probability responds to packet urgency: a packet nearer its delay deadline receives a greater probability of transmission/access, whereas non-urgent traffic can be delayed to control contention. This medication applies Nguyen’s established delay sensitive probability policy to Lee274’s established network signaled CB-PUSCH probability control framework.
Regarding claims 3 and 16, the UE of claim 2 and the method of claim 15, respectively, wherein: the configuration further comprises a priority-based function ([Nguyen, 0055] “The probability-based determination may be based at least in part on a wait time associated with the communication, a priority level associated with the communication, a remaining packet delay budget of the communication, and/or the like.”), and the probability is further based at least in part on a priority of the data packet ([Nguyen, 0062] “the respective probabilities may be based at least in part on (e.g., a function of) a wait time (e.g., a permissible wait time before the transmission is transmitted), a priority level of the transmission (e.g., whether the transmission is an ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4-5, 7-9, 10-13, and 17-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claims contain the following underlined features which, when combined with other features of the claim, prior art of record failed to anticipate or render obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application was filed:
4. The UE of claim 2, wherein: the configuration further comprises a buffer status-based function, and the probability is further based at least in part on an amount of buffered data for uplink transmission at the UE in association with the buffer status-based function, the amount of buffered data comprising the data packet.
The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a received probability calculation configuration that includes a buffer status based function, wherein the probability of accessing a contention-based uplink resource is based on an amount of buffered uplink data that includes the data packet. Although the art teaches buffer status reporting and probability based contention control separately, it does not teach using the buffered data amount as an input to the UE’s access probability function.
5. The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive, in response to the uplink message, a back off indication that indicates to refrain from transmitting a second uplink message comprising the data packet for a period of time after reception of the back off indication; and
transmit the second uplink message comprising the data packet via a second contention-based uplink resource of the contention-based uplink resource pool during the period of time based at least in part on the delay status associated with the data packet satisfying a delay threshold.
The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest transmitting a second uplink message via a second contention based uplink resource during a backoff period based on packet delay status satisfying a delay threshold. In particular, the closest backoff art requires the UE to refrain from CB- PUSCH/CB-SR transmission while the prohibit timer is running, rather than permitting a delay critical contention based retransmission during that period.
7. The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, in response to the uplink message, a back off indication that indicates to refrain from transmitting a second uplink message comprising the data packet for a period of time after reception of the back off indication, wherein the period of time is based at least in part on the delay status.
The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a backoff indication having a period of time that is based on the delay status associated with the data packet.
10. The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive, in response to the uplink message, a back off indication that indicates to refrain from transmitting a second uplink message comprising the data packet for a period of time after reception of the back off indication; and
transmit the second uplink message comprising the data packet via a second contention-based uplink resource of the contention-based uplink resource pool after a second period of time after the reception of the back off indication,
wherein the second period of time is scaled in accordance with a scaling factor with respect to the period of time based at least in part on the delay status.
The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest transmitting a second uplink message after a second period that is scaled relative to an indicated backoff period by a scaling factor based on delay status.
Regarding claims 8-9, these claims depend from claim 7 and thus are objected.
Regarding claims 11-13, these claims depend from claim 10 and thus are objected.
Regarding claim 17, the claims contain similar features as recited in claim 4, thus are objected for the same reason as stated above.
Regarding claim 18, the claims contain similar features as recited in claim 5, thus are objected for the same reason as stated above.
Conclusion
/HARRY H KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411