DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 13-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,114,787 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the structural limitations of the chair is claimed in the issued patent as in the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marty K. Matthews et al. U.S. Patent 5,035,466 A (Matthews).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Matthews discloses a chair, comprising: a back support (Element 68); a seat support (Element 12) assembly including a seat support (Element 12) rotatable about an axis of rotation when the chair rests on a support surface (Element 18 axis of rotation); and a slider mechanism having a locked configuration and an unlocked configuration, wherein the slider mechanism in the locked configuration holds the back support relative to the seat support, and wherein the slider mechanism in the unlocked configuration allows the back support to translate to allow the back support to translate across between a back end of the seat support (Column 5 Line 36-56). Matthews does not directly disclose the slider mechanism to facilitate the movement of the seatback across most of a distance between a back end of the seat support and the axis of rotation; wherein the slider mechanism is configured to translate the back support forwardly across an upper surface of the seat support and a distance greater than 5 inches. Dimensional modification is common and well know in the art. A seatback adjustment arm and seat surface having a different dimension could yield the movement of the seatback across most of a distance between a back end of the seat support and the axis of rotation. Such a modification would provide a means to adjust the seat surface and seat back positions for a seated user.
Regarding claims 15 and 21, Matthews discloses the chair further comprising a vertical support (portion of Element 14 adjacent Element 68) coupled to the back support and including a C-shaped section (curved Element 66 area) with a curvature that matches a curvature of a most rearward padded region of the seat support as viewed from a side of the chair.
Regarding claims 16 and 27, Matthews discloses the chair wherein the back support is rotatably coupled to a vertical support to allow rotation of the back support while the back support is positioned directly above the seat support, and wherein the seat support assembly has a pivot defining the axis of rotation (rotation about Element 18).
Regarding claims 17 and 28, Matthews discloses the chair wherein the slider mechanism includes a vertical support extending from the back support to the seat support assembly, and wherein the vertical support holds the back support spaced apart from the seat support so as to allow rotation of the back support relative to the seat support (Element 14).
Regarding claims 18 and 29, Matthews discloses the chair wherein the slider mechanism includes a plurality of sliders coupled to the seat support assembly and a connector coupling the back support to the slider mechanism (Figure 7, 8 Element 78).
Regarding claims 19, 22, and 30, Matthews discloses the chair wherein the back support in a forward position has a front surface positioned generally midway between a front end and the back end of the seat support (curvature shape and dimension of Element 14 modified). Dimensional modification is common and well known in the art. A seatback adjustment arm and seat surface having a different dimension could yield the movement of the seatback across most of a distance between a back end of the seat support and the axis of rotation. Such a modification would provide a means to adjust the seat surface and seat back positions for a seated user.
Regarding claims 20 and 31, Matthews discloses the chair further comprising a C-shaped support coupled to the back support and the slider mechanism, and wherein the C-shaped support is configured to extend over the seat support such that the back support translates a distance of at least 5 inches in a direction generally parallel to a cushion of the seat support. Dimensional modification is common and well know in the art. A seatback adjustment arm and seat surface having a different dimension could yield the movement of the seatback across most of a distance between a back end of the seat support and the axis of rotation. Such a modification would provide a means to adjust the seat surface and seat back positions for a seated user.
Regarding claim 23, Matthews discloses the chair wherein the slider mechanism includes: a bracket coupled to the C-shaped support, and a plurality of linear extenders coupled to the bracket and the seat support assembly (Figure 3).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, Matthews discloses a chair, comprising: a back support (Element 68); a seat support (Element 12) including one or more wheels (Element 20) for rolling along a horizontal support surface; and a slider mechanism (Element 66) having a locked configuration and an unlocked configuration (Figure 4), wherein the slider mechanism in the locked configuration holds the back support relative to the seat support, and wherein the slider mechanism in the unlocked configuration allows the back support move linearly. Matthews does not directly disclose the slider mechanism to facilitate the movement of the seatback across most of a distance between a back end of the seat support and the axis of rotation; wherein the slider mechanism is configured to translate the back support forwardly across an upper surface of the seat support and a distance greater than 5 inches. Dimensional modification is common and well known in the art. A seatback adjustment arm and seat surface having a different dimension could yield the movement of the seatback across most of a distance between a back end of the seat support and the axis of rotation. Such a modification would provide a means to adjust the seat surface and seat back positions for a seated user.
Regarding claim 26, Matthews discloses the chair further comprising a vertical support coupled to the back support and including a C-shaped section with a curvature that matches a curvature of a most rearward padded region of the seat support as viewed from a side of the chair (Element 14 with curve Element 66).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHIN H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636