DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 18 September 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-14 remain pending in the application. Claims 2 and 5 remain canceled from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arndt (U.S. Patent 5,766,441).
Regarding claim 1, Arndt discloses a flow restrictor (FIG. 7) for a mass flow controller, comprising the following flow guiding elements: an inlet plate 35 with at least one inlet bore 36, a throttle plate 40 with at least one throttle bore 42, and an outlet plate 37 with at least one outlet bore 38, wherein the flow guiding elements are arranged at a distance from one another and arranged in a way such that opposite axial end faces of the throttle plate are in a spaced arrangement from the respective inlet plate (via top 40’) and the outlet plate (via bottom 40’) forming a space 45 therebetween such that the flow restrictor is configured to cause turbulent fluid flow (see bottom right of the bottom 45),
wherein the at least one inlet bore, the at least one throttle bore, and the at least one outlet bore are each arranged offset from one another in a spatial direction transverse to a center axis of the flow restrictor, and wherein the at least one inlet bore (left 36 in FIG. 2), the at least one throttle bore (top 42 in FIG. 2), and the at least one outlet bore (right 38 in FIG. 2) are arranged offset with respect to one another without an overlap in a projection plane aligned transversely to the center axis (FIG. 2-5, 7; Col. 5 ln 15-55).
Regarding claim 3, Arndt discloses the inlet plate has a plurality of inlet bores 36 which are radially spaced from the central axis and wherein the outlet plate has a plurality of outlet bores 38 which are radially spaced from the central axis (FIG. 2-5; Col. 5 ln 15-55).
Regarding claim 4, Arndt discloses the cross-section of the throttle bore is equal to or greater than a total cross-section of the outlet bores (FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Arndt discloses all inlet bores are formed on the inlet plate with the same bore diameter at the same angular pitch and with the same radial distance from the center axis and/or wherein all outlet bores are formed on the outlet plate with the same bore diameter at the same angular pitch and with the same radial distance from the center axis (FIG. 2-3, 7; Col. 5 ln 15-55).
Regarding claim 7, Arndt discloses an axial extent of the throttle bore along the center axis corresponds to 2 times to 10 times of an axial extent of the inlet bore and 2 times to 10 times of an axial extent of the outlet bore (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Arndt discloses the inlet plate and the throttle plate and the outlet plate are arranged in a throttle sleeve 17 extending along the central axis (FIG. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 9, Arndt discloses a flow restrictor (FIG. 7) for a mass flow controller, comprising at least two flow guiding elements from the group of:
an inlet plate 35 with at least one inlet bore 36,
a throttle plate 40 with at least one throttle bore 42, and
an outlet plate 37 with at least one outlet bore 38,
wherein the flow guiding elements are arranged at a distance from one another and arranged in a way such that opposite axial end faces of the throttle plate are in a spaced arrangement from the respective inlet plate (via top 40’) and the outlet plate (via bottom 40’) forming a space 45 therebetween such that the flow restrictor is configured to cause turbulent fluid flow (see bottom right of the bottom 45),
wherein the at least one inlet bore and/or the at least one throttle bore and/or the at least one outlet bore are each arranged offset from one another in a spatial direction transverse to a center axis of the flow restrictor, and
wherein the throttle plate is designed as a circular disc (FIG. 2) through which the throttle bore passes, starting from a front circular surface (top FIG. 7 orientation) to a rear circular surface (bottom FIG. 7 orientation), and
wherein, starting from the front circular surface, a front annular collar (See FIG. 7, top surface of the outer portion of 40’) extends in the axial direction, which is designed for a planar contact with the inlet plate, and/or starting from the rear circular surface, a rear annular collar (See FIG. 7, bottom surface of the outer portion of 40’) extends in the axial direction, which is designed for a planar contact with the outlet plate (the middle layer 40’ is designed as a circular body, therefore, the entirety of which is shaped as a collar, “something resembling a collar in shape” (Merriam-Webster)) (FIG. 2-5; Col. 5 ln 15-55).
Regarding claim 10, Arndt discloses the inlet plate has a plurality of inlet bores 36 which are radially spaced from the central axis and/or wherein the throttle bore of the throttle plate is aligned coaxially with the central axis and/or wherein the outlet plate has a plurality of outlet bores 38 which are radially spaced from the central axis (FIG. 2-5, 7).
Regarding claim 11, Arndt discloses a total cross-section of the inlet bores is equal to or greater than a cross-section of the throttle bore and/or wherein the cross-section of the throttle bore is equal to or greater than a total cross-section of the outlet bores (FIG. 3-5, 7).
Regarding claim 12, Arndt discloses all inlet bores are formed on the inlet plate with the same bore diameter at the same angular pitch and with the same radial distance from the center axis (FIG. 2-3, 7) and/or wherein all outlet bores are formed on the outlet plate with the same bore diameter at the same angular pitch and with the same radial distance from the center axis (FIG. 2-3, 7).
Regarding claim 13, Arndt discloses an axial extent of the throttle bore along the center axis corresponds to 2 times to 10 times of an axial extent of the inlet bore and/or 2 times to 10 times of an axial extent of the outlet bore (FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 14, Arndt discloses the inlet plate and/or the throttle plate and/or the outlet plate are arranged in a throttle sleeve 17 extending along the central axis (FIG. 1, 3, 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6 of applicant’s response, filed 18 September 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arndt (U.S. Patent 5,766,441) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by an alternate embodiment of Arndt (U.S. Patent 5,766,441).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER D BALLMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/MICHAEL R REID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753