DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10 September 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arndt (U.S. Patent 5,766,441).
Regarding claim 1, Arndt discloses a flow restrictor (FIG. 3) for a mass flow controller, having at least two flow guiding elements from the group: inlet plate 23 with at least one inlet bore 36, throttle plate 40 with at least one throttle bore 42, outlet plate 37 with at least one outlet bore 38, wherein the flow guiding elements are arranged at a distance from one another and wherein the at least one inlet bore and the at least one outlet bore are each arranged offset from one another in a spatial direction transverse to a center axis of the flow restrictor (FIG. 2-5; Col. 5 ln 15-55).
Regarding claim 2, Arndt discloses the at least one inlet bore and the at least one outlet bore are arranged offset with respect to one another without an overlap in a projection plane aligned transversely to the center axis (FIG. 3-5).
Regarding claim 3, Arndt discloses the inlet plate has a plurality of inlet bores 36 which are radially spaced from the central axis and wherein the outlet plate has a plurality of outlet bores 38 which are radially spaced from the central axis (FIG. 2-5; Col. 5 ln 15-55).
Regarding claim 4, Arndt discloses the cross-section of the throttle bore is equal to or greater than a total cross-section of the outlet bores (FIG. 2-3).
Regarding claim 5, Arndt discloses the throttle plate is designed as a circular disc through which the throttle bore passes, starting from a front circular surface (top in FIG. 3 orientation) to a rear circular surface (bottom in FIG. 3 orientation), and wherein, starting from the front circular surface, a front annular collar (See FIG. 3, top surface of the outer portion of 40) extends in the axial direction, which is designed for a planar contact with the inlet plate, and/or starting from the rear circular surface, a rear annular collar (See FIG. 3, bottom surface of the outer portion of 40) extends in the axial direction, which is designed for a planar contact with the outlet plate (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Arndt discloses all inlet bores are formed on the inlet plate with the same bore diameter at the same angular pitch and with the same radial distance from the center axis and/or wherein all outlet bores are formed on the outlet plate with the same bore diameter at the same angular pitch and with the same radial distance from the center axis (FIG. 2-3; Col. 5 ln 15-55).
Regarding claim 7, Arndt discloses an axial extent of the throttle bore along the center axis corresponds to 2 times to 10 times of an axial extent of the inlet bore and 2 times to 10 times of an axial extent of the outlet bore (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Arndt discloses the inlet plate and the throttle plate and the outlet plate are arranged in a throttle sleeve 17 extending along the central axis (FIG. 1, 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dutertre (U.S. Patent 6,145,544) discloses a flow restrictor similar to the one disclosed in the present application.
/CHRISTOPHER D BALLMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753