DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609, the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated September 10th, 2024 and January 29th, 2026 are acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7, and 9 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of the claim(s) in United States Patent No. US 12,092,836 B2 in view of Lin et al. (US 2011/0058257 A1). At the time applicant made the design, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a light source for the optical element as taught by Lin, for the purpose of having more utility in the device (Note having a light source in the system having a high brightness and light utilization efficiency allows for more applications of the device (See, e.g., paragraph [0004] of Lin)).
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, as modified above claim 1 or 5 of US 12,092,836 B2, in view of Lin, includes all of the limitations of this claim.
Regarding claim 2 of the instant application, as modified above the combination of claims 1 and 2 of US 12,092,836 B2, in view of Lin, include all of the limitations of this claim.
Regarding claims 3, 4, 5, and 7 of the instant application, as modified above claim 1 of US 12,092,836 B2, in view of Lin, includes all of the limitations of these claims.
Regarding claim 9 of the instant application, as modified above claim 5 of US 12,092,836 B2, in view of Lin, include all of the limitations of this claim.
Claims 1, 8, 11-15, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting of the claims in United States Patent No. US 12,092,836 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because these claims include all of the limitation of various claims and combinations of claims from the cited US Patent above. See the rejections below.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, this claim includes all of the limitations of claim 7, 13, or 18 of US 12,092,836 B2.
Regarding claim 8 of the instant application, this claim includes all of the limitations of the combination of claims 7 and 11 of US 12,092,836 B2.
Regarding claim 11 of the instant application, this claim includes all of the limitations of claim 7 or claim 13 of US 12,092,836 B2.
Regarding claim 12 of the instant application, this claim includes all of the limitations of the combination of claims 13 and 14 of US 12,092,836 B2.
Regarding claim 13 of the instant application, this claim includes all of the limitations of the combination of claims 13 and 15 of US 12,092,836 B2.
Regarding claim 14 of the instant application, this claim includes all of the limitations of the combination of claims 13 and 16 of US 12,092,836 B2.
Regarding claim 15 of the instant application, this claim includes all of the limitations of the combination of claims 13 and 17 of US 12,092,836 B2.
Regarding claim 17 of the instant application, this claim includes all of the limitations of the combination of claims 7 and 9 of US 12,092,836 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “a pincushion shape” is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. Specifically, this claim depends on claim 5 which requires the microstructures to have a polygon shape, which only includes straight lines by definition. Thus the pincushion shape would not be a polygon. Accordingly, for the purpose of examining the claims currently pending, this limitation will be interpreted to mean “a shape”.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “a rectangle shape with four outer boundaries, wherein each of the four outer boundaries inwardly curves toward a center of the microstructure so that the microstructure has a pincushion shape” is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. Specifically, this claim requires both a rectangle shape and a pincushion shape, which is unclear as these are different geometric configurations where one has straight lines and one has curved lines. Accordingly, for the purpose of examining the claims currently pending this limitation will be interpreted to mean “a shape”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2007/0223249 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches an optical system comprising:
a light source (See, e.g., light sources 14 in Fig. 1); and
an optical element including a body of optical material (See, e.g., light guide 12 in Fig. 1); and a plurality of microstructures along a surface of the body, wherein each microstructure of the plurality of microstructures has a sag profile (See, e.g., features 26 in Fig. 1 and note that a sag profile is an inherent property of a surface of an optical element and no specific value/range is claimed here).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the device set forth above and further teaches wherein the plurality of microstructures is randomly distributed along the surface (See, e.g., Fig. 15 which shows an embodiment where the features 26 are randomly distributed).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-12, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as
being anticipated by Teng et al. (US 2010/0033989 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Teng teaches an optical system comprising:
a light source (See, e.g., light source 24 in Fig. 2); and
an optical element including a body of optical material (See, e.g., light guide plate 22 in Fig. 3) and a plurality of microstructures along a surface of the body, wherein each microstructure of the plurality of microstructures has a sag profile (See, e.g., microstructure assemblies 224 in Fig. 3 and note this limitation is met as a body of optical material necessarily has a sag profile and a range/value has not been claimed).
Regarding claim 2, Teng teaches the device set forth above and further teaches wherein the sag profile is s(x) = x2/(R+√(R2-(k+1)*x2)), and R is a radius of curvature and k is a conic constant (See, e.g., Fig. 3 and note that this limitation is met insofar as there are no actual values in this equation and thus one could describe the inherent sag profile of the optical element this way).
Regarding claim 4, Teng teaches the device set forth above and further teaches wherein each microstructure has a geometric shape (See, e.g., Fig. 3 which shows the microstructures to be rectangular in cross section, meeting this limitation).
Regarding claim 5, Teng teaches the device set forth above and further teaches wherein the geometric shape is a polygon (Note that a rectangle is a polygon so this limitation is met).
Regarding claim 6, Teng teaches the device set forth above and further teaches wherein each of microstructure of the plurality of microstructures has a pincushion shape (See, e.g., Fig. 3, and note this limitation is met in light of the 112 rejection above because they have a shape).
Regarding claim 7, Teng teaches the device set forth above and further teaches wherein each microstructure is a rectangle shape with four outer boundaries, wherein each of the four outer boundaries inwardly curves toward a center of the microstructure so that the microstructure has a pincushion shape (See, e.g., Fig. 3 which shows the cross sectional shape of the microstructures 224 to be a rectangle and note this limitation is met in light of the 112 rejection above because they have a shape).
Regarding claim 8, Teng teaches the device set forth above and further teaches wherein the plurality of microstructures is periodically distributed (See, e.g., Fig. 3 which shows this).
Regarding claim 9, Teng teaches the device set forth above and further teaches wherein the body has two surfaces which are oriented opposite one another (See, e.g., Fig. 3 which shows this).
Regarding claim 10, Teng teaches the device set forth above and further teaches wherein each of the two surfaces includes a plurality of microstructures (See, e.g., Fig. 3 which shows this).
Regarding claim 11, Teng teaches the device set forth above and further teaches wherein each microstructure of the plurality of microstructures generates a super-cosine intensity profile that provides an irradiance over a field of view (See, e.g., Fig. 4 which shows the lenses focusing light down onto microstructures 224 and then providing irradiance back up through to illuminate a scene or screen, and note that there is necessarily an intensity profile associated with this illumination and it provides irradiation to the scene or screen).
Regarding claim 12, Teng teaches the system set forth above and further teaches wherein the super-cosine intensity profile is expressed by: I(θ) = {(1/(cospθ)’0, |θ| ≤ θ0 |θ| > θ0 where p is a real number representing power (See, e.g., Fig. 3 and note that the microstructures provide irradiance having an intensity profile as shown via light rays in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Teng teaches the system set forth above and further teaches wherein the light source is a diverging light source (See, e.g., paragraph [0030] which explains this).
Regarding claim 17, Teng teaches the system set forth above and further teaches wherein the diverging light source is chosen from a vertical cavity surface emitting laser, a side-emitting laser, and a light emitting diode (See, e.g., paragraph [0030] which explains this).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teng et al. (US 2010/0033989 A1) in view of Mathew et al. (US 2013/0329460 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Teng teaches the system set forth above but lacks an explicit disclosure of a lens and a sensor.
However, in an analogous optical field of endeavor Mathew teaches the use of a backlight module similar to the backlight module of Teng in an electronic display having a sensor and a lens (See, e.g., Fig. 12 which shows the backlight unit 126, and Fig. 22 which shows a sensor 244 and lens 242).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Teng to be utilized in an electronic display as taught by Mathew for the purpose of providing the device with more functionality (Note that giving the backlight module something to illuminate necessarily results in more functionality than a backlight module without something to illuminate).
Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teng et al. (US 2010/0033989 A1) in view of Grossinger et al. (US 2015/0042680 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Teng teaches an optical system comprising:
a diverging light source (See, e.g., paragraph [0030] which explains this); and
an optical element including a body of optical material (See, e.g., light guide 12 in Fig. 1); and a plurality of microstructures along a surface of the body, wherein each microstructure of the plurality of microstructures has a sag profile (See, e.g., features 26 in Fig. 1 and note that a sag profile is an inherent property of a surface of an optical element and no specific value/range is claimed here).
Teng lacks an explicit disclosure wherein the optical system is a 3D sensing system.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor Grossinger teaches the use of an optical element such as Teng’s in a 3D sensing system (See, e.g., paragraph [0043] which explains this).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the device of Teng in a 3D sensing device, as taught by Grossinger, for the purpose of increasing the usefulness of the device (Note that on its own the device of Teng has a limited scope of use, which would be increased if included in a larger optical system).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach wherein the irradiance over the field of view is uniform when p = 3.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach wherein the value of p is a positive number to provide a higher level of illumination along an outer edge of the field of view relative to a center of the field of view.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach wherein the value of p is a negative number to provide a lower level of illumination along an outer edge of the field of view relative to a center of the field of view.
Conclusion
/MITCHELL T OESTREICH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872