DETAILED ACTION
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/30/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 4/30/26 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 1,2,3,4,7,8,9,10,11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP1104822 (cited on IDS filed 9/10/24). EP1104822 teaches the claimed process as evidenced at paras. 0048-0064; and figs 3-4.
1. (Original) A method of forming a moulded receptacle, the method comprising:
applying a fibre suspension onto a mould cavity wall of a receptacle mould, the fibre suspension at least partially coating the mould cavity wall (EP1104822: para. 0058; figs 3-4); and
supplying a fluid into direct contact with the fibre suspension on the mould cavity wall at a pressure of between about 3.5 bar and about 10 bar for a period of less than about 60 seconds, such that liquid is removed from the fibre suspension through apertures formed in the mould cavity wall to form the moulded receptacle on the mould cavity wall (EP1104822: para. 0060; figs 3-4; superheated steam or air constitutes the claimed fluid).
2. (Original)I The method of claim 1, wherein the fluid is air or super-heated steam (EP1104822: para. 0058; figs 3-4).
3. (Original)I The method of claim 1, wherein the pressure is a final pressure, and wherein the supplying the fluid comprises:
supplying the fluid at an initial pressure (EP1104822: para. 0058; figs 3-4; the pressure is built up to a final pressure); and
increasing the pressure from the initial pressure to the final pressure over a particular time period (EP1104822: para. 0058; figs 3-4; the pressure is built up to a final pressure).
4. (Original)I The method of claim 1, wherein the supplying the fluid comprises supplying the fluid at a temperature of between about 10°C and about 180°C (EP1104822: para. 0009; figs 3-4).
7. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the period is less than 35 seconds (EP1104822: para. 0060; figs 3-4).
8. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of:
measuring a weight or volume of the liquid removed from the fibre suspension, and when the weight or volume of the liquid has reached a predetermined amount, stopping the supply of fluid;
stopping the supply of fluid after a predetermined period of time (EP1104822: para. 0062; figs 3-4; the steam or air is stopped after a specific time);
measuring a volume of fluid supplied into the mould, and when the measured volume of fluid has reached a predetermined amount, stopping the supply of fluid;
measuring a temperature of the fluid, and when the measured temperature of the fluid has reached a predetermined temperature, stopping the supply of fluid; and
measuring a pressure reduction of the fluid and when the pressure reduction has reached a predetermined amount, stopping the supply of fluid.
9. (Original) The method of claim 8, wherein:
the fibre suspension has a first percentage liquid content by weight, LI, when at least partially coating the mould cavity wall (EP1104822: para. 0060; figs 3-4;wet preform has an initial water content);
the moulded receptacle has a second percentage liquid content by weight, L2 (EP1104822: para. 0060; figs 3-4; dewatered preform has a final water content); and
a percentage liquid content reduction, R, is greater than about 5%, where R=(L1-L2)/L1 (EP1104822: para. 0060; figs 3-4; final water content compared to initial water content).
10. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising applying a vacuum to the receptacle mould while applying the fibre suspension onto the mould cavity wall and while supplying the fluid (EP1104822: paras. 0048-0060; figs 3-4).
11. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising applying a vacuum to the receptacle mould while applying the fibre suspension onto the mould cavity wall; and
ceasing to apply the vacuum before the supplying the fluid (EP1104822: para. 0057; figs 3-4; valve 35a is closed before the start of the dewatering).
14. (Original)I The method of claim 1, wherein the pressure is a particular pressure, and the method comprises determining the particular pressure on the basis of the receptacle type being moulded and/or one or more other criteria, and the supplying the fluid comprises supplying the fluid at the particular pressure (EP1104822: para. 0060; figs 3-4; the amount of pressure depends on the type of fluid and permeability of the wet preform).
Claim(s) 16,17,18, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP1104822 (cited on IDS filed 9/10/24). EP1104822 teaches the claimed process as evidenced at paras. 0048-0064; and figs 3-4.
16. (Original) A system for forming a moulded receptacle, comprising:
a receptacle mould having a mould cavity wall, the mould cavity wall being configured to receive a coating of a fibre suspension thereon and having apertures formed therein (EP1104822: para. 0048-0064; figs 3-4);
a fibre suspension application system configured to apply the fibre suspension onto the mould cavity wall to at least partially coat the mould cavity wall (EP1104822: para. 0065; figs 3-4); and
a fluid supply system configured to supply a fluid into direct contact with the fibre suspension on the mould cavity wall at a pressure of between about 3.5 bar and about 10 bar for a period of less than about 60 seconds, such that liquid is removed from the fibre suspension through the apertures to form the moulded receptacle on the mould cavity wall (EP1104822: para. 0066 and 0068; figs 3-4).
17. (Original) The system of claim 16, further comprising at least one of:
a liquid measurement system configured to measure a weight or volume of the liquid removed from the fibre suspension, wherein the fluid supply system is configured to stop the supply of the fluid when the liquid measurement system determines that the weight or volume of the liquid has reached a predetermined amount; a timing system configured to measure a time during which the fluid supply system supplies the fluid, wherein the fluid supply system is configured to stop the supply of the fluid when the timing system determines that time has reached a predetermined period of time;
a fluid measurement system configured to measure a volume of fluid supplied by the fluid supply system, wherein the fluid supply system is configured to stop the supply of the fluid when the fluid measurement system determines that the volume of fluid has reached a predetermined amount;
a temperature measurement system configured to measure a temperature of the fluid, wherein the fluid supply system is configured to stop the supply of the fluid when the temperature measurement system determines that the temperature of the fluid has reached a predetermined temperature; and
a pressure measurement system configured to measure a pressure reduction of the fluid, wherein the fluid supply system is configured to stop the supply of the fluid when the pressure measurement system determines that the pressure reduction of the fluid has reached a predetermined amount (EP1104822: para. 0061; figs 3-4; the pressure is measured until a specific pressure is achieved).
18. (Original) The system of claim 16, further comprising:
a vacuum application system configured to:
apply a vacuum to the receptacle mould while the fibre suspension application system applies the fibre suspension onto the mould cavity wall (EP1104822: para. 0057; figs 3-4); and
stop applying the vacuum before the fluid supply system supplies the fluid (EP1104822: para. 0057; figs 3-4); and
at least one of:
a liquid measurement system configured to measure a weight or volume of the liquid removed from the receptacle mould while the vacuum is applied, wherein the vacuum application system is configured to stop applying the vacuum when the liquid measurement system determines that the weight or volume of the liquid has reached a predetermined amount (EP1104822: para. 0060; figs 3-4; the water content by weight is measured at the beginning for the wet preform and at the end of the dewatering step); and
a timing system configured to measure a time during which the vacuum application system applies the vacuum, wherein the vacuum application system is configured to stop the application of the vacuum when the timing system determines that time has reached a predetermined period of time.
19. (Original) The system of claim 16, wherein the fluid supply system is configured to: determine a particular pressure on the basis of the receptacle type being moulded and/or one or more other criteria; and supply the fluid at the particular pressure (EP1104822: para. 0060; figs 3-4; the amount of pressure depends on the type of fluid and permeability of the wet preform).
20. (Original) The system of claim 16, wherein the receptacle mould comprises a mould cavity, of which the mould cavity wall is a wall, and an opening through which the fluid can escape from the cavity while the fluid supply system supplies the fluid (EP1104822: para. 0055; figs 3-4; drain line 35 is connect to the mold cavity via throughhole 15 is open during the dewatering step).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP1104822 (cited on IDS filed 9/10/24) as applied to claim 1 above. The above teachings of EP1104822 are incorporated hereinafter.
Regarding claim 5, EP1104822 teaches a gradual increase of pressure (para. 0058), but does not teach a pulsed pressure. Since it is well-known in the pulp molding art to pulse the pressure during dewatering in order to push more water out, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to pulse the pressure of the fluid of EP1104822 in order to reduce cycle time by dewatering more quickly.
Regarding claim 6, EP1104822 teach supplying a dewatering fluid (para. 0060), but does not explicitly teach the flow rate of the fluid. Dewatering fluid flow rate is well-known in the pulp molding art as an important molding parameter and the desired flow rate would have been obviously and readily determined through routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Since the claimed flow rate is generally well-known in the pulp molding art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to flow the dewatering fluid of EP1104822 at the claimed rate in order to optimize the dewater relative to cycle time.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach molding receptacles from pulp: USPN 2025053, USP 2003/0150583, EP3708709, USP2022/0170211, and USPN1549903.
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744