DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “a control device (line 1)…one or more control devices (lines 6-7) …a control device (9)…said control device (10)…the control device (11)…at least two different control devices (14-15)…the first control device (17)…the at least two control devices (17-18)…the second control device of the at least two control devices (19).” The claim is wildly inconsistent when referring to control devices and thus it is unclear how many control devices there are. Further, the antecedence basis between the various recitations above is unclear given the inconsistent language.
Claim 14 recites similar limitations to that of claim 1 and is similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Illner et al (EP 2 407 841; cited on IDS; translation attached and acquired via < https://worldwide.espacenet.com/patent/search/family/043735066/publication/EP2407841A2?q=pn%3DEP2407841A2>; citation are taken from the translation).
As to claim 1, Illner discloses a data interface device for updating control programs of a control device of a numerically controlled machine tool ([0001]), comprising:
a first interface module configured for data transmission with a control program database ([0003], particularly, “A software package, which contains an executable program and data in each case for commissioning or updating one or more machines, is provided on a server of a manufacturer of the machine and is correspondingly stored there and retrievable. The software package is transmitted from the server of the machine manufacturer to at least one server of the operator of the machine. For the transmission from the producer server to the operator server, the Internet is preferably considered.”); and
a second interface module configured for data transmission with one or more control devices ([0003], particularly, “The operator's server on which the software package is initially received is communicatively connected to the or each machine to be updated, e.g. by a local area network of the machine operator.”);
wherein the data interface device is configured to receive an update data record from the control program database via the first interface module and to transmit a configuration data record to a control device via the second interface module ([0024], particularly, “A transmitted software package 12 is received on one or more servers 22, 24 of the machine operator and stored there or at least temporarily stored. These are then one or more local copies on the machine operator side of the software package 12 provided by the machine manufacturer.”), said configuration data record causing said control device to update a control program stored in a memory unit of the control device on the basis of the transmitted configuration data record ([0026]-[0027], particularly “The execution of the program 14 can be carried out by the respective server 22, 24 or the machine 10 itself to be put into operation or updated, e.g. on a control device of the respective machine 10. The program 14 in each case controls the startup or update of the respective machine 10 and causes the data relevant to the respective machine 10 to be transmitted to the latter.”);
characterized in that
the data interface device is configured for updating control programs of at least two different control devices and for this purpose comprises a processing module which is configured to generate, on the basis of a received update data record, at least a first configuration data record which can be read by the first control device of the at least two control devices and a second configuration data record which can be read by the second control device of the at least two control devices ([0026]-[0027], particularly, “During the execution of the program 14, data 16 of the software package 12 are transmitted simultaneously, quasi-simultaneously or successively to each machine 10 to be put into operation or updated…Depending on the situation, the program 14 also takes over the determination of the data 16 required by the machine 10 for the initiation or update, in each case.”)
As to claims 14 and 15, they are rejected by a similar rationale to that set forth in claim 1’s rejection.
As to claim 2, Illner discloses the second interface module is configured to receive inventory data records from the first and/or the second control device which contain information relating to the control program installed on the respective control device, and to store said inventory data records in particular in a memory module of the data interface device ([0015]).
As to claim 3, Illner discloses the processing module is configured to generate the first and/or second configuration data record additionally on the basis of the received inventory data records of the associated control device ([0015]).
As to claim 4, Illner discloses the first interface module is configured to select the update data record to be received from the control program database on the basis of the received inventory data records ([0015]).
As to claim 5, Illner discloses the control program database is provided on a separate server and the first interface module is configured to communicate therewith via an inter- or intranet connection ([0013]-[0015]).
As to claim 6, Illner discloses the data interface device is partially or entirely cloud-based ([0022]-[0023]).
As to claim 8, Illner discloses the first control device is part of a first numerically controlled machine tool and the second control device is part of a second numerically controlled machine tool ([0021]-[0023]).
As to claim 9, Illner discloses the configuration data records generated by the processing module contain installation instructions which can be executed by the respective control device ([0011]).
As to claim 11, Illner discloses that the data interface device furthermore comprises an input module for detecting user inputs, via which input module in particular an updating process for a control program of a control device can be initiated ([0025]-[0026]).
As to claim 12, Illner discloses the data interface device is part of an update system for use with machine tools, the update system comprising: at least one control program database which is coupled via the first interface module of the data interface device to the latter for data transmission ([0026]-[0027]).
As to claim 13, Illner discloses the update system is part of a production system, comprising: at least one first and one second control devices which are coupled via the second interface module of the data interface device of the update system to the latter for data transmission ([0026]-[0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Illner in view of Hirayama et al (US Pub. No. 2019/0079495), hereafter, “Hirayama.”
As to claim 7, Illner discloses the parent claim but does not disclose the at least two control devices are parts of the same numerically controlled machine tool and are configured to control different components of the machine tool. However, Hirayama discloses at least two control devices are parts of the same numerically controlled machine tool and are configured to control different components of the machine tool ([0023]-[0024], particularly, “In the numerical control system 1000, the numerical controller 100 manages various types of programs (hereinafter also referred to as a “control program”) including control software for operating the motor drive devices 200-1 to 200-n. In a state where control programs of different versions (version numbers) are respectively installed to the motor drive devices 200-1 to 200-n within the numerical control system 1000, when it is desired, for example, to unify the control programs of the motor drive devices 200-1 to 200-n to the latest version, the numerical control system 1000 makes the numerical controller 100 update to the latest version the control program of the motor drive device 200, which has a control program that is not of the latest version installed therein, from among the motor drive devices 200-1 to 200-n.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings Illner and Hirayama in order to extend the system to a broader range of system and device types.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Illner in view of Blais et al (US Pub. No. 2015/0088299), hereafter, “Blais.”
As to claim 10, Illner discloses the parent claim but does not disclose that the configuration data records generated additionally contain an electronic signature. However, Blais discloses configuration data records generated additionally contain an electronic signature (Abstract). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings Illner and Blais in order to maintain the overall integrity of the system using a known and reliable method.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J DAILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458