Detailed Action
The instant application having Application No. 18/830,360 has a total of 8 claims pending in the application; there are 2 independent claims and 6 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner. This Office action is in response to the claims filed 9/10/24 Claims 1-8 are pending.
NOTICE OF PRE-AIA OR AIA STATUS
INFORMATION CONCERNING DRAWINGS
Drawings
The applicant's drawings submitted 9/10/24 are acceptable for examination purposes.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,963,485), herein referred to as Matsushita et al. in view of Vankamamidi et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 2020/0249858), herein referred to as Vankamamidi et al.
Referring to claim 1, Matsushita et al. disclose as claimed, a storage system comprising a storage controller which provides a plurality of logical volumes to a host apparatus and which is capable of creating a snapshot as a secondary logical volume that is a duplication of a primary logical volume (see fig. 2, showing a storage controller in a storage system. See col. 2, lines 24-30), the storage controller managing respective pieces of information of: pair management information that manages correspondence between a pair of identification information of the primary logical volume and identification information of the secondary logical volume (see fig. 11, showing a snapshot generation management table that includes management information and identification information between a primary and secondary logical volume. Also see ), the pair indicating a pair relationship of the snapshot between the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume (see fig. 11, showing a pair relationship between a secondary logical volume or snapshot and primary volume), and first reference destination meta information indicating a reference destination of data stored in the secondary logical volume (see fig. 4 and 5, showing a directory and mapping table indicating a reference destination address for mapping areas corresponding to a PVOL/snapshot internal address and mapping area address); and primary logical volume management information that manages correspondence between the identification information of the primary logical volume and second reference destination meta information indicating a reference destination of data stored in the primary logical volume (see col. 7, lines 35-58, where the directory table 103-104 includes a PVOL/snapshot internal address and a reference destination address. The PVOL/snapshot internal address is a storage logical address for the PVOL in table 103 and a snapshot logical address in directory table 104); and accessing the data stored in the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume based on the acquired first reference destination meta information and second reference destination meta information (see col. 12, lines 10-32, where in response to a request for access, the read program refers to the directory table 103, 104 and acquires the reference destination as well as identification information ).
Matsushita et al. disclose the claimed invention except for allocating the same family identification information that uniquely identifies a family to the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume so that the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume belong to the same family among families indicating groups of the logical volumes; allocating intra-family identification information that uniquely identifies the logical volumes within the same family to the first reference destination meta information and the second reference destination meta information; generating meta information management information that manages correspondence among the family identification information, the intra-family identification information, the first reference destination meta information and the second reference destination meta information; generating conversion information that manages correspondence among each of the identification information of the primary logical volume and the identification information of the secondary logical volume, the family identification information to which the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume belong, and the intra-family identification information of the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume; acquiring the corresponding family identification information and the corresponding intra-family identification information from the identification information of the primary logical volume and the identification information of the secondary logical volume with reference to the conversion information in response to a request for access to the data stored in the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume from the host apparatus; acquiring the first reference destination meta information and the second reference destination meta information respectively corresponding to the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume with reference to the meta information management information based on the acquired family identification information and intra-family identification information;
However, Vankamamidi et al. disclose allocating the same family identification information that uniquely identifies a family to the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume so that the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume belong to the same family among families indicating groups of the logical volumes (see para. 34-35 and fig. 2, showing snapshots and primary volumes in the same family ID); allocating intra-family identification information that uniquely identifies the logical volumes within the same family to the first reference destination meta information and the second reference destination meta information (see para. 34-35 and fig. 2, where among the same family, intra family identification information such as identifying a branch is also generated); generating meta information management information that manages correspondence among the family identification information, the intra-family identification information, the first reference destination meta information and the second reference destination meta information (see fig. 3, showing family id, branch id and volume id being kept track of in a namespace inode. When combined with Matsushita, which correlates volumes with reference destination meta information, this would allow for managing correspondence between the family ids, volume ids, and reference information); generating conversion information that manages correspondence among each of the identification information of the primary logical volume and the identification information of the secondary logical volume, the family identification information to which the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume belong, and the intra-family identification information of the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume (see fig. 3, showing a namespace inode managing correspondence among identification information of different volume IDs, family IDs, and branch IDs, which would constitute intra-family identification information. Fig. 2 shows that different snapshots may have different branches or intra-family IDs); acquiring the corresponding family identification information and the corresponding intra-family identification information from the identification information of the primary logical volume and the identification information of the secondary logical volume with reference to the conversion information in response to a request for access to the data stored in the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume from the host apparatus (see Matsushita et al., col. 12, lines 10-32, where in response to a request for access, the read program refers to the directory table 103, 104 and acquires the reference destination as well as identification information. As Vankamamidi et al., para. 34-35 teaches volume family identifiers and branch numbers attached to volume id numbers, this would result in acquiring the corresponding family identification information and intra-family identification information on a request for access); acquiring the first reference destination meta information and the second reference destination meta information respectively corresponding to the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume with reference to the meta information management information based on the acquired family identification information and intra-family identification information (see fig. 3, where branch ID and family ID are tied to volume ID. Therefore, when combined with Matsushita, the family identification information and branch ID can be used in acquiring information. See Matsushita et al., col. 12, lines 10-32, where in response to a request for access, the read program refers to the directory table 103, 104 and acquires the reference destination as well as identification information);
Matsushita et al. and Vankamamidi et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of data storage systems (see Matsushita et al., abstract, and Vankamamidi et al., abstract, regarding storage systems).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsushita et al. to comprise allocating the same family identification information that uniquely identifies a family to the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume so that the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume belong to the same family among families indicating groups of the logical volumes; allocating intra-family identification information that uniquely identifies the logical volumes within the same family to the first reference destination meta information and the second reference destination meta information; generating meta information management information that manages correspondence among the family identification information, the intra-family identification information, the first reference destination meta information and the second reference destination meta information; generating conversion information that manages correspondence among each of the identification information of the primary logical volume and the identification information of the secondary logical volume, the family identification information to which the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume belong, and the intra-family identification information of the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume; acquiring the corresponding family identification information and the corresponding intra-family identification information from the identification information of the primary logical volume and the identification information of the secondary logical volume with reference to the conversion information in response to a request for access to the data stored in the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume from the host apparatus; acquiring the first reference destination meta information and the second reference destination meta information respectively corresponding to the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume with reference to the meta information management information based on the acquired family identification information and intra-family identification information, as taught by Vankamamidi et al., in order to easily identify families of snapshots at different time periods, which allow for migration of volume families and determining if a destination has enough storage space (see Vankamamidi et al., para. 31, para. 3-5)
Claim 8 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and would be rejected using the same rationale.
As to claim 2, Matsushita et al. and Vankamamidi et al. also disclose the storage system according to claim 1, wherein the storage controller restores the primary logical volume from the secondary logical volume once an instruction to restore the primary logical volume is accepted (see Matsushita et al., col. 13, lines 50-67 and col. 14, lines 1-14, regarding restoring a primary logical volume from a snapshot secondary logical volume).
As to claim 3, Matsushita et al. and Vankamamidi et al. also disclose the storage system according to claim 1, wherein the storage controller invalidates the identification information of the primary logical volume and the identification information of the secondary logical volume to invalidate the pair relationship of the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume in the pair management information (see Matsushita et al., col. 14, lines 43-67 and col. 15, lines 1-40, where a deletion program deletes records from the mapping area management table, the PVOL # and snapshot # to be deleted and deleting corresponding records in the directory management table).
As to claim 4, Matsushita et al. and Vankamamidi et al. also disclose the storage system according to claim 3, wherein the storage controller validates the pair relationship between arbitrary logical volumes by setting the identification information of the arbitrary logical volumes to the identification information of the primary logical volume and the identification information of the secondary logical volume in the pair management information (see Matsushita et al., fig. 11, where primary volume IDs are linked to snapshot numbers and PAIR status may be granted or validated).
As to claim 7, Matsushita et al. and Vankamamidi et al. also disclose the storage system according to claim 1, wherein the storage controller provides different pieces of the family identification information to the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume (see Vankamamidi et al., para. 36, where a namespace manager keeps track of family ID, branch ID and volume ID for each volume, and see fig. 1c, where the data storage node can act as a storage controller. See para. 45, where a write request as shown in fig. 5d provided to the volumes includes family ID and Branch ID ); generates the meta information management information and the conversion information by allocating the different pieces of the family identification information to the first reference destination meta information and the second reference destination meta information (see Vankamamidi et al., fig. 3, showing family id, branch id and volume id being kept track of in a namespace inode. When combined with Matsushita, which correlates volumes with reference destination meta information, this would allow for managing correspondence between the family ids, volume ids, and reference information); reallocates the same family identification information between the different pieces of the family identification information to the first reference destination meta information and the second reference destination meta information in a similar manner; and updates the meta information management information so as to manage correspondence among the same family identification information, the intra-family identification information that uniquely identifies the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume within the family corresponding to the same family identification information (see Matsushita et al., para. 80-86, where the directory tables and mapping areas are updated. When combined with Vankamamidi et al., this would include updating the family, branch and volume id numbers on a reallocation or change), the first reference destination meta information and the second reference destination meta information in the meta information management information in accordance with reallocation of the same family identification information (see Matsushita et al., para. 80-86, where the directory tables and mapping areas are updated. When combined with Vankamamidi et al., this would include updating the family, branch and volume id numbers on a reallocation or change. This would mean the reference destination meta information would be updated in accordance with family id information).
Claims 5-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita et al. in view of Vankamamidi et al. and in view of Nakagawa et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0149666), herein referred to as Nakagawa et al.
As to claim 5, Matsushita et al. and Vankamamidi et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the storage system according to claim 4, wherein the storage controller displays a pair of the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume for which the pair relationship is validated for each of the groups in a first area of an input/output screen; accepts selection of the secondary logical volume between the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume in the input/output screen; invalidates the pair relationship by setting invalid values to the identification information of the secondary logical volume for which selection is accepted, and the identification information of the primary logical volume for which the pair relationship with the secondary logical volume is validated, in the pair management information; and moves the pair of the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume for which the pair relationship is invalidated to a second area of the input/output screen and displays the pair.
However, Nakagawa et al. disclose wherein the storage controller displays a pair of the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume for which the pair relationship is validated for each of the groups in a first area of an input/output screen (see fig. 21, showing a volume list and selection list, where a selection list would be a selected pair relationship for a primary and secondary volume. Also see para. 219); accepts selection of the secondary logical volume between the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume in the input/output screen (see para. 219 and fig. 21, where the selection list may be applied using the apply button to accept a selection); invalidates the pair relationship by setting invalid values to the identification information of the secondary logical volume for which selection is accepted, and the identification information of the primary logical volume for which the pair relationship with the secondary logical volume is validated, in the pair management information (Nakagawa et al. is being combined with Matsushita et al., which does teach displaying pair status and invalid status, and therefore the combination would teach invaliding the pair relationship by setting invalid values to the ID of a selection. See Matsushita et al., fig. 11, showing a table with status of a volume as pair or suspend. A suspended state would indicate an invalid relationship of the pair); and moves the pair of the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume for which the pair relationship is invalidated to a second area of the input/output screen and displays the pair (see fig. 21, where the pair on the volume list is moved to a second area of the selection list. Also see fig. 22, showing a separate virtual volume list and para. 220, where the information displays a primary and secondary volume).
Matsushita et al. and Nakagawa et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of data storage systems (see Matsushita et al., abstract, and Nakagawa et al., abstract, regarding storage systems).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsushita et al. to comprise wherein the storage controller displays a pair of the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume for which the pair relationship is validated for each of the groups in a first area of an input/output screen; accepts selection of the secondary logical volume between the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume in the input/output screen; invalidates the pair relationship by setting invalid values to the identification information of the secondary logical volume for which selection is accepted, and the identification information of the primary logical volume for which the pair relationship with the secondary logical volume is validated, in the pair management information; and moves the pair of the primary logical volume and the secondary logical volume for which the pair relationship is invalidated to a second area of the input/output screen and displays the pair, as taught by Nakagawa et al., in order to allow a user to select pair relationships that may have advantages such as increased reliability with two volumes being physically separate or increased speed with two volumes being faster. This offers more customization which is advantageous for users.
As to claim 6, Matsushita et al., Vankamamidi et al. and Nakagawa et al. also disclose the storage system according to claim 5, wherein the storage controller accepts selection of arbitrary two logical volumes in the input/output screen (see Nakagawa et al., fig. 21, showing a volume list and selection list, where a selection list would be a selected pair relationship for a primary and secondary volume. Also see para. 219); invalidates the pair relationship between the arbitrary two logical volumes by setting identification information of the arbitrary two logical volumes to the identification information of the primary logical volume and the identification information of the secondary logical volume in the pair management information (Nakagawa et al. is being combined with Matsushita et al., which does teach displaying pair status and invalid status, and therefore the combination would teach invaliding the pair relationship by setting invalid values to the ID of a selection. See Matsushita et al., fig. 11, showing a table with status of a volume as pair or suspend. A suspended state would indicate an invalid relationship of the pair); and moves the logical volumes for which the pair relationship is validated to the first area and displays the pair (see Nakagawa et al., fig. 21, where the pair on the volume list is moved to a second area of the selection list. Also see fig. 22, showing a separate virtual volume list and para. 220, where the information displays a primary and secondary volume).
CLOSING COMMENTS
Conclusion
a. STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
a(1) CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 1-8 have received a first action on the merits and are the subject of a first action non-final.
b. DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
/A.O/Examiner, Art Unit 2132
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132