DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kittichokechai (US 2025/0344215 A1) in view of Yin (US 2022/0353024 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kittichokechai discloses the below limitation(s): one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (Kittichokechai Fig 22 wireless device comprising processor(s) 2204 and memory 2206) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a control message comprising scheduling information for a plurality of repetitions of an uplink message for transmission by the UE, the scheduling information indicating an intra-slot frequency hopping configuration for each repetition of the plurality of repetitions (Fig 5 block 500 BS 402 transmit sub-slot PUCCH repetition configuration (e.g. semi-static of dynamic) to UE 412 and/or Fig 16 block 1600 BS transmit frequency hopping configuration to UE 412 and associated [0140] frequency hopping configuration is applicable for sub-slot PUCCH repetitions); and
selectively transmit, during a slot comprising a first set of symbols associated with sub-band full duplex communications and a second set of symbols associated with uplink communications ([0141] if one or more symbols to be occupied by a PUCCH sub-slot repetition are deemed unavailable, then the PUCCH sub-slot repetition is not transmitted, which is interpreted as 'selectively transmit'),
one or more portions of a repetition of the plurality of repetitions (Fig 5 block 502 UE performs PUCCH transmission with sub-slot repetitions in accordance with sub-slot PUCCH repetition configuration) based at least in part on one or both of: an availability of the slot ([0033] sub-slot PUCCH repetitions use a same resource allocation in the time domain across two or more consecutive, available sub-slots; see also [0141] which teaches not transmitting when a symbol is unavailable); and
wherein the time resources are based at least in part on one or more frequency hops indicated by the intra-slot frequency hopping configuration ([0037] transmitting two or more sub-slot PUCCH repetitions using frequency hopping, wherein the frequency hopping is inter-sub-slot frequency hopping or intra-sub-slot frequency hopping, and wherein the slots/sub-slots are 'time resources').
Kittichokechai does not disclose the below limitation(s): an alignment of a boundary between the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols with time resources associated with the one or more portions of the repetition,
In the same field of endeavor of PUCCH repetition configuration, Yin does disclose the below limitation(s): an alignment of a boundary between the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols with time resources associated with the one or more portions of the repetition (Yin [0095] time domain PUCCH repetition may be configured to align the symbol boundaries between eMBB and URLLC symbols on the same carrier/band/BWP),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teaching of Kittichokechai to include a PUCCH repetition configuration to align symbol boundaries as taught by Yin. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to align symbol boundaries to prevent interference from overlapping boundaries and waste from gaps between symbols. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kittichokechai and Yin to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 11, Kittichokechai discloses the below limitation(s): receiving a control message comprising scheduling information for a plurality of repetitions of an uplink message for transmission by the UE, the scheduling information indicating an intra-slot frequency hopping configuration for each repetition of the plurality of repetitions (Kittichokechai Fig 5 block 500 BS 402 transmit sub-slot PUCCH repetition configuration (e.g. semi-static of dynamic) to UE 412 and/or Fig 16 block 1600 BS transmit frequency hopping configuration to UE 412 and associated [0140] frequency hopping configuration is applicable for sub-slot PUCCH repetitions); and
selectively transmitting, during a slot comprising a first set of symbols associated with sub-band full duplex communications and a second set of symbols associated with uplink communications ([0141] if one or more symbols to be occupied by a PUCCH sub-slot repetition are deemed unavailable, then the PUCCH sub-slot repetition is not transmitted, which is interpreted as 'selectively transmit'),
one or more portions of a repetition of the plurality of repetitions (Fig 5 block 502 UE performs PUCCH transmission with sub-slot repetitions in accordance with sub-slot PUCCH repetition configuration) based at least in part on one or both of: an availability of the slot ([0033] sub-slot PUCCH repetitions use a same resource allocation in the time domain across two or more consecutive, available sub-slots; see also [0141] which teaches not transmitting when a symbol is unavailable); and
wherein the time resources are based at least in part on one or more frequency hops indicated by the intra-slot frequency hopping configuration ([0037] transmitting two or more sub-slot PUCCH repetitions using frequency hopping, wherein the frequency hopping is inter-sub-slot frequency hopping or intra-sub-slot frequency hopping, and wherein the slots/sub-slots are 'time resources').
Kittichokechai does not disclose the below limitation(s): an alignment of a boundary between the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols with time resources associated with the one or more portions of the repetition,
In the same field of endeavor of PUCCH repetition configuration, Yin does disclose the below limitation(s): an alignment of a boundary between the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols with time resources associated with the one or more portions of the repetition (Yin [0095] time domain PUCCH repetition may be configured to align the symbol boundaries between eMBB and URLLC symbols on the same carrier/band/BWP),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teaching of Kittichokechai to include a PUCCH repetition configuration to align symbol boundaries as taught by Yin. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to align symbol boundaries to prevent interference from overlapping boundaries and waste from gaps between symbols. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kittichokechai and Yin to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 20, Kittichokechai discloses the below limitation(s):A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors (Kittichokechai Fig 22 wireless device comprising processor(s) 2204 and memory 2206) to:
receive a control message comprising scheduling information for a plurality of repetitions of an uplink message for transmission by a user equipment (UE), the scheduling information indicating an intra-slot frequency hopping configuration for each repetition of the plurality of repetitions (Fig 5 block 500 BS 402 transmit sub-slot PUCCH repetition configuration (e.g. semi-static of dynamic) to UE 412 and/or Fig 16 block 1600 BS transmit frequency hopping configuration to UE 412 and associated [0140] frequency hopping configuration is applicable for sub-slot PUCCH repetitions); and
selectively transmit, during a slot comprising a first set of symbols associated with sub-band full duplex communications and a second set of symbols associated with uplink communications ([0141] if one or more symbols to be occupied by a PUCCH sub-slot repetition are deemed unavailable, then the PUCCH sub-slot repetition is not transmitted, which is interpreted as 'selectively transmit'),
one or more portions of a repetition of the plurality of repetitions (Fig 5 block 502 UE performs PUCCH transmission with sub-slot repetitions in accordance with sub-slot PUCCH repetition configuration) based at least in part on one or both of: an availability of the slot ([0033] sub-slot PUCCH repetitions use a same resource allocation in the time domain across two or more consecutive, available sub-slots; see also [0141] which teaches not transmitting when a symbol is unavailable); and
wherein the time resources are based at least in part on one or more frequency hops indicated by the intra-slot frequency hopping configuration ([0037] transmitting two or more sub-slot PUCCH repetitions using frequency hopping, wherein the frequency hopping is inter-sub-slot frequency hopping or intra-sub-slot frequency hopping, and wherein the slots/sub-slots are 'time resources').
Kittichokechai does not disclose the below limitation(s): an alignment of a boundary between the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols with time resources associated with the one or more portions of the repetition,
In the same field of endeavor of PUCCH repetition configuration, Yin does disclose the below limitation(s): an alignment of a boundary between the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols with time resources associated with the one or more portions of the repetition (Yin [0095] time domain PUCCH repetition may be configured to align the symbol boundaries between eMBB and URLLC symbols on the same carrier/band/BWP),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teaching of Kittichokechai to include a PUCCH repetition configuration to align symbol boundaries as taught by Yin. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to align symbol boundaries to prevent interference from overlapping boundaries and waste from gaps between symbols. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kittichokechai and Yin to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-10 and 12-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a thorough and complete search has been conducted and no prior art has been found that solely, or in any reasonable combination, reads on each element of the indicated claim(s). In particular, the language of Claim 2, namely “wherein the slot is determined to be unavailable based at least in part on the slot being associated with both the sub-band full duplex communications and the uplink communications”, overcomes cited prior art by performing a step not contemplated by the prior art. The prior art does teach PUCCH repetition configuration that determines there a slot is unavailable and refrains from transmitting a PUCCH repetition on said slot. However, no prior art found, alone or in combination, teaches determining that the slot is unavailable based on the slot being associated with sub-band full duplex and uplink communications (e.g. PUCCH repetition). For at least this reason, Claim 2 and analogous Claim 12 are objected to allow. Dependent Claims 3-4 and 13-14 inherit the novel subject matter of Claim(s) 2/12 and are objected to allow for at least the same reason(s).
In particular, the language of Claim 5, namely “first time resources associated with the first portion are within the first set of symbols and second time resources associated with the second portion are within the second set of symbols based at least in part on a time domain location of the first frequency hop aligning with the boundary between the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols”, overcomes cited prior art by performing a step not contemplated by the prior art. The prior art does not contemplate distinguishing between time resources based at least in part on a first frequency hop aligning with the boundary between two sets of symbols. For at least this reason, Claim 5 and analogous Claim 15 are objected to allow. Dependent Claims 6-10 and 16-19 inherit the novel subject matter of Claim(s) 5/15 and are object to allow for at least the same reason(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Rudolf (US 2023/0292294 A1) teaches at [0191] that PUCCH configuration provides a bitmap or a list of slots or symbols indicating if PUCCH repetition is enabled or disabled for designated time-domain resources, e.g. slot(s) or symbol(s), associated with full-duplex slot(s) and/or normal UL slot(s).
/SHAWN D MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412