DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,086,088. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed towards the same inventive functionality.
Comparing claim 1 of the instant application to claim 1 of the ‘088 patent, both are directed towards integrated circuits communicating data within the same package by way of an input/output circuitry, and two modes of communication that use different frequencies for the read clock signal or the write clock signal. The main difference between the claims is that the ‘088 patent described a system with a first integrated circuit and a second integrated circuit, while the instant application is directed toward an integrated circuit comprising a data utilization circuitry and configurable to communicate to a second integrated circuit. Both still describe one integrated circuit communicating to a second integrated circuit in either a first or second mode, and as such the claims are not patentably distinct. Independent claims 12 and 16 are rejected for at least the reasons set forth above regarding claim 1, and dependent claims 2 – 11, 13 – 15 and 17 – 20 are rejected for at least their dependence upon rejected independent claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 describes a method comprising selecting between a first mode and a second mode, however the claim does not describe how the selection is to be made. It cannot be determined what mechanism of action is actually making the selection. The selection could be made by any number of things, for example by circuitry on one of the dies, a controller within the package, a software program running on the circuitry within the package, it could be a hardware switch on a piece of circuitry that can be operated by a human. The claim so broad that it is not considered to be distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention. Claims 13 – 15 do not clarify the deficiencies of claim 12, and are rejected for at least the reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa (US 2006/0282694).
As per claim 12:
Ichikawa teaches method comprising selecting between a first mode and a second mode; and communicating from a first die of a package to a second die based on write and read clock signals, wherein the write and read clock signals have the same frequency in the first mode and the write and read clock signals have different frequencies in the second mode (Ichikawa: Paragraphs [0034] – [0036], interpreting the second mode as the normal operation mode, in which the CPU read clock to read the RAM is one frequency and the serial input output interface writes to the external memory at a different frequency; and interpreting the transition to power saving mode as the first mode, where the CPU reads from RAM at the same frequency that the serial input output interface writes to the external memory).
Ichikawa does not specifically describe that the die that the CPU is on is in the same package and the die that the external memory. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that having both units within the same package would have the obvious benefits of creating more integration and thus higher performance that comes with a multichip package.
As per claim 13:
Ichikawa teaches the write and read clock signals have different frequencies in the second mode, wherein a first one of the write clock signal or the read clock signal has a first frequency and a second one of the write clock signal or the read clock signal has a second frequency, wherein the second frequency is larger than the first frequency (Ichikawa: paragraph [0034], the CPU reads from the RAM at 5-MHz, while the serial input output interface writes the external memory at 1-MHz).
While Ichikawa does not specifically teach that the second frequency is double the first frequency, Ichikawa does teach that the clock divider divides the frequency of the system clock in order to obtain both the high-speed clock and the low-speed clock and that 5MHz and 1 MHz are simply examples (Ichikawa: Paragraph [0029]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the frequencies of the high-speed clock and the low-speed clock can be set at any desired ratio, including one being double the other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gaskins (US 2007/0079194) teaches controlling the frequency of an I/O clock for an integrated circuit. Buznitsky et al (US 2006/0040632) teaches the use of different clock frequencies for different modes of operation within a device.
/ZACHARY K HUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181