+DETAILED ACTION
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Priority
A. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 120,365(c) and/or 386(c) is acknowledged.
B. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) and of the filing of the certified copy in parent application, 18/070,454.
III. Double Patenting
A. Basis for nonstatutory double patenting
B. Overcoming a nonstatutory double patenting rejection
C. Anticipatory double patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,113,919 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-9 of the ‘919 patent anticipate instant claims 1-13 as follows:
As to claim 1, the ‘919 patent recites a decoration (claim 1, line 1), comprising:
a decorative ring (claim 1, line 2);
a flexible fixing member, wherein the flexible fixing member is disposed on an outer surface of the decorative ring (claim 1, lines 3-5); and
a first fixing member disposed on a side of the flexible fixing member away from the decorative ring and connected to the flexible fixing member (claim 1, lines 9-11),
wherein the first fixing member is further connected to the outer surface of the decorative ring (claim 1, lines 12 and 13).
As to claim 2, the ‘919 patent recites the decoration according to claim 1, wherein the flexible fixing member is a flexible fixing ring, wherein the flexible fixing ring encircles the decorative ring (claim 2).
As to claim 3, the ‘919 patent recites the decoration according to claim 1, wherein the flexible fixing member is a non-annular flexible fixing member (claim 3).
As to claim 4, the ‘919 patent recites the decoration according to claim 1, wherein the first fixing member is a rigid fixing ring that encircles the decorative ring (claim 4, lines 1-3), a first gap is present between the rigid fixing ring and the decorative ring, and the flexible fixing member is disposed in the first gap (claim 4, lines 3-5).
As to claim 5, the ‘919 patent recites the decoration according to claim 4, wherein the rigid fixing ring is further connected to the outer surface of the decorative ring (claim 4, line 2 vis-à-vis claim 1, lines 12 and 13; {Claim 1 of the ‘919 patent recites that “first fixing member is further connected to the outer surface of the decorative ring,” and claim 4 of the ‘919 patent recites that “the first fixing member is a rigid fixing ring.” Therefore, a combination of claims 1 and 4 of the ‘919 patent recites that “the rigid fixing ring is further connected to the outer surface of the decorative ring” as recited in instant claim 5.}).
As to claim 6, the ‘919 patent recites the decoration according to claim 1, wherein the flexible fixing member and the first fixing member are not coplanar (claim 5).
As to claim 7, the ‘919 patent recites the decoration according to claim 1, wherein a limiting structure is provided at a joint between the flexible fixing member and the decorative ring (claim 6).
As to claim 8, the ‘919 patent recites an electronic device (claim 7, line 1), comprising:
a decoration (claim 7, line 2), comprising:
a decorative ring (claim 7, line 3);
a flexible fixing member, wherein the flexible fixing member is disposed on an outer surface of the decorative ring (claim 7, lines 4-6); and
a first fixing member disposed on a side of the flexible fixing member away from the decorative ring and connected to the flexible fixing member (claim 7, lines 11-13), wherein the first fixing member is further connected to the outer surface of the decorative ring (claim 7, lines 13-15);
a housing (claim 7, line 16); and
a target bracket (claim 7, line 17), wherein the flexible fixing member is located between
the housing and the target bracket and is connected to at least one of the housing or the target bracket (claim 7, lines 23-26).
As to claim 9, the ‘919 patent recites the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the housing is provided with a through hole and an accommodating cavity (claim 7, lines 17 and 18), and the decorative ring is partly disposed inside the through hole and partly disposed in the accommodating cavity (claim 7, lines 19-21).
As to claim 10, the ‘919 patent recites the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the flexible fixing member and the target bracket are both disposed in the accommodating cavity (claim 7, lines 21-23).
As to claim 11, the ‘919 patent recites the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the flexible fixing member and the first fixing member are not coplanar (claim 8, lines 1-3).
As to claim 12, the ‘919 patent recites the electronic device according to claim 11, wherein
the target bracket is a mainboard bracket (claim 8, line 4);
the electronic device further comprises a first sealing member (claim 8, lines 5 and 6);
the flexible fixing member is connected to each of the housing and the mainboard bracket (claim 8, lines 7 and 8); and
the first fixing member is disposed in the accommodating cavity and between the housing and the mainboard bracket and is connected to the mainboard bracket (claim 8, lines 9-11), and the first sealing member is disposed in a second gap between the first fixing member and the housing (claim 8, lines 11-13).
As to claim 13, the ‘919 patent recites the electronic device according to claim 11, wherein
the target bracket is a camera bracket having a support member disposed thereon (claim 9, lines 4 and 6);
the electronic device further comprises a second sealing member (claim 9, lines 6 and 7);
the flexible fixing member is connected to each of the housing and the support member (claim 9, lines 8 and 9); and
the first fixing member is disposed in the accommodating cavity and between the housing and the camera bracket and is connected to the camera bracket (claim 9, lines 10-12), a third gap is present between the flexible fixing member, the first fixing member, and the camera bracket (claim 9, lines 12-14), and the second sealing member is disposed in the third gap and adjacent to the support member (claim 9, lines 14-16).
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,6-11,14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al. (US 2019/0239375 A1).
As to claim 1, Lu et al. teaches a decoration (Fig. 3, outer frame “250” and buffer “300”; note [0034], lines 1 and 2), comprising:
a decorative ring (Fig. 3, surrounding body “251”; note [0031], lines 1-3); and
a flexible fixing member (Fig. 3, outer ring portion “253”; note [0034], lines 3-5, “…rubber, plastic…”), wherein the flexible fixing member is disposed on an outer surface of the decorative ring (Figs. 2 and 3); and
a first fixing member (Fig. 3, buffer “300”) disposed on a side of the flexible fixing member away from the decorative ring (Fig. 3; {The “away” side can be read as down and/or to the right. Note that in Fig. 2 of the instant drawings, the first fixing member “3” is disposed on sides down and to the right of the flexible fixing member “2.”}) and connected to the flexible fixing member ([0035], last three lines; {The buffer “300” has physical connection to the outer ring portion “253” by being sandwiched between the outer ring portion and soft element “400.”}),
wherein the first fixing member is further connected to the outer surface of the decorative ring (Fig. 3; {Contrary to the examiner’s position taken in the parent application, there is indirect connection between the surrounding body “251” and buffer “300” by virtue of the buffer’s connection to the outer inner ring portion “253.” Note that Fig. 2 of the instant drawings illustrates similar indirect connection between the first fixing member “3” and the decorative ring “1.”}).
As to claim 2, Lu et al. teaches the decoration according to claim 1, wherein the flexible fixing member is a flexible fixing ring, wherein the flexible fixing ring encircles the decorative ring (Fig. 2).
As to claim 6, Lu et al. teaches the decoration according to claim 3, wherein the flexible fixing member and the first fixing member are not coplanar (Fig. 3).
As to claim 7, Lu et al. teaches the decoration according to claim 1, wherein a limiting structure is provided at a joint between the flexible fixing member and the decorative ring (Fig. 3, bonding glue “271”; {The bonding glue limits movement of the side wall relative to the outer frame “250.”}).
As to claim 8, Lu et al. teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1B, electronic device “10”), comprising:
decoration (Fig. 3, outer frame “250” and buffer “300”; note [0034], lines 1 and 2), comprising:
a decorative ring (Fig. 3, surrounding body “251”; note [0031], lines 1-3); and
a flexible fixing member (Fig. 3, outer ring portion “253”; note [0034], lines 3-5, “…rubber, plastic…”), wherein the flexible fixing member is disposed on an outer surface of the decorative ring (Figs. 2 and 3); and
a first fixing member (Fig. 3, buffer “300”) disposed on a side of the flexible fixing member away from the decorative ring (Fig. 3; {The “away” side can be read as down and/or to the right. Note that in Fig. 2 of the instant drawings, the first fixing member “3” is disposed on sides down and to the right of the flexible fixing member “2.”}) and connected to the flexible fixing member ([0035], last three lines; {The buffer “300” has physical connection to the outer ring portion “253” by being sandwiched between the outer ring portion and soft element “400.”}),
wherein the first fixing member is further connected to the outer surface of the decorative ring (Fig. 3; {Contrary to the examiner’s position taken in the parent application, there is indirect connection between the surrounding body “251” and buffer “300” by virtue of the buffer’s connection to the outer inner ring portion “253.” Note that Fig. 2 of the instant drawings illustrates similar indirect connection between the first fixing member “3” and the decorative ring “1.”}).
a housing (Fig. 3, housing “100”); and
a target bracket (Figs. 1B and 3, holder “210”), wherein the flexible fixing member is located between the housing and the target bracket (Fig. 3) and is connected to at least one of the housing (Fig. 3, bonding glue “271”; [0033], lines 1-5) or the target bracket.
As to claim 9, Lu et al. teaches the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the housing is provided with a through hole and an accommodating cavity (Fig. 3, hole coplanar with the sidewall “110” along the horizontal direction) and an accommodating cavity (Fig. 3, accommodating space below that hole), and the decorative ring is partly disposed inside the through hole and partly disposed in the accommodating cavity (Fig. 3).
As to claim 10, Lu et al. teaches the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the flexible fixing member and the target bracket are both disposed in the accommodating cavity (Fig. 3; {A portion of the outer ring portion “253” (claimed flexible fixing member) is in a portion of the accommodating cavity coincident with opening “120” along the optical axis.}).
As to claim 11, Lu et al. teaches the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the flexible fixing member and the first fixing member are not coplanar (Fig. 3).
As to claim 14, Lu et al. teaches the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the flexible fixing member is a flexible fixing ring, wherein the flexible fixing ring encircles the decorative ring (Fig. 2).
As to claim 18, Lu et al. teaches the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein a limiting structure is provided at a joint between the flexible fixing member and the decorative ring (Fig. 3, bonding glue “271”; {The bonding glue limits movement of the side wall relative to the outer frame “250.”}).
V. Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5,12,13, and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is the Examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claims 3,4,15, and 16, the flexible fixing member and the first fixing member as claimed have opposite features to the outer ring portion “253” and buffer “300” of Lu et al. That is, Lu’s outer ring portion is annular, and Lu’s buffer is non-annular (i.e., does not encircle the surround body “251” (decorative ring)), which opposite to the claimed features. Claims 5 and 17 are allowable because they depend on claims 4 and 16, respectively. As to claim 12 and 13, the prior art fails to disclose the positioning and connection of the flexible fixing member and the first fixing member and that the target bracket be a mainboard bracket or a camera bracket with the second and third gaps as claimed.
VI. Additional Pertinent Prior Art
See parent application, 18/070,454 for discussion of any references not cited by Applicant in the attached information disclosure statements.
VII. Conclusion
/ANTHONY J DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
4/18/2026