DETAILED ACTION
iThe present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 13-15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurst (US 2012/0210216) in view of Yoo et al. (Yoo) (US 2010/0268789).
As to claim 1, while Hurst discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more hardware processors (within client device, 204; paragraph 27-29), cause execution of operations comprising:
causing a viewing device to receive fragment-level metadata associated with a first fragment of content (metadata indexing streamlets/objects of the media; paragraph 48-50);
receiving, from the viewing device, a request for a second fragment of the content (client device requesting particular streamlet; paragraph 36-38, 41-42, 48-50), the second fragment of the content being immediately subsequent to the first fragment of the content (client device sequentially requesting next streamlet in media stream for forward playback based upon index metadata; paragraph 36-38, 41-42, 48-50),
transmitting the second fragment of the content to the viewing device (see Fig. 3, paragraph 45, 48, 50, 53-54),
they fail to specifically disclose
determining that the second fragment of the content is not stored at a content storage device at a time of receiving the request;
determining that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within a defined time period;
responsive to the determination that the second fragment of the content is not stored at the content storage device and the determination that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within the defined time period, holding the received request for the defined time period;
determining, prior to expiration of the defined time period, that the second fragment of the content is stored at the content storage device.
In an analogous art, Yoo discloses a system for transmitting content (Fig. 1; paragraph 13-15) which will determine that a second fragment of the content (individually cacheable and requestable fragments of media presentation; paragraph 35) is not stored at a content storage device at a time of receiving a request (“cache miss” for requested content; paragraph 16, 27, 32-33, 35), determine that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within a defined time period (pending requests are to be held for a response period; paragraph 19, 27-28, 32-34), responsive to the determination that the second fragment of the content is not stored at the content storage device and the determination that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within the defined time period, holding the received request for the defined time period (paragraph 27-28, 32-33), and determine, prior to expiration of the defined time period, that the second fragment of the content is stored at the content storage device (responding to held request when content fragment finally arrives; paragraph 28, 31, 33) so as to reduce the burden and network consumption of the origin serving live content, lower the resource requirements of the origin server, and provide caching not previously available to live content (paragraph 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hurst’s system to include determining that the second fragment of the content is not stored at a content storage device at a time of receiving the request, determining that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within a defined time period, responsive to the determination that the second fragment of the content is not stored at the content storage device and the determination that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within the defined time period, holding the received request for the defined time period, and determining, prior to expiration of the defined time period, that the second fragment of the content is stored at the content storage device, as taught in combination with Yoo, for the typical benefit of reducing the burden and network consumption of the origin serving live content, lowering the resource requirements of the origin server, and providing caching not previously available to live content (paragraph 7).
As to claim 8, while Hurst discloses a method of delivering content (to client device, 204; paragraph 27-29), comprising:
causing a viewing device to receive fragment-level metadata associated with a first fragment of content (metadata indexing streamlets/objects of the media; paragraph 48-50);
receiving, from the viewing device, a request for a second fragment of the content (client device requesting particular streamlet; paragraph 36-38, 41-42, 48-50), the second fragment of the content being immediately subsequent to the first fragment of the content (client device sequentially requesting next streamlet in media stream for forward playback based upon index metadata; paragraph 36-38, 41-42, 48-50),
transmitting the second fragment of the content to the viewing device (see Fig. 3, paragraph 45, 48, 50, 53-54),
they fail to specifically disclose
determining that the second fragment of the content is not stored at a content storage device at a time of receiving the request;
determining that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within a defined time period;
responsive to the determination that the second fragment of the content is not stored at the content storage device and the determination that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within the defined time period, holding the received request for the defined time period;
determining, prior to expiration of the defined time period, that the second fragment of the content is stored at the content storage device.
In an analogous art, Yoo discloses a system for transmitting content (Fig. 1; paragraph 13-15) which will determine that a second fragment of the content (individually cacheable and requestable fragments of media presentation; paragraph 35) is not stored at a content storage device at a time of receiving a request (“cache miss” for requested content; paragraph 16, 27, 32-33, 35), determine that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within a defined time period (pending requests are to be held for a response period; paragraph 19, 27-28, 32-34), responsive to the determination that the second fragment of the content is not stored at the content storage device and the determination that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within the defined time period, holding the received request for the defined time period (paragraph 27-28, 32-33), and determine, prior to expiration of the defined time period, that the second fragment of the content is stored at the content storage device (responding to held request when content fragment finally arrives; paragraph 28, 31, 33) so as to reduce the burden and network consumption of the origin serving live content, lower the resource requirements of the origin server, and provide caching not previously available to live content (paragraph 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hurst’s system to include determining that the second fragment of the content is not stored at a content storage device at a time of receiving the request, determining that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within a defined time period, responsive to the determination that the second fragment of the content is not stored at the content storage device and the determination that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within the defined time period, holding the received request for the defined time period, and determining, prior to expiration of the defined time period, that the second fragment of the content is stored at the content storage device, as taught in combination with Yoo, for the typical benefit of reducing the burden and network consumption of the origin serving live content, lowering the resource requirements of the origin server, and providing caching not previously available to live content (paragraph 7).
As to claim 15, while Hurst discloses a system for delivering content (Fig. 2), comprising:
at least one device including a hardware processor (client device, 204; paragraph 27-29), the system being configured to perform operations comprising:
causing a viewing device to receive fragment-level metadata associated with a first fragment of content (metadata indexing streamlets/objects of the media; paragraph 48-50);
receiving, from the viewing device, a request for a second fragment of the content (client device requesting particular streamlet; paragraph 36-38, 41-42, 48-50), the second fragment of the content being immediately subsequent to the first fragment of the content (client device sequentially requesting next streamlet in media stream for forward playback based upon index metadata; paragraph 36-38, 41-42, 48-50),
transmitting the second fragment of the content to the viewing device (see Fig. 3, paragraph 45, 48, 50, 53-54),
they fail to specifically disclose
determining that the second fragment of the content is not stored at a content storage device at a time of receiving the request;
determining that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within a defined time period;
responsive to the determination that the second fragment of the content is not stored at the content storage device and the determination that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within the defined time period, holding the received request for the defined time period;
determining, prior to expiration of the defined time period, that the second fragment of the content is stored at the content storage device.
In an analogous art, Yoo discloses a system for transmitting content (Fig. 1; paragraph 13-15) which will determine that a second fragment of the content (individually cacheable and requestable fragments of media presentation; paragraph 35) is not stored at a content storage device at a time of receiving a request (“cache miss” for requested content; paragraph 16, 27, 32-33, 35), determine that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within a defined time period (pending requests are to be held for a response period; paragraph 19, 27-28, 32-34), responsive to the determination that the second fragment of the content is not stored at the content storage device and the determination that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within the defined time period, holding the received request for the defined time period (paragraph 27-28, 32-33), and determine, prior to expiration of the defined time period, that the second fragment of the content is stored at the content storage device (responding to held request when content fragment finally arrives; paragraph 28, 31, 33) so as to reduce the burden and network consumption of the origin serving live content, lower the resource requirements of the origin server, and provide caching not previously available to live content (paragraph 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hurst’s system to include determining that the second fragment of the content is not stored at a content storage device at a time of receiving the request, determining that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within a defined time period, responsive to the determination that the second fragment of the content is not stored at the content storage device and the determination that the second fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within the defined time period, holding the received request for the defined time period, and determining, prior to expiration of the defined time period, that the second fragment of the content is stored at the content storage device, as taught in combination with Yoo, for the typical benefit of reducing the burden and network consumption of the origin serving live content, lowering the resource requirements of the origin server, and providing caching not previously available to live content (paragraph 7).
As to claim 6, 13, 19, Hurst and Yoo disclose causing a second viewing device (see Hurst at Fig. 2, paragraph 27-29, and Yoo at paragraph 15) to receive fragment-level metadata associated with a third fragment of content (metadata indexing streamlets/objects of the media; see Hurst at paragraph 48-50);
receiving, from the viewing device, a request for a fourth fragment of the content, the fourth fragment of the content being immediately subsequent to the third fragment of the content (client device requesting streamlet in media stream based upon index metadata; see Hurst at Fig. 2, paragraph 36-38, 41-42, 48-50 and Yoo at paragraph 16, 27, 32-33, 35)
determining that the fourth fragment of the content is not stored at a content storage device at a time of receiving the request (“cache miss” for requested content fragments; see Yoo at paragraph 16, 27, 32-33, 35),
determining that the fourth fragment of the content is not expected to be stored at the content storage device within the defined time period (origin failing to respond with segment within response time; see Yoo paragraph 19, 34), and
responsive to the determination that the fourth fragment of the content is not stored at the content storage device and the determination that the fourth fragment of the content is not expected to be stored at the content storage device within the defined time period, transmitting, to the second viewing device, an error message indicating that the fourth fragment is not available (failure response to all pending requests that were waiting on the response; see Yoo at paragraph 19, 34).
As to claim 7, 14, 20, Hurst and Yoo disclose causing a third viewing device (see Hurst at Fig. 2, paragraph 27-29, and Yoo at paragraph 15) to receive fragment-level metadata associated with a fifth fragment of content (metadata indexing streamlets/objects of the media; see Hurst at paragraph 48-50);
receiving, from the third viewing device, a request for a sixth fragment of the content, the sixth fragment of the content being immediately subsequent to the fifth fragment of the content (client device requesting streamlet in media stream based upon index metadata; see Hurst at Fig. 2, paragraph 36-38, 41-42, 48-50 and Yoo at paragraph 16, 27, 32-33, 35)
determining that the sixth fragment of the content is not stored at a content storage device at a time of receiving the request (“cache miss” for requested content fragments; see Yoo at paragraph 16, 27, 32-33, 35),
determining that the sixth fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within the defined time period (see Yoo at paragraph 27-28, 32-33),
responsive to the determination that the sixth fragment of the content is not stored at the content storage device and the determination that the sixth fragment of the content is expected to be stored at the content storage device within the defined time period, holding the received request for the defined time period (holding pending requests for response period; see Yoo at paragraph 27-28, 32-34),
determining, upon expiration of the defined time period, that the sixth fragment of the content is not stored at the content storage device (see Yoo at paragraph 19, 34); and
responsive to the determination that the sixth fragment of the content is not stored at the content storage device upon expiration of the defined time period, transmitting, to the third viewing device, an error message indicating that the sixth fragment is not available (failure response to all pending requests that were waiting on the response; see Yoo at paragraph 19, 34).
Claims 2-4, 9-11, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurst and Yoo and further in view of Koceski et al. (Koceski) (US 11,871,050).
As to claims 2, 9, 16, Hurst and Yoo fail to specifically disclose subsequent to transmitting the second fragment to the viewing device, causing the viewing device to receive fragment-level metadata associated with the second fragment of the content.
In an analogous art, Koceski discloses a system for streaming content to a client viewing device (Fig. 1, column 2, line 42-column 3, line 16) which will cause the viewing device to receive fragment-level metadata associated with a second fragment of the content subsequent to transmitting the second fragment to the viewing device (receiving updated manifest information with updated metadata for earlier ad segments; Fig. 6B, column 6, line 54-column 7, line 11) so as to provide more updated targeted ad segments based upon user engagement (column 6, line 62-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hurst and Yoo’s system to include subsequent to transmitting the second fragment to the viewing device, causing the viewing device to receive fragment-level metadata associated with the second fragment of the content, as taught in combination with Koceski, for the typical benefit of providing more updated targeted ad segments based upon user engagement (column 6, line 62-67).
As to claims 3, 10, 17, Hurst, Yoo and Koceski disclose causing the viewing device to process the second fragment of the content, responsive to the viewing device receiving the fragment-level metadata associated with the second fragment of the content (see Hurst at paragraph 36-38, 41-42, 48-50 and Koceski at Fig. 6B, column 6, line 54-column 7, line 11).
As to claim 4, 11, Hurst, Yoo and Koceski disclose wherein processing the second fragment of the content comprises one or more of: decoding the second fragment of the content (see Hurst at paragraph 18-22, 45, 50, 53-54); adding the decoded content stored in the second fragment to a playback buffer for playback, or performing a data analysis of the decoded second fragment of content.
Claims 5, 12, 18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurst and Yoo and further in view of Swaminathan et al. (Swaminathan) (US 2013/0191489).
As to claims 5, 12, 18, while Hurst and Yoo disclose causing the viewing device to process the second fragment of the content, responsive to the viewing device receiving the second fragment of the content (see Hurst at paragraph 18-22, 45, 50, 53-54), they fail to specifically disclose wherein the viewing device processes the second fragment of content without receiving fragment-level metadata associated with the second fragment of the content.
In an analogous art, Swaminathan discloses a system for streaming content to a client viewing device (Fig. 1-3, paragraph 23, 33, 35) wherein the viewing device processes a second fragment of content without receiving fragment-level metadata associated with the second fragment of the content (requesting subsequent fragments based upon offset from a first fragment in a run table; paragraph 44-47, 50-54) which reduces the required data transmission by providing information to access media content such as a movie partitioned into multiple segments without requiring entries for each individual fragment (paragraph 46-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hurst and Yoo’s system to include wherein the viewing device processes the second fragment of content without receiving fragment-level metadata associated with the second fragment of the content, as taught in combination with Koceski, for the typical benefit of reducing the required data transmission by providing information to access media content such as a movie partitioned into multiple segments without requiring entries for each individual fragment (paragraph 46-47).
Conclusion
/James R Sheleheda/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424
i