DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 through 38 originally filed 10 September 2024. By amendment received 11 September 2024; claims 1 through 38 are cancelled and claims 39 through 58 are added. Claims 39 through 58 are addressed by this action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 17 January 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specifically, the present filing does not appear to include a copy for Foreign Reference 107 or NPL References 139, 201, 207, 260, 312, 405, or 406. Accordingly, these citations within this IDS are not considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The disclosure employs the phrase "wherein the white light or wavelength converted light is emitted 309" in ¶309 which is inconsistent with the figures and does not align with proper use of reference characters to denote drawing elements. To overcome this issue, this phrase should read "wherein the white light or wavelength converted light 309 is emitted".
The disclosure refers to figure 5A as "FIG. 5(a)" in ¶192. This is inconsistent with the remainder of the disclosure. The styling "FIG. 5A" is consistent with the remainder of the disclosure.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(1).
View numbers for figures 35, 36, and 41 are used in association with parenthesis. View numbers must not be used in association with brackets.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4).
The description uses the reference characters "306", "307", "502", "503", and "612" to refer to more than one part each. The same reference character must never be used to designate different parts.
In the present case, these reference characters or similar numbers appear in the following locations: "306" is mentioned in ¶283, ¶284, ¶289, ¶298, ¶301, ¶302, ¶306, ¶309, and ¶310, "307" is mentioned in ¶283, ¶284, ¶289, ¶298, ¶301, ¶302, ¶306, ¶309, and ¶310, "502" is mentioned in ¶358, ¶361, ¶362, ¶363, ¶364, ¶365, ¶367, ¶391, ¶404, ¶405, and ¶407, "503" is mentioned in ¶360, ¶361, ¶362, ¶365, ¶367, ¶391, ¶404, ¶405, and ¶407, and "612" is mentioned in ¶422, ¶423, and ¶424.
The drawings refer to more than one part each with the reference characters "201", "203", "204", "205", "206", "207", "211", "213", "526", "603", "604", "605", and "613". The same part of an invention must be designated with the same reference character throughout the drawings.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5).
The drawings include the reference characters "212" which do not appear in the description. Reference characters not mentioned in the description must not appear in the drawings.
The description includes the reference characters "1", "2", "214", "221", "222", "223", "224", "225", "226", and "635" which do not appear in the drawings. Reference characters mentioned in the description must appear in the drawings.
In the present case, these reference characters or similar numbers appear in the following locations: "1" is mentioned in ¶226, "2" is mentioned in ¶226, "214" is mentioned in ¶177, "221" is mentioned in ¶186 and ¶246, "222" is mentioned in ¶186 and ¶246, "223" is mentioned in ¶186 and ¶246, "224" is mentioned in ¶186 and ¶246, "225" is mentioned in ¶186, "226" is mentioned in ¶186 and ¶246, and "635" is mentioned in ¶429.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1).
Each of figures 14, 35, 36, and 41 include multiple views that are not separately labeled. Each view must be individually labeled.
Each of figures 1 through 45 are improperly labeled because they spell out the word Figure. View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG.".
Each of figures 5A through 7D are improperly labeled because the view numbers appear alone without the abbreviation "FIG." View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG.".
It is noted that there are several visual inconsistencies between and within individual figures. It may be desirable to additionally amend the drawings so as to exhibit consistent stylings and font sizes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40, 46, and 53 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 40, this claim only requires "Wherein the phosphor member is configured from a spherical shape, a hemispherical shape, an aspherical shape, a cube shape, or a cylinder shape." However, by requiring a spherical shape or an aspherical shape within the same list of alternate shapes, this listing exhaustively enumerates all possible shapes for this element. Since this element is already present in the parent claim, the exhaustive enumeration of possible shapes for this element does not limit the parent claim. As such, this claim is of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 46, this claim only requires "Wherein the 3D geometry of the phosphor member is a spherical shape, a hemispherical shape, an aspherical shape, a cube shape, or a cylinder shape." However, by requiring a spherical shape or an aspherical shape within the same list of alternate shapes, this listing exhaustively enumerates all possible shapes for this element. Since this element is already present in the parent claim, the exhaustive enumeration of possible shapes for this element does not limit the parent claim. As such, this claim is of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 53, this claim only requires "Wherein the 3D geometry of the phosphor member is a spherical shape, a hemispherical shape, an aspherical shape, a cube shape, or a cylinder shape." However, by requiring a spherical shape or an aspherical shape within the same list of alternate shapes, this listing exhaustively enumerates all possible shapes for this element. Since this element is already present in the parent claim, the exhaustive enumeration of possible shapes for this element does not limit the parent claim. As such, this claim is of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 39 through 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka et al. (Morioka, US Pub. 2006/0139926), in view of Wada (US Pub. 2010/0246159), and further in view of Matsubara et al. (Matsubara, US Pub. 2006/0018351).
Morioka, Wada, and Matsubara were initially cited in the IDS received 17 January 2025.
Regarding claim 39, Morioka discloses, "A laser diode device comprising, a gallium and a nitrogen containing material, configured as an excitation source" (p. [0053] and Fig. 6, pt. 601). "A phosphor member configured as a wavelength converter and an emitter" (p. [0060] and Fig. 8A, pt. 105). "The phosphor member coupled to the laser diode device" (p. [0060] and Fig. 6, pts. 105 and 601). "A common support member" (p. [0051] and Fig. 6, pt. 106). "[The common support member] configured to support the laser diode device and the phosphor member" (p. [0051] and Fig. 6, pts. 105, 106, and 601, where lead frame 106 holds laser 601). "An output facet configured on the laser diode device to output a laser beam of electromagnetic radiation from the output facet" (Fig. 6, pts. 110 and 601). "The electromagnetic radiation being selected from a violet or a blue emission with a first wavelength ranging from 390 nm to 485 nm" (p. [0012]). "The laser beam being characterized by a wavelength range, a spectral width, a power, and a spatial configuration" (Fig. 6, pt. 110). "A free space, within a vicinity of the common support member, with a non-guided characteristic capable of transmitting the laser beam from the laser diode device to the phosphor member" (p. [0060] and Fig. 6, pts. 105, 110, and 601). "The laser beam of the laser diode device optically coupled to the phosphor member" (p. [0060] and Fig. 6, pts. 105, 110, and 601). "An angle of incidence configured between the laser beam and the phosphor member" (p. [0060] and Fig. 8A, pts. 105, 105h, and 110). "The phosphor member being configured to convert at least a fraction of the electromagnetic radiation in the laser beam with a first wavelength to a second wavelength that is longer than the first wavelength" (p. [0012] and p. [0051]). "A phosphor material comprising at least a polycrystalline material or single crystal YAG:Ce material characterizing the phosphor member" (p. [0045] and Fig. 6, pts. 105, 110, and 601). "The laser beam being directed from the output facet directly to an excitation surface of the phosphor material" (p. [0060] and Fig. 6, pts. 105, 110, and 601). "The white light emission being comprised of a mixture of wavelengths characterized by at least the second wavelength from the phosphor member" (p. [0063]). Morioka does not explicitly disclose, "The common support member being configured to transport thermal energy from the laser diode device and the phosphor member." "The phosphor material comprising a 3-dimensional geometry." "A white light emission derived from at least one side of the 3-dimensional geometry." "A transparent lid member coupled to the common support member." "The transparent lid member having a defined shape." Wada discloses, "The common support member being configured to transport thermal energy from the laser diode device and the phosphor member" (p. [0040], [0044], and Fig. 1, pt. 12, where dissipation toward stem 12 requires stem 12 to also dissipate heat). "The phosphor material comprising a 3-dimensional geometry" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1, pt. 50A). "A white light emission derived from at least one side of the 3-dimensional geometry" (p. [0040], Fig. 1, pts. 12 and 50A and Fig. 2, pt. 50A). "A transparent lid member coupled to the common support member" (p. [0024] and Fig. 1, pts. 12, 20, and 30). "The transparent lid member having a defined shape" (p. [0024] and Fig. 1, pts. 12, 20, and 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morioka with the teachings of Wada. In view of the teachings of Morioka regarding a white light emitting package including a laser and a phosphor, the alternate formatting of the phosphor as a three-dimensional structure as taught by Wada would enhance the teachings of Morioka by providing a suitably alternate format for the phosphor element.
The combination of Morioka and Wada does not explicitly disclose, "A heat sink coupled to the common support member to receive the transported thermal energy." "A form factor characterizing the SMD, and having a length, a width, and a height dimension." Matsubara discloses, "A heat sink coupled to the common support member to receive the transported thermal energy" (p. [0067] and Figs. 3A and 4C, pts. 101, 102, and 122). "A form factor characterizing the SMD, and having a length, a width, and a height dimension" (p. [0059] and Fig. 1, pt. 100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Morioka and Wada with the teachings of Matsubara. In view of the teachings of Morioka regarding a white light emitting package including a laser and a phosphor, the alternate construction of the housing as a surface mounting device with a common support on which elements are mounted as taught by Matsubara would enhance the teachings of Morioka and Wada by allowing the elements to be arranged prior to package assembly.
Regarding claim 40, Morioka discloses, "Wherein the phosphor member is configured from a spherical shape, a hemispherical shape, an aspherical shape, a cube shape, or a cylinder shape" (Fig. 6, pt. 105).
Regarding claim 41, Morioka does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the transparent lid member has a hemispherical shape or is substantially parallel to an emission surface of the phosphor member." Wada discloses, "Wherein the transparent lid member has a hemispherical shape or is substantially parallel to an emission surface of the phosphor member" (p. [0024] and Fig. 1, pts. 6 and 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morioka with the teachings of Wada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 39.
Regarding claim 42, Morioka discloses, "Wherein the laser beam of the laser diode device is optically coupled to a side surface of the phosphor member" (Fig. 6, pts. 105, 110, and 601).
Regarding claim 43, Morioka does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the white light emission is derived from a top surface of the phosphor member." Wada discloses, "Wherein the white light emission is derived from a top surface of the phosphor member" (p. [0040], Fig. 1, pts. 12 and 50A and Fig. 2, pt. 50A, where light is emitted through the top in the direction toward the window). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morioka with the teachings of Wada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 39.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka, in view of Wada, in view of Matsubara, and further in view of Ott et al. (Ott, US Pub. 2010/0295438).
Ott was initially cited in the IDS received 17 January 2025.
Regarding claim 44, The combination of Morioka, Wada, and Matsubara does not explicitly disclose, "A reflective material surrounding sides and a bottom of the phosphor member." "The reflective material having an opening at an area where the laser beam of the laser diode device optically couples to the phosphor member." Ott discloses, "A reflective material surrounding sides and a bottom of the phosphor member" (p. [0081] and Fig. 3A, pts. 6 and 7). "The reflective material having an opening at an area where the laser beam of the laser diode device optically couples to the phosphor member" (p. [0093] and Fig. 3B, pts. 1, 5, 6, and 21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Morioka, Wada, and Matsubara with the teachings of Ott. In view of the teachings of Morioka regarding a white light emitting package including a laser and a phosphor and the teachings of Wada regarding use of a three-dimensional phosphor for this purpose, the additional inclusion of reflective surfaces surrounding the phosphor as taught by Ott would enhance the teachings of Morioka, Wada, and Matsubara by allowing the light to be constrained to be emitted in a particular direction.
Claims 45, 46, 49 through 53, and 56 through 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka, in view of Ott, in view of Wada, and further in view of Tatehata et al. (Tatehata, US Pub. 2005/0013562).
Regarding claim 45, Morioka discloses, "A laser diode device comprising, a gallium and a nitrogen containing material, configured as an excitation source" (p. [0053] and Fig. 6, pt. 601). "The laser diode device having an output facet configured to output a laser beam of electromagnetic radiation" (Fig. 6, pts. 110 and 601). "The electromagnetic radiation including a blue emission with a first wavelength ranging from 400 nm to 485 nm" (p. [0012]). "The laser beam characterized by a wavelength range, a spectral width, a power, and a spatial configuration" (Fig. 6, pt. 110). "A phosphor member configured as a wavelength converter and an emitter" (p. [0060] and Fig. 8A, pt. 105). "The laser diode device and the phosphor member arranged so that the laser beam is directed from the output facet directly to a side portion of the phosphor member" (Fig. 6, pts. 105, 110, and 601). "The phosphor member configured to convert at least a fraction of the electromagnetic radiation with the first wavelength… to a second wavelength that is longer than the first wavelength" (p. [0012] and p. [0051]). "[The electromagnetic radiation with the first wavelength] entering the side portion" (Fig. 6, pts. 105, 110, and 601). "The white light comprised of a mixture of wavelengths including at least the second wavelength" (p. [0063]). Morioka does not explicitly disclose, "The phosphor member having a three-dimensional (3D) geometry." "A reflective material surrounding sides and a bottom of the phosphor member." "The side portion of the phosphor member being free from the reflective material." "[The phosphor member configured] to emit a white light from a top surface of the phosphor member." "The reflective material configured to reduce loss of the white light through the sides and the bottom of the phosphor member." "A support member configured to support the laser diode device." "Wherein a bottom of the phosphor member is coupled directly to the base of the SMD." Ott discloses, "The phosphor member having a three-dimensional (3D) geometry" (p. [0074] and Figs. 3A and 3B, pt. 6). "A reflective material surrounding sides and a bottom of the phosphor member" (p. [0081] and Fig. 3A, pts. 6 and 7). "The side portion of the phosphor member being free from the reflective material" (p. [0102] and Fig. 3C, pts. 21 and 72). "[The phosphor member configured] to emit a white light from a top surface of the phosphor member" (p. [0093] and Fig. 3A, pts. 6 and 601, where light is emitted through the coupling-out surface 601). "The reflective material configured to reduce loss of the white light through the sides and the bottom of the phosphor member" (p. [0081] and Fig. 3A, pts. 6 and 7). "A support member configured to support the laser diode device" (p. [0101] and Fig. 3A, pt. 11). "Wherein a bottom of the phosphor member is coupled directly to the base of the SMD" (p. [0083] and Fig. 3A, pts. 3, 6, and 71, where constructing partial region 71 as part of heat sink 3 results in phosphor 6 being directly coupled to the heat sink serving as the base of the SMD). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morioka with the teachings of Ott. In view of the teachings of Morioka regarding a white light emitting package including a laser and a phosphor, the alternate formatting of the phosphor as a three-dimensional structure as taught by Ott would enhance the teachings of Morioka by providing a suitably alternate format for the phosphor element.
The combination of Morioka and Ott does not explicitly disclose, "[The support member configured] to transport thermal energy from the laser diode device to a base of the SMD." "A transparent lid member coupled to the base of the SMD." Wada discloses, "[The support member configured] to transport thermal energy from the laser diode device to a base of the SMD" (p. [0044] and Fig. 1, pts. 40 and 41). "A transparent lid member coupled to the base of the SMD" (p. [0024] and Fig. 1, pts. 12, 20, and 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Morioka and Ott with the teachings of Wada. In view of the teachings of Morioka regarding a white light emitting package including a laser and a phosphor and the teachings of Ott regarding use of a three-dimensional phosphor for this purpose, the additional configuration of the laser support to conduct heat as well as the additional inclusion of a lid coupled to the package base as taught by Wada would enhance the teachings of Morioka and Ott by allowing heat to be conducted away from the laser device as well as by providing an arrangement for supporting the lid.
The combination of Morioka, Ott, and Wada does not explicitly disclose, "[The transparent lid member arranged] to hermetically seal the laser diode device and the phosphor member." "A form factor characterizing the SMD and having a length, a width, and a height dimension." Tatehata discloses, "[The transparent lid member arranged] to hermetically seal the laser diode device and the phosphor member" (p. [0025] and Figs. 1A and 1B, pts. 12, 13, and 15). "A form factor characterizing the SMD and having a length, a width, and a height dimension" (p. [0027] and Fig. 1A, pts. 12, 13, and 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Morioka, Ott, and Wada with the teachings of Tatehata. In view of the teachings of Morioka regarding a white light emitting package including a laser and a phosphor, the additional configuration of the package as a sealed package as well as the alternate configuration of the package as a surface mounted package as taught by Tatehata would enhance the teachings of Morioka, Ott, and Wada by allowing the internal components to be protected from the environment as well as by providing a suitably alternate arrangement by which the package may be mounted.
Regarding claim 46, Morioka does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the 3D geometry of the phosphor member is a spherical shape, a hemispherical shape, an aspherical shape, a cube shape, or a cylinder shape." Ott discloses, "Wherein the 3D geometry of the phosphor member is a spherical shape, a hemispherical shape, an aspherical shape, a cube shape, or a cylinder shape" (p. [0080] and Fig. 3A, pt. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morioka with the teachings of Ott for the reasons provided above regarding claim 45.
Regarding claim 49, Morioka does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the reflective material comprises a metal or dielectric layers." Ott discloses, "Wherein the reflective material comprises a metal or dielectric layers" (p. [0082] and Fig. 3A, pts. 7 and 72). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morioka with the teachings of Ott for the reasons provided above regarding claim 45.
Regarding claim 50, Morioka discloses, "Wherein the phosphor member comprises at least a polycrystalline material or single crystal YAG:Ce material" (p. [0045] and Fig. 6, pts. 105, 110, and 601).
Regarding claim 51, Morioka does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the reflective material is reflective to the electromagnetic radiation with the first wavelength and the second wavelength." Ott discloses, "Wherein the reflective material is reflective to the electromagnetic radiation with the first wavelength and the second wavelength" (p. [0086] and Fig. 3B, pts. 5 and 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morioka with the teachings of Ott for the reasons provided above regarding claim 45.
Regarding claim 52, Morioka discloses, "A laser diode device comprising, a gallium and a nitrogen containing material, configured as an excitation source" (p. [0053] and Fig. 6, pt. 601). "The laser diode device having an output facet configured to output a laser beam of electromagnetic radiation" (Fig. 6, pts. 110 and 601). "The electromagnetic radiation including a blue emission with a first wavelength ranging from 400 nm to 485 nm" (p. [0012]). "The laser beam characterized by a wavelength range, a spectral width, a power, and a spatial configuration" (Fig. 6, pt. 110). "A phosphor member configured as a wavelength converter and an emitter" (p. [0060] and Fig. 8A, pt. 105). "The laser diode device and the phosphor member arranged so that the laser beam is directed from the output facet directly to a side surface of the phosphor member" (Fig. 6, pts. 105, 110, and 601). "The phosphor member configured to convert at least a fraction of the electromagnetic radiation with the first wavelength… to a second wavelength that is longer than the first wavelength" (p. [0012] and p. [0051]). "[The electromagnetic radiation with the first wavelength] entering the side surface" (Fig. 6, pts. 105, 110, and 601). "The white light comprised of a mixture of wavelengths including at least the second wavelength" (p. [0063]). Morioka does not explicitly disclose, "The phosphor member having a three-dimensional (3D) geometry." "A reflective material surrounding sides and a bottom of the phosphor member." "At least a portion of the side surface of the phosphor member being free from the reflective material to allow the laser beam to enter the phosphor member." "[The phosphor member configured] to emit a white light from a top surface of the phosphor member." "The reflective material configured to reduce loss of the white light through the sides and the bottom of the phosphor member." "A support member configured to support the laser diode device." "Wherein a bottom of the phosphor member is coupled directly to the base of the SMD." Ott discloses, "The phosphor member having a three-dimensional (3D) geometry" (p. [0074] and Figs. 3A and 3B, pt. 6). "A reflective material surrounding sides and a bottom of the phosphor member" (p. [0081] and Fig. 3A, pts. 6 and 7). "At least a portion of the side surface of the phosphor member being free from the reflective material to allow the laser beam to enter the phosphor member" (p. [0093] and Fig. 3B, pts. 1, 5, 6, and 21). "[The phosphor member configured] to emit a white light from a top surface of the phosphor member" (p. [0093] and Fig. 3A, pts. 6 and 601, where light is emitted through the coupling-out surface 601). "The reflective material configured to reduce loss of the white light through the sides and the bottom of the phosphor member" (p. [0081] and Fig. 3A, pts. 6 and 7). "A support member configured to support the laser diode device" (p. [0101] and Fig. 3A, pt. 11). "Wherein a bottom of the phosphor member is coupled directly to the base of the SMD" (p. [0083] and Fig. 3A, pts. 3, 6, and 71, where constructing partial region 71 as part of heat sink 3 results in phosphor 6 being directly coupled to the heat sink serving as the base of the SMD). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morioka with the teachings of Ott for the reasons provided above regarding claim 45.
The combination of Morioka and Ott does not explicitly disclose, "[The support member configured] to transport thermal energy from the laser diode device to a base of the SMD." "A transparent lid member coupled to the base of the SMD." Wada discloses, "[The support member configured] to transport thermal energy from the laser diode device to a base of the SMD" (p. [0044] and Fig. 1, pts. 40 and 41). "A transparent lid member coupled to the base of the SMD" (p. [0024] and Fig. 1, pts. 12, 20, and 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Morioka and Ott with the teachings of Wada for the reasons provided above regarding claim 45.
The combination of Morioka, Ott, and Wada does not explicitly disclose, "[The transparent lid member arranged] to hermetically seal the laser diode device and the phosphor member." "A form factor characterizing the SMD and having a length, a width, and a height dimension." Tatehata discloses, "[The transparent lid member arranged] to hermetically seal the laser diode device and the phosphor member" (p. [0025] and Figs. 1A and 1B, pts. 12, 13, and 15). "A form factor characterizing the SMD and having a length, a width, and a height dimension" (p. [0027] and Fig. 1A, pts. 12, 13, and 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Morioka, Ott, and Wada with the teachings of Tatehata for the reasons provided above regarding claim 45.
Regarding claim 53, Morioka does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the 3D geometry of the phosphor member is a spherical shape, a hemispherical shape, an aspherical shape, a cube shape, or a cylinder shape." Ott discloses, "Wherein the 3D geometry of the phosphor member is a spherical shape, a hemispherical shape, an aspherical shape, a cube shape, or a cylinder shape" (p. [0080] and Fig. 3A, pt. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morioka with the teachings of Ott for the reasons provided above regarding claim 45.
Regarding claim 56, Morioka does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the reflective material comprises a metal or dielectric layers." Ott discloses, "Wherein the reflective material comprises a metal or dielectric layers" (p. [0082] and Fig. 3A, pts. 7 and 72). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morioka with the teachings of Ott for the reasons provided above regarding claim 45.
Regarding claim 57, Morioka discloses, "Wherein the phosphor member comprises at least a polycrystalline material or single crystal YAG:Ce material" (p. [0045] and Fig. 6, pts. 105, 110, and 601).
Regarding claim 58, Morioka does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the reflective material is reflective to the electromagnetic radiation with the first wavelength and the second wavelength." Ott discloses, "Wherein the reflective material is reflective to the electromagnetic radiation with the first wavelength and the second wavelength" (p. [0086] and Fig. 3B, pts. 5 and 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morioka with the teachings of Ott for the reasons provided above regarding claim 45.
Claims 47, 48, 54, and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka, in view of Ott, in view of Wada, in view of Tatehata, and further in view of Dridi et al. (Dridi, US Pub. 2004/0264903).
Regarding claim 47, The combination of Morioka, Ott, Wada, and Tatehata does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the reflective material comprises photonic crystal structures." Dridi discloses, "Wherein the reflective material comprises photonic crystal structures" (p. [0013]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Morioka, Ott, Wada, and Tatehata with the teachings of Dridi. In view of the teachings of Morioka regarding a white light emitting package including a laser and a phosphor and the teachings of Ott regarding surrounding the phosphor with reflective layers, the alternate construction of the reflectors as photonic crystals as taught by Dridi would enhance the teachings of Morioka, Ott, Wada, and Tatehata by allowing the reflective structures to provide tailored high reflection at desired wavelengths.
Regarding claim 48, The combination of Morioka, Ott, Wada, and Tatehata does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the reflective material comprises a periodic two-dimensional (2D) photonic crystal structure." Dridi discloses, "Wherein the reflective material comprises a periodic two-dimensional (2D) photonic crystal structure" (p. [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Morioka, Ott, Wada, and Tatehata with the teachings of Dridi for the reasons provided above regarding claim 47.
Regarding claim 54, The combination of Morioka, Ott, Wada, and Tatehata does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the reflective material comprises photonic crystal structures." Dridi discloses, "Wherein the reflective material comprises photonic crystal structures" (p. [0013]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Morioka, Ott, Wada, and Tatehata with the teachings of Dridi for the reasons provided above regarding claim 47.
Regarding claim 55, The combination of Morioka, Ott, Wada, and Tatehata does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the reflective material comprises a periodic two-dimensional (2D) photonic crystal structure." Dridi discloses, "Wherein the reflective material comprises a periodic two-dimensional (2D) photonic crystal structure" (p. [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Morioka, Ott, Wada, and Tatehata with the teachings of Dridi for the reasons provided above regarding claim 47.
Conclusion
/SEAN P HAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2828