DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1, 2-4, 8-11, and 13-14 in the reply filed on 07/31/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that they are not mutually exclusive and the search and examination burden is minimal. This is not found persuasive because each species claim distinct features and designs that are different from each other, although the generic claims are included in both of the species, each of the species do not share the same features but recite distinct limitations that require a different field of search where it is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other invention(s), e.g., searching different classes, subclasses, or electronic resources, or employing different search queries. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2020/0,046,095) in view of applicant admitted prior art (AAPA).
Regarding claim 1, Wang disclose a protective case set (200) for a mobile device (9)
(¶ [0022]; Figs. 1-6), the mobile device protective case set (200) comprising:
a main frame (3) (¶ [0022]; Figs. 1-3, 6) having
an inner circular surface (31) enclosing to define a space (30) for accommodating the mobile device (9) (Figs. 2, 6; para. [0023]);
a back flange (34) protruding from the inner circular surface (31) towards the space (30) and having a device abutting surface (32) for abutting against a back side of the mobile device (9) (Fig. 2, ¶ [0023]), and at least one positioning portion (a positioning portion chosen by the user on the abutting surface having grooves 312 for the user to choose some feature/object to combine and position on the positioning portion) disposed at the device abutting surface (Fig. 6; ¶ [0024]); and
an assembling component (4) having a base portion (46) and at least one clamping portion (451) (paras. [0026]-[0027]; Figs. 5-7), the clamping portion (451) being disposed at a partial outer periphery of the base portion (46) (Fig. 5; paras. [0027]-[0029]), the clamping portion (451) being suitable for combining with the positioning portion (a positioning portion chosen by the user on the abutting surface (32) having grooves (312, 313) for the user to choose some feature/object to hook/combine and position on the positioning portion) (Figs. 6, 9; paras. [0033], [0028]-[0029]), and the device abutting surface (32) and the clamping portion (451) are suitable to abut against the back side of the mobile device (9) (see Figs. 2, 5-6; paras. [0023], [0028]-[0029]). Wang do not explicitly disclose a positioning portion disposed at the device abutting surface. In the same field of endeavor, AAPA disclose a traditional protective set comprising a main frame having e.g. a circular positioning portion for users to choose the circumferential edge of the decorative strip or the backplate to combine and position on the positioning portion according to their needs (¶ [0004]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a positioning portion in the main frame of Wang in order for the user to select some feature/object to combine/hook and position on the positioning portion according to the user’s preference as suggested by AAPA.
Regarding claim 2, Wang further disclose the mobile device protective case set (200) according to claim 1, wherein a place where a display screen (front face display) of the mobile device (9) is located faces toward a forward direction (forward Y direction; see Fig. 2), a place where the back side of the mobile device (9) is located faces toward a backward direction (direction opposite the forward Y direction) (Fig. 2), the device abutting surface (32) is a facing forward surface of the back flange (34) that faces toward the forward direction (forward Y direction; Fig. 2), and the device abutting surface (32) and a surface of the clamping portion (451) that faces toward the forward direction (forward Y direction) are suitable to abut against the back side of the mobile device (9) (Figs. 2, 5-6; paras. [0023], [0028]-[0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Wang further disclose the mobile device protective case set (200) according to claim 2, wherein the positioning portion has a groove (312, 313), a hook portion (hook portion of groove) and a gap (311), the groove (312, 313) is formed by a backward recess of the device abutting surface (32) (Figs. 2, 5-6; paras. [0023], [0028]-[0029]), the hook portion is located between the groove (312, 313) and the space (30) (Figs. 2, 5, 6, 9), a height of a free end of the hook portion is lower (e.g. in a radial direction) than that of the device abutting surface (32) where the positioning portion is not provided to form the gap (311), the clamping portion (451) includes a clamping hook to pass through the gap (311) and engage in the groove (312, 313) (Figs. 2, 5, 6, 9; paras. [0023]-[0024], [0028]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang further disclose the mobile device protective case set according to claim 2, wherein the inner circular surface (31) is substantially smoothly connected with the facing forward surface of the clamping portion (451) (paras. [0023]-[0024], [0028]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses a main frame (3) of a mobile device protective case set (200), suitable for assembling a mobile device (9) (Figs. 1-3, 6; ¶ [0022]);
the main frame (3) having: an inner circular surface (31), enclosing to define a space (30), the space is suitable for accommodating the mobile device (9) (Figs. 2, 6; para. [0023]); a back flange (34), protruding from the inner circular surface (31) towards the space (30), the back flange (34) has a device abutting surface (32), suitable for a back side of the mobile device (9) to abut (Fig. 2, paras. [0023]-[0024], [0027]); and at least one positioning portion (a positioning portion chosen by the user having grooves (312, 313), hook portions, and gap (311) for the user to choose some feature/object to hook/combine and position on the positioning portion) disposed at the device abutting surface (32) (Figs. 6, 9; paras. [0033], [0028]-[0029]). Wang do not explicitly disclose a positioning portion disposed at the device abutting surface. In the same field of endeavor, AAPA disclose a traditional protective set comprising a main frame having e.g. a circular positioning portion for users to choose the circumferential edge of the decorative strip or the backplate to combine and position on the positioning portion according to their needs (¶ [0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a positioning portion in the main frame of Wang in the same way as the positioning portion of AAPA in order for the user to select some feature/object to combine/hook and position on the positioning portion according to the user’s preference as suggested by AAPA.
Regarding claim 9, Wang further disclose the main frame of the mobile device protective case set according to claim 8, wherein the main frame (3) is suitable for cooperating with an assembling component (4) for assembling the mobile device (9) (¶ [0022]; Figs. 1-3), the periphery of the assembling component (4) has at least one clamping portion (451) (Fig. 5), and the positioning portion (positioning portion chosen by the user having grooves (312, 313), hook portions, and gap (311) for the user to choose some feature/object to hook/combine and position on the positioning portion positioning portion) of the main frame (4) is suitable for combining with the clamping portion (451) of the assembling component (4) (Figs. 5-9; paras. [0023]-[0024], [0028]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 10, Wang further disclose the main frame of the mobile device protective case set according to 9, wherein a place where a display screen (front face display) of the mobile device (9) is located faces toward a forward direction (forward Y direction; see Fig. 2), a place where the back side of the mobile device (9) is located faces toward a backward direction (direction opposite the forward Y direction) (Fig. 2), the inner circular surface (31) is substantially smoothly connected with the facing forward surface of the clamping portion (451) (paras. [0023]-[0024], [0028]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 11, Wang further disclose the main frame of the mobile device protective case set according to claim 9, a place where a display screen (front face display) of the mobile device (9) is located faces toward a forward direction (forward Y direction; see Fig. 2), a place where the back side of the mobile device (9) is located faces toward a backward direction (direction opposite the forward Y direction) (Fig. 2), the positioning portion has a groove (312, 313), a hook portion (hook portion of groove) and a gap (311), the groove (312, 313) is formed by a backward recess of the device abutting surface (32) (Figs. 2, 5-6; paras. [0023], [0028]-[0029]), the hook portion is located between the groove (312, 313) and the space (30) (Figs. 2, 5, 6, 9), a height of a free end of the hook portion is lower (e.g. in a radial direction) than that of the device abutting surface (32) where the positioning portion is not provided to form the gap (311), the clamping portion (451) includes a clamping hook to pass through the gap (311) and engage in the groove (312, 313) (Figs. 2, 5, 6, 9; paras. [0023]-[0024], [0028]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses an assembling component (4) of a mobile device protective case set (200), suitable for cooperating with a main frame (3) for assembling a mobile device (9) (Figs. 1-3, 6; ¶ [0022]); the main frame (3) encloses to define a space (10) suitable for accommodating the mobile device (9) (Fig. 2; ¶ [0023]),
the main frame (3) has a back flange (34) and at least one positioning portion (a positioning portion chosen by the user having grooves (312, 313), hook portions, and gap (311) for the user to choose some feature/object to hook/combine and position on the positioning portion), the back flange (34) has a device abutting surface (32), suitable for a back side of the mobile device (9) to abut, the positioning portion is disposed at the device abutting surface (32) (Figs. 2, 6, 9; paras. [0023]-[0024], [0033], [0028]-[0029]);
the assembling component (4) having: a base portion (46) (Fig. 5; ¶ [0027]); and at least one clamping portion (451), disposed at the outer periphery of the base portion (46) (Fig. 5; paras. [0027]-[0029]), the clamping portion (451) is suitable for combining the positioning portion of the main frame (3) (Figs. 2, 6, 9; paras. [0033], [0028]-[0029]), and the device abutting surface (32) and the clamping portion (451) are suitable to abut against the back side of the mobile device (9) (see Figs. 2, 5-6; paras. [0023], [0028]-[0030]).
Wang do not explicitly disclose a positioning portion disposed at the device abutting surface. In the same field of endeavor, AAPA disclose a traditional protective set comprising a main frame having e.g. a circular positioning portion for users to choose the circumferential edge of the decorative strip or the backplate to combine and position on the positioning portion according to their needs (¶ [0004]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a positioning portion in the main frame of Wang in the same way as the positioning portion of AAPA in order for the user to select some feature/object to combine/hook and position on the positioning portion according to the user’s preference as suggested by AAPA.
Regarding claim 14, Wang further disclose the assembling component of the mobile device protective case set according to claim 13, wherein a place where a display screen (front face display) of the mobile device (9) is located faces toward a forward direction (forward Y direction; see Fig. 2), a place where the back side of the mobile device (9) is located faces toward a backward direction (direction opposite the forward Y direction) (see Fig. 2), the device abutting surface (32) is a facing forward surface of the back flange (34) (facing forward in the Y direction; see Fig. 2), and the device abutting surface (32) and a facing forward (forward Y direction) surface of the clamping portion (451) are suitable to abut against the back side of the mobile device (9) (see Figs. 2, 5-6; paras. [0023], [0028]-[0029]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- Poon et al (US 2016/0,211,877) discloses a protective case for a portable electronic device wherein the portable electronic device is held in a case assembly by inserting device into front opening such that edges of the stretchable rubber cover stretch over the device and secure the device in the case assembly
- Kim (US 2016/0,204,817) discloses a case for an electronic device which has a protective shell for protecting the electronic device and has a protective film for covering a front portion of the electronic device wherein a protective shell comprises an inverted L-shaped recess for receiving the edges of the film
- Jia et al (US 8,706,176) discloses a cell phone protector case including a combination of an interior hard shell and an exterior soft shell with three protrusion visible on each side of the rear surface of the exterior soft shell
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648