DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (US 2024/0184085).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses a compound lens (see figures 2A-2B, for instance) comprising: four coaxially aligned lenses including (i) a first substrate (11), and a first lens (12) and, in order of increasing distance therefrom, and on a same side thereof, (ii) a second lens (13), a second substrate (14), a third lens (16), a third substrate (17), and a fourth lens (18); wherein the first lens is negative lens ([0027]); and wherein the second lens, the third lens and the fourth lens are positive lenses ([0028], see also Figure 2C).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng discloses the compound lens of claim 1, wherein the first substrate (11) has a first planar surface facing an image plane (see fig. 2A), and the first lens (12) is bonded to the first planar surface and has a first lens surface which is paraxial concave facing the image plane (see figure 2A).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng discloses the compound lens of claim 1, wherein the second substrate (14) has a second planar surface facing away from an image plane, and the second lens (13) is bonded to the second planar surface and has a second lens surface which is paraxial convex facing away from the image plane (see figure 2A).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng discloses the compound lens of claim 1, wherein the third substrate (17) has a third planar surface facing away from an image plane, and a third lens (16) is bonded to the third planar surface and has a third lens surface which is a paraxial convex facing away the image plane (see figure 2A).
Regarding claim 5, Cheng discloses the compound lens of claim 1, wherein the third substrate (17) has a fourth planar surface facing an image plane, and the fourth lens (18) is bonded to the fourth planar surface and has a fourth lens surface which is a paraxial convex facing the image plane (see figure 2A, for instance).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng discloses the compound lens of claim 1, wherein the compound lens satisfies a following conditional expression: 1.3<TTL/D<2.1 (see figure 2C, for instance), where TTL is a total track length from a surface of the first substrate facing away from an image plane to the image plane, and D is a diagonal diameter of the image plane.
Regarding claim 7, Cheng discloses the compound lens of claim 1, wherein the compound lens satisfies a following conditional expression: −2.1<R4/F<−0.8, where R4 is a radius of a fourth lens surface of the fourth lens facing an image plane, and F is an effective focal length of the compound lens (see figure 2C, for instance).
Regarding claim 8, Cheng discloses the compound lens of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first substrate (11) is less than or equal to 0.3 mm (Fig. 2C, 0.24 mm).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng discloses the compound lens of claim 1, wherein a maximum thickness of the first lens (12) parallel to an optical axis within an optical effective area of the first lens is less than or equal to 0.4 mm (see figure 2C, 0.221 mm).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kobayashi (US 2023/0288665) discloses a compound lens having a negative first lens, and positive second, third, and fourth lenses, respectively.
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 7/22/2026