DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Currently claim 17 depends on claim 14 but should depend on claim 16; claim 18 depends on claim 15 but should depend on claim 17; claim 19 depends on claim 14 but should depend on claim 16; and claim 20 depends on claim 14 but should depend on claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-10, 13, 16, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mosher et al. [Mosher] (US PGPub 2007/0029446) in view of Vaujour et al. [Vaujour] (US PGPub 2021/0374892).
As to claim 1
Mosher discloses a system for producing a modular bus architecture (modular platform architecture 100, see Fig. 4) for use in a satellite (communications satellite variant 400, see Fig. 1), comprising:
a processor (spacecraft processor element 28, see Fig. 3);
a support structure (structural element 22, see Fig. 3/support structure; see paragraph 0094, line 4) arrangement selected from predefined support structure components (plurality of modules; see paragraph 0019, line 4/several functional elements; see paragraph 0067, line 8/functional components; see paragraph 0094, line 1) that are configurable to form various modular bus architectures for use in outer space where the support structure is configurable in a plurality of arrangements as determined by an intended space-based mission (specific mission; see paragraph 0072, line 5/intended mission; see paragraph 0094, line 8) (see paragraph 0019, lines 2-7 and paragraph 0094, lines 1-17); and
components that are included with the support structure as determined based on parameters selected for an intended mission (see paragraph 0094, lines 7-17).
Though Mosher discloses a system constructing the satellite from a modular platform based on modular platform architecture for a specific outer space mission; Mosher fails to specifically disclose the processor within the system configurable to determine a build of the modular bus architecture based on pre-set parameters.
Vaujour discloses a system comprising a processor (evaluation system 110, see Figs. 1A-C) configurable to determine a build of a modular bus architecture (spacecraft platform/satellite bus; see paragraph 0024, line 2), for use in a satellite (satellite; see paragraph 0022, line 7), based on pre-set parameters wherein the processor selects components (sensors 104/payloads 106, see Fig. 1) based on parameters (orbital parameters 129, see Fig. 4A) selected for an intended mission (purposes; see paragraph 0077, line 8) (see paragraph 0014, lines 4-6 and paragraph 0082, lines 1-7).
Mosher and Vaujour are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is satellite configuration. At the time of invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mosher’s invention with Vaujour’s in order to provide an on-board processor to perform the selection of components task (see Vaujour paragraph 0088, lines 22-25), since doing so would make it possible to reconfigure the satellite while it is outer space (see Vaujour paragraph 0017, lines 1-6).
As to claim 2
Mosher discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor comprises at least one preprogrammed algorithm (see paragraph 0009, lines 8-9).
As to claim 5
Mosher discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the satellite is part of a swarm of same satellites (family of satellites; see paragraph 0057, line 4).
As to claim 6
Mosher discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the support structure comprises one or more electronic components (see paragraph 0065, lines 4-9).
As to claim 7
Mosher discloses a method for producing a modular bus architecture (modular platform architecture 100, see Fig. 4) for use in a satellite (communications satellite variant 400, see Fig. 1), comprising:
determining a build of the modular bus architecture based on pre-set parameters that are provided to a processor (spacecraft processor element 28, see Fig. 3), further comprising:
arranging a support structure (structural element 22, see Fig. 3/support structure; see paragraph 0094, line 4) selected from predefined support structure components (plurality of modules; see paragraph 0019, line 4/several functional elements; see paragraph 0067, line 8/functional components; see paragraph 0094, line 1) that are configurable to form various modular bus architectures for use in outer space where the support structure is configurable in a plurality of arrangements as determined by an intended space-based mission (specific mission; see paragraph 0072, line 5/intended mission; see paragraph 0094, line 8) (see paragraph 0019, lines 2-7 and paragraph 0094, lines 1-17); and
selecting components that are included with the support structure as determined by the processor based on parameters selected for an intended mission (see paragraph 0094, lines 7-17).
Though Mosher discloses a method for producing the satellite from a modular platform based on modular platform architecture for a specific outer space mission; Mosher fails to specifically disclose the processor configurable to determine a build of the modular bus architecture based on pre-set parameters.
Vaujour discloses a method comprising a processor (evaluation system 110, see Figs. 1A-C) configurable to determine a build of a modular bus architecture (spacecraft platform/satellite bus; see paragraph 0024, line 2), for use in a satellite (satellite; see paragraph 0022, line 7), based on pre-set parameters wherein the processor selects components (sensors 104/payloads 106, see Fig. 1) based on parameters (orbital parameters 129, see Fig. 4A) selected for an intended mission (purposes; see paragraph 0077, line 8) (see paragraph 0014, lines 4-6 and paragraph 0082, lines 1-7).
Mosher and Vaujour are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is satellite configuration. At the time of invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mosher’s invention with Vaujour’s in order to provide an on-board processor to perform the selection of components task (see Vaujour paragraph 0088, lines 22-25), since doing so would make it possible to reconfigure the satellite while it is outer space (see Vaujour paragraph 0017, lines 1-6).
As to claim 8
Mosher discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the satellite is part of a swarm of same satellites (family of satellites; see paragraph 0057, line 4).
As to claim 9
Vaujour discloses the method of claim 8, wherein subsequent satellites that are part of the swarm comprise the same parameters (see paragraph 0013, lines 6-8 and paragraph 0075, lines 1-4).
As to claim 10
Mosher discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the processor comprises at least one preprogrammed algorithm (see paragraph 0009, lines 8-9).
As to claim 13
Mosher discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the support structure comprises one or more electronic components (see paragraph 0065, lines 4-9).
As to claim 16
Mosher discloses a satellite (communications satellite variant 400, see Fig. 1) that is part of a swarm of satellites (family of satellites; see paragraph 0057, line 4), the satellite comprising:
a support structure (structural element 22, see Fig. 3/support structure; see paragraph 0094, line 4) formed from a set of predefined support structures that are configurable to form the support structure for an intended mission (specific mission; see paragraph 0072, line 5/intended mission; see paragraph 0094, line 8) of the satellite (see paragraph 0019, lines 2-7 and paragraph 0094, lines 1-17); and
a plurality of components (plurality of modules; see paragraph 0019, line 4/several functional elements; see paragraph 0067, line 8/functional components; see paragraph 0094, line 1) included with the support structure, wherein the plurality of components are selected (spacecraft processor element 28, see Fig. 3) (see paragraph 0094, lines 7-17).
Though Mosher discloses the satellite wherein a plurality of components are selected within the support structure; Mosher fails to specifically disclose the processor selecting the components. Mosher also fails to specifically disclose the satellite wherein the resulting satellite build is repeatable so that each satellite in the swarm is identical as established by the processor.
Vaujour discloses a satellite (satellite; see paragraph 0022, line 7) wherein a plurality of components (sensors 104/payloads 106, see Fig. 1) are selected by a processor (evaluation system 110, see Figs. 1A-C) (see paragraph 0014, lines 4-6 and paragraph 0082, lines 1-7).
Vaujour also discloses the satellite wherein the resulting satellite build is repeatable so that each satellite in the swarm is identical as established by the processor (see paragraph 0013, lines 6-8 and paragraph 0075, lines 1-4).
Mosher and Vaujour are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is satellite configuration. At the time of invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mosher’s invention with Vaujour’s in order to provide an on-board processor to perform the selection of components task (see Vaujour paragraph 0088, lines 22-25), since doing so would make it possible to reconfigure the satellite while it is outer space (see Vaujour paragraph 0017, lines 1-6).
As to claim 17
Mosher discloses the satellite of claim 14, wherein the processor comprises at least one preprogrammed algorithm (see paragraph 0009, lines 8-9).
As to claim 20
Mosher discloses the satellite of claim 14, wherein the support structure comprises one or more electronic components (see paragraph 0065, lines 4-9).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 11, 12, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mosher et al. [Mosher] (US PGPub 2007/0029446), in view of Vaujour et al. [Vaujour] (US PGPub 2021/0374892), and further in view of Richarte et al. [Richarte] (US PGPub 2024/0242392).
As to claim 3
Mosher and Vaujour disclose the system as cited in claim 2; however, Mosher and Vaujour fail to specifically disclose the system wherein the at least one preprogrammed algorithm comprises at least one machine learning algorithm.
Richarte discloses a system comprising at least one preprogrammed algorithm that comprises at least one machine learning algorithm (see paragraph 0092, lines 1-8).
Mosher, Vaujour, and Richarte are analogous are because they are from the same field of endeavor which is satellite configuration. At the time of invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mosher’s and Vaujour’s inventions with Richarte’s in order to use machine learning to select the necessary components, since doing so would make it possible to train and retrain or update while the satellites are in-orbit (see Richarte paragraph 0092, lines 12-18).
As to claim 4
Richarte discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor comprises an artificial intelligence (“AI”) subsystem (see paragraph 0076, lines 6-12).
As to claim 11
Mosher and Vaujour disclose the method as cited in claim 10; however, Mosher and Vaujour fail to specifically disclose the method wherein the at least one preprogrammed algorithm comprises at least one machine learning algorithm.
Richarte discloses a method comprising at least one preprogrammed algorithm that comprises at least one machine learning algorithm (see paragraph 0092, lines 1-8).
Mosher, Vaujour, and Richarte are analogous are because they are from the same field of endeavor which is satellite configuration. At the time of invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mosher’s and Vaujour’s inventions with Richarte’s in order to use machine learning to select the necessary components, since doing so would make it possible to train and retrain or update while the satellites are in-orbit (see Richarte paragraph 0092, lines 12-18).
As to claim 12
Richarte discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the processor comprises an artificial intelligence (“AI”) subsystem (see paragraph 0076, lines 6-12).
As to claim 18
Mosher and Vaujour disclose the satellite as cited in claim 15; however, Mosher and Vaujour fail to specifically disclose the satellite wherein the at least one preprogrammed algorithm comprises at least one machine learning algorithm.
Richarte discloses a satellite (satellite 102, see Fig. 1) comprising at least one preprogrammed algorithm that comprises at least one machine learning algorithm (see paragraph 0092, lines 1-8).
Mosher, Vaujour, and Richarte are analogous are because they are from the same field of endeavor which is satellite configuration. At the time of invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mosher’s and Vaujour’s inventions with Richarte’s in order to use machine learning to select the necessary components, since doing so would make it possible to train and retrain or update while the satellites are in-orbit (see Richarte paragraph 0092, lines 12-18).
As to claim 19
Richarte discloses the satellite of claim 14, wherein the processor comprises an artificial intelligence (“AI”) subsystem (see paragraph 0076, lines 6-12).
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mosher et al. [Mosher] (US PGPub 2007/0029446), in view of Vaujour et al. [Vaujour] (US PGPub 2021/0374892), and further in view of Dunn et al. [Dunn] (US PGPub 2015/0210408).
As to claim 14
Mosher and Vaujour disclose the method as cited in claim 7; however, Mosher and Vaujour fail to specifically disclose the method further comprising: manufacturing at least a portion of the support structure via an automated manufacturing process.
Dunn discloses a method comprising: manufacturing at least a portion of the support structure (support apparatus 100, see Fig. 1) via an automated manufacturing process (additive manufacturing) (see paragraph 0038, lines 1-10).
Mosher, Vaujour, and Dunn are analogous are because they are from the same field of endeavor which is satellite configuration. At the time of invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mosher’s and Vaujour’s inventions with Dunn’s in order to include an additive manufacturing device with the satellite, since doing so would make it possible construct the support structure in-orbit (see Dunn paragraph 0092, lines 9-10).
As to claim 15
Dunn discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the automated manufacturing process at least partially comprises additive manufacturing (see paragraph 0038, lines 1-10).
Conclusion
/Michael J Brown/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115