DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-10 are pending.
Claim 1 is canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/11/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12113357. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of instant application of a control server connected to consumption control devices controlling electricity consumption of electric devices by performing the steps of: calculating electricity consumption reduction amount, generating control data used by control device to control electricity consumption, and transmitting the control data to specific consumption control devices are identical or similar to the reference patent which claims a control server that receive electricity consumption related data, calculates electricity consumption reduction amount, generating consumption control data, and transmitting to each of specific consumption control devices. Furthermore, see below table.
18/830,648 (Instant Application)
USP 12113357 (Reference Patent)
2. A control server communicably connected to a plurality of consumption control devices of a plurality of users through a communication network, each of the plurality of consumption control devices controlling electricity consumption of one or more electric devices that consume electricity, the control server comprising:
circuitry configured to:
calculate, for each of the plurality of users and based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount, an electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested;
generate, for each of the plurality of users and based on the corresponding consumption reduction amount, control data used by the consumption control device to control electricity consumption of corresponding one or more electric devices; and
transmit, for each of the plurality of users, the corresponding control data to a specific one of the plurality of consumption control devices corresponding to the consumption reduction amount.
1. A control server, comprising
circuitry configured to:
receive, via a communication network, electricity consumption related data from a plurality of consumption control devices of a plurality of users, the electricity consumption related data of each consumption control device including records of electricity consumption of one or more electric devices of a corresponding one of the plurality of users;
determine whether a total amount of electricity consumed by the plurality of users is greater than a total amount of electricity provided by a plurality of producers;
based on a determination that the total amount of electricity consumed is greater than the total amount of electricity provided, calculate a first electricity consumption reduction amount for each of one or more users of the plurality of users, according to an order of a priority set on the plurality of users from a top to one until a condition is satisfied, the condition being that the total amount of electricity consumed is equal to or less than the total amount of electricity provided;
determine, for each of the one or more users, one or more specific electric devices among from the one or more electric devices and a second electricity consumption reduction amount of each of the one or more specific electric devices, based on the electricity consumption related data and reference data;
generate, for each of the one or more users, consumption control data including information on the one or more specific electric devices and the second electricity consumption reduction amount of each of the one or more specific electric devices; and
transmit to, each of specific one or more consumption control devices of the one or more users, the consumption control data to cause each of the one or more consumption control devices to perform electricity consumption control in relation to the one or more specific electric devices.
3. The control server of claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine, for each of the plurality of users and based on the electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested, another electricity consumption reduction amount for a specific one of the one or more electric devices of each of the plurality of users.
1. determine, for each of the one or more users, one or more specific electric devices among from the one or more electric devices and a second electricity consumption reduction amount of each of the one or more specific electric devices, based on the electricity consumption related data and reference data;
4. The control server of claim 2, wherein the circuitry transmits the control data via a blockchain network on which item information associated with the consumption control data is generated.
3. The control server of claim 1, wherein
the circuitry transmits the consumption control data via a blockchain network on which item information associated with the consumption control data is generated.
5. The control server of claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
receive, via the communication network, electricity consumption related data from the plurality of consumption control devices, the electricity consumption related data of each electricity consumption device including records of electricity consumption of the one or more electric devices of a corresponding one of the plurality of users; and
determine the total consumption amount of the total supply amount based on the electricity consumption related data.
1. circuitry configured to:
receive, via a communication network, electricity consumption related data from a plurality of consumption control devices of a plurality of users, the electricity consumption related data of each consumption control device including records of electricity consumption of one or more electric devices of a corresponding one of the plurality of users;
determine whether a total amount of electricity consumed by the plurality of users is greater than a total amount of electricity provided by a plurality of producers;
6. The control server of claim 5, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
determine whether the total consumption amount is greater than a total amount of electricity provided by a plurality of producers; and
based on a determination that the total consumption amount is greater than the total amount of electricity provided, calculate a first electricity consumption reduction amount for each of one or more users of the plurality of users, according to an order of a priority set on the plurality of users from a top to one until a condition is satisfied, the condition being that the total amount of electricity consumed is equal to or less than the total amount of electricity provided;
determine, for each of the one or more users, one or more specific electric devices among from the one or more electric devices and a second electricity consumption reduction amount of each of the one or more specific electric devices, based on the electricity consumption related data and reference data;
generate, for each of the one or more users, the control data used by the consumption control device, the control data including information on the one or more specific electric devices and the second electricity consumption reduction amount of each of the one or more specific electric devices; and
transmit, to each of specific one or more consumption control devices of the one or more users, the corresponding control data to cause each of the one or more consumption control devices to perform electricity consumption control in relation to the one or more specific electric devices.
1. circuitry configured to:
determine whether a total amount of electricity consumed by the plurality of users is greater than a total amount of electricity provided by a plurality of producers;
based on a determination that the total amount of electricity consumed is greater than the total amount of electricity provided, calculate a first electricity consumption reduction amount for each of one or more users of the plurality of users, according to an order of a priority set on the plurality of users from a top to one until a condition is satisfied, the condition being that the total amount of electricity consumed is equal to or less than the total amount of electricity provided;
determine, for each of the one or more users, one or more specific electric devices among from the one or more electric devices and a second electricity consumption reduction amount of each of the one or more specific electric devices, based on the electricity consumption related data and reference data;
generate, for each of the one or more users, consumption control data including information on the one or more specific electric devices and the second electricity consumption reduction amount of each of the one or more specific electric devices; and
transmit to, each of specific one or more consumption control devices of the one or more users, the consumption control data to cause each of the one or more consumption control devices to perform electricity consumption control in relation to the one or more specific electric devices.
7. The control server of claim 6, wherein
the electricity consumption related data includes at least one of electricity consumption amount data, setting value data, or sensor value data,
the electricity consumption amount data including an electricity consumption amount associated with the one or more specific electric devices,
the setting value data including setting values for operation of the one or more specific electric devices, and
the sensor value data including a value obtained by a sensor provided in proximity to each of the one or more electric devices.
2. The control server of claim 1, wherein
the electricity consumption related data includes at least one of electricity consumption amount data, setting value data, or sensor value data,
the electricity consumption amount data including an electricity consumption amount associated with the one or more specific electric devices,
the setting value data including setting values for operation of the specific one or more electricity devices, and
the sensor value data including a value obtained by a sensor provided in proximity to each of the one or more electric devices.
8. A tracking system, comprising:
the control server of claim 5, and
a consumption control device which is the specific one of the plurality of consumption control devices, the consumption control device including consumption control device circuitry configured to
transmit, to the control server, the electricity consumption related data,
receive, from the control server, the consumption control data, and
output, to the one or more specific electric devices, setting change data for performing consumption control of the one or more specific electric devices, the setting change data being based on the consumption control data received from the control server.
4. A tracking system, comprising:
the control server of claim 1, and
a consumption control device included in the one or more specific one of the plurality of consumption control devices, the consumption control device including consumption control device circuitry configured to
transmit, to the control server, the electricity consumption related data,
receive, from the control server, the consumption control data, and
output, to the one or more specific electric devices, setting change data for performing consumption control of the one or more specific electric devices, the setting change data being based on the consumption control data received from the control server.
9. A control method of a control server
communicably connected to a plurality of consumption control devices of a plurality of users through a communication network, each of the plurality of electricity consumption devices controlling electricity consumption of one or more electric devices that consume electricity, the control method comprising:
calculating, for each of the plurality of users and based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount, an electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested;
generating, for each of the plurality of users and based on the corresponding consumption reduction amount, control data used by the consumption control device to control electricity consumption of corresponding one or more electric devices; and
transmitting, for each of the plurality of users, the corresponding control data to a specific one of the plurality of consumption control devices corresponding to the consumption reduction amount.
5. A communication method, comprising:
receiving, via a communication network, electricity consumption related data from a plurality of consumption control devices of a plurality of users, the electricity consumption related data of each consumption control device including records of electricity consumption of one or more electric devices of a corresponding one of the plurality of users:
determining whether a total amount of electricity consumed by the plurality of users is greater than a total amount of electricity provided by a plurality of producers;
based on a determination that the total amount of electricity consumed is greater than the total amount of electricity provided, calculating a first electricity consumption reduction amount for each of one or more users of the plurality of users, according to an order of a priority set on the plurality of users from a top to one until a condition is satisfied, the condition being that the total amount of electricity consumed is equal to or less than the total amount of electricity provided;
determining, for each of the one or more users, one or more specific electric devices among from the one or more electric devices and a second electricity consumption reduction amount of each of the one or more specific electric devices, based on the electricity consumption related data and reference data;
generating for each of the one or more users, consumption control data including information on the one or more specific electric devices and the second electricity consumption reduction amount of each of the one or more specific electric devices; and
transmitting to, each of specific one or more consumption control devices of the one or more users, the consumption control data to cause each of the one or more consumption control devices to perform electricity consumption control in relation to the one or more specific electric devices.
10. A non-transitory recording medium storing a plurality of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of a control server communicably connected to a plurality of consumption control devices of a plurality of users through a communication network, each of the plurality of electricity consumption devices controlling electricity consumption of one or more electric devices that consume electricity, causes the one or more processors of the control server to perform a control method comprising:
calculating, for each of the plurality of users and based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount, an electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested;
generating, for each of the plurality of users and based on the corresponding consumption reduction amount, control data used by the consumption control device to control electricity consumption of corresponding one or more electric devices; and
transmitting, for each of the plurality of users, the corresponding control data to a specific one of the plurality of consumption control devices corresponding to the consumption reduction amount.
6. A non-transitory recording medium storing a plurality of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the processors to perform a method, the method comprising:
receiving, via a communication network, electricity consumption related data from a plurality of consumption control devices of a plurality of users, the electricity consumption related data of each consumption control device including records of electricity consumption of one or more electric devices of a corresponding one of the plurality of users;
determining whether a total amount of electricity consumed by the plurality of users is greater than a total amount of electricity provided by a plurality of producers;
based on a determination that the total amount of electricity consumed is greater than the total amount of electricity provided, calculating a first electricity consumption reduction amount for each of one or more users of the plurality of users, according to an order of a priority set on the plurality of users from a top to one until a condition is satisfied, the condition being that the total amount of electricity consumed is equal to or less than the total amount of electricity provided;
determining, for each of the one or more users, one or more specific electric devices among from the one or more electric devices and a second electricity consumption reduction amount of each of the one or more specific electric devices, based on the electricity consumption related data and reference data;
generating for each of the one or more users, consumption control data including information on the one or more specific electric devices and the second electricity consumption reduction amount of each of the one or more specific electric devices; and
transmitting to, each of specific one or more consumption control devices of the one or more users, the consumption control data to cause each of the one or more consumption control devices to perform electricity consumption control in relation to the one or more specific electric devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEJIMA et al. JP 2019/170037 A (hereinafter “MAEJIMA”), in view of TOMITA et al. JP 2014054123 A (hereinafter “TOMITA”).
Regarding claim 2, MAEJIMA teaches a control server communicably connected to a plurality of consumption control devices of a plurality of users through a communication network ([FIG. 2 Description] “In response to a request for power suppression from the aggregator business facility 2, the power suppression device 1 communicates with the facility device 5 installed in the consumer via the customer's HEMS gateway (Home Energy Management System) 3 (facility device). 5)”, “The “HEMS gateway” refers to a device that communicates with a facility device (for example, an air conditioner) or a smart meter in a consumer and controls a set value (for example, a set temperature) of the facility device to suppress power consumption”, wherein examiner interpreted power suppression device that communicates with the facility device in the consumer via HEMS gateway as a control server communicably connected to a plurality of consumption control devices of a plurality of users through a communication network), each of the plurality of consumption control devices controlling electricity consumption of one or more electric devices that consume electricity ([FIG. 2 Description] “When the aggregator requests power suppression from the consumer, the power suppression device 1 should set the facility device 5 of each customer using these acquired values, triggered by a request from the aggregator business facility 2 Calculate the numerical value and the power that can be suppressed when the numerical value is set, and respond to the aggregator business facility 2. Based on the response regarding each consumer, the aggregator business facility 2 selects a plurality of consumers that contribute to the amount of suppression of power demand required for the aggregator. The power suppression device 1 communicates (instructs setting change of the facility device) with the facility device 5 through the HEMS gateway 3 of the selected consumer”, wherein examiner interpreted facility device of each customer as plurality of consumption control devices controlling electricity consumption of one or more electric devices that consume electricity), the control server comprising:
circuitry configured to: generate, for each of the plurality of users and based on the corresponding consumption reduction amount, control data used by the consumption control device to control electricity consumption of corresponding one or more electric devices ([FIG. 2 Description] “Based on the response regarding each consumer, the aggregator business facility 2 selects a plurality of consumers that contribute to the amount of suppression of power demand required for the aggregator. The power suppression device 1 communicates (instructs setting change of the facility device) with the facility device 5 through the HEMS gateway 3 of the selected consumer”, and [FIG. 2 Description] “The power suppression device 1 can change the set value (for example, the set temperature of the air conditioner) of the facility device 5 via the HEMS gateway 3 in response to the demand response activation request received from the aggregator business facility 2”, wherein examiner interpreted power suppression device determining numerical value to set or to change the set value as generating control data used by the consumption control device to control electricity consumption of corresponding one or more electric devices based on the corresponding consumption reduction amount); and
transmit, for each of the plurality of users, the corresponding control data to a specific one of the plurality of consumption control devices corresponding to the consumption reduction amount ([FIG. 2 Description] “Based on the response regarding each consumer, the aggregator business facility 2 selects a plurality of consumers that contribute to the amount of suppression of power demand required for the aggregator. The power suppression device 1 communicates (instructs setting change of the facility device) with the facility device 5 through the HEMS gateway 3 of the selected consumer”, and [FIG. 2 Description] “The power suppression device 1 can change the set value (for example, the set temperature of the air conditioner) of the facility device 5 via the HEMS gateway 3 in response to the demand response activation request received from the aggregator business facility 2” wherein examiner interpreted power suppression device communicating with facility devices to change the set value of the facility devices as transmit, for each of the plurality of users, the corresponding control data to a specific one of the plurality of consumption control devices corresponding to the consumption reduction amount).
MAEJIMA does not explicitly teach calculate, for each of the plurality of users and based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount, an electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested.
However, TOMITA teaches calculate, for each of the plurality of users and based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount, an electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested ([DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS] “The customer terminal EMS performs management of energy usage and control of each consumer device (the consumer load device and the consumer power generation device) according to the usage plan of the consumer load device determined on the power usage plan date. Specifically, a customer equipment operation plan pattern is received from the DSM server, and a control signal for changing the operating state is transmitted to each consumer equipment so as to realize this”, “The DSM server proposes a new usage plan for the load equipment in the consumer in consideration of the power supply / demand state in the consumer in response to the usage plan for the load equipment in the consumer desired by the consumer. Specifically, the DSM server functions to maintain a total supply and demand balance of the generated power of the photovoltaic power generation device PV in the target area, the discharge power of the storage battery, and the power consumption of the load equipment in the consumer”, [FIG. 1 Description] “ Returning to FIG. 1, the supply and demand balance data DB4 of the data management unit 34 is the supply and demand balance (= total supply capacity−total power consumption) and the photovoltaic power generation apparatus when the devices are operated with the individual device operation pattern data DB1. This is data that gives a change pattern of PV power generation output, storage battery charge / discharge power, and power consumption of consumer equipment”, “In this balance calculation, it is confirmed that it can be supplied with only the storage capacity of the storage battery until, for example, 8:00 when the power generation output of the photovoltaic power generation device PV rises. Similar supply and demand balance confirmation is executed for all the load devices in the customer and all the power generation devices in the customer planned for other time zones”, wherein examiner interpreted proposing a new usage plan based on power supply/demand state which includes calculating supply and demand balance as calculate, for each of the plurality of users and based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount, an electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested, wherein examiner interpreted supply/demand state and supply/demand balance used to create a plan as based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount; additionally, MAEJIMA teaches calculating numerical value and the power that can be suppressed when requested to suppress power consumption).
MAEJIMA, and TOMITA are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to power management systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above control server connected to a plurality of consumption control devices controlling electricity consumption, as taught by MAEJIMA, and incorporating calculating electricity consumption reduction amount based on total consumption amount and total supply amount, as taught by TOMITA.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve securing power supply to high-priority consumer load equipment, and ensuring there is enough power supply for usage by a consumer, as suggested by TOMITA (see [BACKGROUND-ART]).
Regarding claim 3, MAEJIMA, and TOMITA teaches all of the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
MAEJIMA further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine, for each of the plurality of users and based on the electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested, another electricity consumption reduction amount for a specific one of the one or more electric devices of each of the plurality of users ([FIG. 2 Description] “When the aggregator requests power suppression from the consumer, the power suppression device 1 should set the facility device 5 of each customer using these acquired values, triggered by a request from the aggregator business facility 2 Calculate the numerical value and the power that can be suppressed when the numerical value is set, and respond to the aggregator business facility 2. Based on the response regarding each consumer, the aggregator business facility 2 selects a plurality of consumers that contribute to the amount of suppression of power demand required for the aggregator. The power suppression device 1 communicates (instructs setting change of the facility device) with the facility device 5 through the HEMS gateway 3 of the selected consumer”, wherein examiner interpreted selecting plurality of consumers that contribute to amount of suppression of power demand required by aggregator as wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine, for each of the plurality of users and based on the electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested, another electricity consumption reduction amount for a specific one of the one or more electric devices of each of the plurality of users, wherein examiner interpreted plurality of consumers as including determining another electricity consumption reduction amount for a specific on of the one or more electric devices of each other plurality of users).
Regarding claim 5, MAEJIMA, and TOMITA teaches all of the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
TOMITA further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive, via the communication network, electricity consumption related data from the plurality of consumption control devices, the electricity consumption related data of each electricity consumption device including records of electricity consumption of the one or more electric devices of a corresponding one of the plurality of users ([FIG. 1 Description] “Among these, the data management part 34 is comprised by database DB holding various data for the effective formulation of a consumer apparatus operation plan. The main databases are device operation pattern data DB1, device operation request data DB2, request fitness data DB3, supply and demand balance data DB4, supply capability prediction data DB5, consumer load device power consumption data DB6, weather prediction data DB7, device characteristics This is the data DB 8, and the data management unit 34 manages these data”, “The data model of the equipment operation request data DB2 becomes an important element as a means for taking in the needs of consumers in the power demand management system (DSM server). The device operation request data DB2 is a bundle of a plurality of single request data. That is, when the usage plan for each consumer device is single request data, the device operation request data DB2 is a summary of the usage plans of all the consumer devices for this consumer for 24 hours”, wherein examiner interpreted data model of equipment used by power demand management system which includes supply and demand balance data, demand balance data DB4, supply capability prediction data DB5, consumer load device power consumption data DB6, among other various data as receive, via the communication network, electricity consumption related data from the plurality of consumption control devices, the electricity consumption related data of each electricity consumption device including records of electricity consumption of the one or more electric devices of a corresponding one of the plurality of users); and
determine the total consumption amount of the total supply amount based on the electricity consumption related data ([FIG. 1 Description] “the supply and demand balance data DB4 of the data management unit 34 is the supply and demand balance (= total supply capacity−total power consumption) and the photovoltaic power generation apparatus when the devices are operated with the individual device operation pattern data DB1. This is data that gives a change pattern of PV power generation output, storage battery charge / discharge power, and power consumption of consumer equipment”, wherein examiner interpreted supply and demand balance data that determines power consumption of consumer equipment as determining the total consumption amount of the total supply amount based on the electricity consumption related data).
Regarding claim 8, MAEJIMA, and TOMITA teaches all of the features with respect to claim 5 as outlined above.
MAEJIMA further teaches a tracking system ([FIG. 2 Description] “The “HEMS gateway” refers to a device that communicates with a facility device (for example, an air conditioner) or a smart meter in a consumer and controls a set value (for example, a set temperature) of the facility device to suppress power consumption”, wherein examiner interpreted HEMS gateway as a tracking system), comprising:
the control server of claim 5 (see claim 5 above), and
a consumption control device which is the specific one of the plurality of consumption control devices, the consumption control device including consumption control device circuitry configured to ((FIG. 2 Description] “According to Fig.2 (a), the power suppression apparatus 1 is installed in the aggregator side. The power suppression device 1 acquires setting numerical values and environmental numerical values from the equipment device 5 and the electric energy measurement value from the smart meter 6 via the customer's HEMS gateway 3. When the aggregator requests power suppression from the consumer, the power suppression device 1 should set the facility device 5 of each customer using these acquired values, triggered by a request from the aggregator business facility 2”, wherein power suppression device controlling power suppression of consumer as consumption control device which is specific one of the plurality of consumption control devices the consumption control device including consumption control device circuitry)
transmit, to the control server, the electricity consumption related data ([FIG. 2 Description] “The power suppression device 1 acquires setting numerical values and environmental numerical values from the equipment device 5 and the electric energy measurement value from the smart meter 6 via the customer's HEMS gateway 3”, wherein examiner interpreted acquiring setting numerical values and environmental numerical values from he equipment device and electric energy measurement value as transmitting, to the control server, the electricity consumption related data),
receive, from the control server, the consumption control data ([FIG. 2 Description] “The power suppression device 1 acquires setting numerical values and environmental numerical values from the equipment device 5 and the electric energy measurement value from the smart meter 6 via the customer's HEMS gateway 3”, wherein examiner interpreted acquiring setting numerical values and environmental numerical values from he equipment device and electric energy measurement value as receiving, from the control server, the consumption control data), and
output, to the one or more specific electric devices, setting change data for performing consumption control of the one or more specific electric devices, the setting change data being based on the consumption control data received from the control server ([FIG. 2 Description] “When the aggregator requests power suppression from the consumer, the power suppression device 1 should set the facility device 5 of each customer using these acquired values, triggered by a request from the aggregator business facility 2 Calculate the numerical value and the power that can be suppressed when the numerical value is set, and respond to the aggregator business facility 2. Based on the response regarding each consumer, the aggregator business facility 2 selects a plurality of consumers that contribute to the amount of suppression of power demand required for the aggregator. The power suppression device 1 communicates (instructs setting change of the facility device) with the facility device 5 through the HEMS gateway 3 of the selected consumer”, wherein examiner interpreted calculating numerical value and the power that can be suppressed when numerical value is set, selecting, and instructing setting change of facility devices as outputting, to the one or more specific electric devices, setting change data for performing consumption control of the one or more specific electric devices, the setting change data being based on the consumption control data received from the control server).
Regarding claim 9, MAEJIMA teaches a control method of a control server communicably connected to a plurality of consumption control devices of a plurality of users through a communication network ([FIG. 2 Description] “In response to a request for power suppression from the aggregator business facility 2, the power suppression device 1 communicates with the facility device 5 installed in the consumer via the customer's HEMS gateway (Home Energy Management System) 3 (facility device). 5)”, “The “HEMS gateway” refers to a device that communicates with a facility device (for example, an air conditioner) or a smart meter in a consumer and controls a set value (for example, a set temperature) of the facility device to suppress power consumption”, wherein examiner interpreted power suppression device that communicates with the facility device in the consumer via HEMS gateway as a control method of a control server communicably connected to a plurality of consumption control devices of a plurality of users through a communication network), each of the plurality of electricity consumption devices controlling electricity consumption of one or more electric devices that consume electricity ([FIG. 2 Description] “When the aggregator requests power suppression from the consumer, the power suppression device 1 should set the facility device 5 of each customer using these acquired values, triggered by a request from the aggregator business facility 2 Calculate the numerical value and the power that can be suppressed when the numerical value is set, and respond to the aggregator business facility 2. Based on the response regarding each consumer, the aggregator business facility 2 selects a plurality of consumers that contribute to the amount of suppression of power demand required for the aggregator. The power suppression device 1 communicates (instructs setting change of the facility device) with the facility device 5 through the HEMS gateway 3 of the selected consumer”, wherein examiner interpreted facility device of each customer as plurality of consumption control devices controlling electricity consumption of one or more electric devices that consume electricity), the control method comprising:
generating, for each of the plurality of users and based on the corresponding consumption reduction amount, control data used by the consumption control device to control electricity consumption of corresponding one or more electric devices ([FIG. 2 Description] “Based on the response regarding each consumer, the aggregator business facility 2 selects a plurality of consumers that contribute to the amount of suppression of power demand required for the aggregator. The power suppression device 1 communicates (instructs setting change of the facility device) with the facility device 5 through the HEMS gateway 3 of the selected consumer”, and [FIG. 2 Description] “The power suppression device 1 can change the set value (for example, the set temperature of the air conditioner) of the facility device 5 via the HEMS gateway 3 in response to the demand response activation request received from the aggregator business facility 2”, wherein examiner interpreted power suppression device determining numerical value to set or to change the set value as generating control data used by the consumption control device to control electricity consumption of corresponding one or more electric devices based on the corresponding consumption reduction amount); and
transmitting, for each of the plurality of users, the corresponding control data to a specific one of the plurality of consumption control devices corresponding to the consumption reduction amount ([FIG. 2 Description] “Based on the response regarding each consumer, the aggregator business facility 2 selects a plurality of consumers that contribute to the amount of suppression of power demand required for the aggregator. The power suppression device 1 communicates (instructs setting change of the facility device) with the facility device 5 through the HEMS gateway 3 of the selected consumer”, and [FIG. 2 Description] “The power suppression device 1 can change the set value (for example, the set temperature of the air conditioner) of the facility device 5 via the HEMS gateway 3 in response to the demand response activation request received from the aggregator business facility 2” wherein examiner interpreted power suppression device communicating with facility devices to change the set value of the facility devices as transmitting, for each of the plurality of users, the corresponding control data to a specific one of the plurality of consumption control devices corresponding to the consumption reduction amount).
MAEJIMA does not explicitly teach calculating, for each of the plurality of users and based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount, an electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested.
However, TOMITA teaches calculating, for each of the plurality of users and based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount, an electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested ([DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS] “The customer terminal EMS performs management of energy usage and control of each consumer device (the consumer load device and the consumer power generation device) according to the usage plan of the consumer load device determined on the power usage plan date. Specifically, a customer equipment operation plan pattern is received from the DSM server, and a control signal for changing the operating state is transmitted to each consumer equipment so as to realize this”, “The DSM server proposes a new usage plan for the load equipment in the consumer in consideration of the power supply / demand state in the consumer in response to the usage plan for the load equipment in the consumer desired by the consumer. Specifically, the DSM server functions to maintain a total supply and demand balance of the generated power of the photovoltaic power generation device PV in the target area, the discharge power of the storage battery, and the power consumption of the load equipment in the consumer”, [FIG. 1 Description] “ Returning to FIG. 1, the supply and demand balance data DB4 of the data management unit 34 is the supply and demand balance (= total supply capacity−total power consumption) and the photovoltaic power generation apparatus when the devices are operated with the individual device operation pattern data DB1. This is data that gives a change pattern of PV power generation output, storage battery charge / discharge power, and power consumption of consumer equipment”, “In this balance calculation, it is confirmed that it can be supplied with only the storage capacity of the storage battery until, for example, 8:00 when the power generation output of the photovoltaic power generation device PV rises. Similar supply and demand balance confirmation is executed for all the load devices in the customer and all the power generation devices in the customer planned for other time zones”, wherein examiner interpreted proposing a new usage plan based on power supply/demand state which includes calculating supply and demand balance as calculating, for each of the plurality of users and based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount, an electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested, wherein examiner interpreted supply/demand state and supply/demand balance used to create a plan as based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount; additionally, MAEJIMA teaches calculating numerical value and the power that can be suppressed when requested to suppress power consumption).
MAEJIMA, and TOMITA are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to power management systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above control server connected to a plurality of consumption control devices controlling electricity consumption, as taught by MAEJIMA, and incorporating calculating electricity consumption reduction amount based on total consumption amount and total supply amount, as taught by TOMITA.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve securing power supply to high-priority consumer load equipment, and ensuring there is enough power supply for usage by a consumer, as suggested by TOMITA (see [BACKGROUND-ART]).
Regarding claim 10, MAEJIMA teaches a non-transitory recording medium storing a plurality of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of a control server communicably connected to a plurality of consumption control devices of a plurality of users through a communication network ([FIG. 2 Description] “In response to a request for power suppression from the aggregator business facility 2, the power suppression device 1 communicates with the facility device 5 installed in the consumer via the customer's HEMS gateway (Home Energy Management System) 3 (facility device). 5)”, “The “HEMS gateway” refers to a device that communicates with a facility device (for example, an air conditioner) or a smart meter in a consumer and controls a set value (for example, a set temperature) of the facility device to suppress power consumption”, wherein examiner interpreted power suppression device that communicates with the facility device in the consumer via HEMS gateway as A non-transitory recording medium storing a plurality of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of a control server communicably connected to a plurality of consumption control devices of a plurality of users through a communication network), each of the plurality of electricity consumption devices controlling electricity consumption of one or more electric devices that consume electricity ([FIG. 2 Description] “When the aggregator requests power suppression from the consumer, the power suppression device 1 should set the facility device 5 of each customer using these acquired values, triggered by a request from the aggregator business facility 2 Calculate the numerical value and the power that can be suppressed when the numerical value is set, and respond to the aggregator business facility 2. Based on the response regarding each consumer, the aggregator business facility 2 selects a plurality of consumers that contribute to the amount of suppression of power demand required for the aggregator. The power suppression device 1 communicates (instructs setting change of the facility device) with the facility device 5 through the HEMS gateway 3 of the selected consumer”, wherein examiner interpreted facility device of each customer as plurality of consumption control devices controlling electricity consumption of one or more electric devices that consume electricity), causes the one or more processors of the control server to perform a control method comprising ([FIG. 3 Description] “These functional components are realized by executing a program that causes a computer installed in the apparatus to function. Moreover, the flow of processing of these functional components can also be understood as a method for suppressing the power of the apparatus”):
generating, for each of the plurality of users and based on the corresponding consumption reduction amount, control data used by the consumption control device to control electricity consumption of corresponding one or more electric devices ([FIG. 2 Description] “Based on the response regarding each consumer, the aggregator business facility 2 selects a plurality of consumers that contribute to the amount of suppression of power demand required for the aggregator. The power suppression device 1 communicates (instructs setting change of the facility device) with the facility device 5 through the HEMS gateway 3 of the selected consumer”, and [FIG. 2 Description] “The power suppression device 1 can change the set value (for example, the set temperature of the air conditioner) of the facility device 5 via the HEMS gateway 3 in response to the demand response activation request received from the aggregator business facility 2”, wherein examiner interpreted power suppression device determining numerical value to set or to change the set value as generating control data used by the consumption control device to control electricity consumption of corresponding one or more electric devices based on the corresponding consumption reduction amount); and
transmitting, for each of the plurality of users, the corresponding control data to a specific one of the plurality of consumption control devices corresponding to the consumption reduction amount ([FIG. 2 Description] “Based on the response regarding each consumer, the aggregator business facility 2 selects a plurality of consumers that contribute to the amount of suppression of power demand required for the aggregator. The power suppression device 1 communicates (instructs setting change of the facility device) with the facility device 5 through the HEMS gateway 3 of the selected consumer”, and [FIG. 2 Description] “The power suppression device 1 can change the set value (for example, the set temperature of the air conditioner) of the facility device 5 via the HEMS gateway 3 in response to the demand response activation request received from the aggregator business facility 2” wherein examiner interpreted power suppression device communicating with facility devices to change the set value of the facility devices as transmitting, for each of the plurality of users, the corresponding control data to a specific one of the plurality of consumption control devices corresponding to the consumption reduction amount).
MAEJIMA does not explicitly teach calculating, for each of the plurality of users and based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount, an electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested.
However, TOMITA teaches calculating, for each of the plurality of users and based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount, an electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested ([DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS] “The customer terminal EMS performs management of energy usage and control of each consumer device (the consumer load device and the consumer power generation device) according to the usage plan of the consumer load device determined on the power usage plan date. Specifically, a customer equipment operation plan pattern is received from the DSM server, and a control signal for changing the operating state is transmitted to each consumer equipment so as to realize this”, “The DSM server proposes a new usage plan for the load equipment in the consumer in consideration of the power supply / demand state in the consumer in response to the usage plan for the load equipment in the consumer desired by the consumer. Specifically, the DSM server functions to maintain a total supply and demand balance of the generated power of the photovoltaic power generation device PV in the target area, the discharge power of the storage battery, and the power consumption of the load equipment in the consumer”, [FIG. 1 Description] “ Returning to FIG. 1, the supply and demand balance data DB4 of the data management unit 34 is the supply and demand balance (= total supply capacity−total power consumption) and the photovoltaic power generation apparatus when the devices are operated with the individual device operation pattern data DB1. This is data that gives a change pattern of PV power generation output, storage battery charge / discharge power, and power consumption of consumer equipment”, “In this balance calculation, it is confirmed that it can be supplied with only the storage capacity of the storage battery until, for example, 8:00 when the power generation output of the photovoltaic power generation device PV rises. Similar supply and demand balance confirmation is executed for all the load devices in the customer and all the power generation devices in the customer planned for other time zones”, wherein examiner interpreted proposing a new usage plan based on power supply/demand state which includes calculating supply and demand balance as calculating, for each of the plurality of users and based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount, an electricity consumption reduction amount to be requested, wherein examiner interpreted supply/demand state and supply/demand balance used to create a plan as based on a total consumption amount and a total supply amount; additionally, MAEJIMA teaches calculating numerical value and the power that can be suppressed when requested to suppress power consumption);
MAEJIMA, and TOMITA are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to power management systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above control server connected to a plurality of consumption control devices controlling electricity consumption, as taught by MAEJIMA, and incorporating calculating electricity consumption reduction amount based on total consumption amount and total supply amount, as taught by TOMITA.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve securing power supply to high-priority consumer load equipment, and ensuring there is enough power supply for usage by a consumer, as suggested by TOMITA (see [BACKGROUND-ART]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEJIMA et al. JP 2019/170037 (hereinafter “MAEJIMA”), in view of TOMITA et al. JP 2014054123 A (hereinafter “TOMITA”) as applied to claims 2-3, 5, and 8-10, in view of OISHI et al. JP 2019144851 A (hereinafter “OISHI”).
Regarding claim 4, MAEJIMA, and TOMITA teaches all of the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry transmits the control data via a blockchain network on which item information associated with the consumption control data is generated.
However, OISHI teaches wherein the circuitry transmits the control data via a blockchain network on which item information associated with the consumption control data is generated ([FIG. 5 Description] “The surplus power management unit receives information on the surplus power amount from the power control unit (SQ4), manages information on surplus power, transmits the information to the communication unit (SQ5), and transmits the information to the transaction history generation terminal ( SQ6). The power control unit controls the power generation device based on the breakdown of the power used in the home and the surplus power, supplies power to the power consuming device (SQ2), or transmits the surplus power to the power transmission network (SQ8)”, [Overview] “on the block chain network, a token corresponding to transmitted power (transaction target power: 100 kWh) is sent from the wallet 100 of the supplier 1 to the wallet 200 of the customer 2. At this time, if the token is traded in advance after grasping the “input” and “out” of the power in a certain time zone (for example, the power generation amount and the demand amount every 30 minutes), the power transaction is simulated”, [FIG. 6 Description], and [FIG. 7 Description] “the consumer terminal includes a communication unit, a wallet management unit, and a power consumption monitoring unit. The communication unit receives Token regarding the execution of the transaction by the supplier (SQ29). The wallet management unit manages the number of received tokens (SQ30). The received Token has properties such as the right to use the power generation amount of the supplier. Therefore, when receiving the information on Token (SQ31), the power consumption monitoring unit acquires power demand data for the entire home and confirms whether or not the received amount of electricity equivalent to Token has been used up”, wherein examiner interpreted block chain network used to transmit token corresponding to transmitted power from supplier to customer which gives the right to use the power generation amount as circuitry transmitting the control data via a blockchain network on which item information associated with the consumption control data is generated).
MAEJIMA, TOMITA, and OISHI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to power management systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above control server connected to a plurality of consumption control devices controlling electricity consumption, as taught by MAEJIMA, and TOMITA, and incorporating blockchain network, as taught by OISHI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve traceability of power trading between plurality of suppliers and plurality of consumers, as suggested by OISHI (see [Overview]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and overcoming double patenting rejections.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and on the attached PTO Form 892 but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stanlake [USPGPUB 2016/0091912] teaches a load balance controller in communication with at least one energy generation source, at least one energy consumer, at least one load balancing device, and an electrical power grid.
TSENG et al. [USPGPUB 2016/0099565] teaches an intelligent electric grid management system.
NODA et al. [JP 2015/057947 A] teaches a power controller comprising a device for receiving a reduction request of power consumption on a power demand side, and a server.
Conclusion
/D.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119