Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 10-12, 14, 15, 17-19 and 21-27 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 10-12, 14, 15, 17-19 and 21-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, 17 and 22-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 17 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,006,188 in view of Casper (US 2015/0296250).
Application No. 18/830,672
U.S. Patent No. 11,006,188
1. A method comprising:
1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device and during output of a media asset, a command;
receiving a second trick play command during the output of the first media asset; and
determining, from the media asset and after the command is received, a spatial location of an object, in the media asset, that is associated with a time of the command;
after receiving the second trick play command:
determining a time within the first media asset and associated with the second trick play command;
determining an object, of the first media asset, that is associated with the time;
determining a spatial location, in the first media asset, associated with the object;
determining, based on the media asset, a secondary media asset; and
determining, based on the first trick play command, a secondary media asset associated with the object; and
causing, based on the command, concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset, wherein a position of the secondary media asset is based on the spatial location.
causing concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the first media asset, wherein a position of the secondary media asset is based on the spatial location.
However, the patented claims do not explicitly teach a pause command.
In an analogous art, Casper, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches a pause command; (Fig. 2: In step 220 a media playback device receives a request to pause video content, [0059].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims by receiving a pause command, as taught by Casper, for the benefit of displaying advertisements for objects in the paused video content.
Claim 3 of the application corresponds to claim 1 of the patent in view of Casper [0071], [0088]-[0090].
Claim 8 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent in view of Casper [0059].
Claim 10 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent in view of Casper [0071], [0088]-[0090].
Claim 15 of the application corresponds to claim 17 of the patent in view of Casper [0059].
Claim 17 of the application corresponds to claim 17 of the patent in view of Casper [0071], [0088]-[0090].
Claim 22 of the application corresponds to claim 3 of the patent in view of Casper.
Claim 23 of the application corresponds to claim 1 of the patent in view of Casper [0041]-[0072].
Claim 24 of the application corresponds to claim 11 of the patent in view of Casper.
Claim 25 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent in view of Casper [0041]-[0072].
Claim 26 of the application corresponds to claim 19 of the patent in view of Casper.
Claim 27 of the application corresponds to claim 17 of the patent in view of Casper [0041]-[0072].
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,006,188 in view of Casper (US 2015/0296250) in view of Chickering et al. (US 2007/0124762), herein Chickering.
Consider claim 4, the patented claims combined with Casper clearly teach concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset.
However, the patented claims combined with Casper do not explicitly teach recording an impression associated with the secondary media asset; and determining, based on the recorded impression, a future secondary media asset associated with a user device.
In an analogous art, Chickering, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches recording an impression associated with the secondary media asset; and determining, based on the recorded impression, a future secondary media asset associated with a user device. (Fig. 4: Presentation component 406 selects advertisements based on data relating to the selection of advertisement 108 collected by collection component 404, [0040].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims combined with Casper by recording an impression associated with the secondary media asset; and determining, based on the recorded impression, a future secondary media asset associated with a user device, as taught by Chickering, for the benefit of tracking the effectiveness of tracking advertisement effectiveness.
Claim 11 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent in view of Casper and Chickering [0040].
Claim 18 of the application corresponds to claim 17 of the patent in view of Casper and Chickering [0040].
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,006,188 in view of Casper (US 2015/0296250) in view of Marisco et al. (US 2007/0250775), herein Marisco.
Consider claim 5, the patented claims combined with Casper clearly teach sending, to a second computing device, the time of the pause command. (Fig. 2: In step 240 a timestamp corresponding to the pause request is transmitted to a sever, [0063], [0064] Casper.)
However, the patented claims combined with Casper do not explicitly teach receiving, from the second computing device, a manifest file associated with the media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset.
In an analogous art, Marisco, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches receiving, from the second computing device, a manifest file associated with the media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset. (Hyperlinked object-to-hyperlink object attribute information includes a list of a plurality of secondary content items, [0027]-[0029], [0032], Table 3.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims combined with Casper by receiving, from the second computing device, a manifest file associated with the media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset, as taught by Marisco, for the benefit of communicating a plurality of secondary content items.
Claim 12 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent in view of Casper and Marisco [0027]-[0029], [0032], Table 3.
Claim 19 of the application corresponds to claim 17 of the patent in view of Casper and Marisco [0027]-[0029], [0032], Table 3.
Claims 7, 14 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,006,188 in view of Casper (US 2015/0296250) in view of Gupta et al. (US 2017/0374403), herein Gupta.
Consider claim 7, the patented claims combined with Casper clearly teach the secondary media asset.
However, the patented claims combined with Casper do not explicitly teach determining a plurality of spatial locations, in the media asset, associated with a movement of the object; and moving the secondary media asset through the plurality of spatial locations.
In an analogous art, Gupta, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches determining a plurality of spatial locations, in the media asset, associated with a movement of the object; and moving the secondary media asset through the plurality of spatial locations. (A location in the video content is tracked and replacement content is displayed in the tracked location, [0061]-[0066].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims combined with Casper by determining a plurality of spatial locations, in the media asset, associated with a movement of the object; and moving the secondary media asset through the plurality of spatial locations, as taught by Gupta, for the benefit of displaying the second content item in advantageous locations.
Claim 14 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent in view of Casper and Gupta [0061]-[0066].
Claim 21 of the application corresponds to claim 17 of the patent in view of Casper and Gupta [0061]-[0066].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, 17, 19, 23, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casper (US 2015/0296250) in view of Marisco et al. (US 2007/0250775), herein Marisco.
Consider claim 1, Casper clearly teaches a method (Fig. 2) comprising:
receiving, by a computing device and during output of a media asset, a pause command; (Fig. 2: In step 220 a media playback device receives a request to pause video content, [0059].)
determining, based on the media asset, a secondary media asset; (Fig. 3: Commerce information is obtained relating to the objects in the video, [0076]-[0084].)
determining a spatial location of an object, in the media asset, that is associated with a time of the pause command; (Fig. 1: In step 120 objects are detected in the video frames, [0036].) and
causing, based on the pause command, concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset, wherein a position of the secondary media asset is based on the spatial location. (Fig. 5B: Graphical content items for the commerce information 530 is displayed in association with the objects 521, 523, [0069], [0070].)
However, Casper does not explicitly teach determining, from the media asset and after the pause command is received, a spatial location of an object, in the media asset, that is associated with a time of the pause command.
In an analogous art, Marisco, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches determining, from the media asset and after the pause command is received, a spatial location of an object, in the media asset, that is associated with a time of the pause command. (Fig. 7: In response to a command pausing playback of a video stream positional coordinates of objects in the paused frame are determined, [0020], [0021], [0025]-[0029], [0048], [0049], [0052].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Casper by determining, from the media asset and after the pause command is received, a spatial location of an object, in the media asset, that is associated with a time of the pause command, as taught by Marisco, to achieve the predictable result of determining object locations.
Consider claim 3, Casper combined with Marisco clearly teaches determining, based on the media asset, a plurality of secondary media assets; and determining, based on priority information associated with the plurality of secondary media assets, a priority of outputting one or more of the plurality of secondary media assets. (Process 200 ranks the graphical content items and displays the highest ranked items, [0071], [0088]-[0090] Casper.)
Consider claim 5, Casper clearly teaches sending, to a second computing device, the time of the pause command. (Fig. 2: In step 240 a timestamp corresponding to the pause request is transmitted to a sever, [0063], [0064].)
However, Casper does not explicitly teach receiving, from the second computing device, a manifest file associated with the media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset.
In an analogous art, Marisco, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches receiving, from the second computing device, a manifest file associated with the media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset. (Hyperlinked object-to-hyperlink object attribute information includes a list of a plurality of secondary content items, [0027]-[0029], [0032], Table 3.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Casper by receiving, from the second computing device, a manifest file associated with the media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset, as taught by Marisco, for the benefit of communicating a plurality of secondary content items.
Consider claim 8, Casper clearly teaches an apparatus comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus (Fig. 7, [0113]-[0120]) to:
receive, during output of a media asset, a pause command; (Fig. 2: In step 220 a media playback device receives a request to pause video content, [0059].)
determine, based on the media asset, a secondary media asset; (Fig. 3: Commerce information is obtained relating to the objects in the video, [0076]-[0084].)
determine a spatial location of an object, in the media asset, that is associated with a time of the pause command; (Fig. 1: In step 120 objects are detected in the video frames, [0036].) and
cause, based on the pause command, concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset, wherein a position of the secondary media asset is based on the spatial location. (Fig. 5B: Graphical content items for the commerce information 530 is displayed in association with the objects 521, 523, [0069], [0070].)
However, Casper does not explicitly teach determining, from the media asset and after the pause command is received, a spatial location of an object, in the media asset, that is associated with a time of the pause command.
In an analogous art, Marisco, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches determining, from the media asset and after the pause command is received, a spatial location of an object, in the media asset, that is associated with a time of the pause command. (Fig. 7: In response to a command pausing playback of a video stream positional coordinates of objects in the paused frame are determined, [0020], [0021], [0025]-[0029], [0048], [0049], [0052].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Casper by determining, from the media asset and after the pause command is received, a spatial location of an object, in the media asset, that is associated with a time of the pause command, as taught by Marisco, to achieve the predictable result of determining object locations.
Consider claim 10, Casper combined with Marisco clearly teaches the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: determine, based on the media asset, a plurality of secondary media assets; and determine, based on priority information associated with the plurality of secondary media assets, a priority of outputting one or more of the plurality of secondary media assets. (Process 200 ranks the graphical content items and displays the highest ranked items, [0071], [0088]-[0090] Casper.)
Consider claim 12, Casper combined with Marisco clearly teaches the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: send, to a computing device, the time of the pause command; (Fig. 2: In step 240 a timestamp corresponding to the pause request is transmitted to a sever, [0063], [0064] Casper.) and receive, from the computing device, a manifest file associated with the media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset. (Hyperlinked object-to-hyperlink object attribute information includes a list of a plurality of secondary content items, [0027]-[0029], [0032], Table 3 Marisco.)
Consider claim 15, Casper clearly teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed, (Fig. 7, [0113]-[0120]) cause:
receiving, during output of a media asset, a pause command; (Fig. 2: In step 220 a media playback device receives a request to pause video content, [0059].)
determining, based on the media asset, a secondary media asset; (Fig. 3: Commerce information is obtained relating to the objects in the video, [0076]-[0084].)
determining a spatial location of an object, in the media asset, that is associated with a time of the pause command; (Fig. 1: In step 120 objects are detected in the video frames, [0036].) and
causing, based on the pause command, concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset, wherein a position of the secondary media asset is based on the spatial location. (Fig. 5B: Graphical content items for the commerce information 530 is displayed in association with the objects 521, 523, [0069], [0070].)
However, Casper does not explicitly teach determining, from the media asset and after the pause command is received, a spatial location of an object, in the media asset, that is associated with a time of the pause command.
In an analogous art, Marisco, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches determining, from the media asset and after the pause command is received, a spatial location of an object, in the media asset, that is associated with a time of the pause command. (Fig. 7: In response to a command pausing playback of a video stream positional coordinates of objects in the paused frame are determined, [0020], [0021], [0025]-[0029], [0048], [0049], [0052].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Casper by determining, from the media asset and after the pause command is received, a spatial location of an object, in the media asset, that is associated with a time of the pause command, as taught by Marisco, to achieve the predictable result of determining object locations.
Consider claim 17, Casper combined with Marisco clearly teaches the instructions, when executed, cause: determining, based on the media asset, a plurality of secondary media assets; and determining, based on priority information associated with the plurality of secondary media assets, a priority of outputting one or more of the plurality of secondary media assets. (Process 200 ranks the graphical content items and displays the highest ranked items, [0071], [0088]-[0090] Casper.)
Consider claim 19, Casper combined with Marisco clearly teaches the instructions, when executed, cause: sending, to a second computing device, the time of the pause command; (Fig. 2: In step 240 a timestamp corresponding to the pause request is transmitted to a sever, [0063], [0064] Casper.) and receiving, from the second computing device, a manifest file associated with the media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset. (Hyperlinked object-to-hyperlink object attribute information includes a list of a plurality of secondary content items, [0027]-[0029], [0032], Table 3 Marisco.)
Consider claim 23, Casper combined with Marisco clearly teaches the secondary media asset is an advertisement. (Fig. 5B: Commerce information, [0041], [0072] Casper)
Consider claim 25, Casper combined with Marisco clearly teaches the secondary media asset is an advertisement. (Fig. 5B: Commerce information, [0041], [0072] Casper)
Consider claim 27, Casper combined with Marisco clearly teaches the secondary media asset is an advertisement. (Fig. 5B: Commerce information, [0041], [0072] Casper)
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casper (US 2015/0296250) in view of Marisco et al. (US 2007/0250775) in view of Chickering et al. (US 2007/0124762), herein Chickering.
Consider claim 4, Casper combined with Marisco clearly teaches concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset.
However, Casper combined with Marisco does not explicitly teach recording an impression associated with the secondary media asset; and determining, based on the recorded impression, a future secondary media asset associated with a user device.
In an analogous art, Chickering, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches recording an impression associated with the secondary media asset; and determining, based on the recorded impression, a future secondary media asset associated with a user device. (Fig. 4: Presentation component 406 selects advertisements based on data relating to the selection of advertisement 108 collected by collection component 404, [0040].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Casper combined with Marisco by recording an impression associated with the secondary media asset; and determining, based on the recorded impression, a future secondary media asset associated with a user device, as taught by Chickering, for the benefit of tracking the effectiveness of tracking advertisement effectiveness.
Consider claim 11, Casper combined with Marisco and Chickering clearly teaches the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: record, based on the concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset, an impression associated with the secondary media asset; and determine, based on the recorded impression, a future secondary media asset associated with a user device. (Fig. 4: Presentation component 406 selects advertisements based on data relating to the selection of advertisement 108 collected by collection component 404, [0040] Chickering.)
Consider claim 18, Casper combined with Marisco and Chickering clearly teaches the instructions, when executed, cause: recording, based on the concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset, an impression associated with the secondary media asset; and determining, based on the recorded impression, a future secondary media asset associated with a user device. (Fig. 4: Presentation component 406 selects advertisements based on data relating to the selection of advertisement 108 collected by collection component 404, [0040] Chickering.)
Claims 7, 14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casper (US 2015/0296250) in view of Marisco et al. (US 2007/0250775) in view of Gupta et al. (US 2017/0374403), herein Gupta.
Consider claim 7, Casper combined with Marisco clearly teaches the secondary media asset.
However, Casper combined with Marisco does not explicitly teach determining a plurality of spatial locations, in the media asset, associated with a movement of the object; and moving the secondary media asset through the plurality of spatial locations.
In an analogous art, Gupta, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches determining a plurality of spatial locations, in the media asset, associated with a movement of the object; and moving the secondary media asset through the plurality of spatial locations. (A location in the video content is tracked and replacement content is displayed in the tracked location, [0061]-[0066].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Casper combined with Marisco by determining a plurality of spatial locations, in the media asset, associated with a movement of the object; and moving the secondary media asset through the plurality of spatial locations, as taught by Gupta, for the benefit of displaying the second content item in advantageous locations.
Consider claim 14, Casper combined with Marisco and Gupta clearly teaches the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: determine a plurality of spatial locations, in the media asset, associated with a movement of the object; and move the secondary media asset through the plurality of spatial locations. (A location in the video content is tracked and replacement content is displayed in the tracked location, [0061]-[0066] Gupta.)
Consider claim 21, Casper combined with Marisco and Gupta clearly teaches the instructions, when executed, cause: determining a plurality of spatial locations, in the media asset, associated with a movement of the object; and moving the secondary media asset through the plurality of spatial locations. (A location in the video content is tracked and replacement content is displayed in the tracked location, [0061]-[0066] Gupta.)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425