DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 18/830,672 filed 09/11/2024. Claims 1-21 are pending and have been examined.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/11/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 8-11 and 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16, 19 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,120,402. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are different definitions or descriptions of the same subject matter varying in breadth. For example, note the following relationship between claim 1 of the instant application and the patented claims.
Application No. 18/830,672
U.S. Patent No. 12,120,402
1. A method comprising:
1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device and during output of a media asset, a trick play command;
receiving, by a computing device and during output of a media asset, a first trick play command associated with a portion of the media asset;
determining, based on the media asset, a secondary media asset; and
determining, based on the portion of the media asset, a secondary media asset;
causing, based on the trick play command, concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset.
causing concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to readily recognize that the conflicting claims are different definitions or descriptions of the same subject matter varying in breadth. In this case, the application claims are broader than and inclusive of the patented claims.
Claim 2 of the application corresponds to claim 2 of the patent.
Claim 3 of the application corresponds to claim 5 of the patent.
Claim 4 of the application corresponds to claim 6 of the patent.
Claim 8 of the application corresponds to claim 8 of the patent.
Claim 9 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent.
Claim 10 of the application corresponds to claim 12 of the patent.
Claim 11 of the application corresponds to claim 13 of the patent.
Claim 15 of the application corresponds to claim 15 of the patent.
Claim 16 of the application corresponds to claim 16 of the patent.
Claim 17 of the application corresponds to claim 19 of the patent.
Claim 18 of the application corresponds to claim 20 of the patent.
Claims 5-7, 12-14 and 19-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 8-10, 16-18 and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,006,188. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are different definitions or descriptions of the same subject matter varying in breadth. For example, note the following relationship between claim 5 of the instant application and the patented claims.
Application No. 18/830,672
U.S. Patent No. 11,006,188
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the determining the secondary media asset comprises:
sending, to a second computing device, a time of the trick play command; and
sending, to a second computing device, the time; and
receiving, from the second computing device, a manifest file associated with the media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset.
receiving, from the second computing device, a manifest file associated with the first media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to readily recognize that the conflicting claims are different definitions or descriptions of the same subject matter varying in breadth. In this case, the application claims are broader than and inclusive of the patented claims.
Claim 6 of the application corresponds to claim 1 of the patent.
Claim 7 of the application corresponds to claim 8 of the patent.
Claim 12 of the application corresponds to claim 10 of the patent.
Claim 13 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent.
Claim 14 of the application corresponds to claim 16 of the patent.
Claim 19 of the application corresponds to claim 18 of the patent.
Claim 20 of the application corresponds to claim 17 of the patent.
Claim 21 of the application corresponds to claim 24 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ransom et al. (US 2016/0173942), herein Ransom.
Consider claim 1, Ransom clearly teaches a method (Fig. 4) comprising:
receiving, by a computing device and during output of a media asset, a trick play command; (Fig. 4: In step 402 a media control request is received during display of a first content item, [0067].)
determining, based on the media asset, a secondary media asset; (Fig. 4: In step 406 a second content item is determined based on the first content item, [0069], [0070].) and
causing, based on the trick play command, concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset. (Figs. 3B-4: In step 408 the first and second content items are displayed simultaneously, [0062]-[0065], [0073].)
Consider claim 2, Ransom clearly teaches the trick play command comprises one of a skip command or a fast forward command. (The media control request can be a fast-forward or skip command, [0067].)
Consider claim 8, Ransom clearly teaches an apparatus (Fig. 7) comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus ([0097]) to:
receive, during output of a media asset, a trick play command; (Fig. 4: In step 402 a media control request is received during display of a first content item, [0067].)
determine, based on the media asset, a secondary media asset; (Fig. 4: In step 406 a second content item is determined based on the first content item, [0069], [0070].) and
cause, based on the trick play command, concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset. (Figs. 3B-4: In step 408 the first and second content items are displayed simultaneously, [0062]-[0065], [0073].)
Consider claim 9, Ransom clearly teaches the trick play command comprises one of a skip command or a fast forward command. (The media control request can be a fast-forward or skip command, [0067].)
Consider claim 15, Ransom clearly teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed, (Fig. 7, [0097]) cause:
receiving, during output of a media asset, a trick play command; (Fig. 4: In step 402 a media control request is received during display of a first content item, [0067].)
determining, based on the media asset, a secondary media asset; (Fig. 4: In step 406 a second content item is determined based on the first content item, [0069], [0070].) and
causing, based on the trick play command, concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset. (Figs. 3B-4: In step 408 the first and second content items are displayed simultaneously, [0062]-[0065], [0073].)
Consider claim 16, Ransom clearly teaches the trick play command comprises one of a skip command or a fast forward command. (The media control request can be a fast-forward or skip command, [0067].)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 10, 11, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ransom (US 2016/0173942) in view of Cansler et al. (US 2017/0251278), herein Cansler.
Consider claim 3, Ransom clearly teaches determining, based on the media asset, a plurality of secondary media assets. (The first content item can be associated with more than one second content items, [0070].)
However, Ransom does not explicitly teach determining, based on priority information associated with the plurality of secondary media assets, a priority of outputting one or more of the plurality of secondary media assets.
In an analogous art, Cansler, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches determining, based on priority information associated with the plurality of secondary media assets, a priority of outputting one or more of the plurality of secondary media assets. (A plurality of advertisements are prioritized for output, [0019]-[0021].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ransom by determining, based on priority information associated with the plurality of secondary media assets, a priority of outputting one or more of the plurality of secondary media assets, as taught by Cansler, for the benefit of displaying the most relevant content items.
Consider claim 4, Ransom clearly teaches concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset.
However, Ransom does not explicitly teach recording, based on the concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset, an impression associated with the secondary media asset; and determining, based on the recorded impression, a future secondary media asset associated with a user device.
In an analogous art, Cansler, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches recording, based on the concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset, an impression associated with the secondary media asset; and determining, based on the recorded impression, a future secondary media asset associated with a user device. (Impression quality factor data includes which advertisements were viewed in a picture-in-picture display, [0032], [0091].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ransom by recording, based on the concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset, an impression associated with the secondary media asset; and determining, based on the recorded impression, a future secondary media asset associated with a user device, as taught by Cansler, for the benefit of tracking advertisement effectiveness.
Consider claim 10, Ransom combined with Cansler clearly teaches the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: determine, based on the media asset, a plurality of secondary media assets; (The first content item can be associated with more than one second content items, [0070] Ransom.) and determine, based on priority information associated with the plurality of secondary media assets, a priority of outputting one or more of the plurality of secondary media assets. (A plurality of advertisements are prioritized for output, [0019]-[0021] Cansler.)
Consider claim 11, Ransom combined with Cansler clearly teaches the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: record, based on the concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset, an impression associated with the secondary media asset; and determine, based on the recorded impression, a future secondary media asset associated with a user device. (Impression quality factor data includes which advertisements were viewed in a picture-in-picture display, [0032], [0091] Cansler.)
Consider claim 17, Ransom combined with Cansler clearly teaches the instructions, when executed, cause: determining, based on the media asset, a plurality of secondary media assets; (The first content item can be associated with more than one second content items, [0070] Ransom.) and determining, based on priority information associated with the plurality of secondary media assets, a priority of outputting one or more of the plurality of secondary media assets. (A plurality of advertisements are prioritized for output, [0019]-[0021] Cansler.)
Consider claim 18, Ransom combined with Cansler clearly teaches the instructions, when executed, cause: recording, based on the concurrent output of the secondary media asset and the media asset, an impression associated with the secondary media asset; and determining, based on the recorded impression, a future secondary media asset associated with a user device. (Impression quality factor data includes which advertisements were viewed in a picture-in-picture display, [0032], [0091] Cansler.)
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ransom (US 2016/0173942) in view of Marisco et al. (US 2007/0250775), herein Marisco.
Consider claim 5, Ransom clearly teaches sending, to a second computing device, a time of the trick play command. (Content management system 119 receives the time point associated with the media control request, [0041].)
However, Ransom does not explicitly teach receiving, from the second computing device, a manifest file associated with the media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset.
In an analogous art, Marisco, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches receiving, from the second computing device, a manifest file associated with the media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset. (Hyperlinked object-to-hyperlink object attribute information includes a list of a plurality of secondary content items, [0027]-[0029], [0032], Table 3.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ransom by receiving, from the second computing device, a manifest file associated with the media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset, as taught by Marisco, for the benefit of communicating a plurality of secondary content items.
Consider claim 6, Ransom combined with Marisco clearly teaches determining a time of the trick play command; (Content management system 119 receives the time point associated with the media control request, [0041] Ransom.) determining an object, of the media asset, that is associated with the time; determining a spatial location, in the media asset, associated with the object; and positioning the secondary media asset based on the spatial location. (Time and positioning information of the hyperlinked objects, [0027]-[0029] Marisco.)
Consider claim 12, Ransom combined with Marisco clearly teaches the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: send, to a computing device, a time of the trick play command; (Content management system 119 receives the time point associated with the media control request, [0041] Ransom.) and receive, from the computing device, a manifest file associated with the media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset. (Hyperlinked object-to-hyperlink object attribute information includes a list of a plurality of secondary content items, [0027]-[0029], [0032], Table 3 Marisco.)
Consider claim 13, Ransom combined with Marisco clearly teaches the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: determine a time of the trick play command; (Content management system 119 receives the time point associated with the media control request, [0041] Ransom.) determine an object, of the media asset, that is associated with the time; determine a spatial location, in the media asset, associated with the object; and position the secondary media asset based on the spatial location. (Time and positioning information of the hyperlinked objects, [0027]-[0029] Marisco.)
Consider claim 19, Ransom combined with Marisco clearly teaches the instructions, when executed, cause: sending, to a second computing device, a time of the trick play command; (Content management system 119 receives the time point associated with the media control request, [0041] Ransom.) and receiving, from the second computing device, a manifest file associated with the media asset, wherein the manifest file indicates the secondary media asset and at least one additional secondary media asset. (Hyperlinked object-to-hyperlink object attribute information includes a list of a plurality of secondary content items, [0027]-[0029], [0032], Table 3 Marisco.)
Consider claim 20, Ransom combined with Marisco clearly teaches the instructions, when executed, cause: determining a time of the trick play command; (Content management system 119 receives the time point associated with the media control request, [0041] Ransom.) determining an object, of the media asset, that is associated with the time; determining a spatial location, in the media asset, associated with the object; and positioning the secondary media asset based on the spatial location. (Time and positioning information of the hyperlinked objects, [0027]-[0029] Marisco.)
Claims 7, 14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ransom (US 2016/0173942) in view of Gupta et al. (US 2017/0374403), herein Gupta.
Consider claim 7, Ransom clearly teaches the secondary media asset.
However, Ransom does not explicitly teach determining a plurality of spatial locations, in the media asset, associated with a movement of an object; and moving the secondary media asset through the plurality of spatial locations.
In an analogous art, Gupta, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches determining a plurality of spatial locations, in the media asset, associated with a movement of an object; and moving the secondary media asset through the plurality of spatial locations. (A location in the video content is tracked and replacement content is displayed in the tracked location, [0061]-[0066].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ransom by determining a plurality of spatial locations, in the media asset, associated with a movement of an object; and moving the secondary media asset through the plurality of spatial locations, as taught by Gupta, for the benefit of displaying the second content item in advantageous locations.
Consider claim 14, Ransom combined with Gupta clearly teaches the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: determine a plurality of spatial locations, in the media asset, associated with a movement of an object; and move the secondary media asset through the plurality of spatial locations. (A location in the video content is tracked and replacement content is displayed in the tracked location, [0061]-[0066] Gupta.)
Consider claim 21, Ransom combined with Gupta clearly teaches the instructions, when executed, cause: determining a plurality of spatial locations, in the media asset, associated with a movement of an object; and moving the secondary media asset through the plurality of spatial locations. (A location in the video content is tracked and replacement content is displayed in the tracked location, [0061]-[0066] Gupta.)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425