DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Freeman et al (US 2012/0069415; hereinafter Freeman).
• Regarding claim 1, Freeman discloses a device to display an electronic image (figures 7, 10, and 12), comprising:
a head up display (HUD) device for displaying said electronic image on a transparent or translucent surface (elements 1001 and 1200 in figure 12 and ¶ 93),
wherein said HUD device comprises a collimated image (¶ 19; where ¶s 82 and 93 describe the relationship between the structure of figure 12 and ¶ 19 and ¶ 15 states “[i]n the drawings, like numerals reer to the same or similar functionality throught the several views” such that element 1001 in ¶ 93 and figure 12 is the same as in figure 10 and ¶ 82 as well as element 100 in figure 1 and ¶ 19 (note where ¶ 82 states “[s]canning projector 1001 is a dynamic scan angle projection apparatus as described above with reference to previous figures” and “[s]canning projector 1001 may be any dynamic scan angle projection apparatus described herein”)),
wherein information displayed by said device is variable (at least suggested by “video data” in ¶s 83-85), and
wherein data comprising said information is communicated wirelessly to said device from an information distribution device (¶s 83-85).
• Regarding claims 4, 5, and 8-17, Freeman discloses everything claimed, as applied to claim 1. Additionally, Freeman discloses where:
Claim 4: said transparent or translucent surface comprises a glass or a plastic (inherent in the “windshield” of ¶ 93).
Claim 5: the device further comprises a data processing device (element 1020 in figure 10 and ¶s 82 and 85) and
a data storage device (element 1030 in figure 10 and ¶s 82 and 83).
Claim 8: electronic image is projected by a solid state light source (¶ 19).
Claim 9: said electronic image is projected by a laser (¶ 19).
Claim 10: the device further comprises a diode (¶ 19).
Claim 11: the device further comprises a liquid crystal device or a plasma display device (¶ 89).
Claim 12: the device further comprises a device to communicate data to said distribution device (¶ 84).
Claim 13: the device further comprises a motion sensor (figure 7 and ¶s 56-58).
Claim 14: the device further comprises an accelerometer (figure 7 and ¶s 56-58).
Claim 15: a vehicle comprises the device of claim 1 (figure 12 and ¶ 93).
Claim 16: said electronic image is displayed on a window or windshield (figure 12 and ¶ 93).
Claim 17: said electronic image is displayed inside, outside or both of said vehicle (inherent in figure 12 and ¶ 93).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman, in view of Tiana et al (US 9,244,280; hereinafter Tiana).
• Regarding claims 6 and 7, Freeman discloses everything claimed, as applied to claim 1. However, Freeman fails to disclose the additional details of the device.
In the same field of endeavor, Tiana discloses where:
Claim 6: the device further comprises a wave guide (col. 6, lines 38-43).
Claim 7: said electronic image is projected by a cathode ray tube (col. 6, lines 44-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Freeman according to the teachings of Tiana, for the purpose of providing a seamless virtual display system (col. 2, lines 40, 41, and 52-59).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman, in view of Jeon (US 2003/0159323).
• Regarding claims 18-20, Freeman discloses everything claimed, as applied to claim 1. However, Freeman fails to disclose the additional details of the device.
In the same field of endeavor, Jeon discloses where:
Claim 18: a structure (“building” in at least ¶s 24 and 25) comprises:
a transparent or translucent surface for displaying an electronic image (“window” in at least ¶s 24 and 25) and
comprises the device of claim 1 (elements 100 and 110 in figure 2 and ¶s 24 and 25; see also ¶ 22 and the preceding rejection of claim 1).
Claim 19: the structure comprises a building (“building” in at least ¶s 24 and 25).
Claim 20: the structure comprises an inside surface and an outside surface (inherent in the “window” in at least ¶s 24 and 25),
said electronic image is displayed on said outside surface (¶s 24 and 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Freeman according to the teachings of Jeon, for the purpose of reducing the costs of changing advertisement contents on a building/structure (¶ 34).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Closing Remarks/Comments
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN DANIELSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622