DETAILED ACTION
This action is a first action on the merits. The claims filed on September 11, 2024 have been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on September 11, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “viscous damper 120” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: The recitation of “a tray configured to be located on an instrument panel in a vehicle” in line 5 should likely be -- the tray configured to be located on the instrument panel in the vehicle --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goupil, Jr., US 2011/0121599 (hereinafter Goupil) in view of Beckley, US 2006/0132007 (hereinafter Beckley).
Claim 1: Goupil discloses a vehicle storage bin assembly (see Fig 7-9), comprising:
a tray (auxiliary article compartment 104) configured to be located on an instrument panel (dash board or instrument panel 50) in a vehicle (see Fig 8, par [0019]), the tray (104) defining an open receptacle (as shown in Fig 8); and
a thermal insulated storage bin (auxiliary article module 90) configured to be stored in the tray (104), wherein the storage bin (90) has a housing base having an outer shape configured to be received in the open receptacle of the tray (par [0023]), the bin (90) further comprising a lid (access door 160 supported by wall 92) coupled (via access hinge 161) to the housing base (90, as shown in Fig 9) via at least one pivot (access hinge 161) and configured to move between an open position (shown in Fig 8) and a closed position (shown in Fig 7), wherein the lid comprises a thermal insulation (each of the walls define an interstitial space 202 internal to each wall, insulation filler 204 is fixedly disposed in and fills each interstitial space 202, par [0039]).
Goupil fails to discloses at least one pivot arm.
Beckley discloses a storage bin assembly with a lid (door) moveably connected to an enclosure by pivot arms (pivoting mechanisms 20 with pivoting arms 26 attached to damping arms 30) (Fig 1-2, par [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the pivots of Goupil with the pivot arms of Beckley, as one of ordinary skill in the art could have easily substituted the known pivot mechanism of hinges of Goupil with the pivoting mechanism of pivot arms as disclosed by Beckley and the results of the substitution would have been predictable by coupling the lid to the housing base and allowing movement of the lid between an open and closed position.
Claim 11: Goupil discloses a vehicle (shown in Fig 1) comprising:
an instrument panel (dash board or instrument panel 50);
a tray (auxiliary article compartment 104) provided in the instrument panel (50); and
a vehicle storage bin assembly (Fig 7-9), comprising:
a tray (auxiliary article compartment 104) configured to be located on an instrument panel (dash board or instrument panel 50) in a vehicle (see Fig 8, par [0019]), the tray (104) defining an open receptacle (as shown in Fig 8); and
a thermal insulated storage bin (auxiliary article module 90) configured to be stored in the tray (104), wherein the storage bin (90) has a housing base having an outer shape configured to be received in the open receptacle of the tray (par [0023]), the bin (90) further comprising a lid (access door 160 supported by wall 92) coupled (via access hinge 161) to the housing base (90, as shown in Fig 9) via at least one pivot (access hinge 161) and configured to move between an open position (shown in Fig 8) and a closed position (shown in Fig 7), wherein the lid comprises a thermal insulation (each of the walls define an interstitial space 202 internal to each wall, insulation filler 204 is fixedly disposed in and fills each interstitial space 202, par [0039]).
Goupil fails to discloses at least one pivot arm.
Beckley discloses a storage bin assembly with a lid (door) moveably connected to an enclosure by pivot arms (pivoting mechanisms 20 with pivoting arms 26 attached to damping arms 30) (Fig 1-2, par [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the pivots of Goupil with the pivot arms of Beckley, as one of ordinary skill in the art could have easily substituted the known pivot mechanism of hinges of Goupil with the pivoting mechanism of pivot arms as disclosed by Beckley and the results of the substitution would have been predictable by coupling the lid to the housing base and allowing movement of the lid between an open and closed position.
Claims 2 and 12: Goupil, as modified by Beckley, discloses the thermal insulation storage bin (90) is removably connected to the tray (Goupil, ejection-retention mechanism 114 retains the auxiliary article module 90 in a secured position and moves the auxiliary article module 90 from the secured position to an unsecured position, par [0024]-[0025])
Claims 3 and 13: Goupil, as modified by Beckley, discloses one or more fasteners (ejection-retention mechanism 114) for fastening the storage bin (90) on the tray (104), wherein the one or more fasteners (114) allow the storage bin (90) to be removed from the tray (104) (Goupil, ejection-retention mechanism 114 retains the auxiliary article module 90 in a secured position and moves the auxiliary article module 90 from the secured position to an unsecured position, Fig 5, par [0024]-[0025]).
Claims 4 and 14: Goupil, as modified by Beckley, discloses wherein the at least one pivot arm (Beckley, pivoting arms 26 with attached damping arm 30) comprises a first pivot arm spaced from a second pivot arm (Beckley, as shown in Fig 2), wherein the first and second pivot arms pivot about a common axis (pivoting mechanism 20 pivot about a common axis as shown in Fig 2, 3A-3B, par [0015]).
Claims 5 and 15: Goupil, as modified by Beckley, discloses wherein at least one of the first and second pivot arms (26/30) comprises a plurality of teeth (teeth 38) operatively coupled to a gear (dampening gear 32).
Claims 6 and 16: Goupil, as modified by Beckley, discloses wherein the gear (dampening gear 32) comprises a gear damper (gear teeth 34) for dampening the movement of the lid (Beckley, dampening gears 32 include gear teeth 34 that mesh with corresponding teeth 38 of the dampening arm 30 to permit damped movement of the door 12 relative the enclosure 14, par [0014]).
Claims 8 and 18: Goupil, as modified by Beckley, discloses wherein the thermal insulation (Goupil, insulation inserts 210) comprises an insulation mat (Goupil, insulation inserts 210 that are insulative are removably inserted in each of the pockets 208, par [0039]).
Claims 9 and 19: Goupil, as modified by Beckley, discloses wherein the housing base (90) further comprises at least one opening for receiving one or more electrical cords (Goupil, electrical power supply port 132, par [0028]).
Claims 10 and 20: Goupil, as modified by Beckley, discloses comprising:
a latch mechanism (to cause unlatching, par [0011], necessarily requires a latch); and
a release button (button 16) for releasing the latch mechanism to allow the lid to move to the open position (button 16 located on the storage bin assembly 10 at any desirable location to cause an un-latching or to initiate movement of the door 12 relative the enclosure 14, par [0011]).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goupil in view of Beckley as applied to claims 6 and 16, and further in view of Santillan Gutierrez et al., US 2019/0217750 (hereinafter Santillan Gutierrez).
Claims 7 and 17: Goupil, as modified by Beckley, discloses a torsion spring (biasing spring) for biasing the lid (door) to the open position (deployed position) (see Fig 2, par [0021]).
Goupil, as modified by Beckley, fails to disclose wherein each of the first and second pivot arms further comprises the torsion spring.
Santillan Gutierrez discloses a spring (168) operably coupled to a pivot assembly (148). The spring (168) is used to bias the pivot assembly to the desired position (par [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the first and second pivot arms of Beckley to each include a torsion spring (spring 168) to bias the pivot assembly into the desired position as disclosed by Santillan Gutierrez as one of ordinary skill in the art would could have combined the first and second pivot arms to include torsion springs by known methods, such that each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, thereby yielding the predictable results of biasing the lid to the open position.
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/CAROLINE N BUTCHER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676