DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9, 13-18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conlon (US 2022/0356819).
Regarding Claim 1, Conlon discloses a method of operating an integrated electrical power plant [power plant shown in FIG. 3] (FIG. 3, Abstract), the method comprising:
(a) receiving a site power output setpoint for an electrical power interconnection point [1200] that receives power from a combined cycle electrical power generation plant and a renewable energy electrical power generation plant [1250, 10] (FIG. 3, ¶ [0023]; When circuit breaker 110 is closed, the FISHER system 10 allows load 1200 to be supplied from the lowest cost sources, whether transmission 1000 or some combination of DERS, RICE and Rankine Cycle. Variable Renewable Resources 1250 operate customarily providing energy, as the variable resources allow, to offset load 1200), and
(b) wherein a thermal energy storage system is configured to provide heat to generate steam to drive a steam turbine [120] of the combined cycle electrical power generation plant [1250] (FIG. 3, ¶ [0022]; Hot, high-pressure working fluid flows to turbine 120 which produces work that is transmitted through optional clutch 110 to alternator 100 to produce electric power that flows through circuit breaker 1110 to the distribution system to be consumed by load 1200);
(c) receiving an indication of a total electrical output delivered to the electrical power interconnection point [1200] (FIG. 3, ¶ [0023]; When circuit breaker 110 is closed, the FISHER system 10 allows load 1200 to be supplied from the lowest cost sources, whether transmission 1000 or some combination of DERS, RICE and Rankine Cycle. Variable Renewable Resources 1250 operate customarily providing energy, as the variable resources allow, to offset load 1200);
based on a difference between the indication and the site power output setpoint, adjusting at least one of:
OR
(d) electrical energy delivered by the renewable energy electrical power generation plant [1250] to generate thermal energy in the thermal energy storage system (FIG. 3, ¶ [0023]; Variable Renewable Resources 1250 operate customarily providing energy, as the variable resources allow, to offset load 1200. Excess energy from DERS is directed to storage through circuit breaker 1130. If the cost of electricity from transmission 1000 is favorable, then additional energy is directed into storage. Also refer to “b” above regarding the the thermal energy storage system).
Regarding Claim 5, Conlon discloses the method of claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], wherein the thermal energy storage system comprises:
thermal energy storage material [molten salt] (Claim 3, ¶ [0020]);
a heat exchanger [160] to provide the heat to a steam circuit [arrow from 160 to 120] driving the steam turbine [120] (FIG. 3); and
a heat transfer fluid [heat transfer fluid] exchanging the heat between the thermal energy storage material and the heat exchanger (¶ [0020]; Thermal energy is stored in a liquid storage medium that is heated by electric heater 300, or in exhaust heater 370 using heat from the exhaust from engine 220. The storage medium may be a molten salt, an oil, or other suitable heat transfer fluid. Storage medium is circulated by pump 350 from Cold Tank 340 to valve 360 which directs storage medium to electric heater 300, to exhaust heater 370 or to both electric heater 300 and exhaust heater 370).
Regarding Claim 6, Conlon discloses the method of claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], wherein the adjusting further comprises adjusting, based on the difference between the indication and the site power output setpoint, a power output of a combustion turbine of the combined cycle electrical power generation plant (¶ [0039]; For example, control system 99 determines the net load 1200 (load less variable renewable generation) that must be served by transmission 1000 or FISHER system 10).
Regarding Claim 7, Conlon discloses the method of claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], further comprising, based on the site power output setpoint, configuring at least one generator [100, 200] within the combined cycle electrical power generation plant [1250] to operate as a synchronous condenser (Claim 1; a turbine generator configured to expand a gaseous working fluid across a turbine to generate electricity; a condenser arranged to condense gaseous working fluid exhaust from the turbine to provide liquid working fluid).
Regarding Claim 8, Conlon discloses the method of claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], further comprising, based on the site power output setpoint, configuring at least one generator within the combined cycle electrical power generation plant [1250] to operate as a synchronous condenser while the at least one generator is mechanically linked to and turning a rotor of a turbine (Claim 1; a turbine generator configured to expand a gaseous working fluid across a turbine to generate electricity; a condenser arranged to condense gaseous working fluid exhaust from the turbine to provide liquid working fluid).
Regarding Claim 9, Conlon discloses an integrated electrical power plant [power plant shown in FIG. 3] (FIG. 3, Abstract), comprising:
an electrical power interconnection point [1200] (FIG. 3);
a combined cycle electrical power generation plant [1250] configured to provide first electrical power to the electrical power interconnection point [1200] (FIG. 3, refer to “a” above);
a renewable energy electrical power generation plant [wind turbine from 1250] configured to provide second electrical power to the electrical power interconnection point [1200] (FIG. 3);
a thermal energy storage system is configured to provide heat to generate steam to drive a steam turbine [120] of the combined cycle electrical power generation plant [1250] (FIG. 3, refer to “b” above);
a processor [99], communicatively coupled to the combined cycle electrical power generation plant [1250], the renewable energy electrical power generation plant [1250], and the thermal energy storage system (FIG. 3);
a memory, communicatively coupled to the processor (¶ [0039]; For example, control system 99 determines the net load 1200 (load less variable renewable generation) that must be served by transmission 1000 or FISHER system 10); and
a power adjustment processor, communicatively connected to the processor and the memory (¶ [0039]; Control system 99 can record the net load during each interval, and dispatch engine 220 or turbine 120, or stop charging by electric heater 320 in order to avoid an increase of net load above the previously recorded maximum for the billing period), configured to, when operating:
receive a site power output setpoint for an electrical power interconnection point [1200] (FIG. 3, refer to “a” above);
receive an indication of a total electrical output delivered to the electrical power interconnection point [1200] (FIG. 3, refer to “c” above); and
based on a difference between the indication and the site power output setpoint, adjust at least one of:
OR
electrical energy delivered by the renewable energy electrical power generation plant [1250] to generate thermal energy in the thermal energy storage system (FIG. 3, ¶ [0023]; Variable Renewable Resources 1250 operate customarily providing energy, as the variable resources allow, to offset load 1200. Excess energy from DERS is directed to storage through circuit breaker 1130. If the cost of electricity from transmission 1000 is favorable, then additional energy is directed into storage).
Regarding Claim 13, Conlon discloses the integrated electrical power plant of claim 9 [see rejected Claim 9], wherein the thermal energy storage system comprises:
thermal energy storage material [molten salt] (Claim 3, ¶ [0020]);
a heat exchanger [160] to provide the heat to a steam circuit [arrow from 160 to 120] driving the steam turbine [120] (FIG. 3); and
a heat transfer fluid [heat transfer fluid] exchanging the heat between the thermal energy storage material and the heat exchanger (¶ [0020]; Thermal energy is stored in a liquid storage medium that is heated by electric heater 300, or in exhaust heater 370 using heat from the exhaust from engine 220. The storage medium may be a molten salt, an oil, or other suitable heat transfer fluid. Storage medium is circulated by pump 350 from Cold Tank 340 to valve 360 which directs storage medium to electric heater 300, to exhaust heater 370 or to both electric heater 300 and exhaust heater 370).
Regarding Claim 14, Conlon discloses the integrated electrical power plant of claim 9 [see rejected Claim 9], wherein the power adjustment processor is further configured to, when operating, adjust, based on a difference between the indication and the site power output setpoint, a power output of a combustion turbine of the combined cycle electrical power generation plant (¶ [0039]; Control system 99 can record the net load during each interval, and dispatch engine 220 or turbine 120, or stop charging by electric heater 320 in order to avoid an increase of net load above the previously recorded maximum for the billing period).
Regarding Claim 15, Conlon discloses the integrated electrical power plant of claim 9 [see rejected Claim 9], wherein the power adjustment processor is further configured to, when operating, based on the site power output setpoint, configure at least one generator within the combined cycle electrical power generation plant to operate as a synchronous condenser (¶ [0039]; Control system 99 can record the net load during each interval, and dispatch engine 220 or turbine 120, or stop charging by electric heater 320 in order to avoid an increase of net load above the previously recorded maximum for the billing period).
Regarding Claim 16, Conlon discloses the integrated electrical power plant of claim 9 [see rejected Claim 9], wherein the power adjustment processor is configured to, when operating, based on the site power output setpoint, configure at least one generator within the combined cycle electrical power generation plant to operate as a synchronous condenser by at least operating the at least one generator as the synchronous condenser while the at least one generator is mechanically linked to and turning a rotor of a turbine (¶ [0039]; Control system 99 can record the net load during each interval, and dispatch engine 220 or turbine 120, or stop charging by electric heater 320 in order to avoid an increase of net load above the previously recorded maximum for the billing period)..
Regarding Claim 17, Conlon discloses a method of retrofitting a combined cycle electrical power generation plant [1250, 10] (FIG. 3, Abstract), the method comprising:
providing a thermal energy storage system with a heat exchanger [160] providing heat from thermal energy storage material to steam within a steam circuit of a steam turbine [120] of the combined cycle electrical power generation plant [10] (FIG. 3, refer to “b” above & rejected Claim 5);
providing a renewable energy electrical power generation plant [one source from 1250] configured to provide electrical power to:
the thermal energy storage system configured to store energy received in electrical power as thermal energy in the thermal energy storage material [through 1130] (FIG. 3, ¶ [0023]; When circuit breaker 110 is closed, the FISHER system 10 allows load 1200 to be supplied from the lowest cost sources, whether transmission 1000 or some combination of DERS, RICE and Rankine Cycle. Variable Renewable Resources 1250 operate customarily providing energy, as the variable resources allow, to offset load 1200. Excess energy from DERS is directed to storage through circuit breaker 1130); and
an electrical power interconnection point [1200] receiving electrical power from the combined cycle electrical power generation plant [1250, 10] (FIG. 3, ¶ [0023]; When circuit breaker 110 is closed, the FISHER system 10 allows load 1200 to be supplied from the lowest cost sources, whether transmission 1000 or some combination of DERS, RICE and Rankine Cycle. Variable Renewable Resources 1250 operate customarily providing energy, as the variable resources allow, to offset load 1200. Excess energy from DERS is directed to storage through circuit breaker 1130);
providing a controller configured to:
receive a site power output setpoint for the electrical power interconnection point [1200] (FIG. 3, refer to “a” above);
receive an indication of a total electrical output through the electrical power interconnection point [1200] (FIG. 3, refer to “c” above); and
based on a difference between the indication and the site power output setpoint, adjust at least one of:
OR
electrical energy delivered by the renewable energy electrical power generation plant [1250] to generate thermal energy in the thermal energy storage system (FIG. 3, ¶ [0023]; Variable Renewable Resources 1250 operate customarily providing energy, as the variable resources allow, to offset load 1200. Excess energy from DERS is directed to storage through circuit breaker 1130. If the cost of electricity from transmission 1000 is favorable, then additional energy is directed into storage).
Regarding Claim 18, Conlon discloses the method of claim 17 [see rejected Claim 17], further comprising:
providing a respective mechanical disconnect between at least one turbine [120] in the combined cycle electrical power generation plant [1250] and an associated generator [100] (FIG. 3, Claim 1; an engine that combusts a fuel with air to produce mechanical power and exhaust gas, the engine configured to provide the mechanical power to drive a first generator to produce electricity), and
wherein the controller is further configured to, based on the site power output setpoint, configure at least one generator within the combined cycle electrical power generation plant [1250] to operate as a synchronous condenser (Claim 1; a turbine generator configured to expand a gaseous working fluid across a turbine to generate electricity; a condenser arranged to condense gaseous working fluid exhaust from the turbine to provide liquid working fluid).
Regarding Claim 20, Conlon discloses the method of claim 17 [see rejected Claim 17], wherein the controller is configured to, when operating, based on the site power output setpoint, configure at least one generator within the combined cycle electrical power generation plant [1250] to operate as a synchronous condenser by at least operating the at least one generator as the synchronous condenser while the at least one generator is mechanically linked to and turning a rotor of a turbine (Claim 1; a turbine generator configured to expand a gaseous working fluid across a turbine to generate electricity; a condenser arranged to condense gaseous working fluid exhaust from the turbine to provide liquid working fluid).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 10-12 & 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH ORTEGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834