DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-20 recite “probe data,” but probe data is not defined in any of claims. Thus, it is not clear what “probe data” is.
Claim 6 recites “…determining a first difference between each probe of the plurality of probes and at least one first target probe of the each probe based on a diffuse reflection coefficient of probe data of the each probe and a diffuse reflection coefficient of probe data of the at least one first target probe of the each probe, wherein the first target probe of the each probe is a probe whose distance from a position of the each probe is less than a first threshold….”
The claim recites one first target probe of the each probe. It appears that each probe is a first target probe. However, if each probe is a target probe, then it is not clear why there is a need to determine a difference between each probe and the first target probe of the each probe, which is also the each probe itself.
Further, it is not clear how to determine the distance from a position of the each probe is less than a first threshold because the claim only recites one point (from a position of the each probe), it does not define the second point (to where?) when measuring a distance.
Therefore, the scope of claim 6 cannot be ascertained.
Claim 8 recites “…determining a second difference between each probe of the plurality of probes and at least one second target probe of the each probe based on distance data of probe data of the each probe and distance data of probe data of the at least one second target probe of the probe, wherein the second target probe of the each probe is a probe whose distance from a position of the each probe is less than a second threshold….”
The claim recites one second target probe of the each probe. It appears that each probe is a second target probe. However, if each probe is a target probe, then it is not clear why there is a need to determine a difference between each probe and the second target probe of the each probe, which is also the each probe itself.
Further, the claim recites “the at least one second target probe of the probe.” It is not clear what “the probe” is referring to. In other words, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Finally, it is not clear how to determine the distance from a position of the each probe is less than a second threshold because the claim only recites one point (from a position of the each probe), it does not define the second point (to where?) when measuring a distance.
Therefore, the scope of claim 8 cannot be ascertained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 11-15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stengel et al. (US 2022/0138988 A1) in view of Taquet et al. (US 2025/0056041 A1)
Consider claim 1, Stengel teaches an encoding method, comprising: obtaining probe data of a plurality of probes arranged in a scene (because probe data is not defined, it is interpreted as data/information associated with a light field. As shown in operation 104, a light field for the scene is computed at the remote device, utilizing ray tracing. In one embodiment, the remote device may perform ray tracing within a scene to determine the light field for the scene. [0024]. The light field may include a plurality of light probes. In yet another embodiment, each light probe within the light field may store information about light reflected off surfaces within the scene. [0025]); dividing the probe data into a plurality of probe data groups (each block within the array may include color texture information and visibility texture information. For example, the color texture information may include lighting color information within the block. In another example, the visibility texture information may include distance information. [0026]; encoding color and encoding visibility. [0186] – [0189]. The information in each block (probe data) is divided into color texture information and visibility texture information); performing first encoding on a first probe data group in the plurality of probe data groups to generate a first encoding result (encoding color. [0186] – [0189]); performing second encoding on a second probe data group in the plurality of probe data groups to generate a second encoding result (encoding visibility. [0186] – [0189]), wherein an encoding scheme of the first encoding is different from an encoding scheme of the second encoding (the encoding of color is different from the encoding of visibility. [0186] – [0189]).
However, Stengel does not explicitly teach generating a bitstream based on the first encoding result and the second encoding result.
Taquet teaches generating a bitstream based on the first encoding result and the second encoding result (The sensor can then estimate the distance to the object from the time difference between the sending and the receiving of the signal (corresponding to r.sub.3D), and it can generate a point by providing sensed data comprising point geometry data (typically coordinates (r.sub.3D,s,λ) or (r.sub.2, ϕ, θ) or directly coordinates (x,y,z)) and other attributes like color, reflectance, acquisition timestamps, etc., for the given sensing direction (coordinates (s,λ)). The encoder 13 may provide a bitstream B organized in several chunks (for example slices) and each chunk can be sent, through a second communication channel, as soon as it is available/ready (for low latency streaming) to the decoder 14. [0075]. Other attributes like color are considered as the first probe data group; geometry data is considered as the second probe data group.
The encoding method comprises obtaining a sensing coverage data representative of at least one range of order indexes associated with sensed data and encoding said sensing coverage data into the bitstream, and the decoding method comprises decoding a sensing coverage data from the bitstream. [0084]
For instance, encoding/decoding point cloud geometry data and/or attributes data into/from the bitstream is based on the sensing coverage data, and so encoding/decoding the sensing coverage data into/from a bitstream is also advantageous because it may improve the compression of point clouds obtained from partially probed sensing path. [0089].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the known technique of generating a bitstream based on encoding result because such incorporation would improve the compression of point clouds obtained from partially probed sensing path. [0089].
Consider claim 3, Taquet teaches the dividing the probe data into a plurality of probe data groups comprises: dividing the probe data into the plurality of probe data groups based on target information of the probe data (the sensor can then estimate the distance to the object from the time difference between the sending and the receiving of the signal (corresponding to r.sub.3D), and it can generate a point by providing sensed data comprising point geometry data (typically coordinates (r.sub.3D,s,λ) or (r.sub.2, ϕ, θ) or directly coordinates (x,y,z)) and other attributes like color, reflectance, acquisition timestamps, etc., for the given sensing direction (coordinates (s,λ)). [0075]. Geometry data is based on distance of object; attributes based on color, reflectance, etc. of the object).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the known technique of generating a bitstream based on encoding result because such incorporation would improve the compression of point clouds obtained from partially probed sensing path. [0089].
Consider claim 4, Taquet teaches the target information comprises a three-dimensional spatial position of each probe in the plurality of probes, and the dividing the probe data into the plurality of probe data groups based on target information of the probe data comprises: dividing the probe data into the plurality of probe data groups based on the three-dimensional spatial position of each probe in the plurality of probes (the sensor can then estimate the distance to the object from the time difference between the sending and the receiving of the signal (corresponding to r.sub.3D), and it can generate a point by providing sensed data comprising point geometry data (typically coordinates (r.sub.3D,s,λ) or (r.sub.2, ϕ, θ) or directly coordinates (x,y,z)) and other attributes like color, reflectance, acquisition timestamps, etc., for the given sensing direction (coordinates (s,λ)). [0075]. Geometry data is based on distance of object; attributes based on color, reflectance, etc. of the object).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the known technique of generating a bitstream based on encoding result because such incorporation would improve the compression of point clouds obtained from partially probed sensing path. [0089].
Consider claim 5, Stengel teaches the target information comprises a diffuse reflection coefficient ([0176] – [0183]), and the dividing the probe data into the plurality of probe data groups based on target information of the probe data comprises: dividing illumination data in the probe data into a plurality of probe data groups based on the diffuse reflection coefficient of the probe data ([0176] – [0183]).
Consider claim 7, Taquet teaches the target information comprises distance data, and the dividing the probe data into the plurality of probe data groups based on target information of the probe data comprises: dividing visibility data in the probe data into a plurality of probe data groups based on the distance data of the probe data (the sensor can then estimate the distance to the object from the time difference between the sending and the receiving of the signal (corresponding to r.sub.3D), and it can generate a point by providing sensed data comprising point geometry data (typically coordinates (r.sub.3D,s,λ) or (r.sub.2, ϕ, θ) or directly coordinates (x,y,z)) and other attributes like color, reflectance, acquisition timestamps, etc., for the given sensing direction (coordinates (s,λ)). [0075]. Geometry data is based on distance of object; attributes based on color, reflectance, etc. of the object).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the known technique of generating a bitstream based on encoding result because such incorporation would improve the compression of point clouds obtained from partially probed sensing path. [0089].
Consider claim 11, Stengel teaches the bitstream comprises at least one of grouping information, arrangement information, or encoding information (compression/decompression format of color and visibility [0186] – [0189]), and the grouping information represents a grouping manner of the probe data (compression/decompression format of color and visibility [0186] – [0189]), the arrangement information represents arrangement information of the probe data, the encoding information represents an encoding scheme of the plurality of probe data groups (compression/decompression format of color and visibility [0186] – [0189]).
Consider claim 12, Stengel teaches a decoding method ([0035], [0116] and Fig. 6), comprising: obtaining aa plurality of pieces of probe data (each block within the array may include color texture information and visibility texture information. For example, the color texture information may include lighting color information within the block. In another example, the visibility texture information may include distance information. [0026]; encoding color and encoding visibility. [0186] – [0189]), and the plurality of pieces of probe data belong to a plurality of probe data groups (each block within the array may include color texture information and visibility texture information. For example, the color texture information may include lighting color information within the block. In another example, the visibility texture information may include distance information. [0026]; encoding color and encoding visibility. [0186] – [0189]); performing first decoding on a first probe data group in the plurality of probe data groups to generate a first decoding result (The client device 604 may receive the encoded display data via the communication interface 620 and the decoder 622 may decode the encoded display data to generate the display data. The client device 604 may then display the display data via the display 624. [0116]; [0153]; [0168] – [0172]; encoding color, and the decoding process is performed in reverse. [0186] – [0189]); performing second decoding on a second probe data group in the plurality of probe data groups to generate a second decoding result (The client device 604 may receive the encoded display data via the communication interface 620 and the decoder 622 may decode the encoded display data to generate the display data. The client device 604 may then display the display data via the display 624. [0116]; [0153]; [0168] – [0172]; encoding visibility, and the decoding process is performed in reverse. [0186] – [0189]), wherein a decoding scheme of the first decoding is different from a decoding scheme of the second decoding (the encoding of color is different from the encoding of visibility. [0186] – [0189]. Thus, the decoding of color is different from the decoding of visibility); obtaining probe data of a plurality of probes based on the first decoding result and the second decoding result (The client device 604 may receive the encoded display data via the communication interface 620 and the decoder 622 may decode the encoded display data to generate the display data. The client device 604 may then display the display data via the display 624. [0116]; [0153]; [0168] – [0172]; encoding color and encoding visibility, and the decoding process is performed in reverse. [0186] – [0189]; the compressed light field may be computed remotely, compressed using lossless or lossy compression, and provided to the client device, where the client device may decompress the compressed light field and may use the decompressed light field to perform global illumination for the scene at the client device. [0149]; as shown in operation 904, the compressed light field data is decompressed, and a color conversion of the decompressed light field data is performed to obtain the light field for the scene. [0153] – [0154].); and performing rendering based on the probe data (The client device 604 may receive the encoded display data via the communication interface 620 and the decoder 622 may decode the encoded display data to generate the display data. The client device 604 may then display the display data via the display 624. [0116]; [0153]; [0168] – [0172]).
However, Stengel does not explicitly teach obtaining a bitstream.
Taquet teaches obtaining a bitstream (The encoding method comprises obtaining a sensing coverage data representative of at least one range of order indexes associated with sensed data and encoding said sensing coverage data into the bitstream, and the decoding method comprises decoding a sensing coverage data from the bitstream. [0084]; see also [0075] and [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the known technique of generating a bitstream based on encoding result because such incorporation would improve the compression of point clouds obtained from partially probed sensing path. [0089].
Consider claim 13, Taquet teaches obtaining grouping information (the sensor can then estimate the distance to the object from the time difference between the sending and the receiving of the signal (corresponding to r.sub.3D), and it can generate a point by providing sensed data comprising point geometry data (typically coordinates (r.sub.3D,s,λ) or (r.sub.2, ϕ, θ) or directly coordinates (x,y,z)) and other attributes like color, reflectance, acquisition timestamps, etc., for the given sensing direction (coordinates (s,λ)). [0075]. Geometry data is based on distance of object; attributes based on color, reflectance, etc. of the object)), wherein the grouping information represents a grouping manner of the plurality of pieces of probe data (the sensor can then estimate the distance to the object from the time difference between the sending and the receiving of the signal (corresponding to r.sub.3D), and it can generate a point by providing sensed data comprising point geometry data (typically coordinates (r.sub.3D,s,λ) or (r.sub.2, ϕ, θ) or directly coordinates (x,y,z)) and other attributes like color, reflectance, acquisition timestamps, etc., for the given sensing direction (coordinates (s,λ)). [0075]. Geometry data is based on distance of object; attributes based on color, reflectance, etc. of the object)); and grouping the plurality of pieces of probe data in the bitstream based on the grouping information to obtain the plurality of probe data groups (the sensor can then estimate the distance to the object from the time difference between the sending and the receiving of the signal (corresponding to r.sub.3D), and it can generate a point by providing sensed data comprising point geometry data (typically coordinates (r.sub.3D,s,λ) or (r.sub.2, ϕ, θ) or directly coordinates (x,y,z)) and other attributes like color, reflectance, acquisition timestamps, etc., for the given sensing direction (coordinates (s,λ)). [0075]. Geometry data is based on distance of object; attributes based on color, reflectance, etc. of the object)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the known technique of generating a bitstream based on encoding result because such incorporation would improve the compression of point clouds obtained from partially probed sensing path. [0089].
Consider claim 14, Stengel teaches obtaining decoding information (compression/decompression format of color and visibility [0186] – [0189]), wherein the decoding information represents a decoding scheme of the plurality of probe data groups (compression/decompression format of color and visibility [0186] – [0189]), and the decoding scheme comprises the decoding scheme corresponding to the first decoding and the decoding scheme corresponding to the second decoding (compression/decompression format of color and visibility [0186] – [0189]).
Consider claim 15, Taquet teaches obtaining arrangement information, wherein the arrangement information represents an arrangement manner of the plurality of pieces of probe data (the sensor can then estimate the distance to the object from the time difference between the sending and the receiving of the signal (corresponding to r.sub.3D), and it can generate a point by providing sensed data comprising point geometry data (typically coordinates (r.sub.3D,s,λ) or (r.sub.2, ϕ, θ) or directly coordinates (x,y,z)) and other attributes like color, reflectance, acquisition timestamps, etc., for the given sensing direction (coordinates (s,λ)). [0075]. Geometry data is based on distance of object; attributes based on color, reflectance, etc. of the object)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the known technique of generating a bitstream based on encoding result because such incorporation would improve the compression of point clouds obtained from partially probed sensing path. [0089].
Consider claim 18, claim 18 recites a decoding apparatus ([0035], [0116] and Fig. 6), comprising: a memory configured to store instructions ([0021], [0120] – [0125], Fig. 7); at least one processor coupled to the memory ([0021], [0120] – [0125], Fig. 7), and configured to execute the instructions to cause the decoding apparatus to perform the method recited in claim 12 (see rejection for claim 12).
Consider claim 19, claim 19 recites a decoding apparatus that performs the method recited in claim 13. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 20, claim 20 recites a decoding apparatus that performs the method recited in claim 14. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 2, 9-10 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stengel et al. (US 2022/0138988 A1) in view of Taquet et al. (US 2025/0056041 A1) and Ricard et al. (US 2021/0056730 A1)
Consider claim 2, the combination of Stengel and Taquet teaches all the limitations in claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the plurality of probe data groups comprise at least one probe data group comprising probe data in a current frame and probe data in a non-current frame, and the obtaining probe data of a plurality of probes comprises: obtaining probe data of a plurality of probes in the current frame; and obtaining probe data of a plurality of probes in the non-current frame.
Ricard teaches the plurality of probe data groups comprise at least one probe data group comprising probe data in a current frame and probe data in a non-current frame (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082];
a projection mode may be used to indicate if the first geometry image GI0 may store the depth values of the 2D samples of either the first or second layer and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values associated with the 2D samples of either the second or first layer. For example, when a projection mode equals 0, then the first geometry image GI0 may store the depth values of 2D samples of the first layer and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values associated with 2D samples of the second layer. Reciprocally, when a projection mode equals 1, then the first geometry image GI0 may store the depth values of 2D samples of the second and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values associated with 2D samples of the first layer. [0089] – [0090];
the texture image generator TIG may code (store) the texture (attribute) values T0 associated with 2D samples of the first layer as pixel values of a first texture image TI0 and the texture values T1 associated with the 2D samples of the second layer as pixel values of a second texture image TI1. Alternatively, the texture image generating module TIG may code (store) the texture values T1 associated with 2D samples of the second layer as pixel values of the first texture image TI0 and the texture values D0 associated with the 2D samples of the first layer as pixel values of the second geometry image GI1. [0098] – [0104];
two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]), and the obtaining probe data of a plurality of probes comprises: obtaining probe data of a plurality of probes in the current frame (two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]); and obtaining probe data of a plurality of probes in the non-current frame (two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the teachings of Ricard into the combination of Stengel and Taquet because such incorporation would help better handle the case of multiple 3D samples being projected to a same 2D sample of the projection plane. [0083].
Consider claim 9, Ricard teaches the method further comprises: arranging the probe data into a two-dimensional picture based on a grouping status of the probe data (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]), wherein the two-dimensional picture comprises a plurality of picture blocks ([0038]), and the plurality of picture blocks one-to-one correspond to the plurality of probe data groups (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]); the performing first encoding on a first probe data group in the plurality of probe data groups to generate a first encoding result comprises: performing the first encoding on a picture block that is in the two-dimensional picture and that corresponds to the first probe data group to generate the first encoding result (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]); and the performing second encoding on a second probe data group in the plurality of probe data groups to generate a second encoding result comprises: performing the second encoding on a picture block that is in the two-dimensional picture and that corresponds to the second probe data group to generate the second encoding result (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the teachings of Ricard into the combination of Stengel and Taquet because such incorporation would help better handle the case of multiple 3D samples being projected to a same 2D sample of the projection plane. [0083].
Consider claim 10, Ricard teaches arranging the plurality of probe data groups into a plurality of two-dimensional pictures (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]), wherein the plurality of two-dimensional pictures one-to-one correspond to the plurality of probe data groups (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]); the performing first encoding on a first probe data group in the plurality of probe data groups to generate a first encoding result comprises: performing the first encoding on a two-dimensional picture that is in the plurality of two-dimensional pictures and that corresponds to the first probe data group to generate the first encoding result (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]); and the performing second encoding on a second probe data group in the plurality of probe data groups to generate a second encoding result comprises: performing the second encoding on a two-dimensional picture that is in the plurality of two-dimensional pictures and that corresponds to the second probe data group to generate the second encoding result (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the teachings of Ricard into the combination of Stengel and Taquet because such incorporation would help better handle the case of multiple 3D samples being projected to a same 2D sample of the projection plane. [0083].
Consider claim 16, Ricard teaches the bitstream comprises a two-dimensional picture (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]), the two-dimensional picture comprises a plurality of picture blocks, and the plurality of picture blocks one-to-one correspond to the plurality of probe data groups (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]); the performing first decoding on a first probe data group in the plurality of probe data groups to generate a first decoding result comprises: performing the first decoding on a picture block that is in the two-dimensional picture and that corresponds to the first probe data group to generate the first decoding result (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; decoding geometry images and color information. [0156] – [0164]; [0214] – [0220]. The methods of FIG. 7 (encoding) and 7b (decoding) may be used in different use cases. [0231]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]); and the performing second decoding on a second probe data group in the plurality of probe data groups to generate a second decoding result comprises: performing the second decoding on a picture block that is in the two-dimensional picture and that corresponds to the second probe data group to generate the second decoding result (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; decoding geometry images and color information. [0156] – [0164]; [0214] – [0220]. The methods of FIG. 7 (encoding) and 7b (decoding) may be used in different use cases. [0231]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the teachings of Ricard into the combination of Stengel and Taquet because such incorporation would help better handle the case of multiple 3D samples being projected to a same 2D sample of the projection plane. [0083].
Consider claim 17, Ricard teaches the bitstream comprises a plurality of two-dimensional pictures (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]), and the plurality of two-dimensional pictures one-to-one correspond to the plurality of probe data groups (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]); the performing first decoding on a first probe data group in the plurality of probe data groups to generate a first decoding result comprises: performing the first decoding on a two-dimensional picture that is in the plurality of two-dimensional pictures and that corresponds to the first probe data group to generate the first decoding result (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; decoding geometry images and color information. [0156] – [0164]; [0214] – [0220]. The methods of FIG. 7 (encoding) and 7b (decoding) may be used in different use cases. [0231]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]); and the performing second decoding on a second probe data group in the plurality of probe data groups to generate a second decoding result comprises: performing the second decoding on a two-dimensional picture that is in the plurality of two-dimensional pictures and that corresponds to the second probe data group to generate the second decoding result (geometry/texture images representing the geometry/attributes of 3D samples of the input point cloud frame IPCF. [0046]; [0080] – [0082]; decoding geometry images and color information. [0156] – [0164]; [0214] – [0220]. The methods of FIG. 7 (encoding) and 7b (decoding) may be used in different use cases. [0231]; two geometry images GI0 and GI1 (two layers) may be used to encode the geometry of the point cloud frame PCF. For example, the first geometry image may store the depth values D0 associated with the 2D samples with the lowest depth (first layer) and the second geometry image GI1 may store the depth values D1 associated with the 2D samples with the highest depth (second layer). Next, at least one stuffing 3D sample may be added according to the method of FIG. 7 or 7b. Finally, the color information associated with the 3D samples of the point cloud PCF may be encoded as two texture image TI0 and TI1. The first texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the first geometry image GI0 and the second texture image TI1 encodes the color information relative to the second geometry image GI1. A third texture image T12 may encode the color information associated with at least one stuffing sample when an explicit color-coding mode is assigned to said at least one stuffing 3D sample. [0233]; see also [0080] – [0082]; [0089] – [0090]; [0098] – [0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the teachings of Ricard into the combination of Stengel and Taquet because such incorporation would help better handle the case of multiple 3D samples being projected to a same 2D sample of the projection plane. [0083].
Conclusion
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486