DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/830,809 filed on 09/11/2024 in which claims 1-21 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 12, 13, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 15 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (EP 4765933 A1).
1. Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches a communication method comprising:
a first communication device sending an add block acknowledgement (ADDBA) request frame to a second communication device through a communication link (Fig. 20 ADDBA REQ); and
the first communication device receiving an ADDBA response frame from the second communication device through the communication link (Lim, Fig 20), wherein each of the ADDBA request frame and the ADDBA response frame comprises a link adaptation negotiation field for negotiation of at least one link adaptation parameter of the communication link (Lim, Paragraphs [0221] to [0223] LA info transmitted in ADDBA REQ, ADDBA RES; negotiation).
2. Regarding claim 2, Lim teaches, wherein the link adaptation
negotiation field comprises a criterion based on the at least one link adaptation measurement and a corresponding level of the at least one link adaptation measurement (Paragraph [0221] to [0224] LA info, MCS info set as recommended MCS).
3. Regarding claim 3, Lim teaches wherein the at least one link
adaptation measurement comprises one or more of a throughput, a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), or a packet error rate (PER) of the communication link (Paragraph [0137] to [0141] improved link adaptation; feedback based on measurement result).
4. Regarding claim 4, Lim teaches, wherein the link adaptation
negotiation field is included in an existing field of the corresponding ADDBA request or response frame (Lim, Paragraphs [0221] to [0223] LA info transmitted in ADDBA REQ, ADDBA RES; negotiation).
5. Regarding claim 5, Lim teaches a communication method comprising:
a first communication device sending a block acknowledgement request (BAR) frame to a second communication device through a communication link, wherein the BAR frame comprises a link adaptation information request for feedback of at least one link adaptation parameter of the communication link ( Lim, Fig. 20 Paragraphs [0221] to [0223] LA info transmitted in ADDBA REQ, ADDBA RES; negotiation); and
the first communication device receiving a block acknowledgement (BA) frame from the
second communication device through the communication link, wherein the BA frame comprises a link adaptation information response relating to the at least one link adaptation parameter of the communication link (Lim, Fig. 20 Paragraphs [0221] to [0223] LA info transmitted in ADDBA REQ, ADDBA RES; negotiation).
6. Regarding claim 8, Lim teaches, wherein the link adaptation
information response comprises a recommendation or measurement relating to the at least one link adaptation parameter (Lim, Fig. 20 Paragraphs [0221] to [0223] LA info transmitted in ADDBA REQ, ADDBA RES; negotiation).
7. Regarding claim 15, Lim teaches A communication method comprising:
a first communication device sending a block acknowledgement (BA) frame to a second
communication device through a communication link, wherein the BA frame comprises a recommendation for increasing a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) level of the
communication link between the first communication device and the second communication device (Lim, Fig. 20 Paragraphs [0221] to [0224] LA info transmitted in ADDBA REQ, ADDBA RES; negotiation; MCS).
8. Regarding claim 18, Lim teaches a communication apparatus comprising: one or more processors functionally connected to one or more non-transitory machine-readable memories storing thereon machine-executable instructions, and the one or more processors are configured to execute the machine- executable instructions (Fig. 1a and 1b) and cause the communication apparatus to perform the communication
method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
9. Regarding claim 19, Lim teaches a communication apparatus comprising: one or more processors functionally connected to one or more non-transitory machine-readable memories storing thereon machine-executable instructions, and the one or more processors are configured to execute the machine-executable instructions (Fig. 1a and 1b) and cause the communication apparatus to perform the communication
method of claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5).
10. Regarding claim 20, Lim teaches a communication apparatus comprising: one or more processors functionally connected to one or more non-transitory machine-readable memories storing thereon machine-executable instructions, and the one or more processors are configured to execute the machine-executable instructions (Fig. 1a and 1b) and cause the communication apparatus to perform the communication method of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15).
11. Regarding claim 21, Lim teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage devices (Paragraph [0245] CRM) comprising computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed, cause one or more circuits to perform the communication method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (EP 4765933 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2017/0064695 A1).
12. Regarding claim 9, Lim does not explicitly disclose wherein the BAR frame
comprises a BAR type subfield including one value indicating an existence of the link adaptation information request in the BAR frame and the BA frame comprises a BA type subfield including one value indicating an existence of the link adaptation information response in the BA frame.
Zhou teaches wherein the BAR frame
comprises a BAR type subfield including one value indicating an existence of the link adaptation information request in the BAR frame and the BA frame comprises a BA type subfield including one value indicating an existence of the link adaptation information response in the BA frame (Fig. 3A and 3B Paragraph [0077] and [0078] soliciting frame; response to soliciting frame; Link adaptation Field).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the BAR frame
comprises a BAR type subfield including one value indicating an existence of the link adaptation information request in the BAR frame and the BA frame comprises a BA type subfield including one value indicating an existence of the link adaptation information response in the BA frame as taught by Zhou in the system of Lim for simplicity by reusing fields rather than defining additional fields see Paragraph [0080] of Zhou.
13. Regarding claim 10, Lim does not explicitly disclose, wherein
the BAR frame comprises a BAR information field specifying the link adaptation
information request; and the BA frame comprises a BA information field specifying the link adaptation information response.
Zhou teaches, wherein the BAR frame comprises a BAR information field specifying the link adaptation information request; and the BA frame comprises a BA information field specifying the link adaptation information response (Fig. 3A and 3B Paragraph [0077] and [0078] soliciting frame; response to soliciting frame; Link adaptation Field).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the BAR frame comprises a BAR information field specifying the link adaptation information request; and the BA frame comprises a BA information field specifying the link adaptation information response as taught by Zhou in the system of Lim for simplicity by reusing fields rather than defining additional fields see Paragraph [0080] of Zhou.
14. Regarding claim 11, Lim does not explicitly disclose wherein the link adaptation
information request for feedback of the at least one link adaptation parameter comprises a request for feedback of a single link adaptation parameter of the communication link.
Zhou teaches wherein the link adaptation
information request for feedback of the at least one link adaptation parameter comprises a request for feedback of a single link adaptation parameter of the communication link.
(Fig. 3A and 3B Paragraph [0077] and [0078] soliciting frame; response to soliciting frame; Link adaptation Field).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the link adaptation
information request for feedback of the at least one link adaptation parameter comprises a request for feedback of a single link adaptation parameter of the communication link.
as taught by Zhou in the system of Lim for simplicity by reusing fields rather than defining additional fields see Paragraph [0080] of Zhou.
15. Regarding claim 14, Lim in view of Zhou teaches wherein the single link
adaptation parameter is one of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a number of spatial streams (NSS) and an unequal modulation (UEQM) pattern of the communication link (Zhou, Paragraphs [0077] to [0079] MCS, NSS).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Sammour et al. (US 2006/0268886 A1) Paragraphs [0038] to [0049]
Kim et al. (US 2017/0353887 A1) Paragraphs [0052] to [0057]
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466