DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed on 9/11/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10 and 11 recite the limitation "the other notification". Claims 10 and 11 depend on claim 9 which depends on claim 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation since there are no earlier recitation of “other notification”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long, US Patent Publication No. 20220286953, published on 9/8/2022 (hereinafter Long) in view of Klatt, US Patent Publication No. 20210400573, published on 12/23/2021 (hereinafter Klatt).
As for independent claim 1, Long discloses A method, comprising:
Receiving, by a first network device (the provisioning includes the UDR receiving), a first command (the UDR sends, to the UDM, a notification of the update of the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data) to bar a network slice associated with a subscriber (a provisioning system, the update of the enhanced user slice selection subscription data, for example to change network slice-specific authentication and authorization for N-NSSAI4 from not required to required);
(Long paragraph [0104] discloses “Step 700: Operator provisioning, through a provisioning system, the update of the enhanced user slice selection subscription data, for example to change network slice-specific authentication and authorization for N-NSSAI4 from not required to required. In some embodiments, the provisioning includes the UDR receiving, from a network node, an update for the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data for the at least one network slice.”
Paragraph [0106] discloses “Step 704: UDR notifies UDM of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change. In some embodiments, the UDR sends, to the UDM, a notification of the update of the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM receives, from the UDR, a notification of an enhanced slice selection subscription data update for the at least one network slice.”
Long discloses a Network Slice-Specific authentication and authorization service to not require to require for access to a network slice.)
identifying, by the first network device (UDM queries UDR for the enhanced user slice selection subscription data) and based on the first command, the subscriber (Slice selection subscription data), the network slice to be barred (Slice selection subscription data is enhanced to support an indication of whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required or not for S-NSSAIs), and one or more active sessions (requires features of a particular type of network slice) associated with the network slice and the subscriber (network slices available for UE access); and
(Long paragraph [0080] discloses “Step 606: UDM queries UDR for the enhanced user slice selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM sends, to a network node (e.g., UDR), a request for the enhanced slice selection subscription data, and receives, from the network node, the enhanced slice selection subscription data. In other embodiments, a UDR receives, from the UDM, a request for enhanced slice selection subscription data for at least one network slice, and sends, to the UDM, the enhanced slice selection subscription data for the at least one network slice.”
Paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”
Paragraph [0047] discloses “Slice selection subscription data is enhanced to support an indication of whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required or not for S-NSSAIs, so that once the AMF gets the information it can decide whether to trigger the slice-specific authentication and authorization for those S-NSSAIs subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization.”
Long discloses a Network Slice-Specific authentication and authorization service to allow/deny access to a network slice.)
providing, by the first network device (from the UDR) and to a second network device (UDM), (features of a particular type of network slice) with the network slice (network slices available) and the subscriber (selection subscription data, UE access) and to bar the network slice for the subscriber (enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s)).
(Long paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”
Paragraph [0107] discloses “Step 706: UDM notifies AMF of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change. In some embodiments, the AMF receives a notification of an update of the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM sends, to the AMF, a notification of the update of the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data in response to receiving, from the UDR, a notification of an enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data update for at least one network slice.”
[0148] receiving (604), from a second network node, a request for enhanced slice selection subscription data for at least one network slice, the enhanced slice selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for registration on the at least one network slice;
[0014] Embodiments are disclosed herein that relate to enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s). Embodiments of a method of generating, based on the enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data and the slice-specific authentication and authorization, a registration response to a wireless device registration request to access at least one network slice are disclosed.”
Long discloses a Network Slice-Specific authentication and authorization service to allow/deny (barred/unbarred) access to a network slice.)
Long does not appear to explicitly disclose a method comprising a notification indicating to terminate the one or more active sessions. However, Klatt discloses a method comprising a notification indicating to terminate (RRC connection release message) the one or more active sessions (performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network)).
(Klatt paragraph [0048] discloses “Hence, according to the present invention, it is advantageously possible to avoid requiring a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection (via a general RRC connection release message)—just in order to being able to suspend the use (by one or a plurality of user equipment) of one or a plurality of network slices or network service. “
Paragraph [0049] discloses “However and also according to the present invention, it is not excluded that the radio resource control connection is indeed (completely) interrupted (or released)—in normal cases (i.e. overload control is, in such an implementation, performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network). In such a situation (of a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection of the user equipment”
Klatt discloses it is advantageously possible to avoid requiring a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection (via a general RRC connection release message)—just in order to being able to suspend the use (by one or a plurality of user equipment) of one or a plurality of network slices or network service)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Klatt with Long for the benefit of having a method to bar a network slice to a subscriber (UE) and to terminate all the sessions associate with a network slice from being able to access by UE. Further benefit to combine is to be more efficient at prevent a UE from access a barred network slice, thus, improve the resource usage on the network slice.
As for claim 2, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above. Long discloses the method of claim 1, wherein
the notification causes the second network device (receiving (604), from a second network node a request) (requires features of a particular type of network slice) associated with the network slice and the subscriber and to bar the network slice (to trigger network slice-specific authentication and authorization to prevent unauthorized UE access to a slice) for the subscriber (unauthorized UE).
(Long paragraph [0148] discloses “receiving (604), from a second network node, a request for enhanced slice selection subscription data for at least one network slice, the enhanced slice selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for registration on the at least one network slice;”
paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”
Paragraph [0015] discloses “Embodiments of methods of operation of a system of core network entities are disclosed that include providing, storing, retrieving, and using enhanced slice selection subscription data, which indicates whether a UE is subject to a network slice-specific authentication and authorization for access to a slice, to trigger network slice-specific authentication and authorization to prevent unauthorized UE access to a slice.”
Long discloses a Network Slice-Specific authentication and authorization service to allow/deny (barred/unbarred) access to a network slice.)
Long does not appear to explicitly disclose method comprising to terminate the one or more active sessions. However, Klatt discloses method comprising to terminate the one or more (RRC connection release message) active sessions (performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network)).
(Klatt paragraph [0048] discloses “Hence, according to the present invention, it is advantageously possible to avoid requiring a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection (via a general RRC connection release message)—just in order to being able to suspend the use (by one or a plurality of user equipment) of one or a plurality of network slices or network service. “
Paragraph [0049] discloses “However and also according to the present invention, it is not excluded that the radio resource control connection is indeed (completely) interrupted (or released)—in normal cases (i.e. overload control is, in such an implementation, performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network). In such a situation (of a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection of the user equipment”
Klatt discloses it is advantageously possible to avoid requiring a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection (via a general RRC connection release message)—just in order to being able to suspend the use (by one or a plurality of user equipment) of one or a plurality of network slices or network service)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Klatt with Long for the benefit of having a method to bar a network slice to a subscriber (UE) and to terminate all the sessions associate with a network slice from being able to access by UE. Further benefit to combine is to be more efficient at prevent a UE from access a barred network slice, thus, improve the resource usage on the network slice.
As for claim 3, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above. Long discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, after providing the notification (core network entities, UDR notifies UDM of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change), a second command to unbar the network slice associated with the subscriber (process the provisioning and store the enhanced slice selection subscription data with indication of whether a network slice is subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization or not are disclosed); and
(Long paragraph [0015] discloses “Embodiments of methods of operation of a system of core network entities are disclosed that include providing, storing, retrieving, and using enhanced slice selection subscription data, which indicates whether a UE is subject to a network slice-specific authentication and authorization for access to a slice, to trigger network slice-specific authentication and authorization to prevent unauthorized UE access to a slice.”
Paragraph [0017] discloses “Embodiments of a method of operation of a UDR to process the provisioning and store the enhanced slice selection subscription data with indication of whether a network slice is subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization or not are disclosed. In some embodiments, these embodiments further include a sub-method that if the slice selection subscription information related to slice-specific authentication and authorization is changed then notify UDM, so UDM could further notify AMF as descried above”
Paragraph [0106] discloses “Step 704: UDR notifies UDM of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change. In some embodiments, the UDR sends, to the UDM, a notification of the update of the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM receives, from the UDR, a notification of an enhanced slice selection subscription data update for the at least one network slice.”
Long discloses a Network Slice-Specific authentication and authorization service to authorized (unbarred) access to a network slice.)
causing the network slice (network slice-specific authentication and authorization) associated with the subscriber (UEs) to be unbarred (entitled to access) based on the second command.
(Long paragraph [0020] discloses “In some embodiments, if network slice-specific authentication and authorization is performed for those S-NSSAIs subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization, UEs can only access the network slice(s) that those UEs are entitled to access.”)
As for claim 4, the limitations of parent claim 3 has been discussed above. Long discloses the method of claim 3,
wherein the second command enables the subscriber to(UEs can only access the network slice(s) that those UEs are entitled to access).
(Long paragraph [0020] discloses “In some embodiments, if network slice-specific authentication and authorization is performed for those S-NSSAIs subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization, UEs can only access the network slice(s) that those UEs are entitled to access.”)
Long does not appear to explicitly disclose method comprising to initiate an active session. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Klatt discloses method comprising to initiate an active session (the user equipment to use user plane radio communication resources of the telecommunications network, relating to the respective use of one of the different network slices and/or one of the different network services, is allowed).
(Klatt paragraph [0029] discloses “after expiration of the suspend time interval—an attempt of the user equipment to use user plane radio communication resources of the telecommunications network, relating to the respective use of one of the different network slices and/or one of the different network services, is allowed, and/or—likewise after expiration of the suspend time interval—an attempt of the user equipment to access the telecommunications network relating to the respective use of one of the different network slices and/or one of the different network services, is allowed.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Klatt with Long for the benefit of having a method capable to unbar and initiates access to the previously barred network slice. Further benefit to combine is to make the method more efficient when managing access to the network slice(s) offer by the operator of the network.
As for claim 5, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above. Long discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the first network device is a unified data repository (from the UDR) of a core network and the second network device is a unified data management (the UDM sends) component of the core network.
(Long paragraph [0080] Step 606: UDM queries UDR for the enhanced user slice selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM sends, to a network node (e.g., UDR), a request for the enhanced slice selection subscription data, and receives, from the network node, the enhanced slice selection subscription data. In other embodiments, a UDR receives, from the UDM, a request for enhanced slice selection subscription data for at least one network slice, and sends, to the UDM, the enhanced slice selection subscription data for the at least one network slice.”)
As for claim 6, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
storing slice provisioning data associated with the network slice (UDR stores the updated enhanced user slice selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDR updates the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data based on the update for the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data) prior to providing the notification to the second network device (UDR notifies UDM of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change).
(Long paragraph [0105] discloses “Step 702: UDR stores the updated enhanced user slice selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDR updates the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data based on the update for the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data.”
Paragraph [0106] discloses “Step 704: UDR notifies UDM of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change. In some embodiments, the UDR sends, to the UDM, a notification of the update of the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM receives, from the UDR, a notification of an enhanced slice selection subscription data update for the at least one network slice.”)
As for claim 7, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above. Long discloses the method of claim 1, wherein
the first command to bar the network slice (to trigger network slice-specific authentication and authorization to prevent unauthorized UE access to a slice) is received from (the provisioning includes the UDR receiving, from a network node) a network operator or an automated system (a system of core network entities is disclosed that include providing, storing, retrieving, and using enhanced slice selection subscription data).
(Long paragraph [0015] discloses “Embodiments of methods of operation of a system of core network entities is disclosed that include providing, storing, retrieving, and using enhanced slice selection subscription data, which indicates whether a UE is subject to a network slice-specific authentication and authorization for access to a slice, to trigger network slice-specific authentication and authorization to prevent unauthorized UE access to a slice.”
Paragraph [0104] discloses, “Step 700: Operator provisioning, through a provisioning system, the update of the enhanced user slice selection subscription data, for example to change network slice-specific authentication and authorization for N-NSSAI4 from not required to required. In some embodiments, the provisioning includes the UDR receiving, from a network node, an update for the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data for the at least one network slice.”
Long discloses a Network Slice-Specific authentication and authorization service to unauthorized (barred) UE access to a network slice.)
As for independent claim 8, Long discloses a first network device, comprising:
one or more processors configured to:
receive a first command to bar a network slice associated with a subscriber, wherein the first command to bar the network slice (UE is subject to a network slice-specific authentication and authorization for access to a slice, to trigger network slice-specific authentication and authorization to prevent unauthorized UE access to a slice) is received from (the provisioning includes the UDR receiving, from a network node) a network operator or an automated system (a system of core network entities is disclosed);
(Long paragraph [0115] discloses “In some embodiments, a computer program including instructions which, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to carry out the functionality of radio access node 800 or a node (e.g., a processing node 900) implementing one or more of the functions 910 of the radio access node 800 in a virtual environment according to any of the embodiments described herein is provided. In some embodiments, a carrier comprising the aforementioned computer program product is provided. The carrier is one of an electronic signal, an optical signal, a radio signal, or a computer readable storage medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer readable medium such as memory).”
Paragraph [0015] discloses “Embodiments of methods of operation of a system of core network entities is disclosed that include providing, storing, retrieving, and using enhanced slice selection subscription data, which indicates whether a UE is subject to a network slice-specific authentication and authorization for access to a slice, to trigger network slice-specific authentication and authorization to prevent unauthorized UE access to a slice.”
Paragraph [0104] discloses, “Step 700: Operator provisioning, through a provisioning system, the update of the enhanced user slice selection subscription data, for example to change network slice-specific authentication and authorization for N-NSSAI4 from not required to required. In some embodiments, the provisioning includes the UDR receiving, from a network node, an update for the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data for the at least one network slice.”)
Identify (UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access), based on the first command, the subscriber, the network slice to be barred (UE is subject to a network slice-specific authentication and authorization for access to a slice, to trigger network slice-specific authentication and authorization to prevent unauthorized UE access to a slice), and one or more active sessions (features of a particular type of network slice) associated with the network slice and the subscriber (selection subscription data); and
(Long paragraph [0015] discloses “Embodiments of methods of operation of a system of core network entities are disclosed that include providing, storing, retrieving, and using enhanced slice selection subscription data, which indicates whether a UE is subject to a network slice-specific authentication and authorization for access to a slice, to trigger network slice-specific authentication and authorization to prevent unauthorized UE access to a slice.”
Paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”)
provide, to a second network device (UDM to identify the network slices available), (features of a particular type of network slice) associated with the network slice and the subscriber (the enhanced slice selection subscription data) and to bar the network slice for the subscriber (indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s).).
(Long paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”
Paragraph [0148] discloses “receiving (604), from a second network node, a request for enhanced slice selection subscription data for at least one network slice, the enhanced slice selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for registration on the at least one network slice;”
Paragraph [0014] discloses “Embodiments are disclosed herein that relate to enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s). Embodiments of a method of generating, based on the enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data and the slice-specific authentication and authorization, a registration response to a wireless device registration request to access at least one network slice are disclosed.”)
Long does not appear to explicitly disclose a device comprising providing a notification indicating to terminate the one or more active sessions. However, Klatt discloses a device comprising providing a notification indicating to terminate (RRC connection release message) the one or more active sessions (performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network)).
(Klatt paragraph [0048] discloses “Hence, according to the present invention, it is advantageously possible to avoid requiring a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection (via a general RRC connection release message)—just in order to being able to suspend the use (by one or a plurality of user equipment) of one or a plurality of network slices or network service. “
Paragraph [0049] discloses “However and also according to the present invention, it is not excluded that the radio resource control connection is indeed (completely) interrupted (or released)—in normal cases (i.e. overload control is, in such an implementation, performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network). In such a situation (of a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection of the user equipment”
Klatt discloses it is advantageously possible to avoid requiring a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection (via a general RRC connection release message)—just in order to being able to suspend the use (by one or a plurality of user equipment) of one or a plurality of network slices or network service)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Klatt with Long for the benefit of having a method to bar a network slice to a subscriber (UE) and to terminate all the sessions associate with a network slice from being able to access by UE. Further benefit to combine is to be more efficient at prevent a UE from access a barred network slice, thus, improve the resource usage on the network slice.
As for claim 9. the limitations of parent claim 8 has been discussed above. Long discloses the first network device of claim 8, wherein
the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a second command to bar a network slice (enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s)) associated with
identify, based on the second command, (selection subscription data), the network slice (to access at least one network slice) to be barred (indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s)), and one or more active sessions associated (features of a particular type of network slice) with the network slice and (selection subscription data); and
(Long paragraph [0115] discloses “In some embodiments, a computer program including instructions which, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to carry out the functionality of radio access node 800 or a node (e.g., a processing node 900) implementing one or more of the functions 910 of the radio access node 800 in a virtual environment according to any of the embodiments described herein is provided. In some embodiments, a carrier comprising the aforementioned computer program product is provided. The carrier is one of an electronic signal, an optical signal, a radio signal, or a computer readable storage medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer readable medium such as memory).”
Paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”
Long [0014] discloses “Embodiments are disclosed herein that relate to enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s). Embodiments of a method of generating, based on the enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data and the slice-specific authentication and authorization, a registration response to a wireless device registration request to access at least one network slice are disclosed.”)
provide, to the second network device (UDM notifies), (features of a particular type of network slice) associated with the network slice and (to trigger network slice-specific authentication and authorization to prevent unauthorized UE access to a slice) for
(Long paragraph [0014] discloses “Embodiments are disclosed herein that relate to enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s). Embodiments of a method of generating, based on the enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data and the slice-specific authentication and authorization, a registration response to a wireless device registration request to access at least one network slice are disclosed.”
Paragraph [0107] discloses “Step 706: UDM notifies AMF of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change. In some embodiments, the AMF receives a notification of an update of the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM sends, to the AMF, a notification of the update of the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data in response to receiving, from the UDR, a notification of an enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data update for at least one network slice.”
Paragraph [0015] disclosed “Embodiments of methods of operation of a system of core network entities are disclosed that include providing, storing, retrieving, and using enhanced slice selection subscription data, which indicates whether a UE is subject to a network slice-specific authentication and authorization for access to a slice, to trigger network slice-specific authentication and authorization to prevent unauthorized UE access to a slice.”
Paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”)
Long does not appear to explicitly disclose a device comprising a group of subscribers, and another notification indicating to terminate. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Klatt discloses device comprising a group of subscribers (the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.), and another notification indicating to terminate ((performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network)).
(Klatt paragraph [0010] discloses “In order to prevent a user equipment or a plurality of user equipment from additionally accessing already overloaded network resources (or network resources risking to be overloaded when requested to handle additional requests or traffic), e.g. in parts of the telecommunications network or for a certain kind (or groups) of communication service(s) or network slice(s), it is beneficial to limit the involved user equipment in their ability to request user plane radio communication resources and/or access to such shared media or to the telecommunications network—and also to such network resources (or shared media) that are specific to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.”
Paragraph [0049] discloses “However and also according to the present invention, it is not excluded that the radio resource control connection is indeed (completely) interrupted (or released)—in normal cases (i.e. overload control is, in such an implementation, performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network). In such a situation (of a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection of the user equipment).”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Klatt with Long for the benefit of having a core network entity (UDM) to be able to terminate sessions and provision to bar access the network slice(s) associated with a group of user equipment. Further benefit to combine is to make the provision more efficient when denying a group verse having an entry for each UE.
As for claim 10, the limitations of parent claim 9 has been discussed above. Long discloses the first network device (UDR) of claim 9, wherein
(UDM)( response to receiving, from the UDR, a notification of an enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data update for at least one network slice) (features of a particular type of network slice) with the network slice and (to trigger network slice-specific authentication and authorization to prevent unauthorized UE access to a slice) for
(Long paragraph [0014] discloses “Embodiments are disclosed herein that relate to enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s). Embodiments of a method of generating, based on the enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data and the slice-specific authentication and authorization, a registration response to a wireless device registration request to access at least one network slice are disclosed.”
Paragraph [0107] discloses “Step 706: UDM notifies AMF of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change. In some embodiments, the AMF receives a notification of an update of the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM sends, to the AMF, a notification of the update of the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data in response to receiving, from the UDR, a notification of an enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data update for at least one network slice.”
Paragraph [0015] disclosed “Embodiments of methods of operation of a system of core network entities are disclosed that include providing, storing, retrieving, and using enhanced slice selection subscription data, which indicates whether a UE is subject to a network slice-specific authentication and authorization for access to a slice, to trigger network slice-specific authentication and authorization to prevent unauthorized UE access to a slice.”
Paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”)
Long does not appear to explicitly disclose device wherein the other notification causes to terminate the one or more active sessions, and the group of subscribers. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Klatt discloses device wherein the other notification causes to terminate (RRC connection release message) the one or more active sessions (performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network)), and the group of subscribers (to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.).
(Klatt paragraph [0048] discloses “Hence, according to the present invention, it is advantageously possible to avoid requiring a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection (via a general RRC connection release message)—just in order to being able to suspend the use (by one or a plurality of user equipment) of one or a plurality of network slices or network service. “
P5aragraph [0049] discloses “However and also according to the present invention, it is not excluded that the radio resource control connection is indeed (completely) interrupted (or released)—in normal cases (i.e. overload control is, in such an implementation, performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network). In such a situation (of a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection of the user equipment).”
Paragraph [0010] discloses “In order to prevent a user equipment or a plurality of user equipment from additionally accessing already overloaded network resources (or network resources risking to be overloaded when requested to handle additional requests or traffic), e.g. in parts of the telecommunications network or for a certain kind (or groups) of communication service(s) or network slice(s), it is beneficial to limit the involved user equipment in their ability to request user plane radio communication resources and/or access to such shared media or to the telecommunications network—and also to such network resources (or shared media) that are specific to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Klatt with Long for the benefit of having a core network entity (UDM) to be able to terminate sessions and provision to bar access the network slice(s) associated with a group of user equipment. Further benefit to combine is to make the provision more efficient when denying a group verse having an entry for each UE.
As for claim 11, the limitations of parent claim 9 has been discussed above. Long discloses the first network device of claim 9,
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive, after providing the other notification (UDR notifies UDM of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change), a third command to unbar the network slice associated (the enhanced slice selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for registration on the at least one network slice) with (subscription data);
(Long paragraph [0148] discloses “receiving (604), from a second network node, a request for enhanced slice selection subscription data for at least one network slice, the enhanced slice selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for registration on the at least one network slice;”
Paragraph [0106] discloses “Step 704: UDR notifies UDM of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change. In some embodiments, the UDR sends, to the UDM, a notification of the update of the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM receives, from the UDR, a notification of an enhanced slice selection subscription data update for the at least one network slice.”
Long discloses a Network Slice-Specific authentication and authorization service to not authorized (unbarred) which will allow UE access to a network slice. Long further discloses notifications between operator/UDR/UDM to indicate update in the subscription data. Broadest reasonable interpretation read another notification, other notification, and a notification are representing notification trigger between network entities when subscription change occurred in accessing the network slice.)
and cause the network slice associated with(network slice-specific authentication and authorization is performed for those S-NSSAIs subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization, UEs can only access the network slice(s) that those UEs are entitled to access) based on the third command.
(Long paragraph [0020] discloses “In some embodiments, if network slice-specific authentication and authorization is performed for those S-NSSAIs subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization, UEs can only access the network slice(s) that those UEs are entitled to access.”)
Long does not appear to explicitly disclose device comprising the group of subscribers. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Klatt discloses device comprising the group of subscribers (to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.).
(Klatt paragraph [0010] discloses “In order to prevent a user equipment or a plurality of user equipment from additionally accessing already overloaded network resources (or network resources risking to be overloaded when requested to handle additional requests or traffic), e.g. in parts of the telecommunications network or for a certain kind (or groups) of communication service(s) or network slice(s), it is beneficial to limit the involved user equipment in their ability to request user plane radio communication resources and/or access to such shared media or to the telecommunications network—and also to such network resources (or shared media) that are specific to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Klatt with Long for the benefit of having a core network entity (UDM) to be able to group of user equipment for a given network slice. Further benefit to combine is to make the provision more efficient when denying/allowing a group verse having an entry for each UE mapped to a network slice.
As for claim 12, the limitations of parent claim 11 has been discussed above. Long discloses the first network device of claim 11,
wherein the third command enables (network slice-specific authentication and authorization is performed for those S-NSSAIs subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization, UEs can only access the network slice(s) that those UEs are entitled to access) each of (UEs)
(Long paragraph [0020] discloses “In some embodiments, if network slice-specific authentication and authorization is performed for those S-NSSAIs subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization, UEs can only access the network slice(s) that those UEs are entitled to access.”)
Long does not appear to explicitly disclose device comprising the group of subscribers, and to initiate an active session. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Klatt discloses device comprising the group of subscribers (to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.), and to initiate an active session (the user equipment to use user plane radio communication resources of the telecommunications network, relating to the respective use of one of the different network slices and/or one of the different network services, is allowed).
(Klatt paragraph [0010] discloses “In order to prevent a user equipment or a plurality of user equipment from additionally accessing already overloaded network resources (or network resources risking to be overloaded when requested to handle additional requests or traffic), e.g. in parts of the telecommunications network or for a certain kind (or groups) of communication service(s) or network slice(s), it is beneficial to limit the involved user equipment in their ability to request user plane radio communication resources and/or access to such shared media or to the telecommunications network—and also to such network resources (or shared media) that are specific to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.”
Paragraph [0029] discloses “after expiration of the suspend time interval—an attempt of the user equipment to use user plane radio communication resources of the telecommunications network, relating to the respective use of one of the different network slices and/or one of the different network services, is allowed, and/or—likewise after expiration of the suspend time interval—an attempt of the user equipment to access the telecommunications network relating to the respective use of one of the different network slices and/or one of the different network services, is allowed.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Klatt with Long for the benefit of having a core network entity (UDM) to be able to group of user equipment for a given network slice. Further benefit to combine is to make the provision more efficient when denying/allowing a group verse having an entry for each UE mapped to a network slice.
As for claim 13, the limitations of parent claim 8 has been discussed above. Long discloses the first network device of claim 8,
wherein the subscriber (slice selection subscription data) is associated with a user equipment (to perform a service for a UE).
(Long paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”)
As for claim 14, the limitations of parent claim 8 has been discussed above. Long discloses the first network device (UDR) of claim 8, wherein
(the UDM sends) to interact with one or more other network devices (AMF) (features of a particular type of network slice) associated with the network slice and the subscriber (selection subscription data) and to bar the network slice for the subscriber (the enhanced slice selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for registration on the at least one network slice).
(Long paragraph [0107] discloses “Step 706: UDM notifies AMF of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change. In some embodiments, the AMF receives a notification of an update of the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM sends, to the AMF, a notification of the update of the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data in response to receiving, from the UDR, a notification of an enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data update for at least one network slice.”
Paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”
Paragraph [0148] discloses “receiving (604), from a second network node, a request for enhanced slice selection subscription data for at least one network slice, the enhanced slice selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for registration on the at least one network slice;”
Long discloses a Network Slice-Specific authentication and authorization service to allow/deny access to a network slice.)
Long does not appear to explicitly disclose device wherein the notification causes to terminate the one or more active sessions, and the group of subscribers. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Klatt discloses device wherein the notification causes to terminate (RRC connection release message) the one or more active sessions (performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network)), and the group of subscribers (to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.).
(Klatt paragraph [0048] discloses “Hence, according to the present invention, it is advantageously possible to avoid requiring a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection (via a general RRC connection release message)—just in order to being able to suspend the use (by one or a plurality of user equipment) of one or a plurality of network slices or network service. “
Paragraph [0049] discloses “However and also according to the present invention, it is not excluded that the radio resource control connection is indeed (completely) interrupted (or released)—in normal cases (i.e. overload control is, in such an implementation, performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network). In such a situation (of a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection of the user equipment).”
Paragraph [0010] discloses “In order to prevent a user equipment or a plurality of user equipment from additionally accessing already overloaded network resources (or network resources risking to be overloaded when requested to handle additional requests or traffic), e.g. in parts of the telecommunications network or for a certain kind (or groups) of communication service(s) or network slice(s), it is beneficial to limit the involved user equipment in their ability to request user plane radio communication resources and/or access to such shared media or to the telecommunications network—and also to such network resources (or shared media) that are specific to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Klatt with Long for the benefit of having a core network entity (UDM) to be able to terminate sessions and provision to bar access the network slice(s) associated with a group of user equipment. Further benefit to combine is to make the provision more efficient when denying a group verse having an entry for each UE.
As for independent claim 15. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first network device, cause the first network device (a provisioning system, the update of the enhanced user slice selection subscription data) to: receive a first command to bar a network slice (for example to change network slice-specific authentication and authorization for N-NSSAI4 from not required to required) associated with a subscriber (selection subscription data), wherein the subscriber is associated with a user equipment (a procedure for slice selection subscription data, perform a service for a UE);
(Long paragraph [0115] discloses “In some embodiments, a computer program including instructions which, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to carry out the functionality of radio access node 800 or a node (e.g., a processing node 900) implementing one or more of the functions 910 of the radio access node 800 in a virtual environment according to any of the embodiments described herein is provided. In some embodiments, a carrier comprising the aforementioned computer program product is provided. The carrier is one of an electronic signal, an optical signal, a radio signal, or a computer readable storage medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer readable medium such as memory).”
Paragraph [0104] discloses “Step 700: Operator provisioning, through a provisioning system, the update of the enhanced user slice selection subscription data, for example to change network slice-specific authentication and authorization for N-NSSAI4 from not required to required. In some embodiments, the provisioning includes the UDR receiving, from a network node, an update for the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data for the at least one network slice.”
Paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”)
identify, based on the first command (Slice selection subscription data is enhanced to support an indication of whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required or not for S-NSSAIs), the subscriber (requesting a UE's NSSAI), the network slice to be barred (authorization is required), and one or more active sessions (features of a particular type of network slice) associated with the network slice and the subscriber (UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access); and
(Long paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”
Paragraph [0047] discloses “Slice selection subscription data is enhanced to support an indication of whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required or not for S-NSSAIs, so that once the AMF gets the information it can decide whether to trigger the slice-specific authentication and authorization for those S-NSSAIs subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization.”)
provide, to a second network device (UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access), (features of a particular type of network slice) associated with the network slice and the subscriber (UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access) and to bar the network slice for the subscriber (the enhanced slice selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for registration on the at least one network slice).
(Long paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”
Paragraph [0107] discloses “Step 706: UDM notifies AMF of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change. In some embodiments, the AMF receives a notification of an update of the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM sends, to the AMF, a notification of the update of the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data in response to receiving, from the UDR, a notification of an enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data update for at least one network slice.”
Paragraph [0148] discloses “receiving (604), from a second network node, a request for enhanced slice selection subscription data for at least one network slice, the enhanced slice selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for registration on the at least one network slice.”
Long discloses a Network Slice-Specific authentication and authorization service to allow/deny (barred/unbarred) access to a network slice.)
Long does not appear to explicitly disclose instruction causing device to provide a notification indicating to terminate the one or more active sessions. However, Klatt discloses instruction causing device to provide a notification indicating to terminate (RRC connection release message) the one or more active sessions (performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network)).
(Klatt paragraph [0048] discloses “Hence, according to the present invention, it is advantageously possible to avoid requiring a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection (via a general RRC connection release message)—just in order to being able to suspend the use (by one or a plurality of user equipment) of one or a plurality of network slices or network service. “
Paragraph [0049] discloses “However and also according to the present invention, it is not excluded that the radio resource control connection is indeed (completely) interrupted (or released)—in normal cases (i.e. overload control is, in such an implementation, performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network). In such a situation (of a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection of the user equipment”
Klatt discloses it is advantageously possible to avoid requiring a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection (via a general RRC connection release message)—just in order to being able to suspend the use (by one or a plurality of user equipment) of one or a plurality of network slices or network service)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Klatt with Long for the benefit of having a method to bar a network slice to a subscriber (UE) and to terminate all the sessions associate with a network slice from being able to access by UE. Further benefit to combine is to be more efficient at prevent a UE from access a barred network slice, thus, improve the resource usage on the network slice.
As for claim 16. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15,
wherein the one or more instructions further cause the first network device to:
receive (through a provisioning system, the update of the enhanced user slice selection subscription data, for example to change network slice-specific authentication and authorization for N-NSSAI4 from not required to required) (the provisioning includes the UDR receiving), after providing the notification (UDR notifies UDM of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change), a second command to unbar the network slice associated with the subscriber (UDR to process the provisioning and store the enhanced slice selection subscription data with indication of whether a network slice is subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization or not are disclosed); and
(Long paragraph [0104] discloses “Step 700: Operator provisioning, through a provisioning system, the update of the enhanced user slice selection subscription data, for example to change network slice-specific authentication and authorization for N-NSSAI4 from not required to required. In some embodiments, the provisioning includes the UDR receiving, from a network node, an update for the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data for the at least one network slice.”
Paragraph [0106] discloses “Step 704: UDR notifies UDM of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change. In some embodiments, the UDR sends, to the UDM, a notification of the update of the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM receives, from the UDR, a notification of an enhanced slice selection subscription data update for the at least one network slice.”
Paragraph [0017] discloses “Embodiments of a method of operation of a UDR to process the provisioning and store the enhanced slice selection subscription data with indication of whether a network slice is subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization or not are disclosed. In some embodiments, these embodiments further include a sub-method that if the slice selection subscription information related to slice-specific authentication and authorization is changed then notify UDM, so UDM could further notify AMF as descried above”
Long discloses a Network Slice-Specific authentication and authorization service to authorized (unbarred) access to a network slice.)
cause the network slice associated with the subscriber to be unbarred based on the second command (network slice-specific authentication and authorization is performed for those S-NSSAIs subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization, UEs can only access the network slice(s) that those UEs are entitled to access), wherein
(Long paragraph [0020] discloses “In some embodiments, if network slice-specific authentication and authorization is performed for those S-NSSAIs subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization, UEs can only access the network slice(s) that those UEs are entitled to access.”)
the second command enables the subscriber (UEs can only access the network slice(s) that those UEs are entitled to access)
(Long Paragraph [0020] discloses “In some embodiments, if network slice-specific authentication and authorization is performed for those S-NSSAIs subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization, UEs can only access the network slice(s) that those UEs are entitled to access.”)
Long does not appear to explicitly disclose instruction causing device to initiate an active session. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Klatt discloses instruction causing device to initiate an active session (the user equipment to use user plane radio communication resources of the telecommunications network, relating to the respective use of one of the different network slices and/or one of the different network services, is allowed).
(Klatt paragraph [0029] discloses “after expiration of the suspend time interval—an attempt of the user equipment to use user plane radio communication resources of the telecommunications network, relating to the respective use of one of the different network slices and/or one of the different network services, is allowed, and/or—likewise after expiration of the suspend time interval—an attempt of the user equipment to access the telecommunications network relating to the respective use of one of the different network slices and/or one of the different network services, is allowed.”
Paragraph [0029] discloses “after expiration of the suspend time interval—an attempt of the user equipment to use user plane radio communication resources of the telecommunications network, relating to the respective use of one of the different network slices and/or one of the different network services, is allowed, and/or—likewise after expiration of the suspend time interval—an attempt of the user equipment to access the telecommunications network relating to the respective use of one of the different network slices and/or one of the different network services, is allowed.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Klatt with Long for the benefit of having a method capable to unbar and initiates access to the previously barred network slice. Further benefit to combine is to make the method more efficient when managing access to the network slice(s) offer by the operator of the network.
As for claim 17. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15,
wherein the one or more instructions further cause the first network device to:
store slice provisioning data associated with the network slice (a UDR to process the provisioning and store the enhanced slice selection subscription data with indication of whether a network slice is subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization or not are disclosed) prior to providing the notification to the second network device (notify UDM, so UDM could further notify AMF as descried above).
(Long paragraph [0017] discloses “Embodiments of a method of operation of a UDR to process the provisioning and store the enhanced slice selection subscription data with indication of whether a network slice is subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization or not are disclosed. In some embodiments, these embodiments further include a sub-method that if the slice selection subscription information related to slice-specific authentication and authorization is changed then notify UDM, so UDM could further notify AMF as descried above.”)
As for claim 18. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15,
wherein the one or more instructions (Operator provisioning, through a provisioning system, the update of the enhanced user slice selection subscription data) further cause the first network device to:
receive a second command to bar a network slice (enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s)) associated with a (selection subscription data);
(Long paragraph [0014] discloses “Embodiments are disclosed herein that relate to enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s). Embodiments of a method of generating, based on the enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data and the slice-specific authentication and authorization, a registration response to a wireless device registration request to access at least one network slice are disclosed.”
Paragraph [0104] discloses “Step 700: Operator provisioning, through a provisioning system, the update of the enhanced user slice selection subscription data, for example to change network slice-specific authentication and authorization for N-NSSAI4 from not required to required. In some embodiments, the provisioning includes the UDR receiving, from a network node, an update for the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data for the at least one network slice.”)
identify, based on the second command (enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s)), (UE access), the network slice to be barred (enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s)), and one or more active sessions associated (features of a particular type of network slice) with the network slice and
(Long paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”
Paragraph [0014] discloses “Embodiments are disclosed herein that relate to enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s). Embodiments of a method of generating, based on the enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data and the slice-specific authentication and authorization, a registration response to a wireless device registration request to access at least one network slice are disclosed.”)
provide, to the second network device (UDM notifies AMF of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change), (requires features of a particular type of network slice) associated with the network slice and (enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s)) for
(Long paragraph [0014] discloses “Embodiments are disclosed herein that relate to enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s). Embodiments of a method of generating, based on the enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data and the slice-specific authentication and authorization, a registration response to a wireless device registration request to access at least one network slice are disclosed.
Long [0107] Step 706: UDM notifies AMF of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change. In some embodiments, the AMF receives a notification of an update of the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM sends, to the AMF, a notification of the update of the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data in response to receiving, from the UDR, a notification of an enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data update for at least one network slice.”
Paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access”)
Long does not appear to explicitly disclose the group of subscribers, and another notification indicating to terminate the one or more active sessions. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Klatt discloses the group of subscribers (to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.) and another notification indicating to terminate the one or more active sessions (RRC connection release message)
(performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network)).
(Klatt paragraph [0010] discloses “In order to prevent a user equipment or a plurality of user equipment from additionally accessing already overloaded network resources (or network resources risking to be overloaded when requested to handle additional requests or traffic), e.g. in parts of the telecommunications network or for a certain kind (or groups) of communication service(s) or network slice(s), it is beneficial to limit the involved user equipment in their ability to request user plane radio communication resources and/or access to such shared media or to the telecommunications network—and also to such network resources (or shared media) that are specific to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.”
(Klatt paragraph [0048] discloses “Hence, according to the present invention, it is advantageously possible to avoid requiring a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection (via a general RRC connection release message)—just in order to being able to suspend the use (by one or a plurality of user equipment) of one or a plurality of network slices or network service. “
Paragraph [0049] discloses “However and also according to the present invention, it is not excluded that the radio resource control connection is indeed (completely) interrupted (or released)—in normal cases (i.e. overload control is, in such an implementation, performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network). In such a situation (of a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection of the user equipment”
Klatt discloses it is advantageously possible to avoid requiring a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection (via a general RRC connection release message)—just in order to being able to suspend the use (by one or a plurality of user equipment) of one or a plurality of network slices or network service)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Klatt with Long for the benefit of having a core network entity (UDM) to be able to provision to bar access the network slice(s) and terminate the session associated with a group of user equipment. Further benefit to combine is to make the provision more efficient when denying a group verse having an entry for each UE.
As for claim 19, the limitations of parent claim 18 has been discussed above. Long discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein
(UDM notifies AMF of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change) (requires features of a particular type of network slice) associated with the network slice and (enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s).) for
(Long paragraph [0014] discloses “Embodiments are disclosed herein that relate to enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for a wireless device(s). Embodiments of a method of generating, based on the enhanced slice-specific selection subscription data and the slice-specific authentication and authorization, a registration response to a wireless device registration request to access at least one network slice are disclosed.”
Paragraph [0107] discloses “Step 706: UDM notifies AMF of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change. In some embodiments, the AMF receives a notification of an update of the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM sends, to the AMF, a notification of the update of the enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data in response to receiving, from the UDR, a notification of an enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data update for at least one network slice.”
Paragraph [0023] discloses “FIG. 1 illustrates a procedure for slice selection subscription data retrieval (from 3GPP TS 29.503 5.2.2.2.2). In one embodiment, to perform a service for a UE, a Network Function (NF) Service Consumer requires features of a particular type of network slice. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 1, the NF Service Consumer is requesting a UE's NSSAI from a UDM to identify the network slices available for UE access.”)
Long does not appear to explicitly disclose non-transitory computer readable medium wherein the other notification causes to terminate the one or more active sessions, and the group of subscribers. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Klatt discloses non-transitory computer readable medium wherein the other notification causes to terminate (RRC connection release message) the one or more active sessions (performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network)), and the group of subscribers (to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.).
(Klatt paragraph [0048] discloses “Hence, according to the present invention, it is advantageously possible to avoid requiring a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection (via a general RRC connection release message)—just in order to being able to suspend the use (by one or a plurality of user equipment) of one or a plurality of network slices or network service. “
Paragraph [0049] discloses “However and also according to the present invention, it is not excluded that the radio resource control connection is indeed (completely) interrupted (or released)—in normal cases (i.e. overload control is, in such an implementation, performed such that RRC connections are indeed (mandatorily) released for such user equipment that are to be at least temporarily blocked)—between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (or its access network). In such a situation (of a complete interruption of the radio resource control connection of the user equipment).”
Paragraph [0010] discloses “In order to prevent a user equipment or a plurality of user equipment from additionally accessing already overloaded network resources (or network resources risking to be overloaded when requested to handle additional requests or traffic), e.g. in parts of the telecommunications network or for a certain kind (or groups) of communication service(s) or network slice(s), it is beneficial to limit the involved user equipment in their ability to request user plane radio communication resources and/or access to such shared media or to the telecommunications network—and also to such network resources (or shared media) that are specific to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Klatt with Long for the benefit of having a core network entity (UDM) to be able to terminate sessions and provision to bar access the network slice(s) associated with a group of user equipment. Further benefit to combine is to make the provision more efficient when denying a group verse having an entry for each UE.
As for claim 20. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18,
wherein the one or more instructions further cause (Operator provisioning, through a provisioning system, the update of the enhanced user slice selection subscription data) the first network device to:
receive, after providing the other notification (UDR notifies UDM of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change), a third command to unbar the network slice (the enhanced slice selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for registration on the at least one network slice) associated with (subscription data); and
(Long paragraph [0148] discloses “receiving (604), from a second network node, a request for enhanced slice selection subscription data for at least one network slice, the enhanced slice selection subscription data indicating whether slice-specific authentication and authorization is required for registration on the at least one network slice;”
Paragraph [0104] discloses “Step 700: Operator provisioning, through a provisioning system, the update of the enhanced user slice selection subscription data, for example to change network slice-specific authentication and authorization for N-NSSAI4 from not required to required. In some embodiments, the provisioning includes the UDR receiving, from a network node, an update for the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data for the at least one network slice.”)
Paragraph [0106] discloses “Step 704: UDR notifies UDM of enhanced user slice selection subscription data change. In some embodiments, the UDR sends, to the UDM, a notification of the update of the stored enhanced user slice-specific selection subscription data. In some embodiments, the UDM receives, from the UDR, a notification of an enhanced slice selection subscription data update for the at least one network slice.”
Long discloses a Network Slice-Specific authentication and authorization service to not authorized (unbarred) which will allow UE access to a network slice. Long further discloses notifications between operator/UDR/UDM to indicate update in the subscription data. Broadest reasonable interpretation read another notification, other notification, and a notification are representing notification trigger between network entities when subscription change occurred in accessing the network slice.)
cause the network slice associated with (network slice-specific authentication and authorization is performed for those S-NSSAIs subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization, UEs can only access the network slice(s) that those UEs are entitled to access).
(Long paragraph [0020] discloses “In some embodiments, if network slice-specific authentication and authorization is performed for those S-NSSAIs subject to network slice-specific authentication and authorization, UEs can only access the network slice(s) that those UEs are entitled to access.”)
Long does not appear to explicitly disclose the group of subscribers. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Klatt the group of subscribers (to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.).
(Klatt paragraph [0010] discloses “In order to prevent a user equipment or a plurality of user equipment from additionally accessing already overloaded network resources (or network resources risking to be overloaded when requested to handle additional requests or traffic), e.g. in parts of the telecommunications network or for a certain kind (or groups) of communication service(s) or network slice(s), it is beneficial to limit the involved user equipment in their ability to request user plane radio communication resources and/or access to such shared media or to the telecommunications network—and also to such network resources (or shared media) that are specific to the use of certain network slices or to the use of at least one network slice provided by the telecommunications network—, at least for certain user equipment or groups thereof, and at least for a certain time interval.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Klatt with Long for the benefit of having a core network entity (UDM) to be able to group of user equipment for a given network slice. Further benefit to combine is to make the provision more efficient when denying/allowing a group verse having an entry for each UE mapped to a network slice.
Conclusion
Below are references not relied upon but are pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Vaishnavi et al., US Patent Publication No 20190312782, published on 10/10/2019.
slice visibility/access/enablement control ensures that the commands for configuration (e.g., addition and/or removal of an end user to the slice) is performed by the owner of the slice paragraph [0115]
add a subscriber and remove a subscriber by interfacing with an access network that enables the access of subscribers to the at least one network function. Paragraph [0012]
Subscribers of a certain network slice are unable to access unauthorized resources of other network slices. [0018]
Liao, US Patent Publication No. 20210385742, published on 12/9/2021.
RAN node may broadcast an operator's defined access category definition that includes an access category criteria type with private slice S-NSSAI for baring access from a UE configured with non-public network authorization for any NPN-ID and the access category associated with the authorized S-NSSAI. The UE configured with the access category associated with the authorized S-NSSAI is barred from accessing the network (irrespective to any one of authorized NPN-ID). The UE that is not configured with private slice authorization is not impacted according to certain embodiments. PARAGRAPH [0059]
The CN 310 may include an Authentication Server Function (AUSF 314); a Core Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF 312); a Session Management Function (SMF 318); a Network Exposure Function (NEF 316); a Policy Control Function (PCF 322); a Network Function (NF) Repository Function (NRF 320); a Unified Data Management (UDM 324); and an Application Function (AF 326). The CN 310 may also include other elements that are not shown, such as a Structured Data Storage network function (SDSF), an Unstructured Data Storage network function (UDSF), and the like. [0079]
Access category paragraph [0042]
UDM may handle subscription-related information to support the network entities' handling of communication sessions, and may store subscription data of UE. Paragraph [0088]
The SMF may be responsible for session management (e.g., session establishment, modify and release, including tunnel maintain between UPF and AN node); paragraph [0084]
/JOSEPH KHANH NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646