DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harriger et al. (US 2023/0095906 A1) (hereinafter Harriger) in view of Perry (US 6,192,743 B1) (hereinafter Perry).
Regarding claim 1, Harriger teaches a leak detection module (LDM) [LDM 28] (see Abstract, see Fig. 2A) comprising:
a housing [46], wherein the housing is positioned between a charcoal canister [22] and atmosphere [ATM] and the housing includes a first port [64] fluidly communicating the housing to the canister [22] and a second port [66] fluidly communicating the housing to the atmosphere [ATM] (Para [0043], see Fig 2A, 3A);
a canister valve solenoid (CVS) [36] arranged within the housing and in fluid communication along a first fluid passageway [60] between the first and second ports (Para [0041], see Fig. 2A), the CVS is electrically controlled by a controller to move between open and closed positions (Para [0051-0052]);
a pump [0039] arranged within the housing and in fluid communication along a second passageway [62] between with the first and second ports, wherein the first and second fluid passageways [60, 62] are parallel to each other (Para [0039, 0041], see Fig. 2A);
a check valve [38] arranged within the housing and in fluid communication along the second passageway [62] between the first port [64] and the pump [30], wherein the check valve is configured to communicate the flow of fluid from the second port to the first port along the second passageway and to prevent the communication of fluid from the first port to the second port along the second passageway [selectively blocks canister 22 from the pump and ATM; check valve 38 can be closed to maintain a desired test pressure within the system after pump 30 is operated to obtain the desired test pressure] (Para [0041, 0052]); and
a pressure sensor [52] in fluid communication with at least one of the first and second ports (Para [0041], see Fig. 2A).
Harriger fails to teach wherein the check valve is a one-way mechanical valve, specifically an umbrella valve. Perry, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a leak detection module comprising a housing positioned between a charcoal cannister and atmosphere, wherein a one-way mechanical umbrella check valve is arranged within the housing and configured to communicate the flow of fluid in a singular direction within the housing (Col 6, lines 44-61, see Figs. 1-3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Harriger with Perry such that the check valve is a one-way mechanical umbrella check valve, in order to reduce power requirements.
Regarding claims 2-4, Harriger in view of Perry as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the umbrella check valve includes a stem that is secured to a convex sealing disk, wherein the second passageway includes a seat situated perpendicular to and across the second passageway, and the asset is configured to receive the umbrella check valve so that the stem protrudes through a first side of the seat, and the sealing disk is pressed flush to an opposite, second side of the seat. Perry additionally teaches wherein the umbrella check valve structure includes a stem that is secured to a convex sealing disk, wherein the passageway includes a seat situated perpendicular to and across the passageway, the seat configured to receive the umbrella check valve so that the stem protrudes through a first side of the seat and the sealing disk is pressed flush to an opposite, second side of the seat [umbrella valve 176; also see umbrella valve 180] (see Perry Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Harriger in view of Perry such that the umbrella check valve includes a stem that is secured to a convex sealing disk, wherein the second passageway includes a seat situated perpendicular to and across the second passageway, and the asset is configured to receive the umbrella check valve so that the stem protrudes through a first side of the seat, and the sealing disk is pressed flush to an opposite, second side of the seat, in order to provide a one-way valve that reduces power requirements.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/999,073 (hereinafter the ‘073 Application) in view of Perry.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘073 Application teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the check valve is a one-way mechanical valve, specifically an umbrella valve. Perry, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a leak detection module comprising a housing positioned between a charcoal cannister and atmosphere, wherein a one-way mechanical umbrella check valve is arranged within the housing and configured to communicate the flow of fluid in a singular direction within the housing (Col 6, lines 44-61, see Figs. 1-3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the ‘073 Application with Perry such that the check valve is a one-way mechanical umbrella check valve, in order to reduce power requirements.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cook et al. (EP 1 066 461 B1) - Umbrella valve structure in leak detection system (Fig. 6)
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855