DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to Application 18/830846 filed on 9/11/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS)s comply with 37 CFR 1.97 provisions. Accordingly, the Examiner has considered the IDS.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12120710Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued claims are obvious variation of current claims. For example, issued claim 1 is substantially similar or obvious variation of current claim 1. Similarly, the dependent claims of issued patent are obvious variations of current dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by
Applicant’s IDS “Sidelink synchronization mechanism” by vivo filed 9/11/2024, entry 3 under NPL (hereinafter Vivo).
Regarding Claim 1, Vivo is directed to the same concept as instant application, namely reducing the payload size (description paragraphs 5 & 6). Here, D1 teaches a first user equipment for transmitting a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH), comprising: a memory; a transceiver (section 4; PSBCH); and a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to control the transceiver to transmit, to one or more second user equipments, a PSBCH carrying information, wherein the information carried in the PSBCH is used to determine a periodicity (section 4-proposal 13; 5 bits in PSBCH are used to indicate the periodicity of TDD-configSL) and a number of slots wherein the slots comprise sidelink (SL) slots (section 4.2-top of page 10; in NR, in addition to periodicity, over 50 bits are used to indicate UL-DL partitioning in S1B1. It is impossible for NR sidelink UE to convey so many bits in PSBCH. Some simplifications or restrictions are required.
One straightforward solution is that PSBCH contains indicator(s) of either the number of resources available for sidelink or the number of resources prohibited for sidelink. For the most extreme case, when SCS=120kHz, Pi=]Onis, and P2=10mis, each TDD pattern contains 80 slots, thereby 7*2=14 bits ate sufficient to indicate the number of slots available for sidelink. Observation 5: if PSBCH indicates the number of resources. available for sidelink with slot-level granularity, 14 bits are required);
and obtain a first reference subcarrier spacing (SCS), wherein the first reference SCS is configured by a network (see proposal 9 e.g. SCS=60khz e.g. syne resource size is determined as the maximum number of 8-SSB slots for each SCS), wherein the number of slots which is determined by the information carried in the PSBCH is further determined by the first reference SCS and a second reference SCS, wherein the second reference SCS is pre-configured, or determined by the information carried in the PSBCH (see proposal 9 e.g. SCS=60khz e.g. syne resource size is determined as the maximum number of 8-SSB slots for each SCS 15/30/60kz SCS cases “predefined.”).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Vivo further teaches the second user equipment of claim 17, wherein only a pattern 1 is configured by a network (see 3.3. pattern e.g. Table 4 in section 4.5 that shows the PSBCH content for pattern 1. Also see table 1/page 9 for single pattern), the information carried in PSBCH is determined by parameters configured in pattern 1, the periodicity which is determined by the information carried in the PSBCH is determined by a periodicity configured in the pattern 1, the number of slots which is determined by the information carried in the PSBCH is determined by a number of slots configured in the pattern 1 (see 3.3. pattern e.g. Table 4 in section 4.5 that shows the PSBCH content for pattern 1. Also see table 1/page 9 for single pattern), the slots configured in the pattern 1 comprise UL slots (see table 1-2/page 9 for up to two patterns also see 3.3. pattern e.g. Table 4 in section 4.5 that shows the PSBCH content including SL configuration).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Vivo further teaches the second user equipment of claim 17, wherein both a pattern 1 and a pattern 2 are configured by the network (see table 2/page 9 for up to two patterns also see 3.3. pattern e.g. Table 4 in section 4.5 that shows the PSBCH content), the information carried in PSBCH is determined by parameters configured in pattern 1 and/or pattern 2, the periodicity which is determined by the information carried in the PSBCH is determined by a first periodicity configured in the pattern 1 and a second periodicity configured in the pattern 2, the number of slots which is determined by the information carried in the PSBCH is determined by a number of slots configured in at least one of the pattern 1 and the pattern 2 (see 3.3. pattern e.g. Table 4 in section 4.5 that shows the PSBCH content for pattern 1. Also see table 1/page 9 for single pattern), the slots configured in at least one of the pattern 1 and the pattern 2 comprise UL slots (see table 1-2/page 9 for up to two patterns also see 3.3. pattern e.g. Table 4 in section 4.5 that shows the PSBCH content including SL configuration).
Regarding claim 4, Vivo further teaches the first user equipment of claim 1, wherein the information carried in the PSBCH further determines a number of symbols wherein the symbols comprise SL symbols (see 4.5 e.g. config SL).
Regarding claim 5, Vivo further teaches the first user equipment of claim 1, wherein the first user equipment is in coverage of a cell (see Figs. 3-4).
Claim 6 is substantially similar to claim 1, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 7, Vivo further teaches the method of claim 6, wherein only a pattern 1 is configured by a network, the information carried in PSBCH is determined by parameters configured in pattern 1 (see 3.3. pattern e.g. Table 4 in section 4.5 that shows the PSBCH content for pattern 1. Also see table 1/page 9 for single pattern).
Regarding claim 8, Vivo further teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the periodicity which is determined by the information carried in the PSBCH is determined by a periodicity configured in the pattern 1 (see 3.3. pattern e.g. Table 4 in section 4.5 that shows the PSBCH content for pattern 1 including periodicity. Also see table 1/page 9 for single pattern).
Regarding claim 9, Vivo further teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the number of slots which is determined by the information carried in the PSBCH is determined by a number of slots configured in the pattern 1 (see 3.3. pattern e.g. Table 4 in section 4.5 that shows the PSBCH content for pattern 1 including SL. Also see table 1/page 9 for single pattern).
Regarding claim 10, Vivo further teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the slots configured in the pattern 1 comprise UL slots (see table 1-2/page 9 for up to two patterns also see 3.3. pattern e.g. Table 4 in section 4.5 that shows the PSBCH content including SL configuration).
Regarding claim 11, Vivo further teaches the method of claim 6, wherein both a pattern 1 and a pattern 2 are configured by the network, the information carried in PSBCH is determined by parameters configured in pattern 1 and/or pattern 2 (see table 2/page 9 for up to two patterns also see 3.3. pattern e.g. Table 4 in section 4.5 that shows the PSBCH content).
Regarding claim 12, Vivo further teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the periodicity which is determined by the information carried in the PSBCH is determined by a first periodicity configured in the pattern 1 and a second periodicity configured in the pattern 2 (see table 1-2/page 9 for up to two patterns also see 3.3. pattern e.g. Table 4 in section 4.5 that shows the PSBCH content).
Regarding claim 13, Vivo further teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the number of slots which is determined by the information carried in the PSBCH is determined by a number of slots configured in at least one of the pattern 1 and the pattern 2 (see table 2/page 9 for up to two patterns also see 3.3. pattern e.g. Table 4 in section 4.5 that shows the PSBCH content).
Regarding claim 14, Vivo further teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the slots configured in at least one of the pattern 1 and the pattern 2 comprise UL slots (see table 1-2/page 9 for up to two patterns also see 3.3. pattern e.g. Table 4 in section 4.5 that shows the PSBCH content including SL configuration).
Regarding claim 15, Vivo further teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the information carried in the PSBCH further determines a number of symbols, wherein the symbols comprise SL symbols (see 4.5 e.g. config SL).
Regarding claim 16, Vivo further teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the second user equipment is out coverage of a cell (see Figs. 3-4).
Claims 17 and 20 are substantially similar to above claims, thus the same rationale applies.
Conclusion
MAHRAN ABU ROUMI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2455
/MAHRAN Y ABU ROUMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455