DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 25, 2-6, 27, 7-10, 12-14, 26, 18, 31, 19, 32, 20, 33, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Freescale, Tuning 3-phase….MACT tool.
Regarding claim 1, Freescale discloses
A method of automatically tuning a controller for a field-oriented control (FOC) electric motor (section 4.7), comprising: receiving user input (speed FOC) for parameters for tuning the controller (section 4); measuring phase resistance and phase inductance of the motor (Section 4.1 shows initial configuration where Rs, Ld and Lq are specified); and automatically tuning the controller for at least one type of tuning based on the user input and the measured phase resistance and phase inductance of the motor (section 4.3, 4.4, 4.6-4.9).
Regarding claim 25, Freescale discloses
A system (fig. 1) to automatically tune a controller for a field-oriented control (FOC) electric motor, comprising: memory and at least one processor (Hardware has inherently has a processor and a memory to store data and perform calculation. See section 2 and 3) configured to: receive user input for parameters for tuning the controller; measure phase resistance and phase inductance of the motor; and automatically tune the controller for at least one type of tuning based on the user input and the measured phase resistance and phase inductance of the motor (see claim 1 rejection for detail).
Regarding claim 2, Freescale discloses
, wherein the at least one type of tuning includes alignment tuning (section 4.3).
Regarding claim 3, Freescale discloses
, wherein the at least one type of tuning includes startup tuning (section 4.7).
Regarding claim 4, Freescale discloses
, wherein the at least one type of tuning includes current closed loop tuning (section 4.4).
Regarding claim 5, Freescale discloses
, wherein the at least one type of tuning includes speed closed loop tuning (section 4.9).
Regarding claims 6 and 27, Freescale discloses
estimating a BEMF constant Ke for the motor using at least one of the parameters received as user input (section 4.1).
Regarding claim 7, Freescale discloses
measuring the phase resistance and phase inductance of the motor prior to tuning a current loop for the motor (happens during section 4.1), and estimating the constant Ke during tuning of a speed loop of the motor (fig. 2 shows tunning BEMF only when actual speed is reached).
Regarding claim 8, Freescale discloses
, wherein the receiving user input for the parameters includes receiving a rated motor speed (fig. 2 shows setting speed FOC).
Regarding claim 9, Freescale discloses
, wherein the receiving user input for the parameters includes receiving a rated current for the motor (section 4.1).
Regarding claim 10, Freescale discloses
, wherein the receiving user input for the parameters includes a DC bus voltage for the motor (a DC bus voltage is inherently present because an inverter requires the DC voltage to operate).
Regarding claim 12, Freescale discloses
, wherein the receiving user input for the parameters includes receiving an acceleration factor for the motor (section 4.6).
Regarding claim 13, Freescale discloses
, wherein the receiving user input for the parameters includes receiving a deceleration factor for the motor (section 4.6).
Regarding claims 14 and 26, Freescale discloses
, wherein the at least one type of tuning includes alignment tuning, startup tuning, current closed loop tuning, and speed closed loop tuning (section 4.3, 4.4, 4.6-4.9).
Regarding claims 18 and 31, Freescale discloses
, wherein the at least one type of tuning includes alignment tuning, wherein the alignment tuning is a function of rated current of the motor, and wherein the alignment tuning includes tuning of an AC alignment frequency (section 4.3).
Regarding claims 19 and 32, Freescale discloses
, wherein the at least one type of tuning includes startup tuning, and wherein the start up tuning includes tuning a startup start frequency and a startup end frequency (5-10%) (section 4.7).
Regarding claims 20 and 33, Freescale discloses
, wherein the at least one type of tuning includes current closed loop tuning, and further including using performance assessment criteria (PAC) (steps 4 and 5) for comparing an ideal current closed loop response with a current closed loop response having varying parameters (via the control structure tab) (section 4.4).
Regarding claims 21 and 34, Freescale discloses
, wherein the at least one type of tuning includes speed closed loop tuning, and further including determining a gain factor (Kp or Ki) for speed control (section 4.9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 15, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freescale in a view of Borisavljevic US 7,339,344 B2.
Regarding claim 11, Freescale does not disclose but Borisavljevic discloses, wherein the receiving user input for the parameters includes receiving a resistance of a shunt resistor (column 6, lines 5-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive a resistance of a shunt as disclosed by Borisavljevic in Freescale’s teachings to determine the motor parameters (see Borisavljevic’s column 6, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 15, Freescale does not disclose but Borisavljevic discloses, wherein measuring the phase resistance includes injecting a DC voltage into a d-axis of the motor at a standstill and measuring d-axis current (column 1, lines 57-67, column 4, lines 45-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure the phase resistance using a DC voltage at a standstill as taught by Borisavljevic in Freescale’s teachings to ensure stable operation of the motor (Borisavljevic’s column 1, lines 30-36)
Regarding claim 28, a combination of Freescale and Borisavljevic discloses, wherein the user input for the parameters includes a rated motor speed, a rated current for the motor, a DC bus voltage for the motor, a resistance of a shunt resistor, an acceleration factor for the motor, and/or a deceleration factor for the motor (see claims 8-13 rejections for detail).
Regarding claim 29, a combination of Freescale and Borisavljevic discloses, wherein the system is configured to measure the phase resistance by injecting a DC voltage into a d-axis of the motor at a standstill and measuring d-axis current. (see claim 15 rejection for detail)
Claims 16, 17, 24, 25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freescale in a view of Kerkman et al. US 5,689,169.
Regarding claim 16, Freescale does not disclose but Kerkman et al. disclose, wherein measuring the phase inductance includes measuring motor current response to injection of a sine waveform into a d-axis ((column 2, lines 45-67, column 3, lines 10-15, 30-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure the phase inductance including measuring current in response to injection of a sine wave as taught by Kerkman in Freescale’s teachings to accurately determining an inductance value in an electric motor. (Kerkman’s column 3, lines 30-40)
Regarding claim 17, a combination of Freescale and Kerkman discloses, wherein the sine waveform has a plurality of non-harmonic frequencies (see Kerkman’s column 3, lines 30-40, column 6, lines 30-42).
Regarding claims 24 and 35, Freescale does not disclose but Kerkman et al. disclose, wherein voltage injection is used to estimate the phase resistance and the phase inductance of the motor (column 2, lines 45-67, column 3, lines 10-15, 30-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to estimate the phase resistance and the phase inductance using voltage injection as taught by Kerkman in Freescale’s teachings to accurately determining machine parameters in an electric motor. (Kerkman’s column 3, lines 30-40)
Regarding claim 30, a combination of Freescale and Kerkman discloses, wherein the system is configured to measure the phase inductance by measuring motor current response to injection of a sine waveform into a d-axis (see claim 16 rejection for detail).
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freescale in a view of Park KR101101462 B1.
Regarding claim 22, Freescale does not disclose but Park discloses using a cost function to determine the gain factor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a gain factor as disclosed by Park in Freescale’s teachings to set a gain value of a PI controller that is robust to variations.
Regarding claim 23, Freescale, wherein the cost function is configured to find the gain factor for PI control.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shin et al. (US 2016/0190964 A1) disclose estimation of parameter as shown in fig. 18 at least.
Henderson (US 2015/0381091 A1) discloses method for estimating motor resistance
Sarigiannidis et al. (US 2025/0189942 A1) disclose static auto-tunning electric motor.
Katariya et al. (US 2015/0194914 A1) disclose automated motor control.
/BICKEY DHAKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837