DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The applicant’s claim to priority of EP23201061.1 on 9/29/2023 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The applicant filed an IDS on 9/11/24. It has been annotated and considered.Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Atohira (US 20190329411 hereinafter Atohira).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly 9), Atohira teaches a computer-implemented method, the method comprising:
generating a model of an automation system comprising a work environment and a robot configured to move within the work environment (See at least: Fig. [0018] The simulation device 50 has three-dimensional model data of a robot system including a cooperative robot, a workpiece and a peripheral device, and has a function to generate an image in which the robot system model is arranged in a three-dimensional virtual space and make the generated image be displayed on a display section 83 (see FIG. 2) of the head-mounted display 80. Within a frame boarder of broken lines in FIG. 1, an example of an image is illustrated in which a cooperative robot model 20M, a workpiece model 10M, and a peripheral device model 11M are displayed as pseudo three-dimensional objects in a virtual space (the display section 83 of the head-mounted display 80).
positioning a first planning hint within the work environment, the planning hint defining a first pose of the robot that can be used in moving the robot from an initial pose to a target pose; and
displaying a graphical representation of the robot positioned in the first pose (See at least: Figs. 6-8; [0037]-[0039]; [0039] FIG. 8 illustrates an example in which a preview image 104 depicting a next operation of the cooperative robot model 20M is displayed as operation path information. The preview image 104 is a pseudo image of the cooperative robot model 20M arranged at the next operation position of the cooperative robot model 20M. As an example, the preview image 104 is displayed immediately before the cooperative robot model 20M having held the workpiece model 10M starts to move. This makes it possible for the operator 90 to appropriately recognize the next operation to be carried out by the cooperative robot model 20M. A moving picture in which the robot model 20M moves to its next position may be displayed as a preview image.).
Regarding claim 2 (and similarly 10), Atohira teaches a method further comprising:
using the planning hint, generating a path for the robot to move from the initial pose to the target pose without colliding with any objects (See at least: [0042] via “The simulation execution section 503 may include a function to automatically change the operation path of the cooperative robot model 20M in such a manner as to prevent the contact between the operator 90 and the cooperative robot model 20M, for example, based on the relative distance between the operator 90 and the cooperative robot model 20M. Further, equal to or more than two of the images among the above-described image 101 (the operation direction and speed), the operation trajectory 102, the image 103 (an operation program) and the preview image 104 of the operation path information, may be simultaneously displayed.”).
Regarding claim 3 (and similarly 11), Atohira teaches wherein the path includes the robot moving into the first pose between the initial pose and the target pose (See at least: [0039] FIG. 8 illustrates an example in which a preview image 104 depicting a next operation of the cooperative robot model 20M is displayed as operation path information. The preview image 104 is a pseudo image of the cooperative robot model 20M arranged at the next operation position of the cooperative robot model 20M. As an example, the preview image 104 is displayed immediately before the cooperative robot model 20M having held the workpiece model 10M starts to move. This makes it possible for the operator 90 to appropriately recognize the next operation to be carried out by the cooperative robot model 20M. A moving picture in which the robot model 20M moves to its next position may be displayed as a preview image.). Regarding claim 4 (and similarly 12), Atohira teaches positioning a plurality of planning hints within the work environment, each planning hint defining a respective pose and location of the robot within the work environment (See at least: Figs. 6-8; [0037]-[0039]; [0039]; Note: Multiple preview images teach a plurality of planning hints).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atohira in view of Wang et al. (US Patent 11813753 hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 5 (and similarly 13), Atohira fails to teach the following limitation, but Wang teaches the method further comprising: using the plurality of planning hints, generating a plurality of paths for the robot to move from the initial pose to the target pose (See at least: Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Atohira in view of Wang to teach using the plurality of planning hints, generating a plurality of paths for the robot to move from the initial pose to the target pose to calculate and choose the best path for the robot (e.g. most optimized route, no collisions, etc.).
Regarding claim 6 (and similarly 14), Atohira teaches wherein at least one path of the plurality of paths defines a collision-free path in which the robot avoids collisions with any objects (See at least: [0042] via “The simulation execution section 503 may include a function to automatically change the operation path of the cooperative robot model 20M in such a manner as to prevent the contact between the operator 90 and the cooperative robot model 20M, for example, based on the relative distance between the operator 90 and the cooperative robot model 20M. Further, equal to or more than two of the images among the above-described image 101 (the operation direction and speed), the operation trajectory 102, the image 103 (an operation program) and the preview image 104 of the operation path information, may be simultaneously displayed.”). Regarding claim 7 (and similarly 15), Atohira teaches wherein the at least one path includes at least one of the poses and locations defined by at least one of the planning hints (See at least: Figs. 6-8; [0037]-[0039]; [0039]). Regarding claim 8, Atohira teaches wherein the at least one path includes no more than two of the poses and locations defined by no more than two of the planning hints (See at least: Figs. 6-8; [0037]-[0039]; [0039] Note: A short path of only 2 points could teach this limitation).
Conclusion
/HARRY Y OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657