DETAILED ACTION
What is claimed is:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al ( US PG Pub. 2023/0215226 A1) hereinafter Liu in view of Dodson, III (US PG PUB 2004/0011973 A1) hereinafter Dodson.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses A protocol adapter for providing communication between a vehicle electronic control unit and an external client comprising:
a protocol adapter having a at least one pin connected to a pin array on a vehicle communications port to allow the protocol adaptor to communication with a vehicle network in a plurality of protocols, ([0027]: Data transmitted through pins 1, 12, 13 (DoIP/Ethernet) and pins 6, 14 (CAN) of vehicle OBD port; supports CAN and DoIP protocols.)
wherein the protocol adapter includes both at least one control area network (CAN) communication path and at least one ethernet communication path, ([0022]: Communication protocol includes CAN communication protocol and/or DoIP (Ethernet-based) communication protocol; first communication link (DoIP/Ethernet) and second communication link (CAN).)
wherein the at least one ethernet communication path selectively provides diagnostics over internet protocol (DoIP) communication through the at least one pin to the vehicle communications port, ([0018]–[0022]: First communication link supports DoIP; network card coupled to OBD port via seventh communication port; [0027]: pins 1, 12, 13 used for Ethernet/DoIP data transmission.)
wherein the at least one pin is connected to both the at least one CAN communication path and the at least one ethernet communication path; ([0027]: Pins on the vehicle OBD port serve both protocols)
a switching circuit that includes a plurality of [[optical-coupled MOSFET switches for isolating]] and switching the protocol adapter between the at least one CAN communication path and the at least one ethernet communication path over the at least one pin of the protocol adapter; ([0050-0057] communication link switching.)
a wireless communications bus in the protocol adaptor that allows communication between the protocol adaptor and an external client. ([0020]: Fourth communication port and second communication port may be wireless (WiFi, Bluetooth)
Liu does not disclose optical-coupled MOSFET switches for isolating,
However, Dodson discloses optical-coupled MOSFET switches for isolating (Fig 5 and [0017] disclose an optical coupled MOSFET to provide isolation
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the switching between protocol interface disclosed by Liu to include the opto coupled MOSFET switches of Dodson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because optocouplers do an excellent job of isolation, minimizing circuit complexity and reducing cost in applications of isolation of process control transducers and medial sensor isolating, as suggested by Dodson, [0002-0004].
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses: The protocol adapter of claim 1, wherein the pin array conforms to a J1962 connector. ([0027]: References vehicle OBD port with specific pin assignments (pins 1, 6, 12, 13, 14) consistent with J1962 standard)
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses: The protocol adapter of claim 1 further comprising a memory device in electrical communication with the external client, such that said memory device is operable to receive data from a vehicle network operating in said vehicle network protocol during the initial boot up of said protocol adapter and said external client. ([0083]: Memory 501 stores vehicle diagnostic program; processor executes programs.)
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses: The protocol adapter of claim 1 wherein the at least one pin of the protocol adapter is connected to a detection circuit for determining at least one mode of the DoIP communication being transmitted. ([0028]–[0029]: DoIP network-control-service function monitors network card state; determines if DoIP link is active. Software-based detection rather than hardware detection circuit.)
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses: The protocol adapter of claim 1, wherein said at least one CAN communication path communicates using a plurality of control area network (CAN) protocols that include one selected from the group consisting of CAN, control area network flexible data rate (CAN FD), and Ethernet. ([0022], [0047]: CAN communication protocol and DoIP communication protocol)
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses: The protocol adapter of claim 1 further comprising a plurality of mode selection inputs that command the plurality of [[optical-coupled MOSFET]] switches to operate in one of a plurality of modes. ([0050-0057] communication link switching.)
Liu does not disclose optical-coupled MOSFET
However, Dodson discloses optical-coupled MOSFET (Fig 5 and [0017] disclose an optical coupled MOSFET to provide isolation)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the switching between protocol interface disclosed by Liu to include the opto coupled MOSFET switches of Dodson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because optocouplers do an excellent job of isolation, minimizing circuit complexity and reducing cost in applications of isolation of process control transducers and medial sensor isolating, as suggested by Dodson, [0002-0004].
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses: The protocol adapter of claim 7, wherein the plurality of modes include one or more diagnostics over internet protocol (DoIP) modes on the at least one ethernet communication path and a CAN mode. (0022]: When DoIP protocol first communication link (DoIP mode); when CAN protocol second communication link (CAN mode))
Claims 5 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al ( US PG Pub. 2023/0215226 A1) hereinafter Liu in view of Dodson, III (US PG PUB 2004/0011973 A1) hereinafter Dodson and in further view of ISO 13400-4, Road vehicles – Diagnostic communication over Internet Protocol (DoIP) – Part 4 Ethernet-based high-speed data link connector, First Edition, March 15 2016.
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses The protocol adapter of claim 1, wherein the at least one pin of the protocol adapter is four pins ([0027]: Pins on the vehicle OBD port serve both protocols)
Liu as modified by Dodson does not disclose that are for ethernet communication and the ethernet communication path has four wires with each one of the four wires connected to one of the four pins.
However, ISO 13400-4 discloses: four pins are for ethernet communication and the ethernet communication path has four wires with each one of the four wires connected to one of the four pins. (page 4-6, Fig. A.1 and A.2 and key shows four pins for Ethernet.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the J1962 DoIP and CAN adapter disclosed by Liu-Dodson to include the standardized interface pin out of ethernet of ISO 13400-4. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Ethernet 100Basetx on the existing ISO15031-3 SAW J1962 diagnostic connected interface is part of an international standard referenced by legislation in many countries, as taught by ISO 13400-4 page 1, section 1.
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses: A protocol adapter for providing communication between a vehicle electronic control unit and an external client comprising:
a protocol adapter having a at least four pins at are part of an on board diagnostic (OBD2) interface that is connected to pin array on a vehicle communications port to allow the protocol adaptor to communication with a vehicle network in a plurality of protocols, ([0027], [0037-0040] Scommunication port 203 of diagnostic connector 103 connects to OBD port of vehicle. Specific pins identified: pins 1, 6, 12, 13, 14 (at least five pins). Supports CAN and DoIP (plurality of protocols) through the OBD port.)
wherein the protocol adapter includes both at least one control area network (CAN) communication path and an ethernet communication path that is a [[four]] wire ethernet connection, ([0022, 0027] includes both CAN and DoIP ethernet communication paths)
wherein the ethernet communication path selectively provides diagnostics over internet protocol (DoIP) communication through the OBD2 interface to the vehicle communications port, ([0018-0022, 0027] selective DoIP through OBD interface)
wherein the at least four pins are connected to both the at least one CAN communication path and the ethernet communication path; ([0027] disclose atleast four pins between CAN and DoIP)
a switching circuit that includes a plurality of [[optical-coupled MOSFET]] switches for isolating and switching the protocol adapter between the at least one CAN communication path and the ethernet communication path over the at least four pins of the OBD2 interface; ([0050-0057] communication link switching)
a wireless communications bus in the protocol adaptor that allows communication between the protocol adaptor and an external client. (Fig 5 and [0017] disclose an optical coupled MOSFET to provide isolation
Liu does not disclose optical-coupled MOSFET switches for isolating, and four wire ethernet connection,
However, Dodson discloses optical-coupled MOSFET switches for isolating (Fig 5 and [0017] disclose an optical coupled MOSFET to provide isolation
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the switching between protocol interface disclosed by Liu to include the opto coupled MOSFET switches of Dodson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because optocouplers do an excellent job of isolation, minimizing circuit complexity and reducing cost in applications of isolation of process control transducers and medial sensor isolating, as suggested by Dodson, [0002-0004].
Liu as modified by Dodson, hereinafter Liu-Dodson do not disclose four wire ethernet connection, (ISO 13400-4 page 4-6, Fig. A.1 and A.2 and key shows four pins for Ethernet)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the J1962 DoIP and CAN adapter disclosed by Liu-Dodson to include the standardized interface pin out of ethernet of ISO 13400-4. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Ethernet 100Basetx on the existing ISO15031-3 SAW J1962 diagnostic connected interface is part of an international standard referenced by legislation in many countries, as taught by ISO 13400-4 page 1, section 1.
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses: The protocol adapter of claim 9, wherein the pin array conforms to a J1962 connector. ([0027]: References vehicle OBD port with specific pin assignments (pins 1, 6, 12, 13, 14) consistent with J1962 standard)
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses: The protocol adapter of claim 9, further comprising a memory device in electrical communication with the external client, such that said memory device is operable to receive data from a vehicle network operating in said vehicle network protocol during the initial boot up of said protocol adapter and said external client. (([0083]: Memory 501 stores vehicle diagnostic program; processor executes programs.)
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses: The protocol adapter of claim 9, wherein the at least one pin of the protocol adapter is connected to a detection circuit for determining at least one mode the DoIP communication being transmitted. ([0028]–[0029]: DoIP network-control-service function monitors network card state; determines if DoIP link is active. Software-based detection rather than hardware detection circuit.)
Regarding claim 13, Liu as modified by Dodson does not disclose The protocol adapter of claim 9, wherein each one of the four wires of the ethernet communication path are connected to one of the at least four pins.
However, ISO 13400-4 discloses: The protocol adapter of claim 9, wherein each one of the four wires of the ethernet communication path are connected to one of the at least four pins. (page 4-6, Fig. A.1 and A.2 and key shows four pins for Ethernet.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the J1962 DoIP and CAN adapter disclosed by Liu-Dodson to include the standardized interface pin out of ethernet of ISO 13400-4. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Ethernet 100Basetx on the existing ISO15031-3 SAW J1962 diagnostic connected interface is part of an international standard referenced by legislation in many countries, as taught by ISO 13400-4 page 1, section 1.
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses: The protocol adapter of claim 9, wherein said at least one CAN communication path communicates using a plurality of control area network (CAN) protocols that include one selected from the group consisting of CAN, control area network flexible data rate (CAN FD), and Ethernet. ([0022], [0047]: CAN communication protocol and DoIP communication protocol)
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses: The protocol adapter of claim 9 further comprising a plurality of mode selection inputs that command the plurality of [[optical-coupled MOSFET]] switches to operate in one of a plurality of modes. ([0050-0057] communication link switching.)
Liu does not disclose optical-coupled MOSFET
However, Dodson discloses optical-coupled MOSFET (Fig 5 and [0017] disclose an optical coupled MOSFET to provide isolation
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the switching between protocol interface disclosed by Liu to include the opto coupled MOSFET switches of Dodson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because optocouplers do an excellent job of isolation, minimizing circuit complexity and reducing cost in applications of isolation of process control transducers and medial sensor isolating, as suggested by Dodson, [0002-0004].
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses: The protocol adapter of claim 15, wherein the plurality of modes include one or more diagnostics over internet protocol (DoIP) modes on the ethernet communication path and a CAN mode. (0022]: When DoIP protocol first communication link (DoIP mode); when CAN protocol second communication link (CAN mode))
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jardine, US 2011/0054732 – a wireless interface adapter that couples between a diagnostic device and a diagnostic cable via DB25 connectors, incorporating a wireless transceiver to provide wireless communication capability to legacy diagnostic devices that lack built-in wireless functionality.
Jung, US 20200396318 – a communication method and device in which an Ethernet ECU determines whether a connected diagnostic device uses CAN or Ethernet/DoIP protocol by examining Protocol Control Information (PCI) in the payload, and selectively performs protocol conversion (TP processing into divided CAN frames) at the ECU level rather than overloading the central gateway.
Huang, US 20120258628 – an OBD adapter with a J1962-compliant input connector (sixteen pins) that plugs into a vehicle’s OBD socket and provides dual output paths—a first output connector in the same OBD specification and a second output connector in a different specification (USB)—with hardware switch devices to select between transmission paths and multiple transceivers to support different vehicle maker protocols.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
NICHOLAS JENSEN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472