DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Reference character “300” of Fig. 3 is not mentioned in the description. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “close” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The recitations of the first and second spacer pillars being respectively disposed close to the first and second data segments are rendered indefinite by use of the term “close” in the claim. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets the recitations as reciting the first spacer pillar being disposed closer to the first data segment than the second spacer pillar, and the second spacer pillar being disposed closer to the second data segment than the first spacer pillar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (US 2019/0196238) in view of Hong (US 2008/0218679).
Regarding independent claim 1, Heo teaches a display panel comprising a plurality of repeating units (Fig. 4; ¶ [0094]) arranged along a first direction and a second direction, wherein each of the repeating units comprises a first sub-pixel (Fig. 1, Element P11; ¶ [0043]), wherein the first sub-pixel comprises a first light-transmitting area (Fig. 1; area encompassing P11) and a first non-light-transmitting area (Fig. 1; area encompassing transistors ST and ST’), and a first transistor (Fig. 1, Element ST; ¶ [0053]) is disposed in the first non-light-transmitting area; and a second sub-pixel (Fig. 1, Element P12; ¶ [0043]) disposed adjacently to the first sub-pixel, wherein the second sub-pixel comprises a second transistor (Fig. 1, Element ST’; ¶ [0053]), and the second transistor is disposed in the first non-light-transmitting area (Fig. 1).
Heo teaches the limitations of independent claim 1 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify a plurality of spacer structures corresponding to the repeating units, and each of the spacer structures only disposed in the first non-light-transmitting area.
Hong teaches a display device comprising a display panel including a plurality of spacer structures (Fig. 2, Element 320; ¶ [0040]) corresponding to repeating units, and each of the spacer structures only disposed in the first non-light-transmitting area (¶s [0015], [0023]). Hong discloses the spacers being provided for maintaining a distance between a first display panel and a second display panel (¶ [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display panel of Heo with the spacer structures taught by Hong for maintaining a distance between a first display panel and a second display panel.
Regarding claim 2, Heo teaches the display panel comprises at least one first data segment (Fig. 1, Element 117m; ¶ [0047]) and at least one second data segment (Fig. 1, Element 117m+1; ¶ [0047]) disposed oppositely, the first data segment disposed on a side of the first sub-pixel away from the second sub-pixel, the first data segment is connected to the first sub-pixel, and the second data segment is connected to the second sub-pixel (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Heo teaches the second data segment comprising an extending segment and a bending segment connected to each other (Fig. 2), the extending segment is disposed between the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel (Fig. 2), and the bending segment is located in the first non-light-transmitting area (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Hong teaches each of the spacer structures comprises a first spacer pillar and a second spacer pillar (Figs. 2-8, Element 320; ¶s [0080]-[0085]), and each of the first spacer pillar and the second spacer pillar is disposed between a first data segment and the second data segment (Fig. 2, Element 171; ¶ [0050]); wherein the first spacer pillar and the second spacer pillar are arranged along the first direction, the first spacer pillar is disposed closer to the first data segment than the second spacer pillar, the second spacer pillar is disposed closer to the second data segment than the first spacer pillar, in a light emitting direction of the display panel, the first transistor at least partially overlaps the first spacer pillar, and the second transistor at least partially overlaps the second spacer pillar (Figs. 2-8). Same motivation applies as for independent claim 1 earlier.
Regarding claim 5, Hong teaches in the first direction, a distance between the first spacer pillar and the second spacer pillar greater than a distance between the first spacer pillar and the first data segment, and the distance between the first spacer pillar and the second spacer pillar greater than a distance between the second spacer pillar and the second data segment (Figs. 2-8). Same motivation applies as for independent claim 1 earlier.
Regarding claim 6, Hong teaches each of the spacer structures comprising a first spacer pillar, and the first spacer pillar is disposed between the first data segment and the second data segment; wherein a distance between a center of the first spacer pillar and the first data segment in the first direction is same as a distance between the center of the first spacer pillar and the second data segment in the first direction (Fig. 2). Same motivation applies as for independent claim 1 earlier.
Regarding claim 7, Hong teaches each of the spacer structures comprising a first spacer pillar and a second spacer pillar, and each of the first spacer pillar and the second spacer pillar disposed in a first non-light-transmitting area of the first sub-pixel (Fig. 2). Same motivation applies as for independent claim 1 earlier.
Regarding claim 8, Heo teaches a first substrate (Fig. 3, Element 110; ¶ [0044]); a first electrode layer disposed on a side of the first substrate, wherein the first electrode layer comprises a common electrode (Fig. 3, Element 108a; ¶ [0075]); and a second electrode layer disposed on a side of the first electrode layer away from the first substrate, wherein the second electrode layer comprises a pixel electrode (Fig. 3, Element 118; ¶ [0055]) and a shielding electrode (Fig. 3, Element 108b; ¶ [0076]), and the shielding electrode is electrically connected to the common electrode; wherein an orthographic projection of the first data segment or/and the second data segment on the second electrode layer is in the shielding electrode (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Heo teaches an active layer (Fig. 3, Element 124; ¶ [0055]) disposed between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer, the active layer comprises a channel portion (¶ [0062]), the shielding electrode provided with a through hole (Fig. 3, Element 140; ¶ [0067][), and an orthographic projection of the channel portion on the shielding electrode is in the through hole (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Heo teaches the display panel comprising a plurality of data lines (Fig. 1), each of the data lines comprises a plurality of the first data segments and a plurality of the second data segments that are spaced apart (Fig. 2), a first data segment of the first data segments and a second data segment of the second data segments adjacent to each other are electrically connected, for the first data segment and the second data segment of a same data line, the first data segment is connected to a first sub-pixel of one repeating unit, and the second data segment is connected to a second sub-pixel of another repeating unit (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Heo teaches the display panel a light-shielding layer, the light-shielding layer comprises a plurality of light-shielding units (Fig. 2, Element 108a; ¶ [0075]), one of the light-shielding units corresponds to one of the repeating units, and an orthographic projection of the first non-light-transmitting area on the light-shielding layer is located in a corresponding one of the light-shielding units (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Heo teaches the light-shielding layer comprising a light-shielding strip (Fig. 2, Element108L; ¶ [0059]) connecting two adjacent ones of the light-shielding units, and the light-shielding layer is in a meshed structure (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Heo teaches an area of the first sub-pixel being same as an area of the second sub-pixel; wherein the second sub-pixel comprises a second light-transmitting area, and an area of the second light-transmitting area is greater than an area of the first light-transmitting area (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Heo teaches an area of the first sub-pixel is greater than an area of the second sub-pixel; wherein the second sub-pixel comprises a second light-transmitting area, and an area of the second light-transmitting area is same as an area of the first light-transmitting area (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, Heo teaches an emitting color of each of the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel is one of red, green and blue that are different from each other (¶ [0048]).
Regarding independent claim 16, Heo teaches a display device comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of repeating units (Fig. 4; ¶ [0094]) arranged along a first direction and a second direction, and each of the repeating units comprises a first sub-pixel (Fig. 1, Element P11; ¶ [0043]), wherein the first sub-pixel comprises a first light-transmitting area (Fig. 1; area encompassing P11) and a first non-light-transmitting area (Fig. 1; area encompassing transistors ST and ST’), and a first transistor (Fig. 1, Element ST; ¶ [0053]) is disposed in the first non-light-transmitting area; and a second sub-pixel (Fig. 1, Element P12; ¶ [0043]) disposed adjacently to the first sub-pixel, wherein the second sub-pixel comprises a second transistor (Fig. 1, Element ST’; ¶ [0053]), and the second transistor is disposed in the first non-light-transmitting area (Fig. 1)
Heo teaches the limitations of independent claim 16 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify a plurality of spacer structures corresponding to the repeating units, and each of the spacer structures only disposed in the first non-light-transmitting area.
Hong teaches a display device comprising a display panel including a plurality of spacer structures (Fig. 2, Element 320; ¶ [0040]) corresponding to repeating units, and each of the spacer structures only disposed in the first non-light-transmitting area (¶s [0015], [0023]). Hong discloses the spacers being provided for maintaining a distance between a first display panel and a second display panel (¶ [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display panel of Heo with the spacer structures taught by Hong for maintaining a distance between a first display panel and a second display panel.
Regarding claim 17, Heo teaches the display panel comprises at least one first data segment (Fig. 1, Element 117m; ¶ [0047]) and at least one second data segment (Fig. 1, Element 117m+1; ¶ [0047]) disposed oppositely, the first data segment disposed on a side of the first sub-pixel away from the second sub-pixel, the first data segment is connected to the first sub-pixel, and the second data segment is connected to the second sub-pixel (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Heo teaches the second data segment comprising an extending segment and a bending segment connected to each other (Fig. 2), the extending segment is disposed between the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel (Fig. 2), and the bending segment is located in the first non-light-transmitting area (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Hong teaches each of the spacer structures comprises a first spacer pillar and a second spacer pillar (Figs. 2-8, Element 320; ¶s [0080]-[0085]), and each of the first spacer pillar and the second spacer pillar is disposed between a first data segment and the second data segment (Fig. 2, Element 171; ¶ [0050]); wherein the first spacer pillar and the second spacer pillar are arranged along the first direction, the first spacer pillar is disposed closer to the first data segment than the second spacer pillar, the second spacer pillar is disposed closer to the second data segment than the first spacer pillar, in a light emitting direction of the display panel, the first transistor at least partially overlaps the first spacer pillar, and the second transistor at least partially overlaps the second spacer pillar (Figs. 2-8). Same motivation applies as for independent claim 16 earlier.
Regarding claim 20, Hong teaches in the first direction, a distance between the first spacer pillar and the second spacer pillar greater than a distance between the first spacer pillar and the first data segment, and the distance between the first spacer pillar and the second spacer pillar greater than a distance between the second spacer pillar and the second data segment (Figs. 2-8). Same motivation applies as for independent claim 16 earlier.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yu (US 2025/0028210) teaches a display substrate with antenna layer. Lee (US 2020/0285089) teaches a display device with a light-blocking electrode overlapping a data line. Lee (US 2005/0140852) teaches a liquid crystal display with a compensation layer. Sugata (US 4,568,149) teaches a liquid crystal display panel with an opaque mask over gate or signal line.
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 1 April 2026