DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in regard to application # 18/830,898 that was filed on 9/11/2024. Claims 1-14 are currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 recited ‘a measuring module’ in line 2. The preamble ‘tacheometer’ is not enough to describe what the ‘measuring module’ is measuring even if it is known that tachometer is a device that measures the speed of rotation of a shaft or disk. It is not clear from the recitation what kind of parameter/value is measured via the claimed ‘measuring module’. It is not clear if the speed of rotation is measured or any other parameter within the tachometer is being measured. The structure/parameter of the measurement being taken from also have to be claimed. E.g. speed of rotation of a shaft or any rotating component/ Therefore, the claim is considered vague and indefinite.
Independent claim 8 recited ‘a measuring module’ in line 15. It is not clear from the recitation what kind of parameter/value is measured via the claimed ‘measuring module’. It is not clear if the speed of rotation is measured or any other parameter in the high-torque rotor is being measured. The structure/parameter of the measurement being taken from also have to be claimed. E.g. speed of rotation of a drive shaft or any rotating component/ Therefore, the claim is considered vague and indefinite.
Claims 2-7 and 9-14 are rejected under the same rationale as the rejection of independent claims 1 and 8 above due to their sole dependency from the rejected claims 1 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dodds (US 2005/0064803) in view of Hsu (US 2010/0252288), and further view of Baumann (US 7,432,495) and Vanbergeijk (US 5,898,379).
Regarding Claims 1-2 and 8-9, as best understood, Dodds discloses a high-torque rotor for a handheld or spindle-mounted pneumatic tool (para. [0008], [0017]), comprising: a drive shaft (60, Fig. 2, Fig. 4) with a first end, a second end, and an outer wall, the first end including an axial bore and a first set of openings in the outer wall at a first position from the first end and a second set of openings in the outer wall at a second position from the first end, the axial bore in fluid communications with the first set of openings and the second set of openings and the second end including a collet nut assembly (abstract, Fig. 1-4; the partially hollow driveshaft has two pairs of openings serving as inlets; ‘…The rigid drive shaft is partially hollow and has two pairs of openings…’, para. [0011], [0031]);
an air turbine rotor (10, Fig. 3) having a first annular chamber (20, Fig. 3a, 3b) in fluid communication with the first set of openings of the drive shaft and a second annular chamber(26, Fig. 3a, 3b) in fluid communications with the second set of openings (para, [0031], ‘…The drive shaft 60 comprises hollow openings that serve as inlets for high pressure air to enter the rotor body 10 chambers to propel the rotor body 10. …’) in the drive shaft and the air turbine rotor including a set of tangential openings (58, 62, Fig.3a) for exhaust air from the air turbine rotor (abstract, , dual high-pressure chambers (20,26) separated by a common wall; tangential exhaust nozzles on each chamber, para. [0035], [0039]);
an air turbine rotor housing with an external side wall, the air turbine rotor housing surrounds the air turbine rotor, the air turbine rotor housing has a set of passages in fluid communications with a set of openings in the external side wall that directs exhaust air from the set of tangential openings of the air turbine rotor out through the side external wall (abstract, rotor housing surrounding the rotor; exhaust directed outwardly, para. [0014], Figs. 1B, Fig. 2).
Dodds does not explicitly disclose a measuring module including a photodetector electrically coupled to a cable, the measuring module fastened inside the air turbine rotor housing, the cable passing through one of the set of openings in the external side wall of the air turbine rotor housing; and
a transmitting module electrically coupled to the cable and positioned externally to the air turbine rotor housing; the transmitting module includes a battery and a transmitter for wirelessly transmitting measurements from the measuring module.
Hsu teaches pneumatic tool having a rotational speed detection device (i.e., measuring, tachometer) (abstract, para. [0030], Fig. 1-3) comprising a light blocking member on the spindle and the sensor (optical/ photodetector-type; para. [0036]) corresponding in position to the light-blocking member, the sensor being electrically connected to a counter module that calculates and displays speed (para. [0037]). The sensor is located within the tool housing/sleeve in a position monitors the rotating spindles (61, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the affecting filing date of the invention to add optical speed sensing (i.e. measuring module) to Dodd’s high torque dual-chamber rotor as taught in Hus with a reasonable expectation of success in order to obtain real time RPM readout/ and adjustment of airflow.
Hsu in modified Dodds teaches an electrical connection from the optical sensor/ a processing counter module but does not expressly show an external battery powered wireless transmitter.
Baumann, an analogous telemetry art, further teaches an optical sensor (6, Fig. 1) that detects markings on a rotating turbine wheel and supplies an electrical signal to a transmitter that emits a wireless signal corresponding to the measurement (abstract, Fig. 1, claim 1), and
Vanbergeijk, analogous pneumatic tool telemetry art, clearly teach a battery powered radio frequency transmitter integrated with a pneumatic tool 4 wirelessly transmitting operational data to a remote receiver. The transmitter is battery powered and maybe half in the internal cavity or mounted externally on the tool (abstract, Col. 2, lines 28-40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine thee dual-chamber high-torque rotor disclosed in modified Dodds with the battery powered wireless transmitter for a pneumatic tool taught in Baumann and Vanbergeijk, with a reasonable expectation of success because high speed air turbine tools already require RPM monitoring (Hsu), wireless transmission avoids slip rings trading cables and the hazards of high speed rotation, and placing the battery and transmitter externally to the rotor housing keeps the electronics away from high velocity exhaust air and vibration.
Regarding Claims 2 and 9, modified Dodds discloses the claimed invention except for a measuring module is sized to fit within an exhaust bore of the air turbine rotor housing. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size fit the measuring module within an exhaust bore of the air turbine rotor housing and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with fitting disclosed in modified Dodds. Dodds already provides exhaust passage/bores. Sizing a compact photodetector module to occupy a portion of an existing exhaust path is a routine design choice that preserves the overall tool envelope and is consistent with space-constrained sensor placement shown in Hsu.
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dodds (US 2005/0064803) in view of Tomczak (US 4,179,924).
Regarding Claims 3 and 10, modified Dodds do not explicitly disclose, but Tomczak teaches a unitary, pressed-in mounting that is inserted into countersunk apertures of the housing and that firmly retains the photodiode and phototransistor. Functionally this is a mounting plug: it is an insertable body that occupies the opening and holds the optical sensors (col. 5, lines 29-54, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the photodetector of Hsu inside an exhaust bore of the Dodds housing using a conventional plug-style mounting element as taught in Tomczak with a reasonable expectation of success to secure a vibration resistant positioning of an optical sensor inside a bore of a housing that surrounds a rotating element.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dodds (US 2005/0064803) in view of Biek (US 4,813,492).
Regarding Claims 4 and 11, modified Dodds do not explicitly disclose, but Biek teaches a pneumatic tool wherein the measuring module further includes a barometer to measure air pressure within the air turbine rotor housing (i.e. A pressure sensing device contained within a pneumatic tool that monitors the air pressure of the supply stream to the pneumatic and acts on that measurement. The sensor is integrated inside the tool housing; abstract, col. 1, lines 42-57, claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measuring module disclosed in modified Dodds with the pressure sensor (barometer) taught in Biek with a reasonable expectation of success because it measures the internal housing air pressure.
Regarding Claims 5 and 12, in modified Dodds, Vanbergeijk, analogous pneumatic tool telemetry art, clearly teach a pneumatic tool that generate a signal in response to a predetermined pressure condition(threshold) in the tool cycle. The sensor input triggers an RF transmitter to send a wireless signal. The system can be configured to transmit on a cycle complete or threshold basis to conserve battery power. This is a direct teaching of a threshold triggering wireless transmission based on air pressure in pneumatic tool claimed in claim 12 (abstract, col. 2, lines 28-40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to monitor the air pressure inside a pneumatic tool disclosed in modified Dodds by configuring the transmitter to begin transmission only after a settable pressure threshold is met as taught in Vanbergeijk for and to transmit only meaningful operating data.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dodds (US 2005/0064803) in view of Rosen et al. (US 2007/0293152).
Regarding Claims 6 and 13, in modified Dodds discloses a generic RF wireless transmission of data in claim 8. Modified Dodds is silent, but Rosen teaches a wireless data transmission for machinery wherein measurement and sender unit that uses a Bluetooth module for wireless transmission of sensor data (abstract, para. [0010]-[0012]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless transmission disclosed in modified Dodds with a Bluetooth wireless communication taught in Rosen for providing a much longer operating range (up to 100 meters) and higher data speed wireless communication. Additionally, Bluetooth, NFC, and wi-fi are standard interchangeable short range wireless protocols for sensor data from and rotating equipment. Selecting any of them is an obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dodds (US 2005/0064803) in view of Lee (US RE40,592).
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, in modified Dodds do not explicitly disclose, but Lee teaches an optical sensor mounting arrangement in which a base plate/substrate that carries the sensor (1600, Fig. 4-5) is mechanically secured using screw piles (1800, the screw type fasteners) and mating screw nuts. The crew firmly holds the substrate relative to the main body/ housing structure (1700,Fig. 4, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board of the measuring module by mechanically coupling the circuit board of the measuring module to a substrate and fasten that substrate to an interior wall disclosed in modified Dodds using a screw-type fattener as taught in Lee for vibration resistant mounting. The result is predictable and yields every limitation of claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shane (US 11,498,172) discloses a high torque dual speed turbine rotor for a lightweight handheld tool for grinding and polishing or for use with a spindle mounted pneumatic machine. The high torque dual speed turbine rotor includes a two-piece shaft with flow control screw disposed within the shaft. The shaft includes a first set of hollow openings, at a first position from one end of the shaft, in fluid communications with a first annular chamber of a rotor. There is also a second set of hollow opening, at a second position from the one end of the shaft, in fluid communications with a second annular chamber of the rotor. The flow control screw moves inside a threaded axial bore of the shaft from an open position inside the axial bore to the closed position corresponding to the second set of hollow openings.
Assres H. Woldemaryam
Primary Examiner (Aeronautics and Astronautics)
Art Unit 3642
/ASSRES H WOLDEMARYAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642