DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of species III, Fig. 3 (claims 1-5, 7 and 9-11) in the reply filed on 3/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Office has failed to articulate facts that demonstrate that a serious search or examination burden would be placed upon the Office if not so restricted. This is not found persuasive because Examiner already explained in the restriction requirement that the species are independent or distinct because claims to the different species recite the mutually exclusive characteristics of such species. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record. There is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above due to their mutually exclusive characteristics. The species require a different field of search ( e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species. Applicant also failed to articulate why those species will not create a serious burden or that the species are obvious variant.
Claims 6 and 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/24/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because
“side button frame 211” and “display frame 212” appear to be flipped in Figs. 1-3.
“side button sensor 5” appear in two different locations in Figs. 1-3.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 9 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 7-22 of copending Application No. 18/733004 (claims dated on 12/23/2025). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because 18/733004 teaches everything except difference in wording. For example, housing comprising an upper housing body and a lower housing body is equivalent of a case having a top surface and a bottom surface, a three-dimensional antenna bracket (imply having antenna module) is just a support frame and antenna module, a side button circuit board (implying a side button sensor) is equivalent of side button control board and a side button sensor, etc.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented even though the claims were allowed on 2/27/2026.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 11,349,207; hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a tablet device (col. 6, ln. 35: “…tablet PCs…”), comprising:
a case (202 and/or 501, Figs. 12B-15) having a top surface (top surface of 202, Fig. 14A) and a bottom surface (bottom surface of 202, Fig. 14A), wherein a side button frame (frame of 202 around 123 in Figs. 13B(b), 14A) is provided on one side edge of the top surface;
a metal support plate (202c to 202b Figs. 13B) arranged in the case, wherein a hollow part is provided on one side edge (side of 202c) of the metal support plate that corresponds to the side button frame (see Fig. 13B(b)), such that the hollow part forms a space in the case (as shown in Fig. 13B(b));
a support frame (1020 and/or 1030, Fig. 15) arranged in the space;
a side button sensor (same as 123, Fig. 13B(b)) arranged in the side button frame;
a side button control board (not labeled, but board on left side of 123 shown in Fig. 13B(b)) arranged on the one side edge of the metal support plate; and
an antenna module (ANT2, Figs. 13A-15) arranged in the space;
wherein the side button sensor, the support frame, and the antenna module are substantially overlapped with one another (as shown in Figs. 13B(b) and 15).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the tablet device according to claim 1, and Kim further discloses wherein the support frame abuts against the side button sensor (1030 abut 123, Fig. 15; col. 38, lns. 52-59).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the tablet device according to claim 1, and Kim further discloses wherein the side button control board faces the space (as shown in Fig. 13B(b)).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the tablet device according to claim 1, and Kim further discloses wherein the antenna module is a multiple-input and multiple-output antenna for a wireless wide area network (ANT2 is MIMO and can support 4G and 5G bands).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the tablet device according to claim 1, and Kim further discloses wherein the top surface is further provided with a display frame (frame around 151, Fig. 2B) for fixedly arranging a display panel (151, Fig. 2B).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 2025/0167430; hereinafter “Wu”). The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a tablet device (Figs. 1-8), comprising:
a case (2) having a top surface (21) and a bottom surface (22), wherein a side button frame (212) is provided on one side edge of the top surface (as shown in Fig. 1);
a metal support plate (3) arranged in the case, wherein a hollow part (34 and space under 34 in Figs. 5, 6) is provided on one side edge of the metal support plate that corresponds to the side button frame, such that the hollow part forms a space in the case;
a support frame (4) arranged in the space;
a side button sensor (button of 5) arranged in the side button frame;
a side button control board (board of 5) arranged on the one side edge of the metal support plate; and
an antenna module (42) arranged in the space;
wherein the side button sensor, the support frame, and the antenna module are substantially overlapped with one another (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses the tablet device according to claim 1, and Wu further discloses wherein the side button control board faces the space (bottom 5 faces the space as shown in Figs. 1, 5).
Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses the tablet device according to claim 1, and Wu further discloses wherein the antenna module is a type of three-dimensional antenna (4 is a three-dimensional antenna).
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses the tablet device according to claim 1, and Wu further discloses wherein the top surface is further provided with a display frame (211) for fixedly arranging a display panel (6, Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, and further in view of Park et al. (US 12,555,891; hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the tablet device according to claim 3. Kim does not teach wherein the side button control board is coupled to the side button sensor by a flexible flat cable. However, Park teaches a side button control board (340, Fig. 3A) is coupled to a side button sensor (same as 330, Fig. 3A) by a flexible flat cable (same as 360, Fig. 3A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the side button control board is coupled to the side button sensor by a flexible flat cable in Kim, as taught by Park, in order to easily electrically couple the two elements using common connector such as a flexible flat cable.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, and further in view of Qi et al. (US 6,031,505; hereinafter “Qi ‘505”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the tablet device according to claim 1. Kim does not teach wherein the support frame is a plastic component. However, Qi ‘505 teaches wherein the support frame is a plastic component (40, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the support frame is a plastic component in Kim, as taught by Qi ‘505, in order to easily and cheaply use plastic to shape the desired configuration of the support frame.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, and further in view of Qi et al. (US 7,612,726; hereinafter “Qi ‘726”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the tablet device according to claim 1. Kim does not teach wherein the antenna module is a type of three-dimensional antenna. However, Qi ‘726 teaches an antenna module is a type of three-dimensional antenna (col. 6, lns. 28-40: “… antenna 45 may advantageously be implemented in three dimensions…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the antenna module is a type of three-dimensional antenna in Kim, as taught by Qi ‘726, in order to optimize the space inside the tablet device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re claim 7, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the tablet device according to claim 7, in particular, wherein the support frame is an L-shaped bracket and is configured to be clamped to the one side edge of the metal support plate and the bottom surface.
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841